Office 365 for Dummies by
Collaborate on documents in real time Utilize social networking in your daily tasks Increase productivity and grow your business Create a virtual office anywhere If you want to get your head in the cloud and get up to speed on the features in Office 365, you've come to the right place. Inside, you'll learn step by step how to use email, take advantage of SharePoint Online for collaboration, communicate with team members using Skype for Business, get work done with the latest version of Office Online, and how to make a plan for effectively migrating your company to Office 365. Inside... Understand cloud technology Dive into SharePoint Get social at work Learn about Office Online Skype at work Set up online meetings Work from anywhere Free up IT resources
Office 2016 for Dummies® by
Office 2016 For Dummies (9781119077374) is now being published as Office 2016 For Dummies (9781119293477). While this version features an older Dummies cover and design, the content is the same as the new release and should not be considered a different product. The bestselling Microsoft Office book of all time Packed with straightforward, friendly instruction, this updated edition of the bestselling Microsoft Office book gets you thoroughly up to speed on the latest version of the industry standard for office productivity suites. In no time, Office 2016 For Dummies will help you become a whiz at Word, take your Excel skills to new heights, add pizzazz to your PowerPoint presentations, and make every part of your work day more organized and productive. Following alongside approachable, plain-English explanations, you'll quickly discover how to type, format text, and design documents in Word; navigate and edit spreadsheets, create formulas, and analyze data in Excel; configure email, store contacts, organize tasks, and schedule your time with Outlook; create and edit well-designed and crowd-pleasing PowerPoint presentations; and design, edit, and modify an Access database. Even if the mere thought of working with Microsoft Office makes you nervous, this fun and friendly guide makes it easy. Helps you make sense of word processing, email, presentations, data management and analysis, and much more Covers the five main Office applications: Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook, and Access Walks you through the new features of Microsoft Office 2016 Written by a veteran author who has written more than 20 For Dummies books, which account for more than three million books in print If you're an uninitiated user looking to make the most of this powerful suite of applications, this hands-on, friendly guide is the key to your brand new Office!
Office 365 for Dummies by
Everything you need to get productive in the Cloud with Office 365 With 70 million users worldwide, Microsoft Office 365 combines the familiar Office desktop suite with cloud-based versions of Microsoft's next-generation communications and collaboration services. It offers many benefits including security, reliability, compatibility with other products, over-the-air updates in the cloud that don't require anything from the user, single sign on for access to everything right away, and so much more. Office 365 For Dummies offers a basic overview of cloud computing and goes on to cover Microsoft cloud solutions and the Office 365 product in a language you can understand. This includes an introduction to each component which leads into topics around using each feature in each application. Get up to speed on instant messaging Use audio, video, and web conferencing Get seamless access to the Office suite with Office Web apps Access information anywhere, anytime Office 365 is the key to office productivity -- and now you can put it to use for you!
How to Do Everything: Microsoft Office Online by 
Health Informatics by
Instructor Resources: Authors' responses to the chapter and case study discussion questions; guidance on how the case studies may be used; PowerPoint slides of the exhibits to supplement classroom discussions and lectures; and suggested activities for exploring chapter topics, including data sets. As the reach and influence of technology grow, the world becomes increasingly connected. What happens in one system--finance, manufacturing, research, infrastructure, supply chain, and many more--can have a significant impact on the activities and outcomes in other systems. Healthcare is no exception. Connecting all of these systems is vital in order to properly support clinical care. Health informatics has the potential to align these interlocking systems in a way that transforms clinical decision-making and healthcare delivery to optimize overall system performance. Health Informatics: A Systems Perspective takes a systems approach to leveraging information in healthcare and enhancing providers' capabilities through the use of technology and knowledge transfer. The book offers a conceptual framework for aligning clinical decision processes with system infrastructures, including information technology, organizational design, financing, and evaluation. The book's contributors--all leading academics and healthcare practitioners--balance theoretical viewpoints with practical considerations. Case studies and informative sidebars support theory with real-world applications, while learning objectives, key concepts, and discussion questions facilitate learning and reinforce content. A glossary, which defines the main concepts and key terminologies presented in the text, provides a useful overview of the material. Thoroughly updated and revised, the second edition includes three new chapters on information systems in relation to population health, global health systems, and alternative financial mechanisms and their compatibility with innovative delivery models. Additional topics include: The role of human resources and information technology in healthcareKnowledge-based decision-makingTransforming clinical work processesNursing informaticsPrecision medicineData and information securityAn essential resource for students and practicing managers alike, Health Informatics: A Systems Perspective explains how information technology can enable the transformation of health organizations to improve not only the quality of healthcare, but also the health of individuals and populations.
Ethical Health Informatics by
Ethical Health Informatics: Challenges and Opportunities, Third Edition (formerly titled Ethical Challenges in the Management of Health Information) is an invaluable resource for students and practitioners across the health disciplines as well as Information Technology and business students. The Third Edition is an in-depth revision that incorporates scenarios and ethical decision-making matrices that challenge the reader to determine the best course of ethical action for Health Information Management (HIM), nurses, administrators, and IT professionals. Each chapter includes coverage of selected critical legal issues in the management of health information. The Third Edition introduces chapters on professional values and the code of ethics; ethical decision-making guidelines and tools; as well as privacy and confidentiality. It also includes chapters on compliance, fraud, and abuse; the uses of information for coding, quality management, research, public health, and clinical care at the end of life; and the electronic health record and digital health information systems for patients, consumers, and caregivers. Additionally, the Third Edition discusses information security; integrated delivery systems; management of sensitive information (genetic, adoption, drug, alcohol, sexual, and behavioral information); and management and leadership, vendor management, entrepreneurship, and advocacy. This edition offers several new chapters:* Data Analytics: implications for providers, patients and administrators* Longitudinal Coordinated Care: includes the role of the patient as a member of the healthcare team* Information Technology and Biomedical Instrumentation* Information Governance and Management* Future Implications: anticipating ethical issues
Health Information Management by
The Updated and Extensively Revised Guide to Developing Efficient Health Information Management Systems Health Information Management is the most comprehensive introduction to the study and development of health information management (HIM). Students in all areas of health care gain an unmatched understanding of the entire HIM profession and how it currently relates to the complex and continuously evolving field of health care in the United States. This brand-new Sixth Edition represents the most thorough revision to date of this cornerstone resource. Inside, a group of hand-picked HIM educators and practitioners representing the vanguard of the field provide fundamental guidelines on content and structure, analysis, assessment, and enhanced information. Fully modernized to reflect recent changes in the theory and practice of HIM, this latest edition features all-new illustrative examples and in-depth case studies, along with: Fresh and contemporary examinations of both electronic and print health records, data management, data privacy and security, health informatics and analytics, and coding and classification systems An engaging and user-friendly pedagogy, complete with learning objectives, key terms, case studies, and problems with workable solutions in every chapter Ready-to-use PowerPoint slides for lectures, full lesson plans, and a test bank for turnkey assessments A must-have resource for everyone in health care, Health Information Management, Sixth Edition, puts everything you need at your fingertips.
