LibGuides: PSY 1012: General Psychology: Library Resources

Library Resources

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric Association
Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D536 2022
ISBN: 9780890425756
Publication Date: 2022-03-18
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013.
Theories in Social Psychology by Derek Chadee (Editor)
ISBN: 1119627885
Publication Date: 2022-03-14
THEORIES IN SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY Theories in Social Psychology develops a deeper, more robust understanding of the theoretical framework underlying the field. Providing rich insights into the central theories and perspectives that continue to shape the discipline, this edited volume brings together a panel of distinguished scholars to address thirteen social psychological theories relating to social cognition, social comparison, social reinforcement, and self. In-depth critical discussions examine topics including cognitive dissonance, reactance, attribution, social comparison, relative deprivation, equity, interdependency, social identity, and more.

Here are some example keywords or phrases that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and academic databases.

personality theories
psychoanalysis
behavioral analysis

Suggested Boolean Searches

Refine searches using operators like "AND," "OR," and "NOT," ensuring more precise and relevant results.

"psychological disorders" NOT "treatment"
"experimental psychology" AND "research methods"
"behavioral psychology" OR "cognitive psychology"

Suggested Subject Headings

Standardized terms are used to categorize and organize content within the library catalog and academic databases to enhance search precision and efficiency.

Personality Theories
Behavioral Psychology
Developmental Milestones

Suggested Call Number Ranges

Locate materials within the library in these call number areas.

BF 23.J76-BF 1421

The following links will give you access to searchable databases that can be used to further explore your coursework. ***BE SURE TO FIRST LOGIN TO YOUR MYFSCJ ACCOUNT TO GET THE FULL RESULTS LIST. ****

Human Psychology
There are many ways and combinations of words that can input into our databases to search for relevant resources for your coursework. This link will provide direct access to our online catalog where you can further explore all of the resources at FSCJ libraries.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by Statewide Allocation

Topic Resources

A Guide to Writing a Psychology Paper
This guide addresses some of the common types of psychology papers, as well as the challenges of writing in psychology.

Researching with the DSM-5

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Illnesses is the latest edition of the American Psychiatric Association’s professional reference book on mental health and brain-related conditions. Also known as the DSM-5, this is the main guide for mental health providers in the U.S. The latest version, the DSM-5-TR, was published in 2022.

Films on Demand
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

This program addresses the widespread ethical and legal problem of plagiarism, examining reasons used to justify content theft and the wide variety of forms it can take. Students and teachers talk frankly on-screen about their experiences with the problem and what leads some people to copy text or images from books, articles, Internet sites, and other students’ papers and projects.

Have a literary analysis paper coming up? This is one of the trickier types of essays for a lot of college students. Watch this video to learn a strategy for approaching literary analysis and to see an example.