It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anatomy and Physiology: Physical Therapy and Anatomy & Physiology
Resources in print and digital formats for the study and review of Anatomy and Physiology.
(International Clinical Educators) - The ICE Video Library includes 185+ short videos with a wide range of diagnoses. The videos are perfect for streaming in class, embedding in your LMS, or assigning to watch outside of class.
Funded by College
See also tutorial videos from Nation Institute of Health and others under Weblinks.
Anatomy & Physiology books with Physical Therapy focus. See more under eResources and Books
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals by Jahangir MoiniAnatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals provides a reliable, complete resource and reference on human anatomy and physiology. This comprehensive and accessible text is written specifically for health professions students and covers the most important topics and concepts to adequately prepare them for their future careers. Organized by review of structure and function, the subjects and systems covered in the book are easy to read and provide a concentrated core of study topics that highlights key areas of human anatomy and physiology.Features* Over 350 Full-color Photos, Figures, Tables, and Illustrations* Glossary of Key Terms* Check Your Knowledge Boxes* Chapter Objectives and Learning Goals* Critical Thinking Questions* Chapter Review Questions with Answer KeyInstructor Resources* Instructor's Manual with Answer Key* PowerPoint Slides* Image Bank* TestBank including:Over 400 multiple choice questions200 true/false questions400 fill-in-the-blank questionsEach new copy of this text is accompanied by an access code to the Companion Website.Please note: Electronic/eBook formats do not include access to the Companion Website.
Call Number: QP303 .L53 2006 North (see also ebook and Reserve materials)
Publication Date: 2006-05-15
Kinesiology for Dummies by Steve Glass; Brian Hatzel; Rick AlbrechtMove at your own pace with this kinesiology course guide A required course for majors pursuing sports medicine, exercise science, nursing, or sports therapy degrees, kinesiology is central to a variety of fields. Kinesiology For Dummies tracks an introductory course in the science and imparts the basics of human body movement. With this resource, you will learn how physical activity can alleviate chronic illnesses and disabilities, what factors contribute to musculoskeletal injury, and how to reverse those influences. Complete with a 16-page color insert of medical instructions, this book covers the basics of exercise physiology, exercise and health psychology, introductory biomechanics, motor control, history and philosophy of sport and exercise, and mind-body connections. Written by experts in exercise science Addresses a timely subject as exercise science careers and majors are increasingly popular Runs parallel to a kinesiology course with accessible, concise language Interested learners, kinesiology students, and health or sports therapy professionals will benefit from this refresher course in the basics.
Call Number: QP303 .G53 2014 North Campus
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
Kinesiology by David Paul Greene; Susan L. RobertsApproaching the subject of kinesiology from the perspective of occupational therapy, this unique text written by occupational therapists examines the everyday activities of people using the principles of biomechanics to adapt to changes in their functional abilities. This new edition stresses applicability to clinical practice with the inclusion of case examples. In-depth coverage of wrist and hand pathokinesiology, as well as normal kinesiology function of the wrist and fingers Key terms, chapter outlines, and applications that enhance studying and learning 12 appendices and a glossary with metric conversions, review of mathematics, a diagram of body segment parameters, and laboratory activities New material providing explanations of the pathokinesiology of shoulder subluxation, rotator cuff tear, adhesive capsulitis, fractures, tendon injuries, and shoulder problems secondary to CVA More case studies and less emphasis on heavy calculations to ensure the concepts are more easily grasped Perforated lab manual filled with activities tied directly to the chapters Enhanced illustrations for easier visualization of the concepts demonstrated
Call Number: QP303 .G74 2005 North Campus
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Principles of Kinesiology by Anthea Courtenay (Contribution by); Maggie La La Tourelle; John F. Thie (Foreword by)Kinesiology is a system of natural health care that combines muscle testing with the principles of Chinese medicine to assess energy and body function. A touch therapy, it uses a range of gentle yet powerful healing techniques and can be effective in the treatment of many conditions, including allergies, backache, fatigue, emotional difficulties, headaches and skin and bowel problems. This book describes how kinesiology can help with these problems by correcting imbalances found in the different forms of kinesiology assessment. This introductory guide explains how kinesiology works, how to find a practitioner and how it is usefully applied with other therapies, as well as how self-help techniques can be applied. It will be of interest to anyone considering kinesiology treatment, or simply wanting to find out more about this healing system. Students and practitioners of kinesiology and related practices will find it to be a useful reference, and a perfect introduction to recommend to clients.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-02-28