Health Information Exchange by
Health Information Exchange (HIE): Navigating and Managing a Network of Health Information Systems allows health professionals to appropriately access, and securely share, patients' vital medical information electronically, thus improving the speed, quality, safety, and cost of patient care. The book presents foundational knowledge on HIE, covering the broad areas of technology, governance, and policy, providing a concise, yet in-depth, look at HIE that can be used as a teaching tool for universities, healthcare organizations with a training component, certification institutions, and as a tool for self-study for independent learners who want to know more about HIE when studying for certification exams. In addition, it not only provides coverage of the technical, policy, and organizational aspects of HIE, but also touches on HIE as a growing profession. In Part One, the book defines HIE, describing it as an emerging profession within HIT/Informatics. In Part Two, the book provides key information on the policy and governance of HIE, including stakeholder engagement, strategic planning, sustainability, etc. Part Three focuses on the technology behind HIE, defining and describing master person indexes, information infrastructure, interfacing, and messaging, etc. In Part Four, the authors discuss the value of HIE, and how to create and measure it. Finally, in Part Five, the book provides perspectives on the future of HIE, including emerging trends, unresolved challenges, etc.
The Project Manager's Guide to Health Information Technology Implementation by
This book focuses on providing information on project management specific for software implementations within the healthcare industry. It can be used as a beginners' guide as well as a reference for current project managers who might be new to software implementations. Utilizing the Project Management Institute's (PMI) methodology, the defined process groups and knowledge areas will be defined related to implementing custom and Commercial Off The Shelf (COTS) software. The Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC) is a standard for developing custom software, but can also be followed for implementing COTS applications as well. How will the system be set-up from an architecture and hardware standpoint? What environments will be needed and why? How are changes managed throughout the project and after? These questions and more will be reviewed. The differences between types of testing are defined as well as when each are utilized. Planning for the activation and measuring the success of the project and how well the strategic need has been met are key activities that are often not given the time and effort to plan as the other parts of the implementation project. This new edition updates the current content to better align with the newest version of the PMI's Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK), the latest technology and concepts. In addition, this new edition includes additional chapters covering security and privacy, contract management and system selection and transition to support.
Medical Billing and Coding for Dummies by
The definitive guide to starting a successful career in medical billing and coding With the healthcare sector growing at breakneck speed--it's currently the largest employment sector in the U.S. and expanding fast--medical billing and coding specialists are more essential than ever. These critical experts, also known as medical records and health information technicians, keep systems working smoothly by ensuring patient billing and insurance data are accurately and efficiently administered. This updated edition provides everything you need to begin--and then excel in--your chosen career. From finding the right study course and the latest certification requirements to industry standard practices and insider tips for dealing with government agencies and insurance companies, Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies has you completely covered. Find out about the flexible employment options available and how to qualify Understand the latest updates to the ICD-10 Get familiar with ethical and legal issues Discover ways to stay competitive and get ahead The prognosis is good--get this book today and set yourself up with the perfect prescription for a bright, secure, and financially healthy future!
Private Health Insurance and Essential Health Benefits by
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA), as of 2014, changed how insurers determine health insurance premiums and how consumers shop for individual market health insurance plans. For example, PPACA prohibited insurers from denying coverage or varying premiums based on consumer health status or gender. At the same time, PPACA required health plans to be marketed based on their metal tiers (bronze, silver, gold, and platinum), which helps consumers compare the relative value of each plan; it also required the establishment of health insurance exchanges in each state, through which consumers can compare and select from among participating health plans. This book examines the numbers of health plans available to individuals and how they changed from 2014 to 2015; and the range of health insurance premiums in 2014 and 2015, and how they changed for individuals in each state and county for selected consumers. The book discusses premium and coverage variations of private health insurance and essential health benefits.
Consolidated Billing for Long-Term Care by
Consolidated Billing for Long-Term Care Frosini Rubertino, RN, BSN, C-NE, CONA/LTC Consolidated billing remains a constant challenge for compliance and billing long-term care professionals. Consolidated Billing for Long-Term Care helps skilled nursing facilities (SNF) figure out which billed services they are responsible for paying and which they are not. This book opens with helpful background information on the intersection of SNF services and billing. It then covers the five major categories of consolidated billing and all the service inclusions and exclusions that apply to each, with an entire chapter dedicated to dissecting the trickiest cases. Also detailed is how to determine which components of an invoice should be paid and how to develop airtight payment agreements with outside service partners. Finally, this book provides strategies for implementing and shaping industry-required compliance systems (i.e., compliance and ethics programs and QAPI) that promote successful consolidated billing. Included are case scenarios and figures to illustrate key concepts, tips on avoiding fraudulent practices and other common billing pitfalls, and guidance on obtaining appropriate reimbursement. This resource will help you to do the following: Apply expert insight and insider tips to your SNF consolidated billing Understand what is excluded and included under consolidated billing Improve workflow and financial viability with compliant consolidated billing practices Avoid auditor scrutiny by correctly submitting claims to Medicare on the first try Table of Contents Part I: Background and Regulatory Breakdown Chapter 1: The Basics of SNF Skilled Coverage Medicare General Program Benefits Skilled Services Defined SNFs and NFs Defined Reimbursable SNF Services SNF Payment Coverage Requirements General SNF Payment and Billing Requirements Bottom Line Chapter 2: Introduction to SNF Consolidated Billing: The Mechanics A Checkered Billing Past Consolidated Billing Defined SNF CB Coding Requirements First Look: Sample CB Claim Form Termination of the Consolidated Billing Requirement Bottom Line Chapter 3: The Five Major Categories of Consolidated Billing Excluded Services Defined Major Categories of Consolidated Billing Bottom Line Chapter 4: Consolidated Billing Illustrated CB Reference Charts: The Who, What, and When of Consolidated Billing Test Your Knowledge: CB Fact vs. Fiction Bottom Line Chapter 5: Navigating Special Billing Cases Categorical Exclusions Ambulance Services Physician and Nonphysician Practitioner Services Unique Billing Scenarios Leave of Absence Chemotherapy Administration Influenza and Pneumococcal Pneumonia Vaccinations Bottom Line Part II: Compliance Strategy Chapter 6: Forging Successful Payment Arrangements With Outside Service Partners Agreements and Notifications Defined Rundown of the Payment Arrangement Provision Sample CMS Agreement and Notification Letters Decoded Bottom Line Chapter 7: Best Practices for Ongoing Consolidated Billing Compliance Billing Stage-Specific Compliance Strategies Systemic Compliance Programs Putting It All Together: Consolidated Billing Case Studies Bottom Line Appendix: Key Acronyms Defined Who should read this book? Billers coders MDS coordinators Administrators Business office managers Floor nurses Directors of nursing
