The Advanced Practice Nurse Cardiovascular Clinician
by
"Experienced as well as inexperienced APRNs would benefit from this book... This excellent book would be useful to all advanced nurse practitioners caring for cardiac patients. Special care was taken to ensure all content is germane, as noted in the appendix of tables of nationally accepted cardiovascular guidelines on cardiovascular conditions, diagnostic testing, and therapeutic interventions... Score: 95 - 4 Stars " --Gina M. Oliver, PhD, APRN, FNP-BC, CNE, MU Sinclair School of Nursing, Doody's Reviews Focusing on the interprofessional team, this cardiovascular resource provides evidence-based knowledge and guidance for advanced practice nurses in a variety of care settings. Its clinically relevant and directly applicable information is presented in an accessible and well-organized format. The book encompasses clinical findings, diagnostic testing, state-of-the-art procedures, and therapeutic interventions commonly used in inpatient and outpatient clinical cardiology. It is specifically designed to meet the informational needs of advanced practice registered nurse providers and students, including family nurse practitioners, adultgerontology acute care nurse practitioners, nurse anesthetists, and clinical nurse specialists. This resource covers the full range of cardiovascular conditions, both chronic and acute. It discusses the interprofessional cardiovascular care team; explains the cardiovascular history and clinical examination in step-by-step detail; analyzes clinical findings; details common stable and urgent conditions; describes the preoperative cardiovascular evaluation; advises on the selection and appropriateness of laboratory evaluations and cardiovascular diagnostic studies; provides an overview of state-of-the-art procedures, including electrophysiology; and assesses therapeutic interventions, including lifestyles, pharmacotherapeutics, and invasive techniques. It supports the development of clinical judgment skills and therapeutic decision making by considering the challenges presented through advances in technology and the increasing complexity of diagnostic procedures. An appendix features tables of relevant and essential cardiovascular guidelines for quick reference. KEY FEATURES: Details current and cutting-edge practices and contemporary issues in cardiovascular care Applies evidence-based research findings to clinical practice Compares diagnostic testing options and therapeutic interventions Clarifies complex topics through the use of tables, algorithms, images, and lists Contains an eight-page color insert Identifies pertinent studies and resources for cardiovascular care Describes common cardiac procedures and screening methods Supports the development of clinical judgment skills and therapeutic decision making
Cardiac Nursing
by
Awarded Third Place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Critical Care/Emergency Need to develop strong cardiac nursing skills or advance your practice to a higher level? The newly updated Cardiac Nursing, 7th Edition is the gold standard reference and on-the-unit resource, offering crucial guidance and direction for nurses looking to provide up-to-date, evidence-based cardiac care. Designed for both new and experienced nurses, this is top-level, expert direction on developing care plans, performing assessments, interpreting labs, diagnosis, and more, making this the vital road map to safe, positive cardiac patient outcomes. Delve into the seasoned expertise of this primary reference for cardiac nursing: NEW and updated easy-to-read content that reflects the newest developments and best practices in cardiac nursing NEW chapters include: Women and Heart Disease; Palliative Care in Cardiology; Quality, Economics and Policy in Cardiovascular Care; and Advanced Practice Cardiac Nursing NEW four-color design aids visual comprehension Chapter features include: Objectives, Clinical Questions and Key Questions, Key Takeaways, Case-Based Learning, ready-to-reference tables, figures, algorithms, and more Case Studies in each chapter - assist in developing critical thinking and clinical decision-making Checklists for basic cardiac care skills - taking accurate blood pressure measurement, developing care plans, patient teaching, and more Quick-reference tables that emphasize important concepts Lists the Standards of Cardiovascular Nursing Practice - assessment, diagnosis, outcomes Identification, planning, coordination of care, health promotion, consultation, ethics, and more Sections offer specific guidance on different aspects of care: Fundamentals of Cardiac Nursing - includes cardiac anatomy and physiology, systemic and pulmonary circulation and oxygen delivery, regulation of cardiac output and blood pressure Evaluation of the Heart and Heart Disease - includes history and physical exam, lab studies, radiologic exam, electrocardiography and cardiac rhythm, cardiac stress testing, and more Risk Assessment and Prevention of Heart Disease - includes psychosocial risk factors, obesity overview, exercise and activity, smoking cessation and effective treatment, hypertension, diabetes and more Pathophysiology and Management of Heart Disease - includes ischemic heart disease, peripheral vascular disease, valvular heart disease, adult congenital heart disease, cardiac arrhythmias, and more Expanding the role of the Cardiac Nurse - therapeutic intervention; disease management; global and population health; quality, policy and economics of cardiovascular care; leadership and team-based care Excellent teaching tool for training new cardiac nurses About the Clinical Editors Elizabeth Perpetua, DNP, ACNP-BC, ANP-BC, AACC, is Founder of Empath Health Services LLC and Adjunct Professor for Seattle Pacific University School of Health Sciences and School of Nursing in Seattle, Washington. Patricia Keegan, DNP, NP-C, AACC, is Director of Strategic and Programmatic Initiatives for Emory Heart and Vascular, and the Lead Nurse Practitioner at the Structural Heart and Valve Center for Emory Healthcare in Atlanta, Georgia. She is also Adjunct Faculty at the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University.
Medical Terminology Systems
by
STUDENTS: Please login or create an account, and go to the RESOURCES tab and select OPEN ACCESS to find your free resources. INSTRUCTORS: Please login in or create an account, and go to RESOURCES tab and INSTRUCTOR to find your resources. Medical Language Lab for Medical Terminology Systems, 8th Edition www.MedicalLanguageLab.com Instant Access: 978-0-8036-6124-0 Access Card: 978-0-8036-6112-7 A word building and body systems approach! A true blend of words, art, and technology, Medical Terminology Systems + The Medical Language Lab work together to create an immersive, multimedia experience that tracks your progress until you've mastered the language of medicine. Medical Terminology Systems, 8th Edition You'll begin by learning the parts of words roots, combining forms, suffixes, and prefixes. Then, use your understanding of word parts to learn medical terminology. Mnemonic devices and engaging, interactive activities make word-building fun and easy, ensuring you retain the information you need for success. See what students are saying about the previous edition... The Right Way to Learn Medical Terminology!"...if I had to be asked again to purchase this book I would do it all over again. Unlike most of my other textbooks that I bought throughout the school year that just sit in the back of my closet collecting dust once the class is over, this book, I still continue to use every day. It definitely helps me out in my anatomy classes and even in some of my biology classes too. Fantastic book!"--Taylor Berlinger Worth the Purchase"I love this book a lot. I am currently using [it] for my college course class on medical terminology. The illustrations are awesome and the breakdown of suffix and prefix format [are] as well."--Jonnita The Medical Language Lab Online. Interactive. Progressive. Based on proven language methodology, The MLL guides you step by step from basic through advanced levels of proficiency to become a confident medical language speaker. A special code in the front of the book unlocks The MLL for you...including an ebook of the text and lecture videos. Instructors can use it with their current learning management system or with its integrated grade book. They can also customize it to meet the needs of their course. Want to learn more? Visit the Medical Language Lab now. Instructors--Request preview access and explore Medical Language Lab using this step-by-step walkthrough.
