Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Medical Association Handbook of First Aid and Emergency Care by
The ultimate first aid handbook from the experts! The AMA Handbook of First Aid and Medical Care is the go-to reference for emergencies that no home will want to be without. Full of practical, clear, and easy-to-understand advice, this resource ensures that every household is prepared for any type of medical situation. Includes line drawings and instructions to help people through emergency situations, as well as a medical information chart that everyone should have on hand. Includes information on: • First aid procedures • CPR positions • When to call a doctor • Disaster preparedness • What to do in the emergency room • Sports injuries The American Medical Association is the world's most respected and renowned authority in medicine. Founded in 1847, it is the largest and most prestigious professional association for doctors in the United States. The AMA is also the publisher of the acclaimed medical periodical JAMA, which features groundbreaking medical research studies.
Call Number: RC86.8 .A426 2009 (Deerwood)
Publication Date: 2009-05-05
The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide by
From minor cuts and burns, to heart attacks and strokes, this handy, take-anywhere guide gives you the knowledge and advice you need to recognize and respond to any medical emergency. Be prepared for any medical emergency and handle it safely and efficiently with The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide. Quickly identify signs and symptoms of a wide range of medical conditions andlearn how to recognize the difference between a minor injury or illness, and those that are more serious with this essential handbook. Each section of The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide includes a quick list of signs and symptoms to look for and step-by-step first aid instructions for dealing with each situation, all in user-friendly, simple language that's easy to understand. Medical issues covered include: --First aid basics, including roles and responsibilities of a first aider, managing an incident, activating emergency services, and infection control --Lifesaving skills including the recovery position, cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), and use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) --Minor injuries and conditions, including soft tissue injuries, splinters, blisters, eye injuries, nosebleed, diarrhea, and vomiting --Traumatic injuries including severe bleeding, amputation, shock, fractures, crush injuries, burns, and head and neck injuries --Medical emergencies including heart attack, stroke, asthma, anaphylaxis, hypoglycemia, meningitis, seizures, poisoning, and emergency childbirth --Environmental conditions including hypothermia, frostbite, heat stroke, sunburn, and lightning strike --Pediatric emergencies and illnesses, including assessing an unresponsive child or baby, pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), choking, croup, and febrile seizures --First aid kit lists for home, vehicles, and outdoor use With an appendix featuring an A-to-Z list of every condition covered, it's easy for you to quickly find the exact information you need in any situation you may face. With its small trim and portable size, The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide is the perfect addition to a home first aid kit, car first aid kit, disaster-survival bag, as well as a pocket companion for EMTs and other first responders in the field.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018
There are other CPR and First Aid videos in Films on Demand Database, however be sure to keep up with CURRENT standards and guidelines as these videos are DATED.
Standard First Aid, CPR, and AED by
Call Number: RC86.7 .T463 2017 North Campus
Publication Date: 2016-04-06
This manual is developed for use within First Aid, CPR, and AED training courses offered through Emergency Care & Safety Institute. Based on the 2015 International Consensus Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and Emergency Cardiac Care (ECC), Standard First Aid, CPR, and AED, Seventh Edition is ideal for use within training courses designed to certify individuals in first aid, CPR, and AED. More than a stand-alone text, this student manual is the center of an integrated teaching and learning system that offers many resources to better support instructors and prepare students. This manual includes: Coverage of the 2015 CPR and ECC Guidelines: Clear, concise direction on how to perform CPR and use an AED during an emergency. Current information on injuries and illnesses: Core information for first aiders presented in a clear and straightforward format. New and updated content on the use of hemostatic dressings, application of tourniquets, administering epinephrine, dental care, and more. Instructors have the option to mix and match teaching methods and learning tools to improve student retention and engagement!