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual! by
Know the how and why of common conditions--and assess them accurately--with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Visual, 3rd Edition . Fully illustrated in the popular Made Incredibly Visual style, this essential guide offers easy-to-follow explanations for the causes and mechanisms of numerous common disorders, listing symptoms and indications for each. Use this as the perfect study guide for the NCLEX® or certification exam, to support class materials, and to absorb the pathophysiology principles every nurse needs to know. Absorb the expert wisdom and insights of this invaluable guide . . . Walks you through the development stages of numerous diseases and disorders , illustrating their cellular process, symptoms, and effects on tissue and organs Explains cell parts and their functions , as well as cell division, adaptation, injury, and stress and disease Hundreds of photos, illustrations, and diagrams explaining key concepts and providing clear direction on how to recognize common conditions Supports accurate diagnosis and treatment - Common disorders for each major body system, such as: Cardiovascular - Acute coronary syndromes, aortic aneurysms, cardiomyopathy Respiratory - ARDS, asthma, chronic bronchitis, lung cancer Neurologic - Alzheimer's, cerebral aneurysm, migraine headaches Gastrointestinal - Cholecystitis, cirrhosis, Crohn's disease Musculoskeletal - Carpal tunnel syndrome, herniated disk, osteoarthritis Hematologic - Anemia, leukemia, sickle cell disease Immune - AIDS, allergic rhinitis, rheumatoid arthritis Endocrine - Adrenal hypofunction, diabetes mellitus, metabolic syndrome Renal - Acute renal failure, acute tubular necrosis, pyelonephritis Integumentary - Acne, burns, pressure ulcers Reproductive - Breast, cervical, ovarian, and prostate cancer Special chapter features: Vision Quest - End-of-chapter quizzes in the form of puzzles, riddles, and multiple-choice questions, to help you retain vital information Risky business - Risk factors to be aware of while treating each condition How it happens - The physiological process that creates a particular condition What to look for - A list of symptoms for each condition Age-old story - Discusses how a condition develops and presents, according to the patient's age Memory board - Visual tricks that help you remember vital concepts and key treatments
Anatomical Chart Company Atlas of Pathophysiology by
Comprehensive and practical, the freshly updated Anatomical Chart Company Atlas of Pathophysiology, 4th Edition , offers nearly 450 illustrations that demonstrate the causes, symptoms, and progression of more than 200 disorders. Clear and simple explanations of each disorder are followed by rationales for proven clinical interventions. This backup to classroom texts is also a handy on-the-unit reference for nurses and other healthcare professionals, and support for patient education. At-a-glance answers--and the right interventions--for more than 200 disorders in a quick-read format ... NEW includes a free eBook download see details below NEWand updated content illustrating and explaining the most common conditions, with topics presented alphabetically: Central concepts--cells, cancer, infection, genetics, and fluids and electrolytes Disorders affecting each body system--respiratory, neurologic, gastrointestinal, musculoskeletal, hematologic, immunologic, endocrine, and reproductive--as well as renal, skin, and sensory disorders Each disease entry presents an introduction, causes, pathophysiology, complications, signs and symptoms, diagnostic test results, and treatment, with facing page showing a detailed illustration to help you visualize the disease process Easy-to-locate content in an easy-read template that tackles numerous topics found in daily practice, such as: Diseases and disorders that need immediate attention, such as pulmonary embolism, depression, and glaucoma The differences between prehypertension and Stage 1 hypertension Which parts of the brain are affected by generalized seizures, as opposed to partial seizures Lifestyle changes to recommend to a patient with high plasma glucose The causes of carpel tunnel syndrome 450 large, detailed, full-color illustrations from Anatomical Chart Company to help you differentiate among symptoms and disorders that appear similar Icons that offer important tips, including: Age Alert - how pathophysiologic processes--incidence, onset, and clinical appearance--appear in different age groups, such as aortic aneurysm, atypical myocardial infarction, and Parkinson's disease Clinical Tips - advice on areas such as improving auscultation in myocarditis, evaluating diagnostic test results in suspected spinal injuries, early recognition of life-threatening symptoms in myasthenia gravis, respiration changes in peritonitis, and more Complications - identifies common progressions of untreated or worsening conditions Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editor Julie Stewart, DNP, MPH, MSN, FNP-BC, AAHIVS, is an Associate Professor and Director of the Family Nurse Practitioner and Doctor of Nursing Practice Programs at Sacred Heart University, College of Nursing, in Fairfield, Connecticut.
The Emerging Healthcare Leader by
In the ever-changing healthcare environment, the profession of healthcare management needs strong leaders who will rise to the challenges of today and carry organizations into the future. The Emerging Healthcare Leader: A Field Guide is an essential resource for those in the early stages of becoming a healthcare leader. Packed with tactics, tips, and illuminating straightforward examples, this book is an indispensable guide to building your career in healthcare leadership. Honestly and authentically, authors Laurie Baedke and Natalie Lamberton offer practical suggestions and share anecdotes, personal stories, and important lessons learned from their own professional experiences. The book covers: · Developing self-awareness · Practicing self-management · Cultivating your personal brand · Launching your career · Understanding and refining your leadership style · Learning and rebounding from failures · Maximizing your internship opportunities · Mastering the interview process This second edition includes new chapters on emotional intelligence and successful onboarding. Valuable content on technology, social media, online presence, networking, and professional decorum has been updated and expanded. Four new "Notes to My 25-Year-Old Self" from distinguished healthcare leaders are sources of additional inspiration and insight for readers. Whether you're a newcomer to healthcare management or transitioning into a leadership role, The Emerging Healthcare Leader: A Field Guide provides the advice and ideas you need to advance your career. "More than theory, The Emerging Healthcare Leader: A Field Guide is your road map for that journey. A refreshing and practical tool, this should be your handbook, your back-pocket how-to resource as you traverse the early years of your leadership career." --Rulon F. Stacey, PhD, FACHE, Chairman (2011-2012), American College of Healthcare Executives
Health Information Systems by
This is a practical book for health and IT professionals who need to ensure that patient safety is prioritized in the design and implementation of clinical information technology. Healthcare professionals are increasingly reliant on information technology to deliver care and inform their clinical decision making. Health IT provides enormous benefits in efficiency, communication and decision making. However a number of high-profile UK and US studies have concluded that when Health IT is poorly designed or sub-optimally implemented then patient safety can be compromised. Manufacturers and healthcare organizations are increasingly required to demonstrate that their Health IT solutions are proactively assured. Surprisingly the majority of systems are not subject to regulation so there is little in the way of practical guidance as to how risk management can be achieved. The book fills that gap. The author, a doctor and IT professional, harnesses his two decades of experience to characterize the hazards that health technology can introduce. Risk can never be eliminated but by drawing on lessons from other safety-critical industries the book systematically sets out how clinical risk can be strategically controlled. The book proposes the employment of a Safety Case to articulate and justify residual risk so that not only is risk proactively managed but it is seen to be managed. These simple techniques drive product quality and allow a technology's benefits to be realized without compromising patient safety.