Hematology
by
Get the expert guidance you need to offer your patients the best possible outcomes with Hematology: Basic Principles and Practice, 7th Edition. This thoroughly up-to-date text contains both unparalleled scientific content and must-know clinical guidance, so you can enhance your problem-solving skills and make optimal use of the newest diagnostic techniques and therapeutic options in this fast-changing field. Delivers state-of-the-art information and guidance from editors and global contributors who are at the forefront of their respective subspecialty areas. Features sweeping content updates throughout, including basic science research which serves as a foundation for modern hematology, recent advances in stem cell transplantation, clinical advances in the treatment of each of the hematologic malignancies, immune checkpoint inhibitors, molecular diagnostics, transfusion medicine, and much more. Includes several new chapters including Epigenetics and Epigenomics, Stem Cell Model of Hematologic Diseases, Multiple Myeloma, IND Enabling Processes for Cell-Based Therapies, and Immune Checkpoint Blockade in Hematologic Malignancies. New Virtual Microscope with the ability to zoom in on high-quality digital hematopathology slides and frequent content updates accessible anywhere, any time on your favorite digital device. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Blood and Circulatory Disorders Sourcebook
by
This print and online resource provides consumer health information about the blood and circulatory system and related disorders.
Cardiovascular Disorders: a Clinical Handbook
by
Cardiovascular disorders (CVDs) are diseases of the heart or the blood vessels, such as coronary artery diseases (CADs) which include myocardial infarction and angina. Conditions such as heart failure, stroke, cardiomyopathy, rheumatic heart disease, venous thrombosis, etc. are also cardiovascular diseases. The mechanism involved in the manifestation of each CVD is different for each disease. A variety of factors can contribute to the incidence of CVDs, such as poor diet, lack of exercise, lifestyle choices and excessive alcohol consumption, among others. Most of these conditions are preventable. However, cardiovascular diseases remain the dominant cause of death in the world today. This book discusses the fundamentals as well as modern approaches in the study of cardiovascular disorders. It aims to shed light on some of the unexplored aspects of CVDs and the recent researches in this domain. It is a complete source of knowledge on the present status of this important set of diseases.
Cardiovascular Diseases and Disorders
by
Statistics indicate that cardiovascular diseases account for more than one third of all deaths in the United States. In addition, more than 80 million Americans live with one or more forms of cardiovascular disease, including heart disease, high blood pressure, heart failure, and stroke. Although cardiovascular disorders may sometimes produce sudden symptoms, such as chest or head pain, they may also develop silently, providing no warning of the heart and blood vessel damage being done. Fortunately, advances in disease detection, recommendations regarding lifestyle choices, new medications, and innovative treatments now make it possible to reduce-or even prevent-the disabling health consequences frequently associated with many common cardiovascular disorders. Cardiovascular Disorders Sourcebook, Fourth Edition provides updated information about disorders of the heart and blood vessels. It offers anatomical facts, presents statistics, and identifies risk factors for cardiovascular diseases. It describes the treatment of common disorders, including angina, heart attack, heart failure, cardiomyopathy, arrhythmias, valve disease, atherosclerosis, aneurysms, and congenital heart defects. In addition, it discusses diagnostic tests and concerns related to managing cardiovascular diseases with medicines, surgery, and lifestyle changes. The book concludes with a glossary and a directory of resources for further help and information.
Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Easy
by
Does your heart skip a beat every time you think about the complexities of providing cardio care? Well, not anymore! Written in the award-winning Incredibly Easy! style, this completely updated Third Edition of Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Easy is the ideal reference for those entering or needing a refresher in cardiovascular nursing care. This one-of-a-kind book brings together the broad knowledge nurses need to be confident in cardiovascular care, including cardiovascular anatomy and physiology; assessment; diagnostic testing; hemodynamic monitoring; electrocardiogram performance and interpretation; medications; synchronized cardioversion; care of patients with IABP counterpulsation, ICDs, pacemakers, and VADs; and preoperative and postoperative care for patients with MIDCAB, CABG, and balloon angioplasty. If you are still learning, Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Easy will help you master complex subjects in minutes with special elements found throughout the text to make it easy to understand and remember key points and information, including: * Clear, concise descriptions of every procedure and concept * Tips from other cardiovascular nurses on how to perform care * Key information about adapting your care to a home environment * Memory aids and chapter quizzes to promote recall of important information Written by nurses and for nurses, Cardiovascular Care Made Incredibly Easy, 3rd edition , will help you conquer the toughest-to-learn topics in nursing
Cardiomyopathy : disease of the heart muscle
by
Rapid Cardiac Care
by
Rapid Cardiac Care is an indispensable resource for all frontline staff working with acutely ill patients. Offering easy access to the knowledge base needed to provide rapid, safe and effective cardiac care, it is ideal for newly qualified healthcare professionals including, nurses, paramedics, cardiac technicians, junior medics, and physiotherapists. Key features include: Essential information to support the assessment of the cardiac patient including focused history taking and physical assessment, rhythm interpretation and 12-lead ECG assessment Practical guidance on how to care for patients with cardiac emergencies, including acute coronary syndromes, arrhythmias, heart failure and cardiac arrest A quick reference A-Z section that explores a wide range of conditions affecting the heart, each with a comprehensive overview of patient presentation and strategies to guide patient assessment and management Diagrams and images are provided to facilitate learning
Handbook of Speckle Filtering and Tracking in Cardiovascular Ultrasound Imaging and Video
by
Ultrasound imaging technology has experienced a dramatic change in the last 30 years. Because of its non-invasive nature and continuing improvements in image quality, ultrasound imaging is progressively achieving an important role in the assessment and characterization of cardiovascular imaging. Speckle is inherent in ultrasound imaging giving rise to a granular appearance instead of homogeneous, flat shades of gray, as is visible and as such, speckle can severely compromise interpretation of ultrasound images, particularly in discrimination of small structures. On the other hand, speckle can be used in the detection of time varying phenomena, or tracking tissue motion. The objective of this book is to provide a reference edited volume covering the whole spectrum of speckle phenomena, theoretical background and modelling, algorithms and selected applications in cardiovascular ultrasound imaging and video processing and analysis. The book is organized under the following four parts, Part I: Introduction to Speckle Noise; Part II: Speckle Filtering; Part III: Speckle Tracking; Part IV: Selected Applications in Cardiovascular Imaging.
