Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Stepping Stones
FSCJ’s Stepping Stones Program was created to provide accelerated career-related training and personal soft-skill development and strategies to qualified high school graduating seniors from the greater Jacksonville area, specifically in low-income, high-needs schools who are unsure where they should go next in their journey. The innovative workforce and employment initiative gives students a clear plan to help them achieve their personal and professional goals and earn one of five different credentials within specialized industry certificate tracks:
Selected students will spend the summer after their high school graduation working toward industry certification while also earning an attractive stipend. Participants have the opportunity for job placement and continued guidance toward further education and career advancement upon completion.
U. S. Nursing Workforce by Understanding the supply, distribution, and educational pipeline of nurses is key to designing programs and policies that will ensure access to care and an effective health care system. This book analyzes data from a variety of sources to present recent trends and the current status of the registered nurse (RN) and licensed practical nurse (LPN) workforces. This book also provides additional information on data and methodology for analysis of the nurse supply, including information on the calculation of standard errors, tests of significance for change over time,.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
America Needs Talent by With falling wages and rising inequality, persistent unemployment, failing schools, and broken cities, have America's best days come and gone? In America Needs Talent, Jamie Merisotis, a globally recognized leader in philanthropy, higher education, and public policy, explains why talent is needed to usher in a new era of innovation and success, and why deliberate choices must be made by government, the private sector, education, and individuals to grow talent in America. What if you paid for education based on what you actually learned, instead of the time you spent in class? What if your visa application was processed as if you were an asset to our nation's growing talent pool, instead of by Homeland Security? Merisotis proposes bold ideas to successfully deploy the world's most talented people--from rethinking higher education to transforming immigration laws, revitalizing urban hubs, and encouraging private sector innovation. The outlook may be gloomy now, but it doesn't need to be. The second American Century can happen--by developing and deploying the next thinkers, makers, and risk takers who will power America's knowledge economy in the 21st century.
Call Number: HD5724 .M348 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
Women of color in STEM : navigating the workforce by Women of Color in STEM: Navigating the Workforce is an opportunity for making public the life stories of women of color who have persevered in STEM workplace settings. The authors used various critical theories to situate and make visible the lives of women of color in such disciplines and workplace contexts like mathematics, science, engineering, NASA, academia, government agencies, and others. They skillfully centered women and their experiences at the intersection of their identity dimensions of race, class, gender, and their respective discipline. While the disciplines and career contexts vary, the oppression, alienation, and social inequities were common realities for all. Despite the challenges, the women were resilient and persevered with tenacity, a strong sense of self as a person of color, and reliance on family, community, mentors, and spirituality. While we celebrated the successes, it is critical that organizational leaders, whether in education or other workplace settings, draw from narratives and counter-narratives of these women to improve the organizational climate where individuals can thrive, despite their racial, class and gender identity. This book will assist educational communities, professional communities, and families to understand their roles and responsibilities in increasing the number of women of color in STEM"--Provided by publisher.
Publication Date: 2017
Careers in Health Information Technology by Describes 75 jobs and how to attain them Information technology is one of the fastest-growing segments of the labor market. This practical, one-stop career guide describes the depth and breadth of job opportunities and careers currently available in health information technology (HIT), and helps readers to enter and advance within this expanding field. The book offers guidance for students in higher education and currently employed individuals looking for mid-career opportunities. It includes a description of educational requirements for success in the HIT field and major themes of the HIT workforce such as informatics, provider-based jobs, vendor, government, and payer-based employment. The book describes quickest-route pathways for careers that require advanced training and professional associations that provide important information and resources. It examines the varied environments in which HIT careerists can workohospitals, ambulatory care facilities, physician practices, the managed care and insurance sector, public health organizations, consulting firms and HIT vendors, and education and trainingoalong with related job opportunities. Seventy-five jobs include a description, experience and/or education requirements, core competencies, salary, employment outlook, and references. Interviews with individuals in varied HIT careers present a human face that offers valuable advice. An international perspective on HIT workforce development addresses issues and challenges within other countries, and an industry expert sheds light on future expectations for the HIT industry. Links to job resources, and listings of professional conferences and meetings, add further value to the guide, as do job seeker itipsi throughout. Key Features: Provides comprehensive, practical information about health information technology (HIT) careers for students and mid-career job seekersExplores the great variety of work environments and job opportunities within themDetails education requirements and quickest pathways to attain themIncludes interviews with people currently in HIT careers, links to job resources, professional conferences and meetings, and helpful tips throughoutPresents an international perspective on HIT career development and the future of HIT careers from industry experts
Call Number: NL845659
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Careers for Dummies by Feeling stuck? Find out how to work toward the career of your dreams If you're slogging through your days in a boring or unrewarding job, it may be time to make a big change. Careers For Dummies is a comprehensive career guide from a top career coach and counselor that will help you jump start your career and your life. Dive in to learn more about career opportunities, with a plethora of job descriptions and the certifications, degrees, and continuing education that can help you build the career you've always wanted. Whether you're entering the workforce for the first time or a career-oriented person who needs or wants a change, this book has valuable information that can help you achieve your career goals. Find out how you can build your personal brand to become more attractive to potential employers, how to create a plan to "get from here to there" on your career path, and access videos and checklists that help to drive home all the key points. If you're not happy in your day-to-day work now, there's no better time than the present to work towards change. Get inspired by learning about a wide variety of careers Create a path forward for a new or better career that will be rewarding and fun Determine how to build your personal brand to enhance your career opportunities Get tips from a top career coach to help you plan and implement a strategy for a more rewarding work life Careers For Dummies is the complete resource for those looking to enhance their careers or embark on a more rewarding work experience.
Call Number: HF5381 .N42 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-19
101+ Careers in Public Health by Praise for the First Edition: First rate advice. American Public Health Association In just the past few years, interest in public health careers has soared. Public health degrees are more popular than everobut what opportunities are out there once youive earned that MPH? And do you have to have to have a degree in public health to break into this field? This updated and revised second edition of 101+ Careers in Public Health provides an extensive overview of the numerous and diverse career options available and the many different roads to achieving them. It includes both familiar public health careers and emerging opportunities. New to the second edition are public health careers in the military, public health and aging, and careers in cutting-edge areas such as nanotechnology and public health genetics. Readers will learn about modern approaches to public health programs, including the evolving study of implementation science and the increased role of community-based participatory research. The second edition also presents expanded information on getting started in public health, including the increasingly popular field of global health. Included are descriptions of careers in disease prevention, environmental health, disaster preparedness, nutrition, education, public safety, and many more. Whether you are a student who wants to launch a career or a professional looking to change careers, this guide offers a straightforward introduction to the public health field. It details the training, salary ranges, and degree requirements for each job and alerts readers to alternative pathways beyond the traditional MPH. New to the Second Edition: Public health careers in the military Public health and aging Expanded information on global health careers and how to get started in global health Careers in cutting-edge domains of public health, such as nanotechnology and public health genetics The evolving roles of implementation science and community participatory research MD or MPH? The differences between healthcare and public health Key Features: Includes a detailed guide to educational paths, options, and training requirements at the bachelor's, master's, and PhD levels Offers guidance on navigating the job market through both traditional and nontraditional pathways Provides tips on landing the job you want Includes interviews with public health professionals who offer details of their day-to-day lives on the job Helps job-seekers just starting out and those interested in career change
Publication Date: 2016-01-01