Introduction to Health Care Services: Foundations and Challenges by
A comprehensive guide to the structure, synergy, and challengesin U.S. health care delivery Introduction to Health Care Services: Foundations andChallenges offers new insights into the most important sectorsof the United States' health care industry and the many challengesthe future holds. Designed to provide a comprehensive andup-to-date understanding of the system, this textbook covers themany facets of health care delivery and details the interaction ofhealth, environments, organizations, populations, and the healthprofessions. Written by authors with decades of experience teachingand working in health care administration and management, the bookexamines the current state and changing face of health caredelivery in the United States. Each chapter includes learningobjectives and discussion questions that help guide and engagedeeper consideration of the issues at hand, providing acomprehensive approach for students. Cases studies demonstratinginnovations in the delivery of health care services are alsopresented. Health care administration requires a thorough understanding ofthe multiple systems that define and shape the delivery of healthcare in the United States. At the same time, it is important forstudents to gain an appreciation of the dilemma confronting policymakers, providers, and patients in the struggle to balance cost,quality, and access. Introduction to Health Care Services:Foundations and Challenges is an in-depth examination of themajor health care issues and policy changes that have had an impacton the U.S. health care delivery system. Includes information on U.S. health care delivery, from care tocost, and the forces of change Focuses on major industry players, including providers,insurers, and facilities Highlights challenges facing health care delivery in thefuture, including physician shortages, quality care, and thechronic disease epidemic The U.S. health care system is undergoing major reform, and theeffects will ripple across every sector of the industry.Introduction to Health Care Services: Foundations andChallenges gives students a complete introduction tounderstanding the issues and ramifications.
Public Health Law by
Lawrence O. Gostin's seminal Public Health Law is widely acclaimed as the definitive statement on public health law at the turn of the twenty-first century. In this bold third edition, Gostin is joined by Lindsay F. Wiley to analyze major health threats of our time such as chronic diseases, emerging infectious diseases, antimicrobial resistance, bioterrorism, natural disasters, opiod overdose, and gun violence. The authors draw on constitutional law, administrative law, local government law, and tort law to develop their conception of law as a tool for protecting the public's health. The book creates an intellectual framework for modern public health law and supports that framework with illustrations of the scientific, political, and ethical issues involved. In proposing innovative solutions for the future of the public's health, Gostin and Wiley's essential study provides a blueprint for public and political debates to come. New issues covered in this edition: * Corporate personhood rights raised in response to regulations of tobacco, food and beverages, alcohol, firearms, prescription drugs, and marijuana. * Local government authority to protect the public's health. * Deregulation and harm reduction as modes of public health law intervention. * Taxation, spending, and alteration of the socioeconomic environment as modes of public health law intervention. * Access to health care as a strategy for protecting the public's health. * Taxation, spending, licensing, zoning, and shared-use strategies for chronic disease prevention. * The public health law perspective on violence and injury prevention. * Health justice as a framework for reducing health disparities and protecting the public's health.
Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals by
Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is a concise and practical guide to legal and ethical dilemmas facing healthcare professionals in the real-world today. Thoroughly updated and featuring new case studies, this dynamic text will help students to better understand the issues they will face on the job and the implications in the legal arena. With contemporary topics, real-world examples, and accessible language, this comprehensive text offers students an applied perspective and the opportunity to develop critical thinking skills. Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals provides an effective transition from the classroom to the reality of a clinical environment.
The Law of Healthcare Administration by
Instructor Resources: test bank, two versions of a PowerPoint presentation, and an updated instructor's manual with chapter overviews and talking points for the discussion questions that follow each chapter and major case excerpt. The Law of Healthcare Administration offers a thorough examination of health law in the United States from a management perspective. Using plain language accessible to nonlawyers, the book moves from broad-brush treatments of the US legal system and the history of medicine to specific issues that affect healthcare leaders daily, including contracts, torts, taxation, antitrust laws, regulatory compliance, and, most pressing, health insurance reform and the important changes that have taken place since the Affordable Care Act (ACA) became law in 2010. The legal concepts discussed in the book are amply supported by real-life examples, detailed explanations, and excerpts from decisions of federal and state courts. Highlights of the new edition include: The status of ACA implementation following NFIB v. Sibelius and King v. Burwell , the two most serious legal challenges to the reform law The history of nursing, added to the history of medicine chapter The status of Medicare's inpatient admission standards and the two-midnight rule Prominent antitrust cases from Ohio, Idaho, and North Carolina End-of-life issues, including the Physician Orders for Life-Sustaining Treatment (POLST) paradigm and death with dignity laws The Whole Woman's Health case, in which the Supreme Court reaffirmed the essential holdings of Roe v. Wade and its progeny The Supreme Court's decision on implied certification, plus other issues related to false claims and fraud Like the editions before it, the eighth edition of The Law of Healthcare Administration is practical and well suited to students and educators in health administration, public health, nursing, and similar programs and disciplines.
Data Collection by
This book presents a broad and dynamic perspective on data collection practices across multiple disciplines. The contributors identify potential ethical concerns, and describe future directions for addressing these issues. Furthermore, this book provides the reader with details about recent and possible future advances in the use of data collection practices within the fields of healthcare, social and behavioral sciences, digital survivor work, crisis work, computer technology/needs assessment development, and the field of hospitality management. Each chapter provides the reader with direct insight into these multiple fields of practice. The contributing authors are experts in their disciplines, and provide rich perspectives to the audience. Chapters provide descriptions regarding the data collection methods utilized in each field, and the best implications for data practices and future work within these fields.
Handbook of Healthcare Analytics by
How can analytics scholars and healthcare professionals access the most exciting and important healthcare topics and tools for the 21st century? Editors Tinglong Dai and Sridhar Tayur, aided by a team of internationally acclaimed experts, have curated this timely volume to help newcomers and seasoned researchers alike to rapidly comprehend a diverse set of thrusts and tools in this rapidly growing cross-disciplinary field. The Handbook covers a wide range of macro-, meso- and micro-level thrusts--such as market design, competing interests, global health, personalized medicine, residential care and concierge medicine, among others--and structures what has been a highly fragmented research area into a coherent scientific discipline. The handbook also provides an easy-to-comprehend introduction to five essential research tools--Markov decision process, game theory and information economics, queueing games, econometric methods, and data science--by illustrating their uses and applicability on examples from diverse healthcare settings, thus connecting tools with thrusts. The primary audience of the Handbook includes analytics scholars interested in healthcare and healthcare practitioners interested in analytics. This Handbook: Instills analytics scholars with a way of thinking that incorporates behavioral, incentive, and policy considerations in various healthcare settings. This change in perspective--a shift in gaze away from narrow, local and one-off operational improvement efforts that do not replicate, scale or remain sustainable--can lead to new knowledge and innovative solutions that healthcare has been seeking so desperately. Facilitates collaboration between healthcare experts and analytics scholar to frame and tackle their pressing concerns through appropriate modern mathematical tools designed for this very purpose. The handbook is designed to be accessible to the independent reader, and it may be used in a variety of settings, from a short lecture series on specific topics to a semester-long course.
