LibGuides: DAN 2100: Dance Appreciation / Dance in the Humanities: Library Resources

Library Resources

Choreography Invisible by Anna Pakes
Call Number: GV1588 .P35 2020
ISBN: 9780199988211
Publication Date: 2020-05-27
Dance is often considered an ephemeral art, one that disappears nearly as soon as it materializes, leaving no physical object behind. While most cultural works are tangible, like books in print and framed artworks on display, the practice of dance remains more elusive. Dance involves people trying to embody some abstract, unwritten thing that exists before - and survives beyond - their particular acts of dancing.
The Dance Experience by Myron Howard Nadel; Marc Raymond Strauss
ISBN: 0871274027
Publication Date: 2021-11-01
Providing an understanding of the history, evolution, and universality of dance as an art form, this guidebook explores the significance of dance in culture, the relationship of dance to other art forms, the contributions of great pioneering choreographers, dancers, and teachers, and the creative process.

Here are some example keywords or phrases that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and academic databases.

dance performance
choreography
dance and technology

Suggested Boolean Searches

Refine searches using operators like "AND," "OR," and "NOT," ensuring more precise and relevant results.

"dance AND theatre AND performance"
"dance AND movement AND studies"
"performing arts OR dance interpretation"

Suggested Subject Headings

Standardized terms are used to categorize and organize content within the library catalog and academic databases to enhance search precision and efficiency.

Dance history
Dance techniques
History of dance

Suggested Call Number Ranges

Locate materials within the library in these call number areas.

GV 1597-GV 1743

The following links will give you access to possible search terms that can be used when exploring the FSCJ online databases for your coursework.

Dance Choreography offers a diversified repository of informational texts related to dance and choreography.

Dance and the Performing Arts offers a multi-faceted approach to understanding dance and dance culture through a diversified perspective.

The following are links to FSCJ databases which provide users access to a wide range of scholarly resources, including academic journals, books, ebooks, videos, and other relevant course materials. ***BE SURE TO FIRST LOGIN TO YOUR MYFSCJ ACCOUNT TO GET THE FULL RESULTS LIST.

JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to back issues of core journals in the fine arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - With more than 100 full-text magazines and journals covered in databases such as the Wilson Art Index and RILM, this collection will provide your students with resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Funded by State Library of Florida (FEL)

Topic Resources

Dance Magazine
Dance Magazine is an American trade publication for dance published by the Macfadden Communications Group. It was first published in June 1927 as The American Dancer. Dance Magazine has multiple sister publications, including Pointe, Dance Spirit, Dance Teacher, Dance 212, and DanceU101.
Pointe Magazine
Pointe is a quarterly, international ballet magazine. The magazine covers ballet company debuts and competition results as well as practical and trade content for dancers.

Open access dance journals provide students with free, online access to a wealth of scholarly articles covering diverse topics in dance, from choreography and performance to history and cultural studies.

Dance Commons
Dance Commons offers a curated collection of insightful pieces covering a wide range of topics, from choreography and technique to performance reviews and industry trends.

Platform: Journal of Theatre & Performing Arts
Platform is a refereed journal that has been devoted to publishing the work of postgraduates, postdoctoral researchers, and entry-level academics in the fields of theatre and the performing arts for more than a decade.

Journal of Dance Education
Publishes research on dance teaching and learning including training of dancers, pedagogy, collaboration, creativity, social justice, choreography and technology.

Principal dancer Marianela Núñez discusses becoming Cinderella in The Royal Ballet's magical production.

Discover the latest news, schedules, and reviews for Jacksonville's local dance theatres and performances, all in one comprehensive and up-to-date resource.

Jacksonville Center for the Performing Arts
Local performances and events calendar at Jacksonville's biggest playhouse.

FSCJ Artists Series
Local performances hosted and performed by FSCJ.

Jacksonville Dance Theatre
Jacksonville Dance Theatre is a contemporary modern dance company dedicated to creating and promoting excellence in the field of professional dance on local, national, and international stages.