Ultrasound: a Core Review
by
Uniquely designed for the Core Exam, Ultrasound: A Core Review covers all key aspects of ultrasound, mimicking the image-rich, multiple-choice format of the actual test. Ideal for residents getting ready for the Core Examination, as well as practitioners taking recertification exams, this one-of-a-kind review follows the structure and content of what you'll encounter on the test, effectively preparing you for Core Exam success!Key Features: Contains 300 image-rich ultrasound questions with answers, explanations, and references. Features high-quality black-and-white, color, and spectral Doppler images throughout. Covers organ-specific ultrasound as well as gynecologic, pregnancy, vascular, musculoskeletal, peritoneal space, retroperitoneum, abdominal wall, chest, and ultrasound-guided procedures. Includes questions on noninterpretive skills such as ultrasound physics and quality and safety. Provides answers and rationales as to why an answer is correct and other choices are incorrect. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Strandness's Duplex Scanning in Vascular Disorders
by
Now in its updated fifth edition, Strandness's Duplex Scanning in Vascular Disorders proves why it's still the classic text on the use of duplex scanning in the study and diagnosis of vascular disorders. This evidence-based, real-world text is now expanded to cover all vascular duplex ultrasound topics, including principles and instrumentation; cerebrovascular; aortoiliac and peripheral arterial; peripheral venous; visceral vascular; and preoperative planning, intraoperative assessment and procedural guidance. Key Features: NEW chapters on cardiovascular risk assessment, indirect physiologic assessment of lower extremity arteries, intravascular imaging and physiologic assessment, pelvic venous insufficiency, and vascular applications in point of care ultrasound Coverage of topics: carotid duplex scan, vascular disease, vascular ultrasound, carotid artery ultrasound, vascular sonography, coronary heart disease, peripheral venous disease, sonographer training, diagnostic ultrasounds, peripheral vascular disorders, ultrasonography, cerebral vascular disease, occlusive vascular disease, vascular surgery Numerous full-color images, charts, tables, and new Doppler scan images Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering iOS, Android, Mac, and PC access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick-reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Angiography
by
Reflecting recent interventions of startling impact and clinical benefit and honoring the field's legacy of innovation, this Third Edition of Abrams' Angiography: Interventional Radiology has been completely revamped to reflect the fast-moving landscape of interventional radiology. To provide a fresh take on leading-edge subjects, new series editors, Drs. Jean-François H. Geschwind and Michael D. Dake put together a team of 60 of today's most renowned authorities to focus on the 100 topics essential to mastering contemporary interventional radiology. Now in vibrant full-color, this Third Edition begins with an all-new section on interventional oncology, which includes expert coverage of organ-specific cancers and specialized interventional techniques in cancer care. Many of the themes considered in the vascular sections are rooted in the original stock of the initial landmark Abrams' volume, updated to focus on current understanding. Features Comprehensive, step-by-step coverage of all contemporary vascular and non-vascular interventional procedures. New Oncology section includes 21 expert chapters that walk through all aspects of interventional oncology, from evaluation of the cancer patient and principles of chemotherapy to management of organ-specific cancers and specialized interventional techniques in cancer care. New Detailed coverage complemented by more than 1,100 full-color illustrations. Increased focus on surgical anatomy and the details of each technique. Expert chapters that capture the groundbreaking achievements of the field from the foremost authorities. New online solution site provides fully searchable access to the book--anytime, anywhere!
Textbook of Patient Safety and Clinical Risk Management
by
Implementing safety practices in healthcare saves lives and improves the quality of care: it is therefore vital to apply good clinical practices, such as the WHO surgical checklist, to adopt the most appropriate measures for the prevention of assistance-related risks, and to identify the potential ones using tools such as reporting & learning systems. The culture of safety in the care environment and of human factors influencing it should be developed from the beginning of medical studies and in the first years of professional practice, in order to have the maximum impact on clinicians' and nurses' behavior. Medical errors tend to vary with the level of proficiency and experience, and this must be taken into account in adverse events prevention. Human factors assume a decisive importance in resilient organizations, and an understanding of risk control and containment is fundamental for all medical and surgical specialties. This open access book offers recommendations and examples of how to improve patient safety by changing practices, introducing organizational and technological innovations, and creating effective, patient-centered, timely, efficient, and equitable care systems, in order to spread the quality and patient safety culture among the new generation of healthcare professionals, and is intended for residents and young professionals in different clinical specialties.
Ethics for Radiation Protection in Medicine
by
This book presents an up to date ethical framework for radiological protection in medicine. It is consistent with the requirements of the system of radiation protection and with the expectations of medical ethics. It presents an approach rooted in the medical tradition, and alert to contemporary social expectations. It provides readers with a practical framework against which they can assess the safety and acceptability of medical procedures, including patients' concerns. It will be an invaluable reference for radiologists, radiation oncologists, regulators, medical physicists, technologists, other practitioners, as well as academics, researchers and students of radiation protection in medicine. Features: An authoritative and accessible guide, authored by a team who have contributed to defining the area internationally Includes numerous practical examples/clinical scenarios that illustrate the approach, presenting a pragmatic approach, rather than dwelling on philosophical theories Informed by the latest developments in the thinking of international organizations
Radiologic Science for Technologists
by
Develop the skills you need to safely and effectively produce high-quality medical images with Radiologic Science for Technologists: Physics, Biology, and Protection, 11th Edition. Reorganized and updated with the latest advances in the field, this new edition aligns with the ASRT curriculum to strengthen your understanding of key concepts, and prepare you for success on the ARRT certification exam and in clinical practice. Firmly established as a core resource for medical imaging technology courses, this text gives you a strong foundation in the study and practice of radiologic physics, imaging and exposure, radiobiology, radiation protection, and more. Expanded coverage of radiologic science topics, including radiologic physics, imaging, radiobiology, radiation protection, and more, allows this text to be used over several semesters. Chapter introductions, summaries, outlines, objectives, and key terms help you to organize and pinpoint the most important information. Formulas, conversion tables, and abbreviations are highlighted for easy access to frequently used information. "Penguin" boxes recap the most vital chapter information. End-of-chapter questions include definition exercises, matching, short answer, and calculations to help you review material. Key terms and expanded glossary enable you to easily reference and study content. Highlighted math formulas call attention to key mathematical information for special focus. NEW! Chapters on Radiography/Fluoroscopy Patient Radiation Dose and Computed Tomography Patient Radiation Dose equip you to use the most current patient dosing technology. NEW! Streamlined physics and math sections ensure you're prepared to take the ARRT exam and succeed in the clinical setting.
Cardiopulmonary Anatomy and Physiology
by
Now in its 6th edition, the best-selling text, CARDIOPULMONARY ANATOMY & PHYSIOLOGY, equips students with a rock-solid foundation in anatomy and physiology to help prepare them for careers as respiratory therapists. Extremely reader friendly, this proven, innovative text delivers the most complete and accurate information about the structure and function of the respiratory system in an approachable manner. Clear and concise, it presents complicated concepts in an easy-to-read, understandable format utilizing a full color design and strong pedagogy, so that students can readily apply what they learn when they graduate and start their professional careers. Newly integrated throughout the text, Clinical Connections provide direct links between chapter concepts and real-world applications in the clinical setting. New and redrawn full color illustrations provide the level of detail necessary to facilitate understanding of core concepts.
