LibGuides: SYG 2000: Introductory Sociology: Library Resources

Library Resources

The Rules of Sociological Method by Émile. Durkheim; Steven Lukes (As told to)
Call Number: HM588 .D8713 2014
ISBN: 9781476749723
Publication Date: 2014-02-25
Revised for the first time in over thirty years, this edition of Emile Durkheim's masterful work on the nature and scope of sociology is updated with a new introduction and improved translation by leading scholar Steven Lukes that puts Durkheim's work into context for the twenty-first century reader. The Rules of Sociological Method represents Emile Durkheim's manifesto for sociology.
Sociology by Ken Plummer
Call Number: HM585 .P58 2010
ISBN: 9780415472050
Publication Date: 2010-07-27
A lively, accessible and comprehensive introduction to the diverse ways of thinking about social life, Sociology: The Basics examines: the scope, history and purpose of sociology ways of understanding 'the social' the state of the world we live in today suffering and social inequalities key tools for researching and thinking about 'the social' the impact of new technologies.
Introduction to Sociology 3e eBook by Tonja R. Conerly; Kathleen Holmes; Asha Lal Tamang
ISBN: 1951693361
Publication Date: 2021-06-04
Introduction to Sociology 3e aligns to the topics and objectives of many introductory sociology courses. It is arranged in a manner that provides foundational sociological theories and contexts, then progresses through various aspects of human and societal interactions.

Suggested Search Terms

Here are some example keywords or phrases that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and academic databases:

social norms
socialization
social diversity

Suggested Boolean Searches

Refine searches using operators like "AND," "OR," and "NOT," ensuring more precise and relevant results.

"social institutions" AND sociology
"social behavior" OR "social interaction"
"social structure" NOT "social psychology"

Suggested Subject Headings

Standardized terms are used to categorize and organize content within the library catalog and academic databases to enhance search precision and efficiency.

Culture and society
Social constructs
Social behavior

Suggested Call Number Ranges

Locate materials within the library in these call number areas.

HM 22.G3-HQ 796

The following links will give you access to possible search terms that can be used when exploring the FSCJ online databases for your coursework. ***You must be first logged into your MyFSCJ account for full access.****

Recent peer-reviewed sociology articles
offers an array of scholarly journals and articles geared toward understanding the multifaceted approach to sociology and how it impacts lives globally.
What is Sociology?
provides access to the FSCJ online database where students can find an array of books, ebooks, videos, and scholarly journals to support relevant coursework.

Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of international full-text journals from North America, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America bring an essential global perspective to researching the human experience. Offering locally published content integrated with region-specific authoritative resources from all over the globe, Sociology Source Ultimate provides unparalleled coverage of regional news pertinent to scholars studying all aspects of human behavior and interaction.
Funded by College
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family, and marital issues, LGBTQ community, and more.
Funded by State Library of Florida (FEL)

Get help! The following instructional video will assist students in connecting with FSCJ library resources and tutors.

Learning Resources

Introsocsite
Learning Resources for Sociology Students

American Sociological Association
The American Sociological Association is a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing the discipline and profession of sociology. Founded in December 1905 as the American Sociological Society at Johns Hopkins University by a group of fifty people, the first president of the association would be Lester Frank Ward.
International Sociological Association
The International Sociological Association is a non-profit organization dedicated to scientific purposes in the field of sociology and social sciences. It is an international sociological body, gathering both individuals and national sociological organizations.

Demographic and Health Surveys
The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries.
U.S. Census Bureau
The United States Census Bureau, officially the Bureau of the Census, is a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System, responsible for producing data about the American people and economy.