Clinical Neuroanatomy, 26th Edition by Stephen G. WaxmanLearn the essential aspects of neuroanatomy and its clinical relevance with the field's most concise, trusted, and effective text "...an excellent update of the neuroanatomy textthat has become a standard since its first publication in1938....The strengths of the book include the hundreds of easy tounderstand color line illustrations, the clear and concise languageof the text and the many tables of summarized information....It could behighly recommended to and would be enjoyed by medicalstudents and trainees in internal medicine, neurology, and neurosurgery,and also as a reference for clinicians in these fields,particularly those teaching students and trainees."--World Neurosurgery For more than seventy years, Clinical Neuroanatomy has delivered a streamlined, comprehensive, and easy-to-remember synopsis of neuroanatomy and its functional and clinical applications. Emphasizing the most important concepts, facts, and structures, this well-illustrated and enjoyable-to-read text reflects the state-of-the-art in pathophysiology and the diagnosis and treatment of neurological disorders. Features that make Clinical Neuroanatomy perfect for board review or as a clinical refresher: Discussion of the latest advances in molecular and cellular biology in the context of neuroanatomy Clinical correlations to help you interpret and remember essential neuroanatomic concepts in terms of function and clinical application Numerous computed tomography (CT) and magnetic resonance images (MRIs) of the normal brain and spinal cord; functional magnetic resonance images that provide a noninvasive window on brain function; and neuroimaging studies that illustrate common pathological entities that affect the nervous system An Introduction to Clinical Thinking section that puts neuroanatomy in a unique clinical perspective Numerous tables that make the information clear and easy to remember A complete practice exam to test your knowledge Coverage of the basic structure and function of the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves as well as clinical presentations of disease processes involving specific structures NEW full-color illustrations
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009-07-10
Memmler's Structure and Function of the Human Body, SC by Barbara Jansen CohenFilled with compelling case studies that connect key content to real-world health care scenarios, Memmler's Structure and Function of the Human Body, Eleventh Edition, provides easy-to-understand, beautifully illustrated coverage of the essentials of normal anatomy and physiology. The first text designed specifically to meet the needs of allied health students, this acclaimed resource has evolved over the years to address changing course requirements and student needs. This edition continues the tradition with a new, more accessible design, a wide range of new study tools, and a robust multimedia electronic ancillary package for both instructors and students.Throughout the book, anatomic art illustrates concepts with accuracy and simplicity; case studies highlighting anatomy and physiology demonstrate the relevance of the content to a career in the health professions; and hallmark pedagogy blends remediation, reinforcement, and real-world focus to ensure student success.
Call Number: QP36 .M54 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Study Guide for Memmler's Structure and Function of the Human Body by Kerry Hull; Barbara Janson CohenThis Study Guide is the ideal companion to the Eleventh Edition of Memmler's Structure and Function of the Human Body, the acclaimed classic text for anatomy and physiology. Following the text's organization chapter by chapter, the Study Guide offers a full complement of self-study aids to engage students in learning and enable them to assess and build their knowledge as they advance through the text. Most importantly, it allows them to get the most out of their study time, with a variety of exercises that meet the needs of all types of learners. Self-study aids include all-new illustrations, chapter overviews, writing exercises, coloring and labeling exercises, concept maps, practical application scenarios, matching exercises, short-essay questions, multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank, and true-false questions, and more. --Chapter overviews --Writing exercises --Coloring and labeling exercises --Concept maps --Practical application scenarios --Matching exercises --Short-essay questions --Multiple-choice, fill-in-the-blank, and true-false questions --Information on real-life anatomy and physiology in action and updates on current research trials and applications. --Answers to the Study Guide are in the Instructor's Manual that accompanies the text as well as on thePoint site for the main text.
