Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us

World War II: The Allies and Axis Powers: Home

Welcome!

World War II Allies and Axis

"Global military conflict in which the United States and Canada fought alongside the Western Allies against the Axis Powers, led by the Japanese Empire, Nazi Germany, and Fascist Italy". - Source: Salem Press Encyclopedia, 2019.

Helpful Search Terms

Helpful Search Terms Graphic

 

  • Hiroshima and Nagasaki
  • Holocaust, Jewish
  • Manhattan Project
  • Pacific War
  • Third Reich
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • World War 2, Allied Powers
  • World War 2, Eastern Front

 

World War II Gallery

Hitler in the Reichstag

Hitler accepts the ovation of the Reichstag after announcing the `peaceful acquisition of Austria. It set the stage to annex the Czechoslovakian Sudetenland, largely inhabited by a German- speaking population. Berlin, March 1938. 208-N-39843.  National Archives: https://www.archives.gov/research/military/ww2/photos/images/thumbnails

Loading bus, leaving Manzanar for relocation

Loading bus, leaving Manzanar for relocation, Manzanar Relocation Center, California.

Ansel Adams, 1902-1984, photographer

Japanese Serviceman - Corporal Jimmie Shohara

Japanese Serviceman - Corporal Jimmie Shohara

Corporal Jimmie Shohara, bust portrait, facing front. His two ribbons are for good behavior pre-Pearl Harbor and Rifle and Pistol Citations. He visited his parents who were confined at Manzanar (but who were American citizens by birth).

Ansel Adams, 1902-1984, photographer

US Serviceman in Marshall Islands

Back to a Coast Guard assault transport comes this Marine after two days and nights of Hell on the beach of Eniwetok in the Marshall Islands. His face is grimey with coral dust but the light of battle stays in his eyes. February 1944.

National Archives: https://www.archives.gov/research/military/ww2/photos/images/thumbnails

Tuskegee Airman - Howard A. Wooten

Tuskegee Airman

Howard A. Wooten. Graduated December 1944 from Air Corps School, Tuskegee, AL. Ca. December 1944

National Archives: https://www.archives.gov/research/military/ww2/photos/images/thumbnails

Flag Rasing on Iwo Jima

Flag raising on Iwo Jima. Joe Rosenthal, Associated Press, February 23, 1945. 

National Archives: https://www.archives.gov/research/military/ww2/photos/images/thumbnails

Survivor in the Woebbelin concentration camp.

Survivor in the Woebbelin concentration camp. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, courtesy of Dr. Alfred B. Sundquist

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum: https://collections.ushmm.org/search/catalog/pa1039428

Login Required

Because many Library and Learning Commons (LLC) resources are restricted to current FSCJ students, faculty, and staff, FSCJ requires all users to "login" to myFSCJ to gain access to online Library resources.

Library Learning Commons Manager

Trina McCowan's picture
Trina McCowan
Contact:
South Campus LLC
904.646.2081

Ask Us!

text us 9046743824

Submit a question

Social Media