Skip to main content

Policies: Home

This guide provides information regarding the policies and procedures that guides LLC operations at Florida State College at Jacksonville.

Library/Learning Commons Handbook (revised January 1, 2017)

The polices detailed on this page are included in the latest revised edition of the Library and Learning Commons Handbook. (full version available below)

General Information

LLC Mission Statement and Purpose

The Library and Learning Commons (LLC) is an instructional area of Florida State College at Jacksonville (the College) offering academic support services within an optimal learning environment by providing a variety of learning, research, and teaching resources–physical and virtual–to students, faculty, and staff of the College. The LLC supports academic success by providing library services and resources, information literacy instruction, academic tutoring, student-centered facilities, and innovative technology. The LLC is committed to facilitating accessibility of services and resources that contribute to students' success in a global knowledge economy.

Library and Learning Commons staff and administrators actively manage library and learning collections, resources, and services to serve the students, faculty, and staff of the College through general education and core curriculum support and support of institutional priorities. The LLC provides access to library collections and services for students and faculty both physically and virtually through maintenance of its own collections and services and formal arrangements or agreements with library partners.

The LLC engages in collaborative collection development processes to ensure that library materials are appropriate and adequate, meeting the needs of the College’s varied academic programs. The LLC also supports the academic needs of learners through services and resources provided in the Learning Commons.

LLC Support of Florida State College at Jacksonville (FSCJ) 2014-2017 Collegewide Mission and Strategic Goals

All Library and Learning Commons operations support the College’s Mission, Strategic Goals and Operational Strategies.

  • Collegewide Strategic Goal One: Promote Access and Equity

Operational Strategy: Increase instructional and advising support for enrolled students.

  • Collegewide Strategic Goal Two: Enhance Rigorous and Relevant Learning Opportunities.

Operational Strategy: Embed measurable student learning opportunities throughout the collegiate experience.

  • Collegewide Strategic Goal Three:  Increase Retention and Completion

Operational Strategy: Increase instructional and advising support for enrolled students.

The LLC supports the College’s Mission and Strategic Goals through the provision of multi-modal access to a comprehensive collection of relevant and appropriate instructional/informational resources and by offering a robust selection of effective library and tutoring support services that enhance students’ learning opportunities throughout their collegiate experience and beyond. 

LLC Support of General Education Learning Outcomes 

The LLC directly supports the College’s general education program by providing specific and targeted information literacy instruction as well as student, faculty, and staff access to information, instruction, resources, and academic support services in all disciplines. Faculty librarians are actively engaged in collegewide general education assessment processes. In 2009, faculty librarians worked collaboratively with interdisciplinary general education faculty to develop a working definition for the information literacy competency that is assessed in the general education program. Librarians also worked with faculty members to develop an institutional information literacy rubric (Appendix 1), which aligns with information literacy standards established by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). The information literacy rubric developed by general education faculty and faculty librarians has been used for curriculum-embedded assessments by faculty in the Communications discipline since the 2009-2010 academic year as a part of the College's general education assessment effort. Faculty librarians also serve as facilitators and scorers in collective artifact scoring activities in which samples of student work are scored using the rubric. Faculty librarians collaborate with academic faculty in all general education disciplines for collection development to ensure that the library's holdings are current and relevant and support the curricular needs of the academic programs. 

Hours of Operation

Library and Learning Commons Locations and Hours of Operation 

Hours of operation for each campus LLC are determined locally to meet the needs of the campus or center course offerings. A listing of the current hours of operation 

Learning Commons

The Learning Commons are “one-stop sites” that offer robust instructional technologies, helpful tutors, and a welcoming learning environment to support student academic success at all levels. Academic tutors and peer tutors work individually and with groups of students.  Tutors at all locations provide support in core academic areas such as reading, writing, math, and computers.  Additionally, select locations offer tutoring in science, foreign languages, aviation, nursing, and accounting. Tutors assist students at all academic levels, from students enrolled in developmental and Adult Education courses to those enrolled in the College's associate and baccalaureate degree programs. 

Distance learners may use any campus or center convenient for them or take advantage of a wealth of online resources. Online assistance is available via the tutoring LibGuides. The College also provides access to Smarthinking, which enables students to receive synchronous and asynchronous tutoring in a variety of disciplines, including writing, reading, mathematics, science, Spanish, business, nursing and allied health, computers, and technology.