Leveraging Data in Healthcare by
The healthcare industry is in a state of accelerated transition. The proliferation of data and its assimilation, access, use, and security are ever-increasing challenges. Finding ways to operationalize business and clinical data management in the face of government and market mandates is enough to keep most chief officers up at night! Leveraging Data in Healthcare: Best Practices for Controlling, Analyzing, and Using Dataargues that the key to survival for any healthcare organization in today's data-saturated market is to fundamentally redefine the roles of chief information executives--CIOs, CFOs, CMIOs, CTOs, CNIOs, CTOs and CDOs--from suppliers of data to drivers of data intelligence. This book presents best practices for controlling, analyzing, and using data. The elements of preparing an actionable data strategy are exemplified on subjects such as revenue integrity, revenue management, and patient engagement. Further, the book illustrates how to operationalize the electronic integration of health and financial data within patient financial services, information management services, and patient engagement activities. An integrated environment will activate a data-driven intelligent decision support infrastructure. The increasing impact of consumer engagement will continue to affect the organization's bottom line. Success in this new world will need collaboration among the chiefs, users, and data creators.
Modern Approaches to Clinical Trials Using SAS: Classical, Adaptive, and Bayesian Methods by
Get the tools you need to use SAS® in clinical trial design!Unique and multifaceted, Modern Approaches to Clinical Trials Using SAS: Classical, Adaptive, and Bayesian Methods, edited by Sandeep M. Menon and Richard C. Zink, thoroughly covers several domains of modern clinical trial design: classical, group sequential, adaptive, and Bayesian methods that are applicable to and widely used in various phases of pharmaceutical development. Written for biostatisticians, pharmacometricians, clinical developers, and statistical programmers involved in the design, analysis, and interpretation of clinical trials, as well as students in graduate and postgraduate programs in statistics or biostatistics, the book touches on a wide variety of topics, including dose-response and dose-escalation designs; sequential methods to stop trials early for overwhelming efficacy, safety, or futility; Bayesian designs that incorporate historical data; adaptive sample size re-estimation; adaptive randomization to allocate subjects to more effective treatments; and population enrichment designs. Methods are illustrated using clinical trials from diverse therapeutic areas, including dermatology, endocrinology, infectious disease, neurology, oncology, and rheumatology. Individual chapters are authored by renowned contributors, experts, and key opinion leaders from the pharmaceutical/medical device industry or academia. Numerous real-world examples and sample SAS code enable users to readily apply novel clinical trial design and analysis methodologies in practice.
Sharing Clinical Trial Data by
Data sharing can accelerate new discoveries by avoiding duplicative trials, stimulating new ideas for research, and enabling the maximal scientific knowledge and benefits to be gained from the efforts of clinical trial participants and investigators. At the same time, sharing clinical trial data presents risks, burdens, and challenges. These include the need to protect the privacy and honor the consent of clinical trial participants; safeguard the legitimate economic interests of sponsors; and guard against invalid secondary analyses, which could undermine trust in clinical trials or otherwise harm public health. Sharing Clinical Trial Data presents activities and strategies for the responsible sharing of clinical trial data. With the goal of increasing scientific knowledge to lead to better therapies for patients, this book identifies guiding principles and makes recommendations to maximize the benefits and minimize risks. This report offers guidance on the types of clinical trial data available at different points in the process, the points in the process at which each type of data should be shared, methods for sharing data, what groups should have access to data, and future knowledge and infrastructure needs. Responsible sharing of clinical trial data will allow other investigators to replicate published findings and carry out additional analyses, strengthen the evidence base for regulatory and clinical decisions, and increase the scientific knowledge gained from investments by the funders of clinical trials. The recommendations of Sharing Clinical Trial Data will be useful both now and well into the future as improved sharing of data leads to a stronger evidence base for treatment. This book will be of interest to stakeholders across the spectrum of research--from funders, to researchers, to journals, to physicians, and ultimately, to patients.
Research Laboratory Safety by
Research Laboratory Safety explains the most important prerequisite when working in a laboratory: Knowing the potential hazards of equipment and the chemical materials to be employed. Students learn how to assess and control risks in a research laboratory and to identify a possible danger. An approach on the hazard classes such as physical, chemical, biological and radiation hazards is given and exercises to each class prepare for exams.
Health Informatics Data Analysis by
This book provides a comprehensive overview of different biomedical data types, including both clinical and genomic data. Thorough explanations enable readers to explore key topics ranging from electrocardiograms to Big Data health mining and EEG analysis techniques. Each chapter offers a summary of the field and a sample analysis. Also covered are telehealth infrastructure, healthcare information association rules, methods for mass spectrometry imaging, environmental biodiversity, and the global nonlinear fitness function for protein structures. Diseases are addressed in chapters on functional annotation of lncRNAs in human disease, metabolomics characterization of human diseases, disease risk factors using SNP data and Bayesian methods, and imaging informatics for diagnostic imaging marker selection. With the exploding accumulation of Electronic Health Records (EHRs), there is an urgent need for computer-aided analysis of heterogeneous biomedical datasets. Biomedical data is notorious for its diversified scales, dimensions, and volumes, and requires interdisciplinary technologies for visual illustration and digital characterization. Various computer programs and servers have been developed for these purposes by both theoreticians and engineers. This book is an essential reference for investigating the tools available for analyzing heterogeneous biomedical data. It is designed for professionals, researchers, and practitioners in biomedical engineering, diagnostics, medical electronics, and related industries.
Pharmacology Clear and Simple by
Basic math review helps students learn to perform the calculations necessary to administer medications correctly. "Master the Essentials" tables cover side effects, precautions, contraindications, and interactions for each classification. Drug classification review tables reinforce need-to-know information in each class. "Fast Tip" boxes offer quick facts and mnemonics. "A Closer Look" boxes examine important information in detail. "Check-up Questions" throughout each chapter promote understanding and help students retain and apply the information. Coverage of specific drugs provides context for learning drug classifications. Critical-thinking exercises encourage students to think beyond the chapter and apply their new knowledge to real-life scenarios. Application exercises and review questions at the end of each chapter reinforce learning.
Pharmacology Success by
About 1,200 questions in all with Medication Memory Joggers for select questions and rationales for both correct and incorrect answers. Includes a 100-question comprehensive final exam Most questions written at application and analysis level--just like the exam. An easy-to-follow format, organized by body system. All questions field tested by nursing students. NEW! FREE, 30-day access to Davis Edge NCLEX-RN® included with purchase of new print book. Test yourself with 10,000+ challenging questions; review proven test-taking strategies; and prepare for the biggest test of your career with simulated NCLEX exams.
