PHTLS 8E: Prehospital Trauma Life Support Includes EBook with Interactive Tools by 
Hemorrhagic Shock by
In this first version of the book Hemorrhagic Shock: Recognition, Pathophysiology and Management, the entire spectrum of hemorrhage in various pathologic conditions is explored with a particular emphasis on bleeding from injury. World class experts have summarised their benchtop or clinical investigation of severe bleeding and the subsequent hosts response. Furthermore, contemporary content experts have been assembled to relate their own clinical expertise flanked by literature consensus in the subject. Navigation through the different chapters reveals succinct discussions about epidemiology, pathophysiology, bedside assessment and laboratory investigations. In addition, an important part of the content is practical approaches to the management and/or control of difficult hemorrhage sites including the diagnosis, management, adjunct, pharmaceutical and operative options available for the care of these patients. Additionally, separate chapters are presented for exploring areas related to bleeding in unique patients, including maternal-fetal medicine, prehospital and austere environment settings. Finally, the most novel and cutting edge materials, adjuncts and pharmacological agents are discussed as well as a concerted vision of what the future is likely going to bring to the care of these patients. The authorship reflects a multitude of backgrounds and disciplines, all focused on mitigating the impact of hemorrhage and hemorrhagic shock in its multiple facets. Trainees, advanced practice providers, fellows, attending surgeons, traumatologists, anesthesiologists, emergency physicians and intensivists will find valuable information derived from the vast experiences of the authors and their concise presentation of the most current literature in this dynamic field.
Standard First Aid, CPR, and AED by
This manual is developed for use within First Aid, CPR, and AED training courses offered through Emergency Care & Safety Institute. Based on the 2015 International Consensus Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and Emergency Cardiac Care (ECC), Standard First Aid, CPR, and AED, Seventh Edition is ideal for use within training courses designed to certify individuals in first aid, CPR, and AED. More than a stand-alone text, this student manual is the center of an integrated teaching and learning system that offers many resources to better support instructors and prepare students. This manual includes: Coverage of the 2015 CPR and ECC Guidelines: Clear, concise direction on how to perform CPR and use an AED during an emergency. Current information on injuries and illnesses: Core information for first aiders presented in a clear and straightforward format. New and updated content on the use of hemostatic dressings, application of tourniquets, administering epinephrine, dental care, and more. Instructors have the option to mix and match teaching methods and learning tools to improve student retention and engagement!
Medicine for the Outdoors by
Since 1986, Medicine for the Outdoors has been hailed as the definitive take-along manual on the subject. Packed with step-by-step instructions and how-to explanations, this updated edition tells you the best way to respond to just about any medical problem. Logically organized, simple-to-understand enhanced illustrations and an increased focus on new topics mean this medical reference book may literally save your life. Whether you're venturing into mountains, deserts, forests, or out to sea, it belongs in your pack! "A comprehensive guide to basically anything that could go wrong, or needs to medically managed whilst in out and about." Reviewed by: Dr Stevan R Bruijns, Senior Lecturer in Emergency Medicine at University of Cape Town Date: July 2015 Examine the most diverse and comprehensive coverage of medical conditions related to the outdoors. Be guided through logical and complete explanations of every topic. Enhance your understanding with descriptive material including numerous drawings and instructions. Research recommendations for injury and illness prevention. Locate answers quickly with a helpful comprehensive index. Clearly visualize how to perform specific treatments, such as the use of a SAM® splint, with an increased number of helpful illustrations. Stay abreast of the latest in emergency medicine care, including new antibiotics, medicines, products to control bleeding, and today's most common infectious disease threats. Enhance your understanding of Lyme disease; water disinfection; emerging diseases (including West Nile Virus); and how to seek safety and act during natural disasters. Take advantage of Dr. Auerbach's expert guidance with revised recommendations on high-altitude problems, drowning, airways management, toxic plants, and snake bites. Access new appendices covering AIDS/HIV transmission, expanded treatment instructions, global conflict guidelines (including terrorism), and canine medicine. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured by
