It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Stepping Stones Program Resources: Phlebotomy
A one-stop information source for the Stepping Stones Program.
Phlebotomy and the health-care delivery system -- The clinical laboratory -- Safety and infection control -- Basic medical terminology -- Basic anatomy and physiology -- Circulatory system -- Venipuncture equipment -- Routine venipuncture -- Pre-examination variables and venipuncture complications -- Special blood collection -- Dermal puncture -- Arterial blood collection -- Point-of-care testing -- Additional duties of the phlebotomist -- Ethical and legal issues -- Quality management in phlebotomy.
Phlebotomy by Robin S. Warekois; Richard RobinsonWith a storyboard format and full-color illustrations, Phlebotomy: Worktext and Procedures Manual describes all aspects of phlebotomy, with complete coverage of equipment, safety procedures, arterial blood gases, point-of-care testing, and practical phlebotomy skills. Procedures are outlined in a detailed storyboard format, pairing steps with full-color photos to help you understand the equipment and techniques such as venipuncture, dermal puncture, arterial blood collection, and special procedures. Written by Robin Warekois and Richard Robinson, this book also includes workbook sections for review, study questions, competency checklists, and a mock certification exam providing effective preparation for the phlebotomy certification exam. A detailed, storyboard format outlines common procedures, with steps accompanied by new full-color photos. Study and certification exam preparation questions in each chapter help you review and remember the material. A mock certification exam in the appendix mirrors the format of the actual phlebotomy certification exam, allowing you to review for the exam with 150 multiple-choice questions. Competency Checklists at the end of the book summarize the most critical and important steps in phlebotomy procedures. Clinical scenarios and tips encourage you apply your knowledge to real-life challenges in the workplace. Student resources on an Evolve companion website include a pre-test, animations, a new procedural video collection, interactive exercises, a mock certification exam, and an audio glossary. An anatomy and physiology section offers illustrated, in-depth information on body systems. A perforated bookmark on the back cover serves as a quick, portable reminder of which stopper tops to use for various diagnostic tests. Flashbacks and Flashforwards provide a cross reference to related information in previous or upcoming chapters. NEW video collection on the Evolve companion website demonstrates how critical procedures are performed. NEW photos have been added, in addition to new content on professionalism and HIPAA, equipment, and technology. NEW! Avoid That Error scenarios help you develop critical thinking skills and provide helpful tips on resolving problematic situations.
What is it like to be a phlebotomy technician? In this Career Q&A video interview, Carol Kleinbrahm talks about her career path, what she does on the job, and the keys to success in health care services. She also offers candid advice on breaking into the profession as well as insight into the industry’s biggest challenges and how the field may change in the next ten years.
(EBSCO) - The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
(Gale) - An advanced interface to the full-text nursing and allied health journals found in the Health & Wellness Resource Center. Does not include reference sources or the Alternative Health suite of resources.
Primal Pictures 3D anatomy and physiology model, built using real scan data from the visible human project, has been carefully segmented to create an unparalleled level of detail and accuracy. All of the content within this program has been verified by qualified anatomists and by a team of external experts for each body area.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
Phlebotomy Study Guide for Certification by AscenciaIntroducing our updated for 2021 Phlebotomy Study Guide for Certification: Exam Review Book with Practice Test Questions for the ASCP BOC Phlebotomy Technician Examination Ascencia Test Prep's brand new, unofficial Phlebotomy Study Guide for Certification offers you current examples, graphics, and information relevant to your healthcare career. And, unlike other other study guides on the market, you'll benefit from a quick yet total review of everything on the exam There's more: imagine having your test prep materials on your phone or tablet Ascencia Test Prep's Phlebotomy Study Guide for Certification comes with FREE practice questions, online flash cards, study "cheat" sheets, and 35 test tips, all available online. These easy to use materials will give you the edge you need to pass your exam the first time. The American Society for Clinical Pathology was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Ascencia Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Ascencia Test Prep's Phlebotomy Study Guide for Certification offers you a full review of the subjects covered on the phlebotomy exam, test tips and strategies, real-world examples, and worked through practice problems. Our book covers: Anatomy and PhysiologyBlood Specimen CollectionNon-Blood Specimen CollectionSpecimen, Handling and ProcessingLaboratory Operations ... and also includes 2 FULL practice tests, so that you will be ready on test day. About Ascencia Test Prep With healthcare fields such as nursing, pharmacy, emergency care, and physical therapy becoming the fastest and largest growing industries in the United States, individuals looking to enter the healthcare industry or rise in their field need high quality, reliable resources. Ascencia Test Prep's study guides and test preparation materials are developed by credentialed, industry professionals with years of experience in their respective fields. Every Ascencia book includes a comprehensive overview of the content knowledge that will be tested, along with practice questions for each section to enhance understanding. Full practice tests at the end of every book accurately reflect the exam, helping test takers determine if they are thoroughly prepared. Additionally, all Ascencia study materials offer exclusive tips from healthcare professionals to help readers thrive in their field beyond test day. Ascencia recognizes that healthcare professionals nurture bodies and spirits, and save lives. Ascencia Test Prep's mission is to help healthcare workers grow.