Skip to Main Content

FSCJ Library and Learning Commons Home Page

Business and Financial Services--Area of Study

This is the master guide for the business-specific guides that we currently have listed.

Associate in Science Degree Program

The Associate in Science (A.S.) in Business Analytics will provide you with skills in a broad range of business functions including management, marketing, accounting, computer applications, data visualization, database report creation, and artificial intelligence (AI) in business. Whether you are interested in a career as a management analyst, budget analyst, database administrator, operations research analyst, or other business analytics related position, this program will give you the foundation needed to take you wherever you want to go in your career.

After earning your degree, you can choose to begin a career in business analytics or related business field or continue on to pursue one of our bachelor’s degrees in Business Administration (B.S.), Financial Services (B.S.), or Supervision and Management (B.A.S.) for increased employment options and advanced opportunities.

Library and Internet Resources for Curriculum

Suggested Call Number Ranges

  • HF5657.4 Managerial accounting
  • HF5717+ Business communication
  • HF5546-5548.6 Office management (HF 55548.4 Microsoft Excel)

Suggested Subject Headings and Keyword Search Terms

Standardized terms help organize content in library catalogs and academic databases, making searches more accurate and efficient.

  • Data Visualization
  • Microsoft Excel
  • Business Analytics

There are tutorial videos available on our A-Z Databases webpage to learn how to navigate some of these databases. Just look for the "View Tutorial" icon under each database description.

FSCJ LibGuides

Resources for Specific Coursework

Books & Ebooks

Suggested Subject Headings and Search Terms

Here are some example keywords and subject headings that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and databases: 

  • Microsoft Excel (Computer file)
  • Electronic Spreadsheets
  • Business--Computer programs

Databases and Journals

Books & eBooks

Suggested Subject Headings and Search Terms

Here are some example keywords and subject headings that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and databases: 

  • Social media--Data processing
  • Big Data
  • Information visualization
  • Data mining

Databases and Journals

You can look for journals and trade magazines by subject or title using Journal Search, a business or information technology database, or Flipster.

  1. Browse "Journals by category" using the Journal Search tab in Primo (our library catalog).
    • Click on "Engineering & Applied Sciences" in the sidebar for a list of publications on that subject, or
    • Use the drop-down menu arrow and click on a sub-category, e.g. "Computer Science" for a narrowed list of titles. After choosing a title, you can search within that publication by topic or year. 
    • You could also type a keyword or phrase in the search bar under Journal Search to find titles with that specific search term.
  2. Browse our list of Business Databases or Information Technology Databases and choose one database to look for relevant articles by topic from many journal and trade publications. Watch our how-to video if you need help with finding good results.
  3. Start in Flipster and search by subject or title using keywords to find trade publications and magazines.

Books & eBooks

Suggested Subject Headings and Search Terms

Here are some example keywords and subject headings that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and databases: 

  • Artificial intelligence in business
  • Business Enterprises--Technological innovations
  • Information technology--Management

Databases and Journals

You can look for journals and trade magazines by subject or title using Journal Search, a business database, or Flipster.

  1. Browse "Journals by category" using the Journal Search tab in Primo (our library catalog).
    • Click on "Business" in the sidebar for a list of publications on that subject, or
    • Use the drop-down menu arrow and click on a sub-category, e.g. "Commerce" for a narrowed list of titles. After choosing a title, you can search within that publication by topic or year. 
    • You could also type a keyword or phrase in the search bar under Journal Search to find titles with that specific search term.
  2. Browse our list of Business Databases and choose one database to look for relevant articles by topic from many journal and trade publications. Watch our how-to video if you need help with finding good results.
  3. Start in Flipster and search by subject or title using keywords to find trade publications and magazines.

Books & eBooks

Suggested Subject Headings and Search Terms

Here are some example keywords and subject headings that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and databases: 

  • Business planning -- Data processing
  • Business requirements analysis
  • Organizational effectiveness--Decision making
  • Business analysis OR analytics

Databases and Journals

You can look for journals and trade magazines by subject or title using Journal Search, a business database, or Flipster.

  1. Browse "Journals by category" using the Journal Search tab in Primo (our library catalog).
    • Click on "Business & Economics" in the sidebar for a list of publications on that subject, or
    • Use the drop-down menu arrow and click on a sub-category, e.g. "Management" for a narrowed list of titles. After choosing a title, you can search within that publication by topic or year. 
    • You could also type a keyword in the search bar under Journal Search to find titles with that specific search term.
  2. Browse our list of Business Databases and choose one database to look for relevant articles by topic from many journal and trade publications. Watch our how-to video if you need help with finding good results.
  3. Start in Flipster and search by subject or title using keywords to find trade publications and magazines.