LibGuides: ENL 2330: Introduction to Shakespeare: Library Resources

Library Resources

Oxford Illustrated Shakespeare Dictionary by David Crystal; Ben Crystal
Call Number: PR2892 .C79 2015
ISBN: 9780192737502
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
The Oxford Illustrated Shakespeare Dictionary is the first of its kind, a brand new illustrated alphabetical dictionary of all the words and meanings students of Shakespeare need to know. Every word has an example sentence selected from the twelve most studied plays including Macbeth, Hamlet, Romeo and Juliet, A Midsummer Night's Dream, and Henry V. Usage notes and theatre notes provide additional background to Shakespearean times and the performance of his plays. Further support is provided by language panels on select topics like the humours, swearing, and stage directions, and full-colour illustrated thematic spreads on special feature topics from clothes and armour to music and recreation.
Shakespeare and Language: Reason, Eloquence and Artifice in the Renaissance by Jonathan Hope
ISBN: 9781408143742
Publication Date: 2014-09-26
'This book is nothing short of brilliant. It is bursting with new observations, pithy readings and sensitive analyses. One of Hope's skills is to show us that 'language' is not separable from 'ideas'; both are systems of representation. This is a book about words, conventions, artifice, mythology, innovation, reason, eloquence, silence, control, communication, selfhood, dialect, 'late style' and much, much more.

Suggested Search Terms

Here are some example keywords or phrases that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and academic databases.

"Historical Context of Shakespeare's Works"
"Shakespearean Language and Rhetoric"
"Shakespearean Comedies Overview"

Suggested Boolean Searches

Refine searches using operators like "AND," "OR," and "NOT," ensuring more precise and relevant results.

"Shakespearean literature" OR "Shakespearean Plays"
"Shakespearean analysis" AND "introductory"
"Shakespearean Comedies" OR "Shakespearean Plays"

Suggested Subject Headings

Standardized terms are used to categorize and organize content within the library catalog and academic databases to enhance search precision and efficiency.

Shakespearean drama-- historical criticisms
Shakespearean tragedies-- analysis
Shakespearean sonnets-- interpretation

Suggested Call Number Ranges

Locate materials within the library in these call number areas.

PR 2802-PR 3112

The following links will give you access to possible search terms that can be used when exploring the FSCJ online databases for your coursework.

Shakespearean rhetoric offers students materials related to understanding the language of Shakespeare.

Analyzing William Shakespeare offers students both online and print material to facilitate a more robust understanding of the works of Shakespeare.

Shakespeare's Comedies provides links to some of Shakespeare's most notable comedic works.

The following are links to FSCJ databases which provide users access to a wide range of scholarly resources, including academic journals, books, ebooks, videos, and other relevant course materials. ***BE SURE TO FIRST LOGIN TO YOUR MYFSCJ ACCOUNT TO GET THE FULL RESULTS LIST.

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - A bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews of key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Gale Literature Resource Center is a research-focused, one-stop literary destination, providing students, academics, and researchers authoritative and relevant results on demand.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Contains the complete archived contents of Contemporary Literary Criticism.
Funded by Perpetual License

Topic Resources

Proquest Research Companion
This source provides interactive instruction on how to write a thesis statement.

Research Writing

Students can develop stronger arguments for their college essays by using multiple sources for research. Use reliable Internet databases; utilize library resources; and include diverse points of view.

Films on Demand
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

This program addresses the widespread ethical and legal problem of plagiarism, examining reasons used to justify content theft and the wide variety of forms it can take. Students and teachers talk frankly on-screen about their experiences with the problem and what leads some people to copy text or images from books, articles, Internet sites, and other students’ papers and projects.

Have a literary analysis paper coming up? This is one of the trickier types of essays for a lot of college students. Watch this video to learn a strategy for approaching literary analysis and to see an example.