It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Stepping Stones Program Resources: Supply Chain and Manufacturing
A one-stop information source for the Stepping Stones Program.
The practice of supply chain management has become widespread in most industries. It is now included in the curriculum of many business schools in the United States and in many countries around the world. A number of professional associations, such as the American Production and Inventory Control Society and the Supply Chain Management Society, off
The Definitive Guide to Manufacturing and Service Operations by CSCMP Staff; Nada SandersTo succeed in manufacturing and service operations, managers need both technical and behavioral skills, and know how to apply these skills to transform processes and outputs in a wide variety of operational contexts throughout the supply chain. Now, there's an authoritative and comprehensive guide to best-practice manufacturing and service operations in any organization. Co-authored by a leading expert alongside the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals (CSCMP), this reference details the planning, organizing, controlling, directing, motivating and coordinating functions used to produce goods or services. It covers long-term strategic decisions such as facility location; mid-term tactical decisions such as setting levels of inventory and lab∨ and short-term operational decisions such as job assignments. Coverage includes: Basic manufacturing and service operations concepts, purposes, terminology, roles, and goals; types of manufacturing and services; planning processes; inventory and labor requirements; process control; productivity levels, and budget control Key elements, processes, and interactions, including facility, material, and labor requirements planning; scheduling; and continuous process and quality improvement processes, including TQM, ISO, Six Sigma, SPC, Theory of Constraints, FMEA, and 5S Principles/strategies for establishing efficient, effective, and sustainable operations: Manufacturing and services planning and strategies, encompassing facility ownership and location, production, processes, layout, lead capacity, technology, personnel, measurement, compensation, sustainability, and more The key roles and value of technology, including MRP II systems, service systems, ERP systems, and capabilities for supporting manufacturing and service planning, execution, and cost management. Requirements and challenges of global manufacturing and service operations, including manufacturing and outsourcing in Low-Cost Countries (LCCs); logistical difficulties, labor challenges, financial implications, decision processes, contract performance, risk management, and regulation Best practices for assessing performance using standard metrics and frameworks, including KPIs, tradeoff analysis, scorecarding, dashboards, and exception management
Why was the U.S. left scrambling for critical medical equipment as the coronavirus swept the country? With the Associated Press and the Global Reporting Centre, this is an investigation of the fragmented global medical supply chain and its deadly consequences.
Developed by the author and now being employed by a number of businesses, Quick Response Manufacturing (QRM) is an expansion of time-based competition, aimed at a single target with the goal of reducing lead times. The key difference between QRM and other time-based programs is that QRM covers an entire organization, from the shop floor to the office, to sales and beyond. Providing guidelines for establishing a QRM enterprise, this volume builds upon kaizen, TQM, TPM, and other practice to help organizations streamline all functions of their operation. It shows how to quickly introduce products, along with ways to rethink materials and production management.
SAP MII : Functional and Technical Concepts in Manufacturing Industries by Suman Mukherjee and Saptaparna MukherjeeThis book starts with an overview of SAP's manufacturing integration and intelligence application and explains why it is so important. You'll then see how it is applied in various manufacturing sectors. The biggest challenge in manufacturing industries is to reduce the manual work and human intervention so that the process becomes automatic. SAP MII explains how to bridge the gap between management and production and bring sound vital information to the shop floor in real time.
With this book you'll see how to ensure existing manufacturing and information systems share a common interface for all users in your enterprise.
Why was the U.S. left scrambling for critical medical equipment as the coronavirus swept the country? With the Associated Press and the Global Reporting Centre, this is an investigation of the fragmented global medical supply chain and its deadly consequences. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
(Gale) - A custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator in the arts and humanities, child and adolescent psychology and development, drug and alcohol abuse, health/nutrition/fitness, learning disabilities, literature, school law, science and technology, social sciences or sports/athletic training.
(EBSCO) - Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
(ProQuest) - Addressing today’s most important business and technology issues, O'Reilly delivers instant, reliable answers to both students and researchers. From problem solving and leadership to customer service and employee performance, these e-reference business and technology books deal with a wide range of critical business skills.