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! by
Calculate correct dosages with safety and confidence, with the easy-to-follow nursing expertise of Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! 5th edition. This fully illustrated guide offers the complete how-t- on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes, with numerous practice exercises and seasoned guidance on interpreting drug orders accurately. Understand class materials more fully, get ready for the NCLEX or certification exam, or refresh your calculation skills with this enjoyable, colorful text. Your Incredible Easy editors know from experience that learning the basics isn't always easy s- you'll find full coverage of topics including: - math basics such as fractions, decimals, and percentages - measurement systems and conversions - calculating oral, topical, liquid, and rectal drug dosages - calculating parenteral injections and IV infusions - calculating pediatric, obstetric, and critical care dosages - recording drug administration An easy-reference format with clearly worded, bulleted content demonstrated with numerous photos, illustrations, and diagrams will give you step-by-step direction on: - calculating dosages of all kinds - starting an infusion, including IV guidelines - choosing administration equipment - dealing with poor handwriting - understanding medication labels and drug abbreviations - avoiding common drug errors Plus, you'll get all of the learning aids, tips, and tricks that nurses have come t- expect from the books in the Incredibly Easy series: - Full-color inserts include: improving patient safety by using infusion devices; the anatomy of a medication label - Appendices include: multiple choice Q&A; drug therapy conversions chart; dosage calculation formulas table; glossary with key terms and definitions - Before you give that drug! - Crucial advice on avoiding medication errors - Advice from the experts - Tips on ensuring accurate dosages - For math phobics only - Hints, tips, and drawings t- help you dissolve math obstacles - Dosage drill - Real-life clinical dosage situations t- practice your calculation skills on - Memory jogger - Fortifies content with easy-to-remember tips and formulas - Quick quiz - Questions with answers/explanations at end of every chapter t- help you remember vital points
Medical Terminology by
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.
Medical Terminology by
Successful healthcare professionals make connections every day--whether it is connecting word parts to make medical terms, recognizing the interconnectedness of body structures and systems, or communicating with colleagues and patients. Medical Terminology: Get Connected! prepares readers to make these connections. Designed to be fun, accessible, and eye-catching, its powerful approach guides students step-by-step through mastering relevant word parts, understanding word roots, and word assembly. To help students learn meanings, correct spelling, pronunciation, and other components of each term, the book contains numerous exercises, tips, and colorful figures. As they practice and apply what they read, students will learn to build, translate, and link medical terms with confidence. KEY TOPICS: Introduction to Medical Terminology; Suffixes; Prefixes; Anatomical Terminology; Dermatology: Integumentary System; Orthopedics: Musculoskeletal System; Cardiology: Cardiovascular System; Hematology: Blood; Immunology: Immune Systems; Pulmonology: Respiratory System; Gastroenterology: Digestive System; Urology and Nephrology: Urinary System and Male Reproductive System; Obstetrics and Gynecology: Female Reproductive System; Neurology: Nervous System; Endocrinology: Endocrine System; Ophthalmology: The Eye; Otorhinolaryngology: Ear, Nose, and Throat. MARKET: Medical Terminology is designed for one-semester, one-credit-hour, or self-study introductory medical terminology courses. The flexible format includes features optimized for either lecture support or use as an independent workbook.
Comparative Effectiveness Research (CER) by
Briefly stated, comparative effectiveness research pertains to the direct, succinct and precise comparison of existing healthcare interventions to determine what works best for each individual patient, and which treatment course poses the greatest benefits, costs and harms. The core question of comparative effectiveness research goes beyond establishing what treatment works best, for whom, and under what circumstances: it is a hypothesis-driven endeavor designed to uncover and implement the consensus of the best evidence base for patient-centered, effectiveness-focused and evidence-based health care. Members at the Institute of Medicine and the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research concur that comparative effectiveness research involves the generation and synthesis of the best available evidence for a treatment intervention by means of a process driven by the PICOTS question/hypothesis, and are directed at comparing and contrasting the benefits, costs and harms of alternative methods to prevent, diagnose, treat, and monitor a clinical conditions with the specified intent of improving the delivery of health care. The purpose of comparative effectiveness research is to assist healthcare providers, patients, allied clinicians, caregivers and other stakeholders to engage together and make informed decisions that will improve healthcare at both the individual and population levels, and in so doing utilize the identified best evidence base in specific clinical settings, a process that the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality defines as "Translational Effectiveness". In brief, comparative effectiveness research is the tool and the process necessary for translational effectiveness. In this light, it is critical and timely to facilitate comparative effectiveness research as one of the essential and primary components of patient-centered, effectiveness-focused and evidence-based clinical decision-making in healthcare, as the premier process that results in improved patient outcomes, enhanced research planning, better products, and novel evidence-based policy development. This book is a compilation of the writings of several experts in the field and their collaborators. Each chapter examines specific facets of the process of comparative effectiveness research-based clinical decision-making in the principal domains of healthcare, which are subsumed in this work as dentistry, Western and alternative medicine, nursing, and pharmacology. Taken together, the chapters in this book present a brief, yet comprehensive overview and discussion of the current state of comparative effectiveness in healthcare. They establish the central role of systematic reviews in the process of clinical decision-making in evidence-based health care, and examine in depth the statistical significance and the clinical relevance of actualising and evaluating clinical decision-making. Additionally, policies in optimizing evidence-based, patient-centered and effectiveness-focused clinical outcomes, stakeholders engagement for raising health literacy in the U.S. and worldwide in this decade of the twenty-first century and beyond are discussed.
Evaluative Research Methods by
How do research students and their supervisors respond in a world of 'fake news', the destabilisation of public institutions and the rise of populism? The very foundations of our liberal democracies seem to be under threat, and this implicates social inquiry. Postgraduate research remains one of the few information spaces which are still free of politicisation and committed to validation. This book focuses on democracy in inquiry, and on the role of inquiry in a democracy - how research helps us to deliberate over what counts as of public value. It is a research methods book, but methods shaped by political and ethical purposes, and by the challenge of making judgements about what, in the public sphere, is worthy. We may be looking at a police training program, the siting of a clean energy project, a new school curriculum, maternal health program or an environmental adaptation project - in each case and in others like them we have to negotiate perspectives and claims, forge and justify a consensus, support competing stakeholders with the best information and analyses possible. And we have to make our work defensible - undeniable in the forum of public debate and exchange, examination and accountability. This book, full of examples from contemporary research projects, is designed to help navigate our way through the complexities of social research which focuses on judgements about public action. The book was written with research students and includes examples of their work. It recognises that supervisors often struggle as much as students in meeting the challenges of inquiry that involves some element of evaluative judgement - inquiry that potentially carries consequences. Where there are no quick-and-ready recipes, check-lists or theoretical frameworks - where we confront the particularities of the context in which the research takes place, we are all forced back onto good methodological thinking, and this is the pedagogical framing of the book.
