LibGuides: POS 2041: American Federal Government: Library Resources

Library Resources

American Inheritance by Edward J. Larson
Call Number: E210 .L37 2023
ISBN: 9780393882209
Publication Date: 2023-01-17
New attention from historians and journalists is raising pointed questions about the founding period: was the American revolution waged to preserve slavery, and was the Constitution a pact with slavery or a landmark in the antislavery movement? Leaders of the founding who called for American liberty are scrutinized for enslaving Black people themselves: George Washington consistently refused to recognize the freedom of those who escaped his Mount Vernon plantation. And we have long needed a history of the founding that fully includes Black Americans in the Revolutionary protests, the war, and the debates over slavery and freedom that followed.
The Constitution Explained by David L. Hudson
Call Number: KF4550 .H83 2022
ISBN: 9781578597765
Publication Date: 2022-06-14
The United States Constitution is a short document, and it is written in general language, which leaves much of the meaning unwritten and open to interpretation. Dig into this important document and watershed in the history of governments! Explore the history, the various clauses, amendments, and interpretations. Understand your rights (and responsibilities).

Here are some example keywords or phrases that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and academic databases.

"American politics"
"Congressional procedures"
"Bill of Rights"

Suggested Boolean Searches

Refine searches using operators like "AND," "OR," and "NOT," ensuring more precise and relevant results.

"American Federal Government AND politics"
"Political parties AND elections"
"Public policy AND Civil Rights"

Suggested Subject Headings

Standardized terms are used to categorize and organize content within the library catalog and academic databases to enhance search precision and efficiency.

Political Campaigns United States
Federalism United States
Voting United States

Suggested Call Number Ranges

Locate materials within the library in these call number areas.

J87-K 3585

The following links will give you access to possible search terms that can be used when exploring the FSCJ online databases for your coursework.

Explore a wealth of resources on American Government through our comprehensive library database, offering insightful perspectives and in-depth analyses for your academic pursuits.

Discover a diverse array of resources on U.S. Elections through our extensive library database, providing essential insights and thorough coverage to enrich your understanding.

The following are links to FSCJ databases which provide users access to a wide range of scholarly resources, including academic journals, books, ebooks, videos, and other relevant course materials. ***BE SURE TO FIRST LOGIN TO YOUR MYFSCJ ACCOUNT TO GET THE FULL RESULTS LIST.

American Government This link opens in a new window
(Bloomsbury) - Your one-stop resource for standards-based reference, enriched by balanced political commentary, daily news, feature stories, and quality lessons and activities.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Designed to offer current news and information to all branches of the military, with a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies. Includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 350 titles.
Funded by Statewide Allocation

Topic Resources

Proquest Research Companion
This source provides interactive instruction on how to write a thesis statement.

Congressional Research Service Reports
As of 2018, the Congressional Research Service (CRS) provides public access to its reports, no longer requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress.

Gov Track
We’re tracking the U.S. Congress to make our government more open and accessible.

Statistical Abstracts Series
The Statistical Compendia program is comprised of the Statistical Abstract of the United States and its supplemental products—the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and the County and City Data Book.

Research Writing

Students can develop stronger arguments for their college essays by using multiple sources for research. Use reliable Internet databases; utilize library resources; and include diverse viewpoints.

Films on Demand
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

Huff Post
Huffington Post or HuffPost is an American news aggregator and blog, with localized and international editions that covers topics in government and politics.

The Drudge Report
The Drudge Report is a U.S.-based news aggregation website that was launched in 1995 and consists mainly of external links to news stories from other outlets about politics, entertainment, and current events.

U.S. Statistics: Cultural & Society
Established in 1997 and entirely online, CountryReports offers more than 35,000 pages of unique, culturally rich content on the countries of the world. Its cultural, historical and statistical information has proven to be valuable to students, parents, teachers and researchers alike.

Have a literary analysis paper coming up? This is one of the trickier types of essays for a lot of college students. Watch this video to learn a strategy for approaching literary analysis and to see an example.

U.S. Policy
Policy Issues is a series of online peer-reviewed articles published by the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association (AAEA). Each article presents a short analysis and discussion focusing on timely policy issues targeted for those in public and private sector decision-making roles that have a stake in the national issues addressed. It is currently one of three outreach products offered by AAEA, along with the online policy magazine Choices and the forthcoming Shared Materials section of the AAEA Web site.
U.S. Legislative Information
Find Bills by Subject and Policy Area provides guidance for using subjects in your research. The policies of the United States of America comprise all actions taken by its federal government. The executive branch is the primary entity through which policies are enacted, however the policies are derived from a collection of laws, executive decisions, and legal precedents.
Bill of Rights Institute
The Bill of Rights Institute (BRI) is a nonprofit educational organization based in Arlington, Virginia, that develops educational resources on American history and government, provides professional development opportunities to teachers, and runs student programs and scholarship contests.