City of Jacksonville Website - The official website of the City of Jacksonville and Duval County Website
Downtown Jacksonville - The website of Downtown Vision, Inc. (DVI) is the Business Improvement District (BID) for Downtown Jacksonville. DVI is a not-for-profit 501(c)6 organization whose mission is to create and support a vibrant Downtown and to promote Downtown as an exciting place to live, work, visit and invest.
Jacksonville Historical Society - Founded in 1929, the JHS works to educate and inspire the greater Jacksonville community to value its history by fostering understanding of how the region’s past shapes our present. The site contains a limited number of images, as well as a searchable collection of articles on Jacksonville's history.
UNF's Student Projects on History - The University of North Florida has two separate pages featuring student research on Jacksonville history topics: Florida History Online and Uncovering Jax.
Visit Jacksonville - The official travel information resource for the Jacksonville area. Visit Jacksonville is a Destinations International accredited Destination Marketing Organization contracted since 1996 by the Duval County Tourist Development Council (TDC) to champion the growth of leisure and business tourism in Jacksonville.
JaxPsychoGeo - Run by FSCJ Professor Tim Gilmore, JaxPsychoGeo is is a way to explore Jacksonville's most fascinating locations through hundreds of stories.
Formed in 2003, the Jacksonville History Consortium brings together the many organizations preserving Jacksonville's history. The site offers a comprehensive list of the various archives, memorials, museums, and neighborhood associations which collect and share items and documents related to different facets of Jacksonville's past. A loose description of each location's archival holdings is also provided to help researchers narrow down their search.
The National Archives and Records Administration is an independent agency of the United States government charged with the preservation and documentation of government and historical records. Their collection of items related to Jacksonville include maps, videos, photographs, architectural drawings, and applications to the National Registration of Historic Places for various properties around the city.
The Library of Congress is the research library that officially serves the United States Congress and is the de facto national library of the United States. Their collection of items related to Jacksonville include maps, photos, manuscripts, videos, and audio recordings.
The Florida Historical Society, organized in 1856, collects, preserves, and publishes material related to the history of the state and its residents. Their collection of items related to Jacksonville includes photographs, pamphlets, books, and more. Their site also provides links to both their podcast and television show, both of which feature episodes highlighting Jacksonville.
UNF Digital Commons is a service of the Thomas G. Carpenter Library. It is a digital representation of the research, scholarly output, and special collections of the University of North Florida community, and includes photos, publications, and ephemera related to Jacksonville. The Commons also includes specific collections on Bethel Baptist Church and Eartha M.M. White.
Search Gale's Demographics Now for Jacksonville Florida resources:
QuickFacts - U.S. Census Bureau
Florida Documents Index (1967-Current): This online database identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The collection includes public documents distributed by the State Library of Florida since 1967 under the Florida Public Documents Depository Program. FAU began systematically collecting Florida documents early in 1966 and has since been able to acquire a substantial number of state documents published prior to that date.
Arbus Magazine - Northeast Florida's arts and business magazine for over 25 years, Arbus's online archive goes back to 2013.
The Florida Times-Union - Founded in 1864, Jacksonville's daily newspaper is the oldest in the state. It began its current incarnation in 1883 when the Florida Union merged with the Florida Daily Times. You can read a history of city's oldest paper in this December 2020 article from The Jaxson.
Financial News & Daily Record - The Daily Record publishes news, profiles and articles of interest to the city's urban core's business, financial and legal communities and has done so since its founding in 1912. Their archive is located on Issuu.
The Florida Star - Founded in 1951 to support Jacksonville's black community during an era when mainstream news was not covering the Civil Rights movement, the Star is the oldest African-American newspaper in Northeast Florida. Digitized editions of historical issues from 1956 through the 2020s are available in UF's Florida Digital Newspaper Library.
Folio Weekly - Jacksonville's alternative weekly newspaper, founded in 1987. Their archive is located on Issuu.
Hola News Jacksonville -Formerly called Hola Noticias Jacksonville, Hola News Jacksonville is the only Spanish-language newspaper in northeast Florida. Their archive is located on Issuu.
Jacksonville Business Journal - The online edition of Jacksonville's weekly business newspaper, which began publishing in 1985.
Jacksonville Free Press - The online edition of the weekly newspaper serving Jacksonville's African-American community since 1986.
Jacksonville Magazine - A regional lifestyle and general interest magazine published monthly in Jacksonville since 1983, it was originally known as Jacksonville Today.
JaxToday - An independent local journalism service operated by WJCT Public Media and featuring weekday email newsletters. The ten most recent newsletters are available to read on the site, as are news stories aggregated from other local publications.
The Jaxson - Launched in 2018 by Modern Cities and WJCT Broadcasting, The Jaxson is a multimedia project dedicated to urbanism and culture on Florida’s First Coast.
Resident Community News - Founded in 2007, the Resident is a monthly publication highlighting the neighborhoods of Riverside, Avondale, Ortega, Murray Hill, San Marco, San Jose and St. Nicholas. Their archive is located on Issuu.
The Tributary - Founded in 2020, The Tributary is a nonprofit, nonpartisan newsroom that investigates Jacksonville's under-reported and entrenched problems in collaboration with existing local media.
WJCT - The community-supported public broadcasting station for the First Coast, WJCT launched its television station on September 10, 1958. In 1972, the station now known simply as WJCT-FM took to the FM airwaves as Stereo 90.
The Florida Digital Newspaper Library, hosted by the University of Florida, exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida. All of the over 2.6 million pages of historic through current Florida newspapers in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text. The Florida Digital Newspaper Library includes current Florida newspapers, digitized from 2005 – present; historic Florida newspapers; and historic news accounts of Florida from non-Florida newspapers which help fill in the colonial period during which Florida had no newspapers of its own. Click here to search for titles by county.
David Magazine - Published out of Jacksonville from roughly 1970-1974, this magazine catered directly to Jacksonville's gay community. You can read more about its history in this piece from The Jaxson. Please note that this title may contain adult content.