Business Administration for Clinical Trials by
Clinical research administration is much like an orange-remove the peel, and what appears to be simple is actually many interconnected, but separate, sections. Investigators conducting clinical research trials must manage the myriad administrative aspects of the research enterprise. New investigators often underestimate the time commitment and resources that research management requires. Clinical research professionals must manage this complicated process while fostering productive environments and relationships and also navigating regulation, compliance, and the institutional review board. Filled with tools, techniques, and templates, Business Administration for Clinical Trials provides research professionals a road map and deeper understanding of strategic planning, financial management, and regulatory implementation to successfully conduct clinical research trials. Cavalieri and Rupp share their highly practical and easily adaptable tactics for developing an effective administrative infrastructure and designing a study down to the granular level. This book will help you: - Develop business plans - Negotiate study contracts - Navigate regulatory approval processes - Secure resources, testing services, and support - Foster professional relationships - Manage revenue cycles - Put regulations into practice - Implement effective quality-control processes
Principles and Practice of Clinical Research by
Principles and Practice of Clinical Research, Fourth Edition has been thoroughly revised to provide a comprehensive look at both the fundamental principles and expanding practice of clinical research. New to this edition of this highly regarded reference, authors have focused on examples that broadly reflect clinical research on a global scale while including a discussion of international regulations, studies, and implications. In addition to key topics such as bioethics, clinical outcome data, cultural diversity, protocol guidelines, and "omic" platforms, this edition contains new chapters devoted to electronic health records and information resources for clinical researchers, as well as the many opportunities associated with big data. Covering a vast number of topics and practical advice for both novice and advanced clinical investigators, this book is a highly relevant and essential resource for all those involved in conducting research.
Handbook for Clinical Research : Design, Statistics, and Implementation by
With over 80 information-packed chapters, Handbook for Clinical Research delivers the practical insights and expert tips necessary for successful research design, analysis, and implementation. Using clear language and an accessible bullet point format, the authors present the knowledge and expertise developed over time and traditionally shared from mentor to mentee and colleague to colleague. Organized for quick access to key topics and replete with practical examples, the book describes a variety of research designs and statistical methods and explains how to choose the best design for a particular project. Research implementation, including regulatory issues and grant writing, is also covered. The book opens with a section on the basics of research design, discussing the many ways in which studies can be organized, executed, and evaluated. The second section is devoted to statistics and explains how to choose the correct statistical approach and reviews the varieties of data types, descriptive and inferential statistics, methods for demonstrating associations, hypothesis testing and prediction, specialized methods, and considerations in epidemiological studies and measure construction. The third section covers implementation, including how to develop a grant application step by step, the project budget, and the nuts and bolts of the timely and successful completion of a research project and documentation of findings: procedural manuals and case report forms; collecting, managing and securing data; operational structure and ongoing monitoring and evaluation; and ethical and regulatory concerns in research with human subjects. With a concise presentation of the essentials for successful research, the Handbook for Clinical Research is a valuable addition to the library of any student, research professional, or clinician interested in expanding the knowledge base of his or her field. Key Features: Delivers the essential elements, practical insights, and trade secrets for ensuring successful research design, analysis, and implementation Presents the nuts and bolts of statistical analysis Organized for quick access to a wealth of information Replete with practical examples of successful research designs o from single case designs to meta-analysis - and how to achieve them Addresses research implementation including regulatory issues and grant writing
Teaching Clinical Research Methodology by Example by
Teaching Clinical Research Methodology by Example has two principal objectives: To tell the story of the research process in action and to provide a glimpse into the minds of the researchers responsible for some of the major advances (and setbacks) in modern medicine. To explain the principles of evidence-based medicine by reviewing the research methods required to prove or disprove a theory. This text is written in a style accessible to health professionals who do not have a background in clinical epidemiology. The first section of the book, 'Causation', begins with an explanation of "casual" and "coincidental" associations and follows with examples: Smoking and lung cancer. Dietary fats and coronary heart disease. Cause and cure of peptic ulcers. Viral infection and cancer of the cervix. Vaccination and autism. Venous obstruction as the cause of multiple sclerosis. The second section of the book explores prevention, treatment, and the ethical principles of clinical trials. Treatments presented include surgery for breast cancer, acute lymphoblastic leukemia, use of Viagra, stem cells in breast cancer, and the use of aspirin to treat heart attacks. Preventive measures discussed include vaccines, peri-menopausal hormone therapy, aspirin in the treatment of heart attacks, prevention of sudden death after heart attacks, stroke prevention, preventing fatal pulmonary embolism in surgical patients. Written for medical students, practicing physicians in all areas of specialty, medical historians, and medical writers, the book includes a chapter on assessing net clinical benefits of a treatment, and closes with a glossary of methodological terms.
How to Be an Inclusive Leader by
We know why diversity is important, but how do we drive real change at work? Diversity and inclusion expert Jennifer Brown provides a step-by-step guide for the personal and emotional journey we must undertake to create an inclusive workplace where everyone can thrive. Human potential is unleashed when we feel like we belong. That's why inclusive workplaces experience higher engagement, performance, and profits. But the reality is that many people still feel unable to bring their true selves to work. In a world where the talent pool is becoming increasingly diverse, it's more important than ever for leaders to truly understand how to support inclusion. Drawing on years of work with many leading organizations, Jennifer Brown shows what leaders at any level can do to spark real change. She guides readers through the Inclusive Leader Continuum, a set of four developmental stages: unaware, aware, active, and advocate. Brown describes the hallmarks of each stage, the behaviors and mind-sets that inform it, and what readers can do to keep progressing. Whether you're a powerful CEO or a new employee without direct reports, there are actions you can take that can drastically change the day-to-day reality for your colleagues and the trajectory of your organization. Anyone can--and should--be an inclusive leader. Brown lays out simple steps to help you understand your role, boost your self-awareness, take action, and become a better version of yourself in the process. This book will meet you where you are and provide a road map to create a workplace of greater mutual understanding where everyone's talents can shine.
Managing and Leading People Through Organizational Change by
Tremendous forces for change are radically reshaping the world of work. Disruptive innovations, radical thinking, new business models and resource scarcity are impacting every sector. Although the scale of expected change is not unprecedented, what is unique is the pervasive nature of the change and its accelerating pace which people in organizations have to cope with. Structures, systems, processes and strategies are relatively simple to understand and even fix. People, however, are more complex. Change can have a different impact on each of them, all of which can cause different attitudes and reactions. Managing and Leading People Through Organizational Change is written for leaders with the key responsibility of managing people through transitions. Managing and Leading People through Organizational Change provides a critical analysis of change and transformation in organizations from a theoretical and practical perspective. It addresses the individual, team and organizational issues of leading and managing people before, during and after change, using case studies and interviews with people from organizations in different sectors across the globe. This book demonstrates how theory can be applied in practice through practical examples and recommendations, focusing on the importance of understanding the impact of the nature of change on individuals and engaging them collaboratively throughout the transformation journey.