Introduction to Anatomy & Physiology
by
In Volume 2 of the Wonders of the Human Body series, Dr. Tommy Mitchell covers the intricate design of both the cardiovascular system, consisting of the blood, blood vessels, and heart, as well as the respiratory system that focuses on the transportation of oxygen through the body. From the level of the cells to the organs themselves, you will examine these systems in depth.In the Cardiovascular & Respiratory Systems, prepare to discover the incredible design of the human heart, including:The incredible design of the human heart and how it is really "two pumps in one!"How blood moves through an incredible network of arteries and veinsWhat "blood pressure" is and the marvelous systems that help regulate itHow the respiratory system allows us to get the "bad air out " and the "good air in"Along the way, we will see what happens when things go wrong. We will also suggest things to do to keep the heart and lungs healthy. Although the world insists that our bodies are merely the result of time and chance, as you examine the human body closely, you will see that it cannot be an accident. It can only be the product of a Master Designer.
Cardiovascular Disorders: a Clinical Handbook
by
Color Atlas of Local and Systemic Manifestations of Cardiovascular Disease
by
This brief guide to visual diagnosis helps the novice develop -- and the veteran refresh -- crucial skills that can spare the patient unnecessary testing and bring the physician one step closer to an accurate diagnosis. Dr Saksena draws on his years of experience in teaching and training to show you the physical signs of cardiovascular disease that can be spotted by visual examination. For each sign, a color photograph is paired with explanatory text that: describes the significant features of the sign explains its use in diagnosis identifies the likeliest causes The book provides corroboration of physical signs and other diagnostic information whenever possible and offers extensive references for further study. After an opening chapter on general observations, the author describes signs that can be found in the face, ear, mouth and nose, neck, hand, upper extremity, thorax and back, abdomen, and lower extremity. An appendix covers rarer syndromes associated with cardiovascular disease. Whether you are just developing your diagnostic skills or want to be better able to identify signs of cardiovascular disease, you can count on this atlas for dependable advice.
Cardiovascular Disorders Sourcebook
by
Disease Control Priorities, Third Edition (Volume 5)
by
Cardiovascular, respiratory, and related conditions cause more than 40 percent of all deaths globally, and their substantial burden is rising, particularly in low- and middleincome countries (LMICs). Their burden extends well beyond health effects to include significant economic and societal consequences. Most of these conditions are related, share risk factors, and have common control measures at the clinical, population, and policy levels. Lives can be extended and improved when these diseases are prevented, detected, and managed. This volume summarises current knowledge and presents evidence-based interventions that are effective, cost-effective, and scalable in LMICs.
Basic Cardiovascular Physiology
by
This book focuses on established cardiovascular principles and highlights some of the progress achieved by recent research in the cardiovascular field. The authors report the basic concepts related to the functioning of the cardiovascular system necessary for medical students to understand. To foster learning, in each chapter the fundamental points are highlighted in italics and/or bold. In addition, we have added boxes that contain some more detailed information about physiological mechanisms or clinical aspects are analyzed and described in greater detail. The book describes the structure and function of the heart and vascular system for the reader to understand how the cardiovascular system responds in both health and disease. The book conveys a unified vision of the function of the heart and the vascular system, explaining the complexity of the system that goes far beyond the integrated connection between preload, afterload and cardiac contractility. The endothelium covers the internal part of the whole cardiovascular system; therefore, endothelial physiology is treated in several chapters. Given the importance of coronary circulation in cardiac pathophysiology, this special circulation is described in detail and enriched with the most up-to-date information. Several paragraphs and boxes on clinical implications are dedicated to the principles of electrophysiology and the electrocardiogram. A space is also dedicated to myocardial ischemia/reperfusion injury and cardioprotective procedures. The book is written in a linear and simple language without compromising the scientific rigor of the various topics covered.
The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Clear and concise, The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need has provided quick and accurate discussions on using an EKG to diagnose cardiac and non-cardiac conditions for nearly 30 years. This ninth edition is packed with full-color illustrations, real-world clinical scenarios, and step-by-step instructions--giving you the practical guidance you need to use an EKG in actual clinical settings with patients. Outlines processes for identifying and interpreting arrhythmias, myocardial infarctions, hypertrophy, atrial fibrillation, and other disorders. Features a lighthearted, lively writing style designed to be compelling and minimize confusion of principles discussed. New content added to reflect recent clinical and technological advancements. Depicts real-life clinical situations and provides important clinical context for EKG use. Advises on the dangers of over-reliance on computer interpretations and includes many other practical considerations that other books leave out. New EKG cases available in the companion eBook illustrate key concepts discussed throughout the book. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience with Enhanced Video, Audio and Interactive Capabilities! Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech. Adapt for unique reading needs, supporting learning disabilities, visual/auditory impairments, second-language or literacy challenges, and more.
EKGs for the Nurse Practitioner and Physician Assistant
by
Delivering succinct, clear explanations to help students easily grasp key concepts, this book provides a comprehensive, multifaceted approach to EKG interpretation for nurse practitioner and physician assistant students, as well as practicing clinicians who need a quick refresher. The second edition retains the book's systematic, physiologic approach that trains readers to follow the same steps in evaluating each EKG. It negates the need for rote memorization by facilitating a genuine understanding of EKG interpretation. Using the patient's presenting symptoms as a starting point, abundant clinical scenarios demonstrate real-life applications for interpreting EKG readings. With scores of figures and tables and more than 200 EKG tracings, this resource delivers everything physician assistants and nurse practitioners need to provide expert, quality care to their patients. New to the Second Edition: Nearly 50 new EKG tracings and accompanying case studies Basic review of clinical conditions related to common EKG abnormalities New end-of-chapter review questions to help students summarize their learning More complex clinical cases to further challenge the student and increase proficiency in EKG interpretation Additional diagnostic findings in atrial enlargement, bundle branch blocks, and ventricular hypertrophy Updated chapter contrasting premature ventricular contractions with premature atrial contractions PowerPoint supplement of case studies with EKGs and teaching points for instructors
Compact Clinical Guide to Arrhythmia and 12-Lead EKG Interpretation
by
Translates difficult concepts into easy-to-master competencies This is a user-friendly, step-by-step approach to the challenging clinical topic of Arrhythmia and 12-lead EKG interpretation in the Critical Care andAcute Care settings. Thoroughly researched and authored by nurses for nurses, the guide provides detailed and comprehensive concepts of Arrhythmia and12-lead EKG interpretation with an emphasis on the nurse's role. Written by nurses with extensive experience in mentoring novice and experienced nurses asthey transition into the Critical Care arena, the book delivers the depth and breadth of knowledge required for mastery of this aspect of care forcritically ill patients throughout the lifespan. Distinguished by its translation of difficult concepts into easy-to-master competencies, the guide' clear, logical format is peppered with evidence-based information and helpful practical tips throughout. Such features as bulleted points aid in understanding complex concepts, and learning objectives, keypoints summarized for quick reference to reinforce knowledge. Additionally, the book includes learning activities to evaluate understanding of content, plentiful illustrative case studies, clinical pearls, references, and end-of-chapter review questions. Unique electronic aids that include Cue Cards and Systematic Approach summaries to further add to the guide's value. The guide will be a valuable learning tool for RNs preparing for certification incritical care, experienced critical care nurses and a timesaving teaching aid for critical care clinical educators. Key Features: Delivers the necessary depth and breadth to truly understand and master Arrhythmia and 12-Lead EKG InterpretationTranslates complex information into easy-to-master competencies ' Written by nurses for nurses with an emphasis on the nurse's rolePresents a unique electronic component, bulleted points, key summaries, clinical pearls, case studies, and review questionsRepresents a timesaving teaching aid and learning tool
