It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visible Body / Anatomy and Physiology (OVID): Physiology Animations
Directions for accessing "Visible Body" anatomy and physiology resources located inside Nursing Full-text Journals (OVID) database.
3D animations in core physiology and common conditions.
Muscle contraction: Action potential
Muscle contraction: Cross bridge formation
Female sex cells
Male sex cells
Fertilization to implantation
2 weeks after conception
Related Books and Videos
Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by Gerard J. Tortora; Bryan DerricksonThe 14th edition of the phenomenally successful Principles of Anatomy and Physiology continues to set the standard for the discipline. The authors have maintained a superb balance between structure and function and continue to emphasize the correlations between normal physiology and pathophysiology, normal anatomy and pathology, and homeostasis and homeostatic imbalances. No other text and package offers a teaching and learning environment as rich and complete. WileyPLUS sold separately from text.
Call Number: QP34.5 .T67 2014 Nassau Center
Publication Date: 2013-12-31
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals by Jahangir MoiniAnatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals provides a reliable, complete resource and reference on human anatomy and physiology. This comprehensive and accessible text is written specifically for health professions students and covers the most important topics and concepts to adequately prepare them for their future careers. Organized by review of structure and function, the subjects and systems covered in the book are easy to read and provide a concentrated core of study topics that highlights key areas of human anatomy and physiology.Features* Over 350 Full-color Photos, Figures, Tables, and Illustrations* Glossary of Key Terms* Check Your Knowledge Boxes* Chapter Objectives and Learning Goals* Critical Thinking Questions* Chapter Review Questions with Answer KeyInstructor Resources* Instructor's Manual with Answer Key* PowerPoint Slides* Image Bank* TestBank including:Over 400 multiple choice questions200 true/false questions400 fill-in-the-blank questionsEach new copy of this text is accompanied by an access code to the Companion Website.Please note: Electronic/eBook formats do not include access to the Companion Website.
Call Number: QP34.5 .M65 2012
Publication Date: 2011-04-04
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals by Jahangir MoiniAnatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals, Second Edition provides an engaging and comprehensive overview of human anatomy and physiology, written specifically with health professions students in mind. This text helps students navigate the subject through an array of features--including Test Your Understanding questions that regularly assess comprehension, Learning Goals that correlate to concrete Objectives, and a large assortment of end-of-chapter questions--that reinforce key concepts while promoting mastery of the material. In addition to the text's clean, updated design and more than 450 illustrations and photographs, Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals, Second Edition is accompanied by access to useful online instructor and student resources that make it the perfect fit for traditional, online, or hybrid courses. FEATURES Provides a comprehensive overview of human anatomy and physiology Presents content in an accessible manner targeted to health professions students Features an updated, easily navigable format with more than 450 photographs and illustrations Offers access to helpful animations and interactive learning tools Includes clinical images such as X-rays, CT scans and MRIs Covers the effects of aging on various body systems Offers robust end of chapter assessments for learners NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION * Four additional chapters, including: o New chapter on joints, providing an overview of classifications, types, and injuries o Expanded presentation of the nervous system, with two additional chapters o Enhanced discussion of the cardiovascular system, with one additional chapter * New Focus on Pathology feature connects anatomy and physiology to human disease * Essay Question prompts now appear at the end of each chapter INSTRUCTOR RESOURCES * Slides in PowerPoint format * Test Bank * Instructor's Manual, including teaching strategies, lecture outlines, discussion topics, and answers to end-of-chapter questions * Image Bank, supplying key images from the text * Sample Syllabus, showing how a course can be structured around this text * Transition Guide, providing guidance in switching from the previous edition STUDENT RESOURCES Navigate 2 Advantage Access - Each new copy includes access to Navigate 2 online learning materials featuring a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics reporting tools, and more.
Call Number: QP34.5 .M65 2016 North Campus
Publication Date: 2015-02-04
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology by Valerie C. Scanlon; Tina SandersAlso Available Student Workbook for Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology, 7th Edition Ideal as a companion to the text. Perfect as a stand-alone study guide. Leading the way for nearly 25 years with unsurpassed clarity, content, and completeness. Make anatomy and physiology fun and easy to study. Through six editions, this best-selling text has led the way with exactly what you need to build a firm foundation in this must-know subject. A student-friendly writing style, superb art program, a wealth of learning opportunities in every chapter, and online activities instill confidence every step of the way. It's the perfect introduction to the world of anatomy. The 7th Edition delivers even more of what nursing and allied health students in a variety of disciplines need to meet the challenges of health care today. And, it's ready-made for multiple learning styles. Beyond the text! The Plus Code, inside new, printed texts, unlocks a wealth of instructor and student resources online at DavisPlus, including Davis Digital Version, your complete text online, full-color animations of A&P processes and concepts, interactive exercises for each animation, and interactive exercises for every chapter.