LibGuides: BSC 2010C: Principles of Biology I: Library Resources

Library Resources

Systems Biology by Leszek Konieczny; Irena Roterman-Konieczna; Paweł Spólnik
ISBN: 3031315561
Publication Date: 2023-06-09
This open-access textbook is an excellent introduction to systems biology, which has developed rapidly in recent years. It discusses the processes in living organisms in an integrated way, enabling the reader to understand the fundamental principles and cause-effect relationships in biology and biochemistry.
Painless Biology by Cynthia Pfirrmann
Call Number: QH307.2 .P48 2022
ISBN: 9781506280134
Publication Date: 2022-06-07
Whether you're a student or an adult looking to refresh your knowledge, Barron's Painless Biology provides review and practice in an easy, step-by-step format. An essential resource for: Virtual Learning Homeschool Learning pods Supplementing classes/in-person learning Inside you'll find: Comprehensive coverage of biology, including, nature of science, cell anatomy, biochemistry, animals and plants, genetics, and much more.

Here are some example keywords or phrases that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and academic databases.

"cellular respiration"
"meiosis"
"genetics"

Suggested Boolean Searches

Refine searches using operators like "AND," "OR," and "NOT," ensuring more precise and relevant results.

"Cell structure" AND "Prokaryotic"
"DNA structure" AND "Double helix"
"Adaptation" OR "Evolutionary change"

Suggested Subject Headings

Standardized terms are used to categorize and organize content within the library catalog and academic databases to enhance search precision and efficiency.

Cell Biology
Microbiology
Human Anatomy

Suggested Call Number Ranges

Locate materials within the library in these call number areas.

QH 302-QH 457

The following links will give you access to possible search terms that can be used when exploring the FSCJ online databases for your coursework.

Biology will guide you to our comprehensive online repository featuring an array of topics covering various aspects of biology. Materials include print books and e-resources.

Topics in Biology provides students the links to various peer-reviewed scholarly articles available within the FSCJ databases.

The following are links to FSCJ databases which provide users access to a wide range of scholarly resources, including academic journals, books, ebooks, videos, and other relevant course materials. ***BE SURE TO FIRST LOGIN TO YOUR MYFSCJ ACCOUNT TO GET THE FULL RESULTS LIST.

Science (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Supports science studies by providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics and showcase scientific disciplines that relate to real-world issues.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
(Elsevier) - NOTE: FSCJ has access to Open Access only. Select the Open Access filter to see full-test.
ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals . It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Funded by Other

Topic Resources

OER or Open Educational Resources are teaching, learning, and research materials intentionally created and licensed to be free for users to own, share, and in most cases, modify.

Concepts of Biology
OpenStax is a nonprofit educational technology initiative based at Rice University. Since 2012, OpenStax has created peer-reviewed, openly-licensed textbooks, which are available in free digital formats and for a low cost in print.
BC Open Collection
The B.C. Open Collection is a curated selection of open educational resources (OER) that can be accessed by educators in B.C. and beyond to use in the classroom, in an institutional learning management system, or on other teaching and learning platforms. All materials are openly licensed.

Research Writing

Students can develop stronger arguments for their college essays by using multiple sources for research. Use reliable Internet databases, utilize library resources, and scientifically derived empirical data.

Biology Junction
Best Ways to Write a Biology Research Paper for Freshmen.

Films on Demand
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.
iBiology
iBiology offers interactive online courses that help advanced high school students, undergraduates, graduate students and postdoctoral scholars do good science and advance their career and professional development.
Khan Bio
Khan Academy offers the biology archives, which contains legacy biology content for free to all users.

This program addresses the widespread ethical and legal problem of plagiarism, examining reasons used to justify content theft and the wide variety of forms it can take. Students and teachers talk frankly on-screen about their experiences with the problem and what leads some people to copy text or images from books, articles, Internet sites, and other students’ papers and projects.

Empowering educators. Inspiring students. HHMI offers real science, real stories, and real data to engage students in exploring the living world.
BioAlive
The free Life Science animations video share.
PhET
PhET is made possible by the University of Colorado Boulder and offers educational video animations and simulations to support students from various educational backgrounds and needs.
Learn.Genetics.
The Genetics Learning Science Center through the University of Utah offers users videos and interactive exploration on topics such as: evolution, cell biology, genetics, neuroscience, plants, and ecology.

Have a literary analysis paper coming up? This is one of the trickier types of essays for a lot of college students. Watch this video to learn a strategy for approaching literary analysis and to see an example.

Arizona State University Ask a Biologist
Sometimes the best way to learn biology is by playing a game or using a simulation. For this reason some of our stories and activities include companion games. Here is list of our current collection of fun biology games. Please note that these biology games are now in HTML5.
K20 Learn: Natural Selection
In Perfect Strain, players take the role of a microbiologist in the far future, cleaning up a toxic Earth by breeding pollution-consuming bacteria. Students discover strategies to breed certain bacterial strains in a virtual world.
Sci Games
Over the years the Space Science Institute has created a number of online exhibits on space science. We've decided to collect some of the games and activities from these sites on to this portal. You can run them by themselves, or open them in the context of the full exhibit.