Call Number: QP36 .M54 2016 Suppl. North Reserve
Publication Date: 2015-10-16
Structure and Function of the Body - Softcover by Kevin T. Patton; Gary A. ThibodeauMastering the essentials of anatomy, physiology, and even medical terminology has never been easier! Using simple, conversational language and vivid animations and illustrations, Structure & Function of the Body, 15th Edition walks readers through the normal structure and function of the human body and what the body does to maintain homeostasis. Conversational and clear writing style makes content easy to read and understand. Full-color design contains more than 400 drawings and photos. Clear View of the Human Body is a unique, full-color, semi-transparent insert depicting the human body (male and female) in layers. Animation Direct callouts direct readers to Evolve for an animation about a specific topic. Updated study tips sections at the beginning of each chapter help break down difficult topics and guide readers on how to best use book features to their advantage. Special boxes such as Health and Well-Being boxes, Clinical Application boxes, Research and Trends boxes, and more help readers apply what they have learned to their future careers in health care and science. NEW! Language of Science and Medicine section in each chapter includes key terms, word parts, and pronunciations to place a greater focus on medical terminology NEW! Thoroughly revised chapters, illustrations, and review questions reflect the most current information available. NEW! High quality animations for the AnimationDirect feature clarify physiological processes and provide a realistic foundation of underlying structures and functions. NEW! Simplified chapter titles provide clarity in the table of contents. NEW! Division of cells and tissues into two separate chapters improves reader comprehension and reduces text anxiety.
Learn to master the core terms, concepts, and processes of human anatomy and physiology! Corresponding to the chapters in Thibodeau and Patton's Structure & Function of the Body, 15th Edition, this engaging study guide contains variety of exercises, activities, and anatomy drawings to help you easily review, retain, and apply important A&P concepts! Brief synopsis of the core concepts from the textbook provides a comprehensive review of essential content. Diagrams, labeling exercises, and coloring exercises reinforce where the structures of the body are located. Crossword puzzles and word finds help readers master new vocabulary terms. Application questions ask readers to make judgments based on the information in the chapter. Matching and fill-in-the-blank exercises help readers better understand chapter content. Study tips in the preface provide insights on the most effective methods for learning and retaining information. Answers to exercises in the back of the book include references to the appropriate textbook page to give readers instant feedback. NEW! Updated art throughout enhances learning by presenting anatomy even more clearly.
Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals by Jahangir MoiniAnatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals, Second Edition Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access written specifically with health professions students in mind. This text helps students navigate the subject through an array of features'including Test Your Understanding questions that regularly assess comprehension, Learning Goals that correlate to concrete Objectives, and a large assortment of end-of-chapter questions'that reinforce key concepts while promoting mastery of the material. In addition to the text's clean, updated design and more than 450 illustrations and photographs, Anatomy and Physiology for Health Professionals, Second Edition is accompanied by access to useful online instructor and student resources that make it the perfect fit for traditional, online, or hybrid courses.
Call Number: QP34.5 .M65 2016 North Campus
Publication Date: 2016
Anatomy and Physiology by Kenneth SaladinWith Saladin, students engage in the story of anatomy and physiology. Memorable stories must be effective in multiple ways. The story must paint a strong visual picture. The story must weave in tools to make the reader remember important events and understand their impact. Ken Saladin weaves graceful descriptions of human anatomy and physiology processes together with carefully selected clinical applications and fascinating stories from the history of medicine and evolutionary medicine to create a multi-layered story about the human body. A consistent set of chapter learning tools helps students identify and retain key concepts while the stunning visual program provides a realistic view of body structures and processes. The fifth edition is further improved by a complete integration of the text with extensive digital teaching and learning tools. Saladin's text requires no prior knowledge of college chemistry or cell biology, and is designed for a two-semester A&P course.
Call Number: QP34.5 .S23 2010 North Campus
Publication Date: 2009-09-02
Fundamentals of Sectional Anatomy by Denise L. LazoThe second edition of Fundamentals of Sectional Anatomy: An Imaging Approach is the ideal introductory text for new radiography students, seasoned students preparing for the CT and MRI exams, or anyone interested in learning about human anatomy. Chapters address the fundamentals of sectional anatomy, starting at the vertex of the skull and descending to the symphysis pubis, with additional in-depth coverage of the vertical column, major joints of the upper and lower extremities, and separate chapters on the facial bones and sinuses. This systematic approach to the organization of the book provides students with the most complete presentation and realistic exposure to sectional anatomy available. Numerous line drawings and two complete sets of fully labeled images complement each section of the text to strengthen the learning experience, while end-of-chapter summaries and review questions challenge readers to assess their understanding of important topics. Building upon its reputation for an uncluttered presentation and clearly labeled images, this new edition presents more than 200 new MR images, dozens of CT images, and new complex illustrations--transporting this already fascinating book into the modern age of radiography.
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Physical Therapy students check out the Functional Anatomy section in Primal Pictures Anatomy and Physiology Database to watch the muscles and bones in motion.