Pediatric Arrhythmias and EKGs for the Health Care Provider
by
This time-tested publication has successfully trained numerous pediatric nurses from a leading children's hospital. Pediatric advanced practice registered nurses and clinical nurse specialists working in acute or critical care settings, as well as physician assistants and medical residents, need to understand the principles of accurate pediatric EKG interpretation and the appropriate follow-up steps necessary for the best patient care. With a total of 100 EKGs, rhythm strips, and interpretations, this comprehensive but concise text analyzes all levels of arrhythmias to allow pediatric health care providers to interpret normal and abnormal pediatric EKGs and rhythm strips with confidence. This user-friendly, quick reference outlines the basic rules for pediatric arrhythmias and EKG interpretations using a multitude of different EKGs and rhythm strips and basic but critical figures and tables. With the use of a systematic checklist for standard evaluation, the text walks the reader through the essential signs that health care providers must learn to recognize when examining the EKGs and rhythm strips of their pediatric patients. This book culminates in a robust selection of 50 EKGs and additional rhythm strips for practice and a self-test on the material presented in the preceding chapters. The answers can be compared with the cardiologist's interpretations for reinforcement of understanding and application. Pediatric Arrhythmias and EKGs for the Health Care Provider teaches readers in a quick, at-a-glance approach: To obtain an interpretable pediatric tracingTo implement a proper measurement methodTo understand both normal and abnormal EKGsTo learn the quickest and most accurate QTc methodTo follow an organized format for rhythm analysisTo systematically use tables, diagrams, figures, and graphs for interpretationTo interpret with confidence even very complicated tracingsTo know which tracings need a pediatric cardiologist's attention
Perinatal Cardiology Part 1
by
In Perinatal Cardiology, fetal cardiology experts providekey information on tools for fetal evaluation through echocardiography /cardiac ultrasonography, with a primary focus on the nature and prenataldetection of structural and functional cardiac heart defects (CHDs). In this two-partbook, readers will find details about different types of fetal cardiacabnormalities along with important updates on the diagnosis, management,planning delivery, and postnatal treatment in CHD cases. This information issupplemented with guidelines for the clinical management of patients with a fetusaffected by cardiovascular defects, and surgical procedures in neonates. Key Features: -presents information gathered by experts in perinatal cardiology,organized into 26 topic-based chapters- explores the cardiac development, fetal cardiovascular hemodynamics,genetic and environmental factors associated with congenital heart defects(CHD), perinatal management, planning delivery, and postnatal treatment ofnewborns with CHD- presents information about normal cardiac functions and heart defects to give readers a clear and detailed picture of abnormal cardiac function- presents information about perinatal ultrasound physiology- gives practical guidelines for ultrasound and echography parametersrequired for evaluating fetal heart anatomy and diagnosing diseases- includes a new system of classifying prenatal CHDs based on thestratification of the risk level of care- features a straightforward and accessible style of presentationsuitable for all readers- provides references in each chapter for further reading Part 1 of this two-part set covers the basics of perinatal cardiology which chapters that introduce readersto CHD classification, fetal heart and placental physiology and pathology, diagnosisof fetal cardiac malposition and anomalies and some congenital heart defects suchas septal defects, cardiac anomalies of the left and right sides, conotruncalanomalies and aortic arch anomalies. Perinatal Cardiology is an essential reference for postgraduatemedical students seeking to improve their knowledge of fetal and pediatriccardiology as part of their residency and professional training. The bookequips readers with the information necessary to understand the role of theperinatal cardiologist and goes further to facilitate the ability to performadequate risk assessments for fetal CHD.
Drugs in Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation
by
Although approximately one million cardiac arrests occur every year in the USA and Europe, cardiac arrest remains a clinical condition still characterised by poor prognosis. One possible explanation may be the fact that although 70% of cardiac arrests take place in out-of-hospital settings, the majority of the victims do not receive basic life support (BLS) prior to the arrival of emergency medical services (EMS). Survival of out-of-hospital cardiac arrest victims strongly depends on prompt cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). Survival rates will only improve, if delay time until initiation of CPR is kept to an absolute minimum. Good quality CPR, with an emphasis on chest compressions is a key component for the victims' survival. Drugs play a secondary role in the treatment of these patients. This book presents the latest research in drug therapy in CPR.
Cardiac Drugs
by
Cardiac Drugs is the latest edition of this comprehensive resource, completely revised to provide up-to-date information on the rapidly evolving field of cardiovascular drugs. The book is divided into thirteen chapters, focusing on cardiovascular comorbid conditions, with extensive coverage of cardiovascular disease management in patients with co-existing diabetes, dysmetabolic syndrome and pregnancy. The first two chapters cover vasodilators and neurohormone modulators, and positive inotropic drugs, and subsequent chapters cover drugs for specific conditions including dyslipidemia, dysrhythmia, stable angina, and pulmonary hypertension. The final chapter 'Future Direction - Pharmacogenomics' provides insight into the exploration of the human genome for opportunities to improve therapeutic precision in cardiovascular medicine. This new edition of Cardiac Drugs also incorporates the latest JNC 8 (Joint National Committee) guidelines on hypertension, highlighting their key differences to previous guidelines. Enhanced by 80 full colour illustrations and tables, and written by US based experts in cardiovascular pharmacology, Cardiac Drugs is an invaluable resource for cardiologists and pharmacologists. Key Points Latest edition of comprehensive guide to cardiovascular pharmacology Incorporates JNC 8 guidelines on hypertension 80 full colour illustrations and tables Written by US based experts in the field of cardiovascular pharmacology Previous edition (9789350258798) published 2012
Pharmacotherapeutic Management of Cardiovascular Disease Complications
by
Pharmacotherapeutic Management of Cardiovascular Disease Complications is an essential textbook which comprehensively informs the reader about a broad variety of cardiovascular pathologies and their management through drug therapy. Key Features:- Features 22 chapters, with 17 chapters dedicated to the management of a wide range of cardiomyopathies and related complications- Introduces readers to heart anatomy and physiology, for both medical and pharmacology students- Covers information on cardiovascular disease biomarkers as well as current and new technologies for diagnostic procedures- Provides additional information on different aspects of cardiovascular disease treatment including etiological factors, prevalence, pathogenesis, clinical symptoms, diagnosis and prevention factors, risk screening and complications- Informs readers on the role of the clinical pharmacist in patient lifestyle modification for therapeutic plans, helping to reduce cardiovascular disease burden in clinical practice The broad coverage and easy-to-read organization of the topics covered on the subject make this textbook an ideal reference for medical students and health care professionals such as doctors, nurses, clinical pharmacists, community pharmacists and paramedics.