In 1971, the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) published the first edition of Emergency Care and Transportation of the Sick and Injured and laid the foundation of EMS training. Today, the Eleventh Edition transforms how EMS education is delivered throughout the world and helps develop world-class EMS providers around the globe..Based on the National EMS Education Standards and the 2015 CPR/ECC Guidelines, the Eleventh Edition offers complete coverage of every competency statement with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures students' comprehension and encourages critical thinking. New cognitive and didactic material is presented, along with new skills and features, to create a robust and innovative EMT training solution.Today, the AAOS suite of EMS educational resources, from first aid and CPR to critical care transport, is the gold standard in training programs by offering exceptional content and instructional resources that meet the diverse needs of today's educators and students.Current State-of-the-Art Medical ContentThe Eleventh Edition aligns with current medical standards--from PHTLS to NASEMSO--and incorporates evidence-based medical concepts to ensure students and instructors have accurate, insightful interpretation of medical science as it applies to prehospital medicine today.Application to Real-World EMSThrough evolving patient case studies in each chapter, the Eleventh Edition gives students real-world context to apply the knowledge gained in the chapter, clarifying how the information is used to care for patients in the field, and pushing students to engage in critical thinking and discussion.A Foundation for LifeThe Eleventh Edition is built on the premise that students need a solid foundation in the basics and then appropriate reinforcement. The Eleventh Edition provides students with a comprehensive understanding of anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology, and medical terminology. Concepts are briefly reviewed within related subsequent chapters, solidifying the foundational knowledge and offering a context when studying specific emergencies. Patient Assessment, a critical topic, is presented as a single, comprehensive chapter, to ensure students understand patient assessment as a single, integrated process--the way providers actually practice it in the field. Core concepts of Patient Assessment are reinforced in clinical chapters, where the unique aspects of the illness or injury are highlighted.
Concussions by
This book provides a broad introduction to the important topic of concussive brain injury that considers historical, medical, research-based, and legal and ethical perspectives.The devastating long-term effects of concussions and the apparent mismanagement of concussion treatment among college and professional athletes have received major media attention in recent years. Do athletes--especially young ones--and their parents understand the physical risks and potential lifelong costs involved with playing their sport? Are injuries handled properly, or are players' careers and teams' successes put ahead of health and safety? Written by a Harvard-educated doctor who conducts clinical and scientific research in the area of sports injuries and concussive brain injuries, this book provides readers with honest and authoritative information about concussions. The book's chapters address the subject from all angles and shed light on current debates related to concussions caused by sports injuries and accidents.
Traumatic Brain Injury by
Traumatic brain injury (TBI) is a significant health problem worldwide. In industrialized societies such as the United States, 500 cases are noted per 100,000 population each year. In fact, TBI is the leading cause of trauma-related death and disability. The number of people who survive TBI has increased in recent years due to advancements in emergency medical care. Surviving patients may show maladaptive behaviors in both the acute and chronic phase. As a result, the management of maladaptive behaviors is increasingly important, utilizing significant resources and contributing to the burden of care. In this book, Chapter One presents a review of the literature on the cognitive and behavioral sequelae of TBI in late childhood and adolescence. Chapter Two explores the management of agitation during acute and sub-acute hospitalization for TBI. Chapter Three provides a comprehensive review of the factors associated with favorable outcomes in patients undergoing decompressive craniectomy and cranioplasty with emphasis on technique, timing, and other aspects of neurosurgical care and intervention for patients with traumatic brain injury. Chapter Four examines the phenomenology, neurobiology and pharmacotherapy of psychiatric syndromes following TBI. Chapter Five provides an overview of Civilian and Veteran TBI Clubhouses; how the Clubhouse model may assist in community integration and return-to-work initiatives for BI and Veteran populations; and a look at innovative collaborations, partnerships, and resources from national and international projects.
Professional Paramedic, Volume III: Trauma Care and EMS Operations by
Develop proficiency as a paramedic and deliver high quality critical care with the all-new Professional Paramedic Series! Based on the National EMS Education Standards, this economical three-volume series equips you with the resources necessary for both paramedic certification and re-certification. Comprehensive, yet street-friendly, each volume in the series walks you through the skills and concepts critical to the job of a Paramedic. The framework of each book is practical in approach: introducing principles, skills and terminology; presenting a typical case; walking through critical response steps; and again reviewing key concepts to ensure understanding for successful application on the job. Volume III: Trauma Care & EMS Operations highlights special response considerations and a broad range of operational medical topics to prepare readers with the complete spectrum of knowledge required to succeed as a Paramedic. Topics include traumatic brain injury, environmental medicine, specialty care transport, triage systems, and much more. This book follows up on the fundamental information covered in Volume I: Foundations of Paramedic Care and the application of skills in emergency situations in Volume II: Medical Emergencies, Maternal Health & Pediatrics. Practical and reader-friendly, each volume includes a full color design with detailed photos, graphics and step-by-step skill sequences to ensure you are fully prepared for the responsibilities, adventures, and challenges of a paramedic.
Out of Print: See Latest Edition Link in Description by
This manual is developed for use within advanced first aid, CPR, and AED training courses offered through Emergency Care & Safety Institute. Based on the 2015 International Consensus Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and Emergency Cardiac Care (ECC), Advanced First Aid, CPR, and AED, Seventh Edition is ideal for use within college-level courses designed to train individuals in first aid, CPR, and AED. More than a stand-alone text, this student manual is the center of an integrated teaching and learning system that offers many resources to better support instructors and prepare students. This manual includes: Coverage of the 2015 CPR and ECC Guidelines: Clear, concise direction on how to perform CPR and use an AED during an emergency. Current information on injuries and illnesses: Core information for first aiders presented in a clear and straightforward format. New and updated content on the use of hemostatic dressings, application of tourniquets, administering epinephrine, dental care, and more. Navigate 2 Advantage Access unlocks an interactive eBook and student practice activities and assessments. A unique Access Code is included with each new print student manual.
ACLS (Advanced Cardiac Life Support) Review: Pearls of Wisdom, Third Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. MAXIMIZE YOUR ACLS SCORE! A Doody's Core Title! 3 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This book's most impressive aspect is that it presents the core topics in a direct and concise manner, that makes it a quick read and easy to understand."--Doody's Review Service Pearls of Wisdom ACLS Review, 3e is your most effective weapon in preparing for the American Heart Association's Advanced Cardiac Life Support exam. This rapid, effective review ensures your best possible performance on the exam in the shortest possible study time. There is no easier or faster way to ensure that you perform your best! FEATURES 1200+ rapid-fire questions cover all topics on the ACLS exam Powered with performance-improving pearls and other potent learning aids Updated to reflect the 2005 AMA guidelines NEW chapter on child and infant CPR and ventilation
Rapid Cardiac Care by
Rapid Cardiac Care is an indispensable resource for all frontline staff working with acutely ill patients. Offering easy access to the knowledge base needed to provide rapid, safe and effective cardiac care, it is ideal for newly qualified healthcare professionals including, nurses, paramedics, cardiac technicians, junior medics, and physiotherapists. Key features include: Essential information to support the assessment of the cardiac patient including focused history taking and physical assessment, rhythm interpretation and 12-lead ECG assessment Practical guidance on how to care for patients with cardiac emergencies, including acute coronary syndromes, arrhythmias, heart failure and cardiac arrest A quick reference A-Z section that explores a wide range of conditions affecting the heart, each with a comprehensive overview of patient presentation and strategies to guide patient assessment and management Diagrams and images are provided to facilitate learning
First Aid by
This manual is developed for use within first aid training courses offered through the Emergency Care & Safety Institute. Based on the 2015 International Consensus Guidelines for Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and Emergency Cardiac Care (ECC), First Aid, Seventh Edition is ideal for use within courses designed to certify individuals in first aid and fulfill workplace training requirements. More than a stand-alone text, this student manual is the center of an integrated teaching and learning system that offers many resources to better support instructors and prepare students. This manual includes: Current information on injuries and illnesses: Core information for first aiders presented in a clear and straightforward format. Skill Drills: Offer step-by-step explanations and visual summaries of important skills. Emergency Care Wrap-Up Tables: Provide a concise summary of what signs first aiders should look for and what treatment steps they should take.
Pre-Hospital Emergency Medicine at a Glance by
British Medical Association Book Award Winner - Young Authors Award of the Year 2018 Pre-hospital Emergency Medicine at a Glance offers healthcare students and trainees the essential theoretical knowledge and practical skills relevant to the provision of immediate care outside of the hospital. This concise text provides information on the principles of managing acutely unwell patients with life-threatening injuries at the scene of their accident, all in highly-illustrated double-page spreads to help explain key messages. This brand new title: Looks at the ways in which pre-hospital care is organised and delivered in the United Kingdom Explores some of the most common incidents that pre-hospital care teams attend to, including major trauma as well as cardiac arrests Includes an illustrated introduction to some of the many practical procedures pre-hospital care teams must be able to perform including resuscitative thoracotomy and rapid sequence induction of anaesthesia Takes into account the multi-disciplinary nature of the specialty Features a section on careers within pre-hospital care for doctors and paramedics Pre-hospital Emergency Medicine at a Glance is the perfect companion for medical students and junior doctors interested in learning more about pre-hospital care, as well as for paramedic students and paramedics who practise in the pre-hospital environment every day.
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Manage airway emergencies with confidence!" The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management is the world's most trusted reference on emergency airway management, and is the foundation text in the nationally recognized The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm). Its practical, hands-on approach provides all the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond to any airway emergency, whether in the emergency department, ICU, urgent care setting, pre-hospital environment, or anywhere else airway emergencies may occur. Apply the latest evidence-based approaches to all aspects of airway management.New chapters include Managing Retroglottic Devices, Controversies in EMS Airway Management, The Unstable Patient: Optimization for Emergency Airway Management, and Safe Extubation of the At-Risk Emergency Patient. Discover expanded coverage of preoxygenation techniques and comprehensive updates throughout. Efficiently overcome any challenge in airway management with the aid of step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations. Glean expert insights from a brand-new editorial team led by Calvin Brown III, MD, who is Dr. Walls' colleague and protégé, and many of the same airway experts who teach The Difficult Airway Course(tm) - additionally, Dr. Ron Walls continues to actively author content within this edition! Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click See the inside front cover to find out how to access your eBook!
Manual of Neonatal Respiratory Care by
The latest edition of this popular book covers the "how-to" of respiratory care of newborns. Chapters from the previous edition have been updated to reflect advances in both equipment and practice, while newer chapters reflect the evolving worldwide approaches to neonatal respiratory failure, such as sustained inflation, optimization of lung volume, and the use of volumetric capnography, aerosol therapy, and management of chylothorax. New additions to the book also include chapters on assessment of large data bases, implementation of quality improvement programs in neonatal respiratory care, chronic ventilation of the baby with non-respiratory failure. The text also features case studies for self-review and is illustrated with high quality radiographic images, figures, tables, and algorithms. Written and edited by international experts, the Manual of Neonatal Respiratory Care, Fourth Edition is a thorough update and remains a convenient source of practical information on respiratory physiology, exam techniques, tips for performing procedures, radiography, ventilation, pain management, transport, and discharge planning.
The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide by
From minor cuts and burns, to heart attacks and strokes, this handy, take-anywhere guide gives you the knowledge and advice you need to recognize and respond to any medical emergency. Be prepared for any medical emergency and handle it safely and efficiently with The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide. Quickly identify signs and symptoms of a wide range of medical conditions andlearn how to recognize the difference between a minor injury or illness, and those that are more serious with this essential handbook. Each section of The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide includes a quick list of signs and symptoms to look for and step-by-step first aid instructions for dealing with each situation, all in user-friendly, simple language that's easy to understand. Medical issues covered include: --First aid basics, including roles and responsibilities of a first aider, managing an incident, activating emergency services, and infection control --Lifesaving skills including the recovery position, cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), and use of an automated external defibrillator (AED) --Minor injuries and conditions, including soft tissue injuries, splinters, blisters, eye injuries, nosebleed, diarrhea, and vomiting --Traumatic injuries including severe bleeding, amputation, shock, fractures, crush injuries, burns, and head and neck injuries --Medical emergencies including heart attack, stroke, asthma, anaphylaxis, hypoglycemia, meningitis, seizures, poisoning, and emergency childbirth --Environmental conditions including hypothermia, frostbite, heat stroke, sunburn, and lightning strike --Pediatric emergencies and illnesses, including assessing an unresponsive child or baby, pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), choking, croup, and febrile seizures --First aid kit lists for home, vehicles, and outdoor use With an appendix featuring an A-to-Z list of every condition covered, it's easy for you to quickly find the exact information you need in any situation you may face. With its small trim and portable size, The Complete First Aid Pocket Guide is the perfect addition to a home first aid kit, car first aid kit, disaster-survival bag, as well as a pocket companion for EMTs and other first responders in the field.
Wound Care Essentials by
Awards Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Awarded First Place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Medical-Surgical Nursing Category Awarded Second Place in the 2020 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Advance Practice Nursing Category. Looking for an up-to-date, how-to, evidence-based wound care reference? The newly revised Wound Care Essentials, 5th Edition is the comprehensive seminal resource, offering the latest evidence, guidelines and information to assist the interprofessional skin and wound care team translate knowledge into practice. A crucial guide for all skin and wound care professionals, this essential resource provides authoritative science and practical instruction on wound care best practices. This must-have guide offers the latest, skin and wound care research-backed insights on prevention and management strategies... Three New Chapters--Skin, Challenging Skin Conditions and Lymphedema More chapter contributions from global wound care opinion leaders More (now 50) helpful color photos in the wound gallery Comprehensive end-of-book certification practice exam, including new review questions Chapter features that include: All chapters have been updated with the latest available research and educational enablers Visual aids, mnemonics, tables boxes, diagrams. and charts to highlight key concepts Practice Point Boxes - quick summaries of knowledge for best practices that assist in retaining knowledge Show What You Know - review questions at the end of each chapter and answers with explanations at the end of the book Patient Scenario - case studies that illustrate clinical data and discuss application of information Skin and Wound Care Concepts--every chapter has been updated with the most current international guidelines especially for pressure injuries and skin tears Essential content for training staff at wound centers and in every healthcare practice setting - ideal for updating skin and wound care policies and procedures About the Authors Sharon Baranoski, MSN, RN, CCNS-APN, CWCN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified, Advanced Practice Nurse specializing in skin & wound care. Her experience crosses all health care setting. She is a well-known consultant, lecturer, author and educator. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing. She is a former President of the International Skin Tear Advisory Board and the National Pressure Injury Advisory Panel and remains an active member of both organizations. Sharon has received numerous accolades and awards for her 35 plus years of work in the field of wound care. Elizabeth A. Ayello, PhD, MS, BSN, RN, CWON, ETN, MAPWCA, FAAN, is a Board-certified wound and ostomy nurse who believes in the interprofessional team approach to skin and wound care practice and education. A fellow in the American Academy of Nursing, she is an internationally known prolific author, editor, researcher, consultant (including to CMS) and innovative, interactive educator who is the current Co- Editor in Chief of Advances in Skin and Wound Care, President of the World Council of Enterostomal.
Fast Facts for Wound Care Nursing, Second Edition by
Simplifies the wound care process with clear, succinct information and the newest treatment protocols Freshly updated with the newest evidence-based techniques and protocols, this practical clinical resource distills the fundamentals of wound care for novice nurses and nurses new to wound care. This guide walks through the common, complex and atypical wounds nurses see and includes abundant full-color images. Chapters have been thoroughly revised and now contain critical updates in technological advances in wound care, dramatic changes in documentation and new Medicare and reimbursement guidelines. Fast Facts for Wound Care Nursing, Second Edition is an invaluable companion for the day-to-day care of wound patients, reinforcing knowledge needed in acute care, critical care, long-term care, homecare, operating room and outpatient settings. Written concisely in easy-to-access bulleted format with brief paragraphs, each chapter explains, step-by-step, the essential principles of wound care. Part I defines and describes the spectrum of wounds and the fundamentals of wound healing while Part II discusses how to assess, document and photograph wounds. Part III presents the newest treatments and protocols for wound care, and Part IV concludes with legal issues and regulations guiding safe and cost-effective wound care. New to the Second Edition: Updated with key technological advances and treatments in wound care including stem cell and ionized silver products Four new chapters! The Phases of Wound Healing and Types of Wound Closure Acute Wounds Pressure Injuries Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Covers new Medicare and reimbursement guidelines Addresses qualifications and certification for wound care and faculty accreditation Key Features: Written in succinct, easy-access format with bulleted information and brief paragraphs Includes "Fast Facts" to highlight key concepts for essential care Contains abundant information on wound care treatments and protocols to promote wound care accountability and clinical confidence Provides full color images of different types of wounds Helps nurses to provide optimal wound care cost-efficiently