MLA 9th Edition is now available. Be sure to consult the MLA Handbook or the online MLA Style Center for detailed standards and procedures. Follow this link or use the tab on this page to navigate to the MLA 9th Edition: https://guides.fscj.edu/MLA9
Reference librarians are available at each campus and center and offer personalized assistance to library users. The reference librarians instruct and assist users in the best ways to locate information using a variety of resources.
Please check with each campus and center as to availability of reference librarians.
Cecil Center: 904-779-4088
Downtown Campus: 904-633-8169
Kent Campus: 904-381-3545
Nassau Center: 904-548-4467
North Campus: 904-766-6635
Open Campus/Deerwood Center: 904-997-5262
South Campus: 904-646-2179
The Modern Language Association of America introduced this latest handbook in early 2016.
Overall, the biggest change is in how the citations are formatted. Punctuation has been simplified and listing the format such as print or web has been removed. If you are interested in knowing more about the changes, please look on the MLA website or here.
Many databases have citations in the MLA 8th edition format ready to copy and paste. One caution: be sure the format is correctly done. We have seen instances where it is not.
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Cite Right, Third Edition by
Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. This edition includes updates reflecting the most recent editions of The Chicago Manual of Style and the MLA Handbook. With this book, students and researchers can move smoothly among styles with the confidence they are getting it right.
The Little Dk Handbook by
For first-year courses in Composition. This version of The Little DK Handbook has been updated the reflect the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook (April 2016). * An Accessible and Visually Engaging Guide to Writing Distinctively designed, The Little DK Handbook stands apart from other handbooks. Visually rich two-page spreads marry design and content in a way that makes information appealing and understandable. Students will learn to narrow down topics, find and cite sources properly, present information clearly, craft arguments and hone their voices, and adhere to conventions. With more attention to research - particularly online research - than other handbooks, The Little DK provides a solid foundation in information literacy. Grammar and documentation (MLA, APA, CMS, CSE) are presented in an approachable, accessible way. The groundbreaking layout creates a consistent look and feel that helps students connect with the material, find information, and recognize solutions to writing problems they often don't know how to look up. *The 8th edition introduces sweeping changes to the philosophy and details of MLA works cited entries. Responding to the "increasing mobility of texts," MLA now encourages writers to focus on the process of crafting the citation, beginning with the same questions for any source. These changes, then, align with current best practices in the teaching of writing which privilege inquiry and critical thinking over rote recall and rule-following.
EasyWriter by
EasyWriter is the little handbook with the Andrea Lunsford difference. It features Andrea's friendly voice, her research-based Top Twenty, her recognition that writing today is increasingly digital and multimodal, and above all, her respect and appreciation for student writers' potential to change the world. When your students need reliable, easy-to-find writing advice for college and beyond, EasyWriter gives them what they need in a format that's easy to use and easy to afford. At a low $20 net price, the sixth edition packs in even more support for writing academic and real-world genres, with examples of over 40 types of writing in the print and digital resources, and thoroughly revised documentation advice based on the 2016 MLA guidelines. EasyWriter can be packaged at a significant discount with one of two innovative digital products: Writer's Help 2.0, Lunsford version, or LaunchPad Solo for Lunsford Handbooks.
Rules for Writers by
When students routinely use their handbook in the course, they see its value, find that it's a faster way to get answers than search engines like Google, learn to rely on it as a reference, and are more likely to achieve the goals of the course. And when that handbook is Rules for Writers, you can be sure the advice they find is practical and reliable--with help for composing and revising, writing arguments, analyzing texts, using grammar and punctuation correctly, and working with sources. In revising the eighth edition, Nancy Sommers has woven a new emphasis on reading critically throughout the first section of the handbook, introduced advice for analyzing multimodal texts, and added help for public speaking. New practical Writing Guides support students working through college assignments in a variety of genres. And new peer review advice helps students effectively comment on drafts and apply feedback to revisions of their own work. All of these improvements help student writers--but they also save you time and effort. You can draw from Rules for Writers for planning class discussions, conducting in-class workshops, and providing feedback on student work that they can easily apply. Rules for Writers even comes with a complete instructor's manual, Teaching with Hacker Handbooks, with stepped-out lesson plans to customize and sample assignments, syllabi, and rubrics from your peers.
