LibGuides: THE 2000: Theatre Appreciation / Theatre in the Humanities: Library Resources

Library Resources

Meiji Kabuki by Samuel L. Leiter
Call Number: PN2924.5.K3 M375 2023

ISBN: 9781666926781

Publication Date: 2022-11-30

A 2023 Choice Reviews Outstanding Academic Title This book is an annotated collection of English-language documents by foreigners writing about Japan's kabuki theatre in the half-century after the country was opened to the West in 1853. Using memoirs, travelogues, diaries, letters, and reference books, it contains all significant writing about kabuki by foreigners--resident or transient--during the Meiji period (1868-1912), well before the first substantial non-Japanese book on the subject was published.
Shakespeare and Latinidad by Trevor Boffone (Editor); Carla Della Gatta (Editor)
ISBN: 9781474488488

Publication Date: 2021-06-16

Shakespeare and Latinidad is a collection of scholarly and practitioner essays in the field of Latinx theatre that specifically focuses on Latinx productions and appropriations of Shakespeare's plays. It is the first truly comprehensive treatment of this style of adaptation, bringing together the diverse voices working in this field today including leading academics, playwrights and theatre practitioners. This blend of essays and interviews reflects the transdisciplinary synthesis of scholarship, dramaturgy and pedagogy that shapes Latinx engagement with Shakespeare.

Here are some example keywords or phrases that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and academic databases.

"theatrical interpretation"
"theatrical evolution"
"playwriting"

Suggested Boolean Searches

Refine searches using operators like "AND," "OR," and "NOT," ensuring more precise and relevant results.

"theatre appreciation" AND "humanities"
"theatre" OR "drama" AND "appreciation"
"cultural arts" AND "significance"

Suggested Subject Headings

Standardized terms are used to categorize and organize content within the library catalog and academic databases to enhance search precision and efficiency.

Theatre Appreciation
Theatre and Society
Criticism Theatre

Suggested Call Number Ranges

Locate materials within the library in these call number areas.

GT 500- GT 2341
GT 1747
PN 1600- PN 2091

The following links will give you access to possible search terms that can be used when exploring the FSCJ online databases for your coursework.

Theatre Appreciation will guide you to resources based on the various genres of theatre over time and from multifaceted cultural aspects.

Theatre and the Humanities showcases various resources for students who are interested in exploring the various aspects of theatre within the context of the humanities, which encompasses subjects like literature, philosophy, history, and culture.

The following are links to FSCJ databases which provide users access to a wide range of scholarly resources, including academic journals, books, ebooks, videos, and other relevant course materials. ***BE SURE TO FIRST LOGIN TO YOUR MYFSCJ ACCOUNT TO GET THE FULL RESULTS LIST.

Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)
(Gale) - This collection provides resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
.
Funded by State Library of Florida (FEL)
Humanities Source
(EBSCO) - The collection includes content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Funded by Statewide Allocation

Topic Resources

In 50 videos, Mike Rugnetta teaches you theater and drama! This course is based on an introductory college level course in Theater and explores the history, theory, and technology that contributes to the art form most like life. By the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the leading theories of the origins of theater * Understand how theater was produced and what it meant to audiences around the world * Analyze the historical and cultural contexts that lead to the creation of different movements in theater history * Argue for the importance of producing and understanding theater.

Theatre Appreciation: PBS Learning
Discover the world of Theater with lesson plans, videos, interactive activities, and more. Students will get an inside look at the life of a theater actor as they complete a four-square graphic organizer and watch a video in the lesson plan, "John Leguizamo's Tales From a Ghetto Klown - An Actor's Life." Younger students will explore what it means to be a playwright and come to know the different aspects of a script through the interactive, "Job Play: Playwright." Many theater classics, such as August Wilson’s The Piano Lesson, Shakespeare’s Otello, and Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun, are presented with lesson plans and teacher and student support materials. Theater styles, the history of theater, and theater in world cultures are a few of the additional topics explored in Theater.

Films on Demand
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Florida Theatre
The Florida Theatre is a historic American movie theater located in Jacksonville, Florida. Opened in April 1927, it was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places on November 4, 1982. The Florida Theatre promotes opportunities to explore, create and deliver artistic expression and innovation through music and performing arts.
Jacksonville Center for the Performing Arts
The Jacksonville Center for the Performing Arts is a performing arts center located in Jacksonville, Florida. Situated along the Riverbank, the venue is known as the First Coast’s "premiere riverfront entertainment facility".
Nathan H. Wilson Center for the Performing Arts
The Nathan H. Wilson Center for the Arts is a comprehensive performing and visual arts facility at Florida State College at Jacksonville's South Campus. The Center serves as a facility for students and a quality arts venue for the entire community. The Center's programming includes a variety of offerings such as opera, dance, multidisciplinary productions that integrate visual art, music, theatre and the humanities.

Broadway Licensing Global
Broadway Licensing Global is the ultimate resource guide for individuals looking to pursue careers in live theatre. From educational websites and blogs and online communities to access to professional organizations.
American Theatre & Drama Society
The American Theatre and Drama Society (ATDS) is an incorporated organization dedicated to the study of United States theatre and drama, its varied histories, traditions, literatures, and performances within its cultural contexts. ATDS also encourages the evolving debate exploring national identities and experiences through research, pedagogy, and practice.
Shakespeare Association of America
Founded in 1972, the Shakespeare Association of America (SAA) is a non-profit professional organization for the advanced academic study of William Shakespeare’s plays and poems, his cultural and theatrical contexts, and the many roles these have played in world culture.