The Learning Commons is staffed by professional and peer tutors who provide subject-specific tutoring, facilitate academic workshops, assist students with using the latest hardware and software, and help students develop study skills that will empower them to become increasingly independent learners

Faculty Resource Centers

Faculty Resource Centers (FRC) are available at most campuses and are organized within the LLC in many cases. The FRC assists full- time and adjunct instructors in bringing new technologies and media to their curriculum. FRCs provide the full Adobe Creative Suite on Macintosh computers in addition to Apple software packages. The FRC staff offer faculty assistance with hardware and software such as computer programs for developing photos, audio files and movies to help faculty further engage students in course materials. Multimedia Specialists may conduct and host workshops in the FRC and assist faculty individually upon request. Online faculty resources are available through a faculty Blackboard community. The Blackboard community provides faculty with resources including “how to” tutorials for Blackboard support and other information technology related topics.

Library/Learning Commons Handbook (rev. January 1, 2017)

Facilities and Services Overview

General LLC Access Information

The College provides high-quality academic support and information services for faculty, students, and staff by offering full-service libraries, information literacy classes, tutoring services, academic workshops, computer labs, and adaptive technology for learners with disabilities. The two major service areas of the LLC are the Library--which provides library services, resources, and instruction--and the Learning Commons--where students may receive tutorial assistance and access other academic support resources. The LLC's physical facilities provide an optimal learning environment in which students may access needed materials and technology and receive academic support.  The LLC offers varied study and instructional spaces to facilitate group and individual study.  Users also have access to hundreds of computers with full Internet access, and they may access the Internet wirelessly.  Some LLC locations are co-located with Faculty Resource Centers, which serve as a resource for faculty wishing to incorporate media and technology into their instructional offerings.  The LLC meets the needs of distance learners by providing online tutoring services and a robust collection of virtual library and learning resources.  The Library and Learning Commons' organizational structure provides a seamless, collaborative service experience for students.  

Library Services

Library Services facilities at each campus and center house a wide range of information resources including collections of print materials, electronic database subscriptions, periodicals, and a variety of audio-visual and multimedia materials. The library collections are organized using the Library of Congress Classification System.

Florida State College at Jacksonville is part of a statewide-automated information system that electronically connects state college and community college library collections. Use of the online catalog allows access to the Florida State College at Jacksonville collections, other college library collections, electronic databases, and worldwide information resources.

Access to all online information resources, including the library catalog, is available via login through Blackboard, Connections, Artemis, MyFSCJ, LibGuides, and the main FSCJ website.

Login to the FSCJ system is required to access restricted library databases.

The Library is staffed by faculty librarians who provide reference assistance and information literacy instruction, lead collection development efforts, and collaborate with faculty across the College to ensure that the LLCs are responsive to the academic needs of faculty and students.  Each LLC location also has library assistants and clerical staff who are available to assist patrons with circulation-related issues and use of technology. 

Professional instruction, reference, and research assistance services are available upon request. Individual research assistance may be requested at the Library Services (Circulation/Reference) Desk. Reference resources include a broad selection of academic support materials in print and electronic formats. Faculty librarians provide instruction in searching and retrieval procedures for library resources. Information Literacy instruction and library orientations are offered in person within the LLC and online for distance education students and dual enrollment students. Library instruction is provided synchronously and asynchronously using tools such as LibGuides. Librarians collaborate with faculty and act as liaisons to assigned Schools to offer instruction in ways that best fit the needs of the faculty and students.

FSCJ participates in the 24/7 online reference program known as Ask a Librarian. Ask a Librarian, the statewide online reference service, is highly visible on the LLC website and provides extended access to reference assistance.

All LLC services are available to currently enrolled students, including distance learners. Extensive information regarding LLC services and resources is available on the LLC website, and in the FSCJ Blackboard learning management system (LMS).

Library Technical Services

is the centralized unit that provides college wide database maintenance, cataloging, and processing of library materials. Technical Services staff ensure the College complies with library cataloging standards and facilitates timely access to materials purchased for students and faculty.

 Florida State College at Jacksonville (FSCJ) Libraries Libguides are licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY)