Gray's Atlas of Anatomy
by
Gray's Atlas of Anatomy, the companion resource to the popular Gray's Anatomy for Students, presents a vivid, visual depiction of anatomical structures. Newly updated with a wealth of material to facilitate study, this medical textbook demonstrates the correlation of structures with appropriate clinical images and surface anatomy - essential for proper identification in the dissection lab and successful preparation for course exams. Clinically focused, consistently and clearly illustrated throughout, and logically organized, Gray's Atlas of Anatomy makes it easier than ever to master the essential anatomy knowledge you need! Build on your existing anatomy knowledge with structures presented from a superficial to deep orientation, representing a logical progression through the body. Identify the various anatomical structures of the body and better understand their relationships to each other with the visual guidance of nearly 1,000 exquisitely illustrated anatomical figures. Visualize the clinical correlation between anatomical structures and surface landmarks with surface anatomy photographs overlaid with anatomical drawings. Recognize anatomical structures as they present in practice through more than 270 clinical images - including laparoscopic, radiologic, surgical, ophthalmoscopic, otoscopic, and other clinical views - placed adjacent to anatomic artwork for side-by-side comparison. Quickly access and review key information with more clinical correlations, in addition to new Summary Tables at the end of each chapter that cover relevant muscles, nerves, and arteries. Gain a full understanding of cranial nerves through a brand-new Cranial Nerve Review section that offers a visual guide of the nerves, a table of reflexes, and an additional table of nerve lesions. Access the complete contents, dissection video clips, and self-assessment questions online at Student Consult.com.
Fundamentals of Children's Anatomy and Physiology
by
When caring for the well or ill child, recognising andresponding to their anatomical and physiological differences isessential. Fundamentals of Children's Anatomy andPhysiology provides child nursing students and registerednurses with a succinct but complete overview of the structure andfunction of the child's body, plus clinical applicationsthroughout to demonstrate how the concepts relate to real-lifenursing. Each chapter lists learning outcomes and includes clinical considerations, body maps, a range ofhigh-quality illustrations and test-your-knowledge questions. The book is also accompanied by a companion website with furtherself-assessment and quizzes.
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology
by
Flexible presentation of content makes the text suitable for any course. Precisely detailed, full-color illustrations throughout make every concept clear. Highly detailed anatomy photographs and full-color illustrations enhance visual learning. Clinical application boxes put theory into action. Extensive microbiology tables reinforce the text. Questions for every figure in the book encourage critical thinking and reinforce understanding of the image and the content. A wealth of pedagogical features promotes learning and includes chapter outlines, student objectives, new and related clinical terminology (with pronunciations), study outlines, review questions and "For Further Thought" discussion topics, and a comprehensive glossary.
Understanding Anatomy and Physiology
by
How do you learn A&P best? Whatever your learning style...by reading, listening, or doing, or a little bit of each...the 3rd Edition of this new approach to anatomy & physiology is designed just for you. Tackle a tough subject in bite-sized pieces. A seemingly huge volume of information is organized into manageable sections to make complex concepts easy to understand and remember. You begin with an overview of the body, including its chemical and cellular structures, then progress to one-of-a-kind portrayals of each body system, grouped by function. Full-color illustrations, figures, sidebars, helpful hints, and easy-to-read descriptions make information crystal clear. Each unique page spread provides an entire unit of understanding, breaking down complex concepts into easy-to-grasp sections for today's learner. "The integration of graphics and text is very engaging for learners. Thompson silences the academic distractions found in traditional A&P textbooks and emphasizes all the 'take away points' in a concise and informative manner. The task of learning A&P is now less threatening." --Jason Johnson, Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology " My students absolutely love the Thompson A&P book. It is concise and makes learning the material seem less daunting. It really hits all learning styles with the pictures, videos, text and workbook. I have seen a significant increase in student success since we implemented this book!" --Shayna Turner RN, MS, Isabella Graham Hart School of Practical Nursing "The numerous graphics are vivid and relevant allowing the student to focus on the concept rather than multiple paragraphs of reading. The "Life Lesson" inserts further engage the student by placing covered concepts into real-world situations. Understanding Anatomy & Physiology is both instructor and student friendly." -- Nanette Mosser, RMA, BA-HCM, MedQuest College
Anatomy and Physiology for Dummies
by
Learn about the human body from the inside out Some people think that knowing about what goes on inside the human body can sap life of its mystery--which is too bad for them. Anybody who's ever taken a peak under the hood knows that the human body, and all its various structures and functions, is a realm of awe-inspiring complexity and countless wonders. The dizzying dance of molecule, cell, tissue, organ, muscle, sinew, and bone that we call life can be a thing of breathtaking beauty and humbling perfection. Anatomy & Physiology For Dummies combines anatomical terminology and function so you'll learn not only names and terms but also gain an understanding of how the human body works. Whether you're a student, an aspiring medical, healthcare or fitness professional, or just someone who's curious about the human body and how it works, this book offers you a fun, easy way to get a handle on the basics of anatomy and physiology. Understand the meaning of terms in anatomy and physiology Get to know the body's anatomical structures--from head to toe Explore the body's systems and how they interact to keep us alive Gain insight into how the structures and systems function in sickness and health Written in plain English and packed with beautiful illustrations, Anatomy & Physiology For Dummies is your guide to a fantastic voyage of the human body.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, Volume 6, Part II - Spine and Lower Limb
by
The Lower Limb and Spine, Part 2 of The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, 2nd Edition, provides a highly visual guide to the spine and lower extremity, from basic science and anatomy to orthopaedics and rheumatology. This spectacularly illustrated volume in the masterwork known as the (CIBA) "Green Books" has been expanded and revised by Dr. Joseph Iannotti, Dr. Richard Parker, and other experts from the Cleveland Clinic to mirror the many exciting advances in musculoskeletal medicine and imaging - offering rich insights into the anatomy, physiology, and clinical conditions of the spine; pelvis, hip, and thigh; knee; lower leg; and ankle and foot. Get complete, integrated visual guidance on the lower extremity and spine with thorough, richly illustrated coverage. Quickly understand complex topics thanks to a concise text-atlas format that provides a context bridge between primary and specialized medicine. Clearly visualize how core concepts of anatomy, physiology, and other basic sciences correlate across disciplines. Benefit from matchless Netter illustrations that offer precision, clarity, detail and realism as they provide a visual approach to the clinical presentation and care of the patient. Gain a rich clinical view of all aspects of the spine; pelvis, hip, and thigh; knee; lower leg; and ankle and foot in one comprehensive volume, conveyed through beautiful illustrations as well as up-to-date radiologic and laparoscopic images. Benefit from the expertise of Drs. Joseph Iannotti, Richard Parker, and esteemed colleagues from the Cleveland Clinic, who clarify and expand on the illustrated concepts. Clearly see the connection between basic science and clinical practice with an integrated overview of normal structure and function as it relates to pathologic conditions. See current clinical concepts in orthopaedics and rheumatology captured in classic Netter illustrations, as well as new illustrations created specifically for this volume by artist-physician Carlos Machado, MD, and others working in the Netter style.
Just Enough Physiology
by
Launched on Oxford Medicine Online in 2012, with the full-text of eight Mayo Clinic Scientific Press (MCSP) print titles and a bank of multiple-choice questions, Mayo Clinic Toolkit provides a single location for resident, fellow, and practicing clinicians to undertake the self-testing necessary to prepare for, and pass, the Boards. Just Enough Physiology takes the user on a guided tour of cardiopulmonary physiology. They will discover how the heart, lungs, and circulation work in extreme environments so that they are better equipped to understand how they function-or malfunction-at the bedside, in the operating room, or in the intensive care unit. Just Enough Physiology will prepare all students and physicians-in-training for Board Exams while also teaching them how to think like a physiologist. Highlights of The Mayo Clinic Toolkit include: - Each title is presented in an enhanced format, allowing the enlargement and download of all figures and images, and linking to external sources referenced in the text. - The multiple-choice questions are designed to mirror those in the Board exam for realistic preparation; they also link back to the relevant title, and allow the user to measure their development through the recording of practice-exam success. - It can be accessed on a range of internet enabled devices, giving residents, fellows, and practicing clinicians the choice to study in locations which suit them - Subscription lengths range from 1-month to a full year. Combining two complimentary resource types into a single location, with enhancements to the print works, the flexibility to choose where and when to study, and the ability to monitor revision progress, Mayo Clinic Toolkit is truly the go-to site for Board preparation.
Introduction to Anatomy & Physiology
by
In Volume 2 of the Wonders of the Human Body series, Dr. Tommy Mitchell covers the intricate design of both the cardiovascular system, consisting of the blood, blood vessels, and heart, as well as the respiratory system that focuses on the transportation of oxygen through the body. From the level of the cells to the organs themselves, you will examine these systems in depth.In the Cardiovascular & Respiratory Systems, prepare to discover the incredible design of the human heart, including:The incredible design of the human heart and how it is really "two pumps in one!"How blood moves through an incredible network of arteries and veinsWhat "blood pressure" is and the marvelous systems that help regulate itHow the respiratory system allows us to get the "bad air out " and the "good air in"Along the way, we will see what happens when things go wrong. We will also suggest things to do to keep the heart and lungs healthy. Although the world insists that our bodies are merely the result of time and chance, as you examine the human body closely, you will see that it cannot be an accident. It can only be the product of a Master Designer.
Principles of Anatomy
by
This new volume will give readers an overview of bodily structures, the building blocks of life, and major concepts and contemporary issues surrounding the study of anatomy. A must for STEM students at the high school and undergraduate levels.
Photographic Regional Atlas of Non-Metric Traits and Anatomical Variants in the Human Skeleton
by
Photographic Regional Atlas of Non-Metric Traits and Anatomical Variants in the Human Skeleton provides a unique collection of photographs derived from a broad array of novel skeletal specimens from across the globe. This atlas depicts skeletal features that are compiled to facilitate simple and direct access to some of the most interesting specimens currently known. This reference book is intended for clinicians, anatomists, anthropologists, forensic scientists, pathologists, biologists and other allied medical professionals who are fascinated with the expression of morphological features of the skeleton. It is particularly useful to the human biologist investigating genetic relatedness among and between skeletal samples utilizing non-metric trait analyses since this atlas provides a comprehensive visual guide for not only the identification and nomenclature of skeletal morphological features, but also for the appreciation of the range of anatomical expression. Photographic Regional Atlas of Non-Metric Traits and Anatomical Variants in the Human Skeleton draws from skeletal features observed from over 10,000 skeletons in collections throughout the world and provides a comprehensive yet concise presentation for rapid and reliable referral. Traits are arranged and presented based on skeletal region that facilitates ease of use for the reader when attempting to identify a feature of interest. Photographs are vividly displayed which enhances the reader's ability to compare the standard reference to a desired feature. The authors draw on their own decades of experience in skeletal anatomy to provide the best photographic atlas available for referencing daunting anatomical variations and non-metric trait morphology. As a result, Photographic Regional Atlas of Non-Metric Traits and Anatomical Variants in the Human Skeleton provides a one-of-a-kind reference that serves as a crucial component in the pursuit of skeletal anomaly research and education.
Fundamentals of Children's Anatomy and Physiology
by
When caring for the well or ill child, recognising andresponding to their anatomical and physiological differences isessential. Fundamentals of Children's Anatomy andPhysiology provides child nursing students and registerednurses with a succinct but complete overview of the structure andfunction of the child's body, plus clinical applicationsthroughout to demonstrate how the concepts relate to real-lifenursing. Each chapter lists learning outcomes and includes clinical considerations, body maps, a range ofhigh-quality illustrations and test-your-knowledge questions. The book is also accompanied by a companion website with furtherself-assessment and quizzes.
The Juvenile Skeleton
by
The identification of even the smallest human fetal bone can be vital to the success of a criminal investigation or to the identification of the deceased. This book examines every bone in the human body from its earliest embryological stage through to maturity and is profusely illustrated with superb bone drawings at every stage of development. The ability to identify every component of the developing skeleton is of core relevance not only to the forensic profession but also to clinicians, skeletal biologists and physical anthropologists.
MRI and CT of the Cardiovascular System
by
Leave no disease undetected withMRI and CT of the Cardiovascular System, your definitive guide to magnetic resonance and computed tomography for cardiovascular health. Authored by a collaboration of international experts, this vivid, four-color third edition imparts the latest technologies in a rapidly advancing field. With topics that range from anatomy, to MR in infants and children, to risk assessment in ischemic heart disease this text includes seven new chapters to reflect the rising tide of technological discovery as it pertains to cardiology. Thanks to its expert analysis, procedural guide to implementation, and profound understanding of the recent advances in cardiovascular imagining,MRI and CT of the Cardiovascular Systemgives you all the tools necessary for powerful screening, diagnosis, and cardiovascular care. Features: --New chapters reflecting technological discoveries in cardiology --Color illustrations for heightened clarity --Companion website with fully searchable text --Units organized by pathology and disease detection --Fully updated information on application of MR and CT --Up-to-date analysis of emerging multi-detector CT
The Cardiovascular System:Physiology, Diagnostics and Clinical Implications
by
Dental Anatomy
by
Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. Suggested uses: o Dental Students & Hygienists - handy and incredibly thorough reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis o Dentists - what any professional office needs for reference while consulting patients, also leave guides in offices to look over while patients wait o Parents - can show kids where their adult teeth are hiding when losing teeth, plus to emphasize the importance of taking care of their mouth and teeth o Patient - use guide to locate sources of pain for reporting to your dentist
Structures of the Head and Neck
by
Prepare for class, clinical, and professional success A unique organization brings together both the regions and the systems of the body to help you thoroughly understand the structures of the head and neck and how they work during normal function.
Living and Radiological Anatomy of the Head and Neck for Dental Students
by
Anand's Human Anatomy for Dental Students, Third Edition
by
The third edition of Anand's Human Anatomy for Dental Students is a comprehensive guide to every part of the human anatomy. Beginning with a section on general and systemic anatomy, the book goes on to discuss the head and neck, histology, genetics, embryology and radiological anatomy. Over 1000 illustrations enhance learning and the section on histology includes photographs of slides featuring every tissue and organ, along with a corresponding illustrated diagram. Each section includes review questions to assist revision.
Anatomy and Physiology for the Prehospital Provider
by
Navigate 2 Advantage Access For Anatomy & Physiology For The Prehospital Provider, Enhanced Second Edition Is A Digital-Only Access Code That Unlocks A Comprehensive And Interactive Ebook, Student Practice Activities And Assessments, A Full Suite Of Instructor Resources, And Learning Analytic Reporting Tools. With Navigate 2, Technology And Content Combine To Expand The Reach Of Your Classroom. Whether You Teach An Online, Hybrid, Or Traditional Classroom-Based Course, Navigate 2 Delivers Unbeatable Value. Experience Navigate 2 Today At Www.Jblnavigate.Com/2. The Enhanced Second Edition Of Anatomy & Physiology For The Prehospital Provider Also Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access. To Learn More About The Textbook, Please Visit This Page: Http: //Www.Jblearning.Com/Catalog/9781449642303/.
Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise
by
Functional Anatomy for Sport and Exercise: A Quick A-to-Z Reference is the most user-friendly and accessible available reference to human musculoskeletal anatomy in its moving, active context. Fully updated and revised, the second edition features more illustrations to enhance student learning and an expanded hot topics section to highlight key areas of research in sport and exercise. An accessible format makes it easy for students to locate clear, concise explanations and descriptions of anatomical structures, human movement terms and key concepts. Covering all major anatomical areas, the book includes: an A-to-Z guide to anatomical terms and concepts, from the head to the foot clear and detailed colour illustrations cross-referenced entries throughout hot topics discussed in more detail in sports examples discussed in more detail full references and suggested further reading This book is an essential quick reference for undergraduate students in applied anatomy, functional anatomy, kinesiology, sport and exercise science, physical education, strength and conditioning, biomechanics and athletic training. I> in sports examples discussed in more detail full references and suggested further reading This book is an essential quick reference for undergraduate students in applied anatomy, functional anatomy, kinesiology, sport and exercise science, physical education, strength and conditioning, biomechanics and athletic training.
Functional Awareness
by
Functional Awareness: Anatomy in Action for Dancers is where anatomy meets artistry. Each chapter provides explorations in embodied anatomy in an engaging manner with the use of images, storytelling, and experiential exercises. It is an accessible introduction to the relationship between dailymovement habits, dance training and anatomy. The information is founded on over 30,000 hours of experience teaching and training dancers to generate efficient exertion and appropriate recuperation. Functional Awareness: Anatomy in Action for Dancers employs somatic practices along with explorationsin experiential anatomy to awaken the body-mind connection and improve movement function. The book applies the Functional AwarenessRG approach to improve dance technique and provide skills to enable the dancer to move with balance and grace in the classroom, on stage, and in daily life.
Anatomy Functional Body Systems
by
Beneath our skin, numerous complex and beautiful systems sustain life. It can be easy to take those processes for granted, though, because so many of them occur without any conscious effort. Over the course of this program, viewers will discover the hidden wonders of the skeletal, muscular, cardiovascular, respiratory, and nervous systems and how they all work in conjunction with each other to create the amazing machine we call the human body. Very visual, with athletic models, animated cutaways, labeled diagrams, and even cadaver parts.
Workbook for Sectional Anatomy for Imaging Professionals
by
This study guide uses an integrated approach to learning sectional anatomy and applying it to diagnostic imaging. It facilitates comprehension, learning, and retention of the material presented in Kelley's Sectional Anatomy for Imaging Professionals, 2nd Edition. In addition to fill-in-the-blank, matching, multiple choice, true/false and short answer questions, this new edition includes over 200 illustrations from the main text for labeling practice. Three post tests cover neurologic, body, and extremity content, offering additional opportunities for readers to test their comprehension. Chapter objectives focus your attention on the important concepts you are expected to master by the end of the chapter. A variety of engaging exercises, such as matching, true/false, fill-in-the-blank, fill-in-the-table, and labeling aid your learning and retention. Memory learning aids, such as mnemonics, help you memorize quickly so you can concentrate more on applications of concepts. Updated material corresponds with updates to the main text. More cross-reference images and anatomy maps have been added for additional guidance in labeling exercises. Additional exercises reinforce the relationship of specific structures to surrounding anatomy.
Sectional Anatomy for Imaging Professionals
by
Designed to serve as both a clinical manual and an instructional tool, this text covers the sectional anatomy of the entire body in an easy-to-understand, comprehensive format. The user-friendly design of the book presents actual, diagnostic-quality images from both MRI and CT modalities, side-by-side with detailed line drawings to illustrate the planes of anatomy most commonly imaged. Concise explanations describe the location and function of the anatomy, and each image clearly labels all pertinent anatomic structures to aid in location and identification of anatomy during actual clinical examinations. The result is a practical guide that improves the imaging professional's ability to consistently produce the best possible diagnostic images. Instructor resources are available; please contact your Elsevier sales representative for details. Side-by-side presentation of anatomy illustrations and corresponding CT and MRI images clarifies the location and structure of sectional anatomy. More than 1,500 high-quality images detail sectional anatomy for every body plane commonly imaged in the clinical setting. Pathology boxes help you connect commonly encountered pathologies to related anatomy for greater diagnostic accuracy. Anatomy summary tables provide quick access to muscle information, points of origin and insertion, and muscle function for each muscle group. Reference drawings and corresponding scanning planes accompany actual images to help you recognize the correlation between the two. NEW! 150 new scans and 30 new line drawings familiarize you with the latest 3D and vascular imaging technology. NEW! Chapter objectives help you concentrate on the most important chapter content and study more efficiently. NEW! Full labels on all scans provide greater diagnostic detail at a glance.
The Grasping Hand
by
Anatomical guide leverages exceptional dissection images to elucidate the biomechanics of the hand and upper extremity The hand is a unique instrument that executes the commands of the brain and expresses the nuances of the mind. The Grasping Hand: Structural and Functional Anatomy of the Hand and Upper Extremity by Amit Gupta and Makoto Tamai is a state-of-the-art book that details the functions of the hand to feel, receive, gather, collect and hold, as well as the complex role that the whole upper extremity plays in enabling these actions. The anatomical structures intrinsic to these functions are detailed through illuminating cadaveric dissections and succinct text. Organized in 5 sections and 38 chapters, the book begins with a chapter detailing the intriguing history of hand anatomy, followed by a section encompassing the structural and functional fundamentals. The third section covers general anatomy and function, with discussions of the nerves and vascularity of the upper extremity, as well as the brachial plexus. The fourth section features 26 anatomically organized chapters from the shoulder to the fingertip with anatomical and functional insights on the joints, fascia and retinacula, interosseus membrane, tendons and more. The single chapter comprising the final section covers imaging and anatomy. Key Highlights Pioneers in modern hand surgery share vast collective knowledge and pearls on hand and upper extremity anatomy and biomechanics Over 1,100 exquisite, original dissections of lightly embalmed fresh cadaveric arms provide unique visual insights about underlying tissues and structures High quality, never before published original photographs enhance understanding of anatomy, physiology, and pathology This practical resource is ideal for reviewing anatomy and biomechanics prior to performing hand, wrist, arm, elbow, and shoulder surgery, making it essential reading for orthopaedic surgeons, fellows, and hand specialists. This book is also useful for students of human anatomy, physical and occupational therapists, medical students, and anyone interested in upper extremity anatomy and function. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
The Functional Anatomy of the Reticular Formation
by
The Grasping Hand
by
Anatomical guide leverages exceptional dissection images to elucidate the biomechanics of the hand and upper extremity The hand is a unique instrument that executes the commands of the brain and expresses the nuances of the mind. The Grasping Hand: Structural and Functional Anatomy of the Hand and Upper Extremity by Amit Gupta and Makoto Tamai is a state-of-the-art book that details the functions of the hand to feel, receive, gather, collect and hold, as well as the complex role that the whole upper extremity plays in enabling these actions. The anatomical structures intrinsic to these functions are detailed through illuminating cadaveric dissections and succinct text. Organized in 5 sections and 38 chapters, the book begins with a chapter detailing the intriguing history of hand anatomy, followed by a section encompassing the structural and functional fundamentals. The third section covers general anatomy and function, with discussions of the nerves and vascularity of the upper extremity, as well as the brachial plexus. The fourth section features 26 anatomically organized chapters from the shoulder to the fingertip with anatomical and functional insights on the joints, fascia and retinacula, interosseus membrane, tendons and more. The single chapter comprising the final section covers imaging and anatomy. Key Highlights Pioneers in modern hand surgery share vast collective knowledge and pearls on hand and upper extremity anatomy and biomechanics Over 1,100 exquisite, original dissections of lightly embalmed fresh cadaveric arms provide unique visual insights about underlying tissues and structures High quality, never before published original photographs enhance understanding of anatomy, physiology, and pathology This practical resource is ideal for reviewing anatomy and biomechanics prior to performing hand, wrist, arm, elbow, and shoulder surgery, making it essential reading for orthopaedic surgeons, fellows, and hand specialists. This book is also useful for students of human anatomy, physical and occupational therapists, medical students, and anyone interested in upper extremity anatomy and function. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Structures of the Head and Neck
by
Prepare for class, clinical, and professional success! Build a solid foundation of orafacial anatomy with just the right depth and breadth of coverage for Dental Hygiene and Dental Assisting students. An innovative organization brings together system and regional approaches to ensure you understand the structures of the head and neck and how they work together during normal function. Brilliant full-color photographs, illustrations, and diagrams in every chapter let you easily examine every detail. Begin with an overview of the head and neck from the bony apertures of the skull to the fascial spaces of the mouth and the neck. Then, explore how these structures perform in conjunction the systems of the body, including the cardiovascular, lymphatic, and nervous systems. Plus, gain additional practice with Student Questions for each chapter--online at DavisPlus. Access your complete text online with the Davis Digital Version. Redeem the Plus Code, inside new, printed texts, to access this DavisPlus online resource.
Living and Radiological Anatomy of the Head and Neck for Dental Students
by
Anatomy and Physiology in Healthcare
by
Anatomy and Physiology in Healthcarefocuses on what healthcare students need to know about the biological principles which underpin the practice of healthcare.All healthcare students have to study anatomy and physiology. They often find it a challenging subject and struggle to see how the subject will link to their professional practice.This book is unique in that it integrates clinical cases with the essential biological facts to provide all students with a thorough understanding of how anatomy and physiology can be applied in healthcare. By using clinical cases throughout , the book helps the reader grasp the practical relevance of anatomy and physiology to decision-making and care delivery. The clinical cases have been carefully selected to reflect common conditions encountered in practice today,and the changing patterns of disease and healthcare. Clear high-quality full colour illustrations, links to appropriate web-based content, and self-assessment material make this the perfect, practical textbook for all healthcare students. Review:"This textbook presents anatomy and physiology in a fun and interactive way.... It is divided into 14 chapters and the way the authors have introduced the information gives it a modern twist. For example, instead of titling a chapter 'The reproductive system', it is called 'From one generation to the next'. ..... What works particularly well is the way the authors have used case studies that reflect the reality of the changing patterns of health and disease.... This book provides a good foundation in clinical application and it seeks to link theory to practice."; Nursing Standard, 27 September 2017, volume 32 number 5
A Visual Guide to Human Physiology
by
Readers will be fascinated by this vibrant, expansive book on the function of the human body and the interplay between its systems. They will learn how bones and muscles work together, how the senses function, how speech works, and so much more with the aid of full-color illustrations, diagrams, and infographics. From the basics of what makes up the human body to the complicated control center of the brain, this guide will engage readers and impart a richer understanding of their own physical forms.
Model Organisms: A Precious Resource for Understanding of the Molecular Mechanisms Underlying Human Physiology and Disease
by
Memmler's the Human Body in Health and Disease, Enhanced Edition with Navigate 2 Premier Access
by
Memmler's The Human Body in Health and Disease, Fourteenth Edition is a textbook for introductory-level allied health and nursing students who need a basic understanding of anatomy and physiology, the interrelationships between structure and function, and the effects of disease on body systems. The features and content specifically meet the needs of those who may be starting their health career preparation with little or no science background. The Fourteenth Edition has been revised and updated where needed to improve organization of the material and to reflect current scientific thought.
Fluid Physiology: A Handbook for Anaesthesia and Critical Care Practice
by
Exercise Physiology
by
There is no doubt that if the field of exercise physiology is to make further advancements, the various specialized areas must work together in solving the unique and difficult problems of understanding how exercise is initiated, maintained and regulated at many functional levels, and what causes us to quit. Exercise is perhaps the most complex of physiological functions, requiring the coordinated, integrated activation of essentially every cell, tissue and organ in the body. Such activation is known to take place at all levels - from molecular to systemic. Focusing on important issues addressed at cellular and systemic levels, this handbook presents state-of-the-art research in the field of exercise physiology. Each chapter serves as a comprehensive resource that will stimulate and challenge discussion in advanced students, researchers, physiologists, medical doctors and practitioners. Authored by respected exercise physiologists from nineteen countries, each chapter has been significantly updated to provide up-to-date coverage of the topics and to offer complete descriptions of the many facets of the most physiological responses from a cellular to an integrative approach within individual body systems in normal and disease states and includes some chapters that are rarely addressed in exercise physiology books, such as the influence of exercise on endothelium, vasomomotor control mechanisms, coagulation, immune function and rheological properties of blood, and their influence on hemodynamics. This book represents the first iteration to provide such a work. Normal exercise responses divided into muscle function, bioenergetics, and respiratory, cardiac and blood/vascular function; Fitness, training, exercise testing and limits to exercise; Exercise responses in different environments; Beneficial effects of exercise rehabilitation on ageing and in the prevention and treatment of disease states; Rarely addressed issues such as the influence of exercise on endothelium, vasomotor control mechanisms, coagulation, immune function and rheological properties of blood and their influence on hemodynamics. IOS Press is an international science, technical and medical publisher of high-quality books for academics, scientists, and professionals in all fields. Some of the areas we publish in: -Biomedicine -Oncology -Artificial intelligence -Databases and information systems -Maritime engineering -Nanotechnology -Geoengineering -All aspects of physics -E-governance -E-commerce -The knowledge economy -Urban studies -Arms control -Understanding and responding to terrorism -Medical informatics -Computer Sciences
A mixed course-based research approach to human physiology
by
Medical Terminology for Healthcare Professions
by
Medical Terminology Systems
by
STUDENTS: Please login or create an account, and go to the RESOURCES tab and select OPEN ACCESS to find your free resources. INSTRUCTORS: Please login in or create an account, and go to RESOURCES tab and INSTRUCTOR to find your resources. Medical Language Lab for Medical Terminology Systems, 8th Edition www.MedicalLanguageLab.com Instant Access: 978-0-8036-6124-0 Access Card: 978-0-8036-6112-7 A word building and body systems approach! A true blend of words, art, and technology, Medical Terminology Systems + The Medical Language Lab work together to create an immersive, multimedia experience that tracks your progress until you've mastered the language of medicine. Medical Terminology Systems, 8th Edition You'll begin by learning the parts of words roots, combining forms, suffixes, and prefixes. Then, use your understanding of word parts to learn medical terminology. Mnemonic devices and engaging, interactive activities make word-building fun and easy, ensuring you retain the information you need for success. See what students are saying about the previous edition... The Right Way to Learn Medical Terminology!"...if I had to be asked again to purchase this book I would do it all over again. Unlike most of my other textbooks that I bought throughout the school year that just sit in the back of my closet collecting dust once the class is over, this book, I still continue to use every day. It definitely helps me out in my anatomy classes and even in some of my biology classes too. Fantastic book!"--Taylor Berlinger Worth the Purchase"I love this book a lot. I am currently using [it] for my college course class on medical terminology. The illustrations are awesome and the breakdown of suffix and prefix format [are] as well."--Jonnita The Medical Language Lab Online. Interactive. Progressive. Based on proven language methodology, The MLL guides you step by step from basic through advanced levels of proficiency to become a confident medical language speaker. A special code in the front of the book unlocks The MLL for you...including an ebook of the text and lecture videos. Instructors can use it with their current learning management system or with its integrated grade book. They can also customize it to meet the needs of their course. Want to learn more? Visit the Medical Language Lab now. Instructors--Request preview access and explore Medical Language Lab using this step-by-step walkthrough.
Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy
by
Feeling overwhelmed by medical terminology? Grab a lifeline: the newly updated Medical Terminology Made Incredibly Easy!®, 4th Edition offers clear and simple explanations of vital terms and their everyday use in nursing practice. Backed by humor and chock full of illustrations, this enjoyable text is the perfect backup to class materials and the ideal on-the-job refresher for experienced nurses and all healthcare professionals. Learn how to decipher complex terms from the roots up--and take your confidence to a whole new level. Be expertly guided through the choppy waters of medical terminology ... NEW and updated content clarifies medical terminology concepts with clear definitions and illustrations Explains the meanings, roots, and pronunciation of terms as used in everyday practice, including: Names for all major body systems: skeletal, muscular, integumentary, cardiovascular, respiratory, gastrointestinal, urinary, reproductive, neurologic, endocrine, blood and lymphatic, and sensory systems Terms and phrases used in maternal health, pharmacology, and mental health Breaks down complex medical terms into recognizable components--common prefixes, roots, and suffixes--to help you identify the meaning of any term Offers a strong anatomy and physiology overview backed by numerous images, including a large image of each organ system Chapter features provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Vocabulary builders --end-of-chapter games such as crossword puzzles, matching roots and prefixes to their correct meanings, and fill-in-the-blank sentences to help you retain learning Pump up your pronunciation --phonetic spellings make it easy to pronounce complex terms Anatomically speaking --anatomy illustrations, with pronunciations of key terms Memory jogger --stories and tools that support retention "Nurse Joy"and "Jake" --explain key concepts and offer friendly problem-solving tips Beyond the dictionary --learn the origins of words, to help you remember word roots and dissect meanings The real world --explains informal terms used in daily practice About the Clinical Editor David Woodruff, MSN, RN-BC, CNS, CNE, FNAP, is Faculty Development Specialist at the Center for Faculty Excellence, Chamberlain College of Nursing, in Cleveland, Ohio.
Medical Terminology Express
by
Medical Language Lab for Medical Terminology Express, 2nd Edition www.MedicalLanguageLab.com Instant Access - Medical Language Lab: 978-0-8036-4254-6 Access Card - Medical Language Lab: 978-0-8036-4527-1 A condensed format paired with the power of the Medical Language Lab provides an ideal fit for short course, online, or self-paced study. Now in its 2nd edition, Medical Terminology Express adapts Barbara Gylys's proven word-building techniques for the short-course. Organized by body system, this text shows the connection between anatomical structures and associated medial word roots. Online. Interactive. Progressive. The Medical Language Lab is the new, interactive, online program that ensures your students master the language of medicine. Based on proven language methodology, it guides your students step by step from basic through advanced levels of proficiency to become confident medical language speakers. A special code in the front of the book unlocks The MLL for you and your students. Use it with your current learning management system or with its integrated grade book. Customize it to meet the needs of your course. Want to learn more? Explore all the Medical Language Lab has to offer through this video series. Spend more time teaching, less time preparing for class. In addition to the Medical Language Lab which includes automatically graded activities and a Gradebook (see an example here), the instructor resources for Medical Terminology Express have been enhanced and expanded. Instructors - request preview access and explore Medical Language Lab using this step-by-step walkthrough.
McGraw Hill's Complete Medical Spanish, Premium Fourth Edition
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn to communicate directly with your Spanish-speaking patients, with the most comprehensive Spanish medical language guide available--now updated and enhanced with more streaming audio of dialogues and specialized medical vocabulary McGraw-Hill's Complete Medical Spanish is the most comprehensive guide available for medical practitioners wishing to speak directly with Spanish-speaking patients--to interview, conduct exams, and provide follow-up instructions--and requires no prior knowledge of the Spanish language. Each chapter of this bestselling program features vocabulary, key phrases, dialogues based on common medical situations, and exercises that reinforce your understanding and build confidence. Upon completion, you'll be able to communicate about and address: chief complaints; giving instructions; common symptoms; qualifying and quantifying pain; emergency room issues; illnesses and medical history; neurological exams; tests for blood, urine, sputum, and skin; prenatal instructions and well-baby visits; emergency-room visits; abdominal pain; trips to the dentist's office; STDs; high blood pressure; diabetes; monthly breast self-examinations; myocardial infarction; cross-cultural communication, and much more. Proven to be effective in building language proficiency for a wide range of medical situations, this guide is ideal for helping you increase your patients' comfort and provide optimal care. McGraw-Hill's Complete Medical Spanish, Premium 4th Edition features: * Sets of flashcards for all the vocabulary lists in the book * More than 2,000 terms * Audio recordings of all the monologues and dialogues from the book, with hundreds of essential phrases and expressions * New sections on: bipolar disorder; behavioral health problems with children; ADHD, disability; pulmonary and respiratory information * New bilingual questionnaires on: women's health; oral health; sleep; CAGE alcohol and drugs
Spanish Terminology for the Dental Team
by
An essential reference for every dental office, Mosby's Spanish Terminology for the Dental Team, 2nd Edition helps Spanish-speaking patients feel more at ease in your practice by helping you and your staff communicate in Spanish more effectively. Dental-specific terms and phonetic spellings help you translate each step of the dental experience, from initial contact through advanced procedures. Quick and easy to use, this pocket-sized resource also covers the new terminology related to hot topics and emerging trends such as implants, oral and maxillofacial surgery, and cosmetic dentistry. A CD-ROM includes audio pronunciations and printable handouts for your Hispanic patients on topics including preventive care, orthodontics, and general caries procedures. A 40-page Spanish-language review covers accents, common parts of speech, and correct pronunciation. Comprehensive coverage includes foundational information on the Spanish language, plus coverage of the full range of dental care from patient greeting and office administration through assessment, evaluation, and general and specialty dental treatment. Summary boxes highlight key terms and phrases in a two-column format, with English on the left and Spanish on the right. A glossary of common English-to-Spanish everyday terminology is provided in the back of the book. Trusted content is developed and reviewed by an expert editorial board comprising dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants. This is the only Spanish terminology book written specifically for dental professionals by dental professionals. Coverage of hot topics includes the new terminology related to prevention, implants, oral and maxillofacial surgery (including LASER), cosmetic dentistry, and digital radiography. New illustrations depict concepts such as anatomy and radiographic positioning. Additional phonetic spellings help you pronounce Spanish words and phrases correctly. New Heritage and Culture chapter adds information on Hispanic culture to help you communicate with clarity, tact, and compassion. New patient education handouts on the website offer Spanish instructions for proper oral health, including information on proper tooth brushing, general caries procedures, pediatric issues, and specialty orthodontic treatment. An improved organization rearranges chapters more logically by anatomy foundations, dental specialties, medical specialties, and office administration, and moves the Spanish language primer to an appendix. Information on HIPAA privacy regulations is incorporated into chapters dealing with office administration. A companion website translates every word and phrase within the book from English to Spanish so that you have the proper accent and pronunciation.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Nervous System, Volume 7, Part II - Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems
by
Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems, Part 2 of The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Nervous System, 2nd Edition, provides a highly visual overview of the anatomy, pathology, and major clinical syndromes of the nervous system, from cranial nerves and neuro-ophthalmology to spinal cord, neuropathies, autonomic nervous system, pain physiology, and neuromuscular disorders. This spectacularly illustrated volume in the masterwork known as the (CIBA) Netter "Green Books" has been expanded and revised by Drs. H. Royden Jones, Jr., Ted M. Burns, Michael J. Aminoff, Scott L. Pomeroy to mirror the many exciting advances in neurologic medicine - offering rich insights into neuroanatomy, neurophysiology, molecular biology, pathology, and various clinical presentations. "Netter's has always set the Rolls-Royce standard in understanding of clinical anatomy and pathophysiology of disease process, particularly of nervous system. Over 290 pages and with the use of sharp, concise text, illustrations and correlation with up to date imaging techniques, including spinal cord and cranial and peripheral nerve disorders. It is well worth a read." Reviewed by:Dr Manesh Bhojak, Consultant Neuroradiologist, Liverpool Date: July 2014 Get complete, integrated visual guidance on the cranial nerves, spinal cord and peripheral motor and sensory systems with thorough, richly illustrated coverage. Quickly understand complex topics thanks to a concise text-atlas format that provides a context bridge between primary and specialized medicine. Clearly visualize how core concepts of anatomy, physiology, and other basic sciences correlate across disciplines. Benefit from matchless Netter illustrations that offer precision, clarity, detail and realism as they provide a visual approach to the clinical presentation and care of the patient. Gain a rich clinical view of all aspects of the cranial nerves, spinal cord and peripheral motor sensory systems in one comprehensive volume, conveyed through beautiful illustrations as well as up-to-date neuro-radiologic images. Clearly see the connection between basic science and clinical practice with an integrated overview of normal structure and function as it relates to neuro-pathologic conditions. Grasp current clinical concepts regarding the many aspects of adult and child neurologic medicine captured in classic Netter illustrations, as well as new illustrations created specifically for this volume by artist-physician Carlos Machado, MD, and others working in the Netter style.
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance
by
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance is the perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registration nursing and healthcare students, from the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series. Combining superb illustrations with accessible and informative text, this book covers all the body systems and key concepts encountered from the start of the pre-registration nursing or healthcare programme, and is ideal for anyone looking for an overview of the human body. Providing a concise, visual overview of anatomy and physiology and the related biological sciences, this book will help students develop practical skills, enabling them to become caring, kind and compassionate nurses. Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout Breaks down complex concepts in an accessible way Written specifically for nursing and healthcare students with all the information they need Includes access to a companion website with self-assessment questions for each chapter Available in a range of digital formats- perfect for 'on the go' study and revision
Therapeutic Programs for Musculoskeletal Disorders
by
Therapeutic Programs for Musculoskeletal Disorders is a guide for musculoskeletal medicine trainees and physicians to the art and science of writing therapy prescriptions and developing individualized treatment plans. Chapters are written by teams of musculoskeletal physicians, allied health professionals, and trainees to underscore the importance of collaboration in designing programs and improving outcomes. The book employs a literature-driven treatment approach to the common musculoskeletal problems that clinicians encounter on a daily basis. Each condition-specific chapter includes clinical background and presentation, physical examination, and diagnostics, followed by a comprehensive look at the rehabilitation program. Case examples with detailed therapy prescriptions reinforce key points. The book includes a bound-in DVD with downloadable patient handouts for most conditions. Therapeutic Programs for Musculoskeletal Disorders Features: A concise but comprehensive approach to the conservative treatment of musculoskeletal disorders A focus on developing individualized treatment plans incorporating physical modalities, manual therapy, and therapeutic exercise A logical framework for writing effective therapy-based prescriptions for common limb and spine problems Case examples with detailed therapy prescriptions A targeted review of the associated literature in each condition-specific chapter A DVD with illustrated handouts covering home modalities and therapeutic exercises for key problems that can be provided to patients The first reference bringing together physicians, allied health professionals, and residents to provide an integrated foundation for improved team care utilizing an evidence-based approach to musculoskeletal rehabilitation
Anatomy, Posture, Prevalence, Pain, Treatment and Interventions of Musculoskeletal Disorders
by
Musculoskeletal Injuries and Conditions
by
Musculoskeletal Injuries and Conditions: Assessment and Management is a practical guide to diagnosis and treatment of musculoskeletal conditions in clinical practice. More comprehensive than a handbook, yet more clinically-focused than a desk reference, this volume is a one-stop guide for clinicians who deal with musculoskeletal disorders and injuries in the practice setting. The book is organized by anatomic region, from neck to toe, and written in outline format. Each chapter concisely presents the basic knowledge that every practitioner needs to have at the ready in the outpatient clinical context. Taking a uniform approach based on isolating symptoms and the location of the pain, the book presents a uniquely practical template for nonoperative management of a broad spectrum of musculoskeletal problems. All chapters include epidemiology, anatomy, biomechanics, physical examination, diagnostic studies, and treatment. Flowcharts for differential diagnosis and initial management are provided for chief complaints. Helpful tables, lists, and over 150 anatomic illustrations supplement the text throughout. Given the increasing importance of ultrasound in clinical decision-making at the point of care, a mini-atlas of normal and abnormal findings for common injuries is presented as part of the imaging work-up. Designed to help busy practitioners diagnose and treat musculoskeletal disorders in the clinic or office, this book is an essential resource for physicians in rehabilitation and sports medicine, primary care, orthopedics, and other health care professionals who work in outpatient settings. KEY FEATURES Provides a consistent approach to managing common musculoskeletal conditions based on location of pain Bulleted format and clear heading structure make it easy to find informationMore than 30 flowcharts map out differential diagnosis, diagnostic approach, and initial management strategy for each complaintPacked with useful tables, lists, and over 150 illustrations of surface anatomyIntegrates musculoskeletal ultrasound into the imaging workup, with over 40 normal and abnormal scans to aid in recognizing signature pathologies at the point of care Purchase includes access to the fully-searchable downloadable e-book with image bank
Anatomical Kinesiology with Navigate 2 Advantage Access
by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Anatomical Kinesiology provides students with a comprehensive and concise resource for mastering the muscles and related anatomy responsible for body movement. This is a foundational topic needed for application to other important areas including biomechanics, musculoskeletal injuries, rehabilitation, strength and conditioning, and more.The text uses 18 chapters divided across five sections to cover all the material. Section I has four chapters that present the anatomy and physiology concepts most relevant to kinesiology such as body orientation; terminology; and the skeletal, muscular, and nervous organ systems. Section II is divided into three chapters on the bones and their landmarks. The final three sections contain the muscle chapters: One section for the lower extremities, one for the axial skeleton, and one for the upper extremities. The chapters are divided by regions (i.e. ankle, knee, shoulder, etc.). A perforated workbook can be found at the end of the text providing students with review questions and study material that will help readers memorize and understand the function of various bones and muscles of the body.
MRI of the Musculoskeletal System
by
The value of MR imaging for the evaluation of musculoskeletal system disorders cannot be over-stated. It is the only imaging modality that enables visualization of all components of the joints within single examinations. Yet, given the bewildering variety of possible sequence parameters, with and without contrast medium, acquiring and interpreting MR images with confidence is a challenge, requiring experience usually only gained after examining 1000s of studies with a careful systematic approach. Like the First Edition, the Second Edition of MRI of the Musculoskeletal System assists the radiologist in acquiring the most reliable and complete imaging information, so as to achieve a high degree of diagnostic certainty quickly and efficiently. Key Features: More than 2000 MR images of reference quality, the majority new for this edition Drawings, where helpful, aid the reader in identifying and delineating normal and pathological entities Includes all the latest advanced techniques: MR neurography and myelography, diffusion imaging, quantitative MRI, mDIXON, and more All MR exams described fully, with choice of sequence, positioning, choice of coils, when/how to use contrast, protocols Discussions of possible errors in interpretation Comparison of MR imaging with other modalities Tables expand and organize information on sequence parameters and differential diagnoses More than just an authoritative reference, Vahlensieck's MRI of the Musculoskeletal System is the ideal practical helper to accompany the radiologist at the workstation on a daily basis.
Imaging Anatomy of the Human Spine
by
The most precise, cutting-edge images of normal spinal anatomy available today are the centerpiece of this spectacular atlas for clinicians, trainees, andstudents in the neurologically-based medical specialties. Truly an ' atlas for the 21st century, ' this comprehensive visual reference presents a detailedoverview of spinal anatomy acquired through the use of multiple imaging modalities and advanced techniques that allow visualization of structures notpossible with conventional MRI or CT. A series of unique full-color structural images derived from 3D models based on actual images in the book furtherenhances understanding of spinal anatomy and spatial relationships. Written by two neuroradiologists who are also prominent educators, the atlas begins with a brief introduction to the development, organization, andfunction of the human spine. What follows is more than 650 meticulously presented and labelled images acquired with the full complement of standard andadvanced modalities currently used to visualize the human spine and adjacent structures' including x-ray, fluoroscopy, MRI, CT, CTA, MRA, digitalsubtraction angiography, and ultrasound of the neonatal spine. The vast array of data that these modes of imaging provide offer a wider window into thespine and allow the reader an unobstructed view of the anatomy presented to inform clinical decisions or enhance understanding of this complex region.Additionally, various anatomic structures can be viewed from modality to modality and from multiple planes. This state-of-the-art atlas elevates conventional anatomic spine topography to the cutting edge of technology. It will serve as an authoritative learningtool in the classroom, and as a crucial practical resource at the workstation or in the office or clinic. Key Features: Provides detailed views of anatomic structures within and around the human spine utilizing over 650 high quality images across a broad range of imaging modalities Contains several examples of the use of imaging anatomic landmarks in the performance of interventional spine procedures Contains extensively labeled images of all regions of the spine and adjacent areas that can be compared and contrasted across modalities Serves as an authoritative learning tool for students and trainees and practical reference for clinicians in multiple specialties
Imaging Anatomy of the Human Brain
by
" A] very fine and detailed anatomic atlas... Dr. Borden et al. present an excellent atlas done basically by neuroradiologists' but with a very rich content, which is highly instructive also for neurologists and neurosurgeons, given the major importance of neuroradiological imaging in both practices." --Guilherme Carvalhal Ribas, MD, University of S√ o Paulo Medical School, Neurosurgery " A]n outstanding anatomic reference textbook... do yourself a favor and either purchase this book for your own library or select it for your department' s library. For proof of its value, examine it at the next ASNR or RSNA. You will be convinced. The bulk of the information in the book will never be out of date." --American Journal of Neuroradiology "I was very happy to be able to review this wonderful resource, which is packed with information and illustrations... The illustrations in this atlas are remarkable...I believe this text would be a valuable reference for any neurodiagnostic laboratory as neurodiagnostic techs move into more collaborative roles as part of the patient care team. I would highly recommend it." --Kathy Johnson, R. EEG/EP T., RPSGT, FASET, The Neurodiagnostic Journal "This atlas provides high quality images of the brain and adjacent structures in MR, CT, and neonatal ultrasound. The images are clearly labeled with a thorough index to allow for cross referencing between modalities... the inclusion of higher-end imaging such as fMRI, diffusion tensor imaging (DTI), and CT perfusion makes for a complete neuroanatomy atlas that will be useful for a long time... Weighted Numerical Score: 99 - 5 Stars " -- Joel M Fritz, MD, Baystate Medical Center, Doody's Reviews "This volume presents a detailed and beautifully illustrated tour of neuroanatomy, employing' standard and advanced modalities' Ample use of color illustrates fiber tracts and differentiates different nuclei and other structures. The sections are amply labeled and easy to follow, allowing the reader to become familiar with cognate areas on images of multiple techniques." -- Carl E. Stafstrom, Division of Pediatric Neurology, Johns Hopkins Hospital, Journal of Pediatric Epilepsy An Atlas for the 21st Century The most precise, cutting-edge images of normal cerebral anatomy available today are the centerpiece of this spectacular atlas for clinicians, trainees, and students in the neurologically-based medical and non-medical specialties. Truly an "atlas for the 21st century," this comprehensive visual reference presents a detailed overview of cerebral anatomy acquired through the use of multiple imaging modalities including advanced techniques that allow visualization of structures not possible with conventional MRI or CT. Beautiful color illustrations using 3-D modeling techniques based upon 3D MR volume data sets further enhances understanding of cerebral anatomy and spatial relationships. The anatomy in these color illustrations mirror the black and white anatomic MR images presented in this atlas. Written by two neuroradiologists and an anatomist who are also prominent educators, along with more than a dozen contributors, the atlas begins with a brief introduction to the development, organization, and function of the human brain. What follows is more than 1,000 meticulously presented and labelled images acquired with the full complement of standard and advanced modalities currently used to visualize the human brain and adjacent structures, including MRI, CT, diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) with tractography, functional MRI, CTA, CTV, MRA, MRV, conventional 2-D catheter angiography, 3-D rotational catheter angiography, MR spectroscopy, and ultrasound of the neonatal brain. The vast array of data that these modes of imaging provide o
Pocket Atlas of Sectional Anatomy, Volume III: Spine, Extremities, Joints
by
Full multiplanar coverage of the spine, extremities, and joints! Renowned for its superb illustrations and highly practical information, the third volume of this classic reference reflects the very latest in state-of-the-art imaging technology. Together with Volumes 1 and 2, this compact and portable book provides a highly specialized navigational tool for clinicians seeking to master the ability to recognize anatomical structures and accurately interpret CT and MR images. Highlights of Volume 3: New CT and MR images of the highest quality Didactic organization using two-page units, with radiographs on one page and full-color illustrations on the next Concise, easy-to-read labeling on all figures Color-coded, schematic diagrams that indicate the level of each section Sectional enlargements for detailed classification of the anatomical structure Comprehensive, compact, and portable, this popular book is ideal for use in both the classroom and clinical setting.
Cardiopulmonary Anatomy and Physiology
by
The best-selling text, CARDIOPULMONARY ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY, 6E, International Edition equips students with a rock-solid foundation in anatomy and physiology to help prepare them for careers as respiratory therapists. Extremely reader friendly, this proven, innovative text delivers the most complete and accurate information about the structure and function of the respiratory system in an approachable manner. Clear and concise, it presents complicated concepts in an easy-to-read, understandable format utilizing a full color design and strong pedagogy, so that students can readily apply what they learn when they graduate and start their professional careers. Newly integrated throughout the text, Clinical Connections provide direct links between chapter concepts and real-world applications in the clinical setting. New and redrawn full color illustrations provide the level of detail necessary to facilitate understanding of core concepts.
Photographic Regional Atlas of Non-Metric Traits and Anatomical Variants in the Human Skeleton
by
Photographic Regional Atlas of Non-Metric Traits and Anatomical Variants in the Human Skeleton provides a unique collection of photographs derived from a broad array of novel skeletal specimens from across the globe. This atlas depicts skeletal features that are compiled to facilitate simple and direct access to some of the most interesting specimens currently known. This reference book is intended for clinicians, anatomists, anthropologists, forensic scientists, pathologists, biologists and other allied medical professionals who are fascinated with the expression of morphological features of the skeleton. It is particularly useful to the human biologist investigating genetic relatedness among and between skeletal samples utilizing non-metric trait analyses since this atlas provides a comprehensive visual guide for not only the identification and nomenclature of skeletal morphological features, but also for the appreciation of the range of anatomical expression. Photographic Regional Atlas of Non-Metric Traits and Anatomical Variants in the Human Skeleton draws from skeletal features observed from over 10,000 skeletons in collections throughout the world and provides a comprehensive yet concise presentation for rapid and reliable referral. Traits are arranged and presented based on skeletal region that facilitates ease of use for the reader when attempting to identify a feature of interest. Photographs are vividly displayed which enhances the reader's ability to compare the standard reference to a desired feature. The authors draw on their own decades of experience in skeletal anatomy to provide the best photographic atlas available for referencing daunting anatomical variations and non-metric trait morphology. As a result, Photographic Regional Atlas of Non-Metric Traits and Anatomical Variants in the Human Skeleton provides a one-of-a-kind reference that serves as a crucial component in the pursuit of skeletal anomaly research and education.
Examination Questions and Answers in Basic Anatomy and Physiology
by
This book provides two thousand multiple choice questions on human anatomy and physiology, separated into 40 categories. The answer to each question is accompanied by an explanation. Each category has an introduction to set the scene for the questions to come. However not all possible information is provided within these Introductions, so an Anatomy and Physiology textbook is an indispensable aid to understanding the answers. The questions have been used in examinations for undergraduate introductory courses and as such reflect the focus of these particular courses and are pitched at the level to challenge students that are beginning their training in anatomy and physiology. The questions and answer combinations are to be used both by teachers, to select questions for their next examinations, and by students, when studying for an upcoming test. Students enrolled in the courses for which these questions were written include nursing, midwifery, paramedic, physiotherapy, occupational therapy, nutrition & dietetics, health sciences and students taking an anatomy and physiology course as an elective.
Anatomy Quizbook: for students studying or intending to study medicine
by
"The anatomy quizbook is a series of carefully selected questions addressing core learning in clinically relevant anatomy. It provides the opportunity for both pre-med and medical students to improve their knowledge of anatomy, as well as their performance in tests and examinations. The form of self-testing presented in the Anatomy Quizbook has many benefits: it is proven to aid retention (Lieberman 2012), it is a very useful method to apply at regular intervals to ensure robust knowledge, and it is extremely beneficial in determining what is known before rather than after a test or exam. Bearing in mind that it is neither necessary nor advisable to learn everything there is to know about anatomy, it is intended that the Anatomy quizbook be used in conjunction with a comprehensive anatomy textbook such as Clinically oriented anatomy (Moore et al, 2014) or Gray's anatomy for students (Drake et al, 2015). And whilst the Anatomy quizbook is intended primarily for students, tutors may also find this a very useful teaching resource."
Anatomy of the Organs
by
No anatomical reference is as inexpensive and as loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human organs, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. There are over 10 million QuickStudy anatomy guides in print, all with Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. 6-page laminated guide includes illustrated and labeled: Organs - Full Torso Anterior Respiratory & Urinary Male & Female Urogenital Systems Respiratory Tracts Right Kidney Left Adrenal Gland Anterior Digestive Hepatic Portal Veins Stomach Small Intestine (Schematic), Large Intestine Anterior Circulatory System Thoracic, Neck & Head Veins/Arteries Anterior Heart & Vessels Posterior Heart Anterior Thoracic Nerves Phrenic & Vagus Nerves Spinal Nerves, Spinal Chord Lymphatic System Deep Abdominal & Inguinal Nodes Dorsal Spleen Stomach & Pancreas Large Intestine Lymphatics Arm Axilla & Thorax Lymphatics Heart & Lungs Suggested uses: Students - handy reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis Administrative - use for billing and coding Doctors - use guide to educate patients or for reference with staff
The Handy Anatomy Answer Book
by
From basic biology to the lymphatic system to human growth and development, this comprehensive reference - organized by systems of the body - makes the sometimes perplexing nature of anatomy understandable through an engaging question-and-answer format. Covering over 1000 facts, in addition to the science itself, the people and history behind anatomy are discussed. Questions answered include: Do identical twins have the same fingerprints? What are the primary sensations of taste? What is the integumentary system? and How many bones are in the human body?