Cardiac Imaging in Clinical Practice
by
This book provides a concise guide to echocardiography, SPECT, CT and MRI, including both the basics of cardiac imaging as well as tables of normal/abnormal values and guidelines. With advances in technology, cardiac CT and MRI are becoming more popular but are often limited to larger medical centers. By including the basics of these modalities, this book provides a comprehensive guide for a wide range of medical professionals. As physicians outside of cardiology often do not have sufficient exposure to nuclear stress tests, this book contains SPECT and stress test protocols in order to facilitate decision-making when ordering tests and interpreting results. Cardiac Imaging in Clinical Practice is a quick reference guide and will be useful at multiple levels of training, enabling the book to be used as a basic and advanced reference source. As such, it is appropriate for students, residents, fellows and staff attendings who want a practical and handy reference to the diagnostic options open to them.
Cardiovascular and Thoracic Imaging: Trends, Perspectives and Prospects
by
Heart Failure
by
Heart Failure: Symptoms, Causes and Treatment Options
by
Integrated Non-Invasive Cardiovascular Imaging: A Guide for the Practitioner
by
Less and Non-invasive Hemodynamic Monitoring Techniques
by
MRI and CT of the Cardiovascular System
by
Leave no disease undetected withMRI and CT of the Cardiovascular System, your definitive guide to magnetic resonance and computed tomography for cardiovascular health. Authored by a collaboration of international experts, this vivid, four-color third edition imparts the latest technologies in a rapidly advancing field. With topics that range from anatomy, to MR in infants and children, to risk assessment in ischemic heart disease this text includes seven new chapters to reflect the rising tide of technological discovery as it pertains to cardiology. Thanks to its expert analysis, procedural guide to implementation, and profound understanding of the recent advances in cardiovascular imagining,MRI and CT of the Cardiovascular Systemgives you all the tools necessary for powerful screening, diagnosis, and cardiovascular care. Features: --New chapters reflecting technological discoveries in cardiology --Color illustrations for heightened clarity --Companion website with fully searchable text --Units organized by pathology and disease detection --Fully updated information on application of MR and CT --Up-to-date analysis of emerging multi-detector CT
Stress Testing
by
From reviews of previous editions:"This remains...the best book to buy on the subject of exercise testing...an excellent book aimed at general physicians and cardiologists...recommended with enthusiasm."--International Journal of Cardiology"This book is to be recommended to all physicians who use exercise testing as a diagnostic or rehabilitation procedure..."--Cardiology in Practice"This is an excellent and detailed text describing the principles and practice of stress testing...I highly recommend this book for anyone involved in non-invasive cardiology."--The Journal of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Technology"The author's style is to be lauded...(He) states clearly the absolute, relative, and contraindications to stress testing...highly recommended."--Arch Phys Med Rehabil"I highly recommend this text as a well-written, integrated collection on current research, pathophysiology, and clinical applications."--Physical TherapyAlthough the general format of Stress Testing has not been changed in the Fifth Edition, the chapters have been thoroughly revised and updated. "Take Home" messages are sprinkled throughout the book to emphasize major concepts. The chapter on electrocardiographic changes has been completelyre-organized to highlight the importance of unconventional markers of ischemia. Two new chapters cover the role of exercise echocardiography and exercise testing in congestive heart failure.Overall, Stress Testing, Fifth Edition, remains an essential resource for cardiologists and exercise physiologists.
Kern's Cardiac Catheterization Handbook
by
For portable, quick access to information needed at the point of care in today's cath lab, look no farther than Kern's Cardiac Catheterization Handbook, 7th Edition. This detailed, authoritative guide is ideal for cardiologists who need a quick clinical primer on cardiac catheterization, as well as for all members of the cardiac cath team. Highly readable and accessible, it helps you provide optimal patient care with reliable information on the latest diagnostic and treatment advances in this fast-paced field. Provides clear instructions on what to expect, what to avoid, and how to manage complications for every procedure you'll encounter - including coverage of new techniques and technologies that affect virtually all aspects of familiar procedures. Covers all the newest catheterization techniques for vascular closure and expansion of large-bore access procedures, including TAVR, ECMO, mitraclip, and TMVR. Features a new chapter on intracardiac echocardiography and intraprocedural imaging. Discusses key topics such as intra-procedural imaging, management of complications with algorithms that expedite the approach to these patients, adjunctive hemodynamic support, and maintaining quality in the laboratory. Incorporates an increased emphasis on indications and contraindications for procedures in the context of a multidisciplinary heart team approach. Includes numerous clear illustrations to enhance your understanding of the material, as well as videos of Dr. Kern demonstrating various procedures in the cath lab. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Arterial and Venous Access in the Cardiac Catheterization Lab
by
Percutaneous cardiac and endovascular procedures are performed by a variety of interventional physicians and continue to evolve and expand. One of the most important steps in performing these procedures is vascular access and their Achilles heel is vascular access site complications. This volume is intended to help the clinician by providing a practical overview of the techniques and technologies used in top catheterization laboratories to access the arterial and venous beds. Dr. Mazen Abu-Fadel and his contributors, part of the renowned cardiovascular team at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, carefully walk the reader through the various techniques used to obtain vascular access into most arterial and venous sites. They thoroughly describe current data, techniques, advantages, risks, and benefits of each vascular access site. Covering everything from anatomic landmarks to closures devices, Arterial and Venous Access in the Cardiac Catheterization Lab offers a complete overview of each procedure. In addition, it provides an up-to-date guide to the best medical technologies and equipment used when performing these procedures. Arterial and Venous Access in the Cardiac Catheterization Lab is an invaluable resource for a wide range of clinical personnel, from attending physicians and trainees to nursing staff and vascular technicians. Written by experienced leaders in the field, it demonstrates how to perform complex, risky procedures while providing patients with expert care.
Atlas of Cardiac Catheterization and Interventional Cardiology
by
Comprehensive, current, and lavishly illustrated, Atlas of Interventional Cardiology thoroughly covers all of today's cardiac catheterization and coronary interventional procedures, including catheterization and stenting techniques, angiography, atherectomy, thrombectomy, and more. Full-color illustrations and procedural videos guide you step by step through every interventional procedure you're likely to perform. A one-of-a-kind, practical atlas, ideal for interventional cardiologists, trainees, and general cardiologists. Each chapter includes an introduction, several case studies, conclusion, and pertinent references. Complete coverage includes chapters on Catheterization in Childhood and Adult Congenital Heart Disease, Pitfalls in the Evaluation of Hemodynamic Data, Coronary Artery Anomalies, Pulmonary Angiography, Intravascular Imaging, Interventions for Structural Heart Disease, Thoracic Aortic Endovascular Grafting, and many more. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Iatrogenicity
by
About This Book Iatrogenesis is the occurrence of untoward effects resulting from actions of health care providers, including medical errors, medical malpractice, practicing beyond one's expertise, adverse effects of medication, unnecessary treatment, inappropriate screenings, and surgical errors. This is a huge public health issue: tens to hundreds of thousands of deaths are attributed to iatrogenic causes each year in the US, and vulnerable populations such as the elderly and minorities are particularly susceptible. Edited by two renowned cardiology experts, Iatrogenicity: Causes and Consequences of Iatrogenesis in Cardiovascular Medicine addresses both the iatrogenicity that arises with cardiovascular interventions, as well as non-cardiovascular interventions that result in adverse consequences on the cardiovascular system. The book aims to achieve three things: to summarize the available information on this topic in a single high-yield volume; to highlight the human and financial cost of iatrogenesis; and to describe and propose potential interventions to ameliorate the effects of iatrogenesis. This accessible book is a practical reference for any practicing physician who sees patients with cardiovascular issues.
Tips and Tricks in Interventional Cardiology
by
Tips & Tricks in Interventional Cardiology is a concise collection of essential knowledge concerning day to day procedures in cardiology. Comprised of fourteen chapters, the book emphasises the reduction of morbidity and mortality in patients undergoing cardiovascular intervention when strict protocol is followed. The first two chapters cover percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI), a non-surgical procedure to treat narrowed arteries. Further chapters cover vital procedures in detail, such as the measurement of cardiac output and important calculations in the catheterisation laboratory. The book also provides information on different types of imaging in interventional cardiology, and details the drugs used in the catheterisation laboratory. The final chapters cover the treatment of structural heart disease and congenital heart disease. Enhanced by 108 full colour images and illustrations, this is an invaluable resource for practitioners involved in interventional cardiology procedures. Key Points Protocols for day to day procedures in cardiology Covers catheterisation procedures, imaging, and drugs used in the catheterisation laboratory 156 full colour images and illustrations
Current Trends in Cardiovascular Research
by
Current Trends in Cardiovascular Research brings evidence to the medical community about the role of metabolic factors in the pathogenesis of cardiovascular function and dysfunction which results in different cardiovascular diseases.
Horizons in World Cardiovascular Research
by
This book provides readers with the latest developments in cardiovascular research. Chapter One reviews new concepts and targets in pulmonary hypertension. Chapter Two discusses new directions in aortic valve disease treatments. Chapter Three focuses on how altering energy substrate metabolism in the heart can be used as an approach for the treatment of cardiac ischemia-reperfusion. Chapter Four analyses cardiovascular and renal risks in women after preeclampsia. Chapter Five studies the impact of energy drink consumption on cardiovascular diseases. Chapter Six reviews fluid management strategies in heart failure patients suffering from diuretic resistance. Chapter Seven explains the effects of macrolides as matrix metalloproteinase inhibitors on cardiovascular remodeling. Chapter Eight describes methodologies that use neutralising antibodies or immunoglobulins to prevent graft arterial disease.
Women and Cardiovascular Disease
by
Cardiovascular disease is the number one killer of both men and women in the US and Europe today. Over the last 20 years, many innovations in technology have allowed for improved therapies for heart attack and stroke and overall outcomes have significantly improved. Death rates from cardiovascular disease in men are declining.However, even with these improvements in care, death rates for women remain unchanged. This book will explore these gender disparities in care in depth -- specific sections will be devoted to answering the questions of why they are occurring and what healthcare providers and women can do to effect change and narrow the gender gap in cardiovascular care.Ultimately, this book is designed to open the eyes of healthcare providers, medical professionals and policy makers -- as well as potential female patients -- and should serve as a "call to action" to promote better cardiovascular care for women. Through education, awareness and advocacy women worldwide will benefit, the gap will begin to close and better cardiovascular care can be provided for all.
Coronary Artery Disease
by
Coronary artery disease (CAD) is a leading cause of mortality and morbidity worldwide. In approximately half of the patients with newly diagnosed CAD, the first presentation is either acute myocardial infarction or sudden cardiac death. This book provides current research on the characteristics, management and long-term outcomes of coronary artery disease. Chapter One begins with an overview of biological characteristics, clinical classification, and spasms of arterial grafts and antispastic management in coronary artery bypass grafting surgery. Chapter Two discusses coronary artery bypass grafting (CABG) and percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) in the current era, and highlights relative strengths and weaknesses of each approach. It also discusses various risk-stratification scoring systems, and consider both procedures in the context of different demographic populations, including advanced age, gender, acute coronary syndromes, previous CABG, renal failure, diabetes mellitus and left main involvement. Chapter Three focuses on contribution facts and fables of gender disparities in cardiovascular diseases. Chapter Four examines the role of multi-detector computed tomography in the detection of subclinical coronary atherosclerosis in patients without known CAD.
New Technologies for the Treatment of Coronary and Structural Heart Diseases
by
Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Build a solid knowledge base in hemodynamic nursing skills, with the newly updated Hemodynamic Monitoring Made Incredibly Visual!®, 4th Edition. Full of colorful images that illustrate monitoring concepts and processes, this concise, enjoyable guide sorts through the complexities of hemodynamics and clarifies them in easy-to-follow ways. Grasp the structures and functions of pulmonary and cardiac systems and the vital skills of hemodynamics, with this vital reference--a must-have for all nursing students, new nurses, and nurses returning to critical care. Get clear, concise direction on the concepts, devices, and nursing skills used in hemodynamic monitoring: NEW and updated content, photos and graphics that demonstrate nursing skills and responsibilities Hundreds of colorful images that guide you through the ins and outs of hemodynamics - detailed photos, diagrams, charts and other visual aids that clarify cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology Illustrates vital practice issues, such as how to confirm the lungs are getting enough oxygen, and how well the heart is pumping -- explains and reinforces key concepts in easy-to-remember ways Explains the fundamentals and current best practices in hemodynamic monitoring in easy-to-retain terms Ideal for visual learners -images demonstrate step-by-step, expert guidance on monitoring skills, physiology and devices: Understanding cardiopulmonary anatomy and physiology Understanding a pressure monitoring system Vascular access Pressure monitoring - arterial, central venous, and pulmonary artery pressure monitoring Cardiac output monitoring Tissue oxygenation monitoring Minimally invasive hemodynamic monitoring Circulatory assist devices Step-by-step guidance on thermodilution methods, analyzing thermodilution curves, measuring cardiac function and output, maintaining artery catheters, and more Ideal on-the-spot reference and review for nursing students and new nurses - addresses the physiology behind each learning objective and provides vital nursing considerations Chapter features: On the level - defines normal and abnormal pressure readings for different patient conditions Q&A - illustrated riddles, diagrams, and questions and answers at the end of each chapter that help you fully integrate new knowledge Matchmaker - matching terms and conditions to their correct definition Memory board - learning aids and memory cues that help you retain important definitions and processes Ride the wave - explains the actions of waveforms, including how to recognize abnormal waveforms "Nurse Joy and Jake" - expert insights and encouraging advice About the Clinical Editor Rose Knapp, DNP, RN, APN-BC, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, and Associate Graduate Faculty and MSN Program Director/APN Program Coordinator at the Marjorie K. Unterberg School of Nursing and Health Studies at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey
Textbook of Hemodynamic Monitoring and Therapy in the Critically Ill
by
SECTION 1: PHYSICS AND PHYSIOLOGY SECTION 2: CARDIAC OUTPUT MEASUREMENT SECTION 3: DOWNSTREAM PARAMETERS AND OTHERS SECTION 4: TYPES OF SHOCK SECTION 5: ASSESSING CARDIAC FUNCTION SECTION 6: SUPPORTING THE CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEM SECTION 7: ULTRASONOGRAPHY AND ECHOCARDIOGRAPHY IN THE CRITICALLY ILL Index
Less and Non-invasive Hemodynamic Monitoring Techniques
by
The Echo Manual
by
Ideal for residents, fellows, and others who need a comprehensive, clinically focused understanding of echocardiography, The Echo Manual, 4th Edition, has been thoroughly revised with updated information, new chapters, and new video clips online. Written primarily by expert authorities from the Mayo Clinic, this best-selling reference remains a practical guide to the performance, interpretation, and clinical applications of today's echocardiography. Features all-new chapters specifically devoted to 3D echo, interventional echocardiography, and hand-carried ultrasound. Includes new echo videos that provide a valuable learning experience of echocardiography in motion. Provides a concise, user-friendly summary of techniques, diagnostic criteria, and quantitative methods for echocardiography, Doppler echocardiography, and transesophageal echocardiography. Presents complex material in an approachable, visually appealing manner that focuses on the clinical application of echocardiography as a diagnostic tool. Covers the latest techniques, standards, and applications - all highlighted by more than 900 high-quality, annotated images that are true to gray scale and color. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Feigenbaum's Echocardiography
by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Continuing the long-standing Feigenbaum tradition as an authoritative, comprehensive echocardiography resource, the thoroughly revised Feigenbaum's Echocardiography, Eighth Edition, helps echocardiographers, fellows, clinicians, and sonographers master the art and science of echocardiography and stay current with all that's new in the field. Written by William F. Armstrong and Thomas Ryan, it guides you through pertinent physics, technology, clinical applications, and new developments in the field. As in the past, the book is written primarily for the practitioner who uses echocardiographic methods to care for and manage patients, with a focus on appropriate clinical applications. Features enhanced online content including echo clips, case studies, and more. Includes new content specifically for cardiac sonographers. Reflects new training guidelines for cardiology fellows emphasizing the importance of echocardiography in the general practice of cardiology. Describes the interrelationship of other imaging technologies with echocardiography and the role of echo as part of a multimodality approach to patients. Contains more than 1,600 high-quality illustrations - 600 in full color. Covers the use of 3D echocardiography and perfusion imaging; current AHA/ACC guidelines, appropriate use guidelines, and the mechanics and utility of strain and strain rate imaging. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Echocardiography in Pediatric and Congenital Heart Disease
by
The new edition of the acclaimed reference text on the most critical tool in pediatric cardiology practice Echocardiography in Pediatric and Congenital Heart Disease provides comprehensive guidance on the use of non-invasive ultrasound imaging in the diagnosis and treatment of pediatric cardiac conditions. Written by a team of experts from the world's leading pediatric cardiology centers, this highly-illustrated, full-color reference covers anatomy, pathophysiology, ultrasound physics, laboratory setup, patient preparation and safety, pediatric echocardiogram protocols, quantitative methods of echocardiographic evaluation, and more. Offering a wealth of additional material on state-of-the-art techniques and technologies in echocardiography, the thoroughly revised third edition features entirely new chapters on examination guidelines and standards, quality improvement in the laboratory, perioperative echocardiography, hemodynamic assessment of the neonate, early fetal echocardiography, and multimodality imaging. This edition offers updated and expanded discussion of the latest advances in echocardiography, particularly those related to speckle tracking and 3D echocardiography. An essential resource for all practitioners, instructors, and trainees in the field, Echocardiography in Pediatric and Congenital Heart Disease: Provides up-to-date reference to ultrasound imaging of the hearts of fetuses, children, and adults with both acquired and congenital heart disease Covers the echocardiographic examination of congenital cardiovascular abnormalities before, during, and after treatment Describes quantitative methods of echocardiographic evaluation, including assessment of diastolic function, right ventricular function and assessment of the post-Fontan patient Discusses intraoperative echocardiography, heart disease in pregnancy, and other special techniques and topics Includes more than 1200 high-quality color images as well as a companion website with over 600 video clips Echocardiography in Pediatric and Congenital Heart Disease, Third Edition, remains an essential textbook for cardiac sonographers, pediatric and adult cardiologists, echocardiography nurses and technicians, and adult cardiologists with interest in congenital heart disease.
Strandness's Duplex Scanning in Vascular Disorders
by
Now in its updated fifth edition, Strandness's Duplex Scanning in Vascular Disorders proves why it's still the classic text on the use of duplex scanning in the study and diagnosis of vascular disorders. This evidence-based, real-world text is now expanded to cover all vascular duplex ultrasound topics, including principles and instrumentation; cerebrovascular; aortoiliac and peripheral arterial; peripheral venous; visceral vascular; and preoperative planning, intraoperative assessment and procedural guidance. Key Features: NEW chapters on cardiovascular risk assessment, indirect physiologic assessment of lower extremity arteries, intravascular imaging and physiologic assessment, pelvic venous insufficiency, and vascular applications in point of care ultrasound Coverage of topics: carotid duplex scan, vascular disease, vascular ultrasound, carotid artery ultrasound, vascular sonography, coronary heart disease, peripheral venous disease, sonographer training, diagnostic ultrasounds, peripheral vascular disorders, ultrasonography, cerebral vascular disease, occlusive vascular disease, vascular surgery Numerous full-color images, charts, tables, and new Doppler scan images Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering iOS, Android, Mac, and PC access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search tool that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick-reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Manual of Valvular Heart Disease
by
Portable and clinically oriented, this full-color handbook is a unique and timely guide to valvular heart disease and percutaneous coronary interventions. A structured, standardized format helps you quickly find the information you need, while numerous illustrations and videos online provide visual support for key concepts and procedures. Key Features: Numerous tables, diagrams, and images highlight concepts, procedures, and devices related to valvular heart disease. Structured outline format lists landmark articles, key reviews, and relevant book chapters at the end of each chapter. Online chapter self-assessment questions and answers allow you to self-test and review key concepts. Authored by current or former Cleveland Clinic trainees and clinicians, as well as international experts in the field. Ideal for interventional cardiologists, fellows, cardiothoracic surgeons, anesthesiologists, cardiac technicians, sonographers, nurses, physician assistants and nurse practitioners. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