Teamwork, Leadership and Communication : Collaboration Basics for Health Professionals by 
Handbook for Clinical Research : Design, Statistics, and Implementation by
With over 80 information-packed chapters, Handbook for Clinical Research delivers the practical insights and expert tips necessary for successful research design, analysis, and implementation. Using clear language and an accessible bullet point format, the authors present the knowledge and expertise developed over time and traditionally shared from mentor to mentee and colleague to colleague. Organized for quick access to key topics and replete with practical examples, the book describes a variety of research designs and statistical methods and explains how to choose the best design for a particular project. Research implementation, including regulatory issues and grant writing, is also covered. The book opens with a section on the basics of research design, discussing the many ways in which studies can be organized, executed, and evaluated. The second section is devoted to statistics and explains how to choose the correct statistical approach and reviews the varieties of data types, descriptive and inferential statistics, methods for demonstrating associations, hypothesis testing and prediction, specialized methods, and considerations in epidemiological studies and measure construction. The third section covers implementation, including how to develop a grant application step by step, the project budget, and the nuts and bolts of the timely and successful completion of a research project and documentation of findings: procedural manuals and case report forms collecting, managing and securing data operational structure and ongoing monitoring and evaluation and ethical and regulatory concerns in research with human subjects. With a concise presentation of the essentials for successful research, the Handbook for Clinical Research is a valuable addition to the library of any student, research professional, or clinician interested in expanding the knowledge base of his or her field. Key Features: Delivers the essential elements, practical insights, and trade secrets for ensuring successful research design, analysis, and implementation Presents the nuts and bolts of statistical analysis Organized for quick access to a wealth of information Replete with practical examples of successful research designs √ from single case designs to meta-analysis - and how to achieve them Addresses research implementation including regulatory issues and grant writing "
Returning Individual Research Results to Participants by
When is it appropriate to return individual research results to participants? The immense interest in this question has been fostered by the growing movement toward greater transparency and participant engagement in the research enterprise. Yet, the risks of returning individual research resultsâ€"such as results with unknown validityâ€"and the associated burdens on the research enterprise are competing considerations. Returning Individual Research Results to Participants reviews the current evidence on the benefits, harms, and costs of returning individual research results, while also considering the ethical, social, operational, and regulatory aspects of the practice. This report includes 12 recommendations directed to various stakeholdersâ€"investigators, sponsors, research institutions, institutional review boards (IRBs), regulators, and participantsâ€"and are designed to help (1) support decision making regarding the return of results on a study-by-study basis, (2) promote high-quality individual research results, (3) foster participant understanding of individual research results, and (4) revise and harmonize current regulations.
Handbook for Clinical Research : Design, Statistics, and Implementation by
With over 80 information-packed chapters, Handbook for Clinical Research delivers the practical insights and expert tips necessary for successful research design, analysis, and implementation. Using clear language and an accessible bullet point format, the authors present the knowledge and expertise developed over time and traditionally shared from mentor to mentee and colleague to colleague. Organized for quick access to key topics and replete with practical examples, the book describes a variety of research designs and statistical methods and explains how to choose the best design for a particular project. Research implementation, including regulatory issues and grant writing, is also covered. The book opens with a section on the basics of research design, discussing the many ways in which studies can be organized, executed, and evaluated. The second section is devoted to statistics and explains how to choose the correct statistical approach and reviews the varieties of data types, descriptive and inferential statistics, methods for demonstrating associations, hypothesis testing and prediction, specialized methods, and considerations in epidemiological studies and measure construction. The third section covers implementation, including how to develop a grant application step by step, the project budget, and the nuts and bolts of the timely and successful completion of a research project and documentation of findings: procedural manuals and case report forms collecting, managing and securing data operational structure and ongoing monitoring and evaluation and ethical and regulatory concerns in research with human subjects. With a concise presentation of the essentials for successful research, the Handbook for Clinical Research is a valuable addition to the library of any student, research professional, or clinician interested in expanding the knowledge base of his or her field. Key Features: Delivers the essential elements, practical insights, and trade secrets for ensuring successful research design, analysis, and implementation Presents the nuts and bolts of statistical analysis Organized for quick access to a wealth of information Replete with practical examples of successful research designs √ from single case designs to meta-analysis - and how to achieve them Addresses research implementation including regulatory issues and grant writing "
Ethical Health Informatics Challenges and Opportunities by
Ethical Health Informatics: Challenges and Opportunities, Third Edition (formerly titled Ethical Challenges in the Management of Health Information) is an invaluable resource for students and practitioners across the health disciplines as well as Information Technology and business students. The Third Edition is an in-depth revision that incorporates scenarios and ethical decision-making matrices that challenge the reader to determine the best course of ethical action for Health Information Management (HIM), nurses, administrators, and IT professionals. Each chapter includes coverage of selected critical legal issues in the management of health information. The Third Edition introduces chapters on professional values and the code of ethics; ethical decision-making guidelines and tools; as well as privacy and confidentiality. It also includes chapters on compliance, fraud, and abuse; the uses of information for coding, quality management, research, public health, and clinical care at the end of life; and the electronic health record and digital health information systems for patients, consumers, and caregivers. Additionally, the Third Edition discusses information security; integrated delivery systems; management of sensitive information (genetic, adoption, drug, alcohol, sexual, and behavioral information); and management and leadership, vendor management, entrepreneurship, and advocacy. This edition offers several new chapters:* Data Analytics: implications for providers, patients and administrators* Longitudinal Coordinated Care: includes the role of the patient as a member of the healthcare team* Information Technology and Biomedical Instrumentation* Information Governance and Management* Future Implications: anticipating ethical issues
Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology by
Information technology is revolutionizing healthcare, and the uptake of health information technologies is rising, but scientific research and industrial and governmental support will be needed if these technologies are to be implemented effectively to build capacity at regional, national and global levels. This book, "Improving Usability, Safety and Patient Outcomes with Health Information Technology", presents papers from the Information Technology and Communications in Health conference, ITCH 2019, held in Victoria, Canada from 14 to 17 February 2019. The conference takes a multi-perspective view of what is needed to move technology forward to sustained and widespread use by transitioning research findings and approaches into practice. Topics range from improvements in usability and training and the need for new and improved designs for information systems, user interfaces and interoperable solutions, to governmental policy, mandates, initiatives and the need for regulation. The knowledge and insights gained from the ITCH 2019 conference will surely stimulate fruitful discussions and collaboration to bridge research and practice and improve usability, safety and patient outcomes, and the book will be of interest to all those associated with the development, implementation and delivery of health IT solutions.