French
Image sources: learn-school-language-teaching by pixabay user geralt Used under CC0
Spelling-Sound Correlations in French for Beginners
These videos were created by Dr. Demharter to help non-native speakers to achieve the best possible standard French pronunciation. Dr. Demharter is a specialist in French Phonetics and has a collection of 26 videos to help beginners.
Ask a French Teacher
Learn French with FrenchPod101.com These videos answers questions that students have asked when learning the French language. The videos cover topics such as direct and indirect object pronouns. Check out the series to see if they provide an answer to your question.
In this series, you'll learn the must-know French vocabulary for each theme. Great for more experienced speakers! Five words are introduced per lesson, along with sample sentences. These quick, bite-sized lessons will get you speaking more French in no time!
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary
by
Skills and techniques for reading French
by
Larousse Concise Dictionary
by
Cassell's French Dictionary
by
French Grammar for Dummies
by
Le Fantome de l'Opera
by
French-English - English-French
by
French Stories / Contes Francais
by
CLEP Foreign Language Sampler
by
Harrap's French and English College Dictionary
by
Merriam-Webster's Pocket French-English Dictionary
by
English Grammar for Students of French, 6th Edition
by
French-English Visual Dictionary
by
English Grammar for Students of French
by
Creole (Haitian)-English - English-Creole (Haitian) Concise Dictionary
by
French Stories / Contes Francais
by
Creole (Caribbean)-English - English-Creole (Caribbean) Concise Dictionary
by
The Firefly Five Language Visual Dictionary
by
Heath's standard French and English dictionary
by
The Larousse French-English, English-French Dictionary
by
Merriam-Webster's French-English Dictionary
by
French for mastery : salut, les amis!
by
French Stories / Contes Francais
by
New Rudman's questions and answers on the CLEP College Level Examination Program subject test in-- college French.
by
The Firefly Five Language Visual Dictionary
by
CLEP French Study Guide - Ace the CLEP
by
Collins Robert French-English, English-French Dictionary
by
Webster's New World Pocket French Dictionary
by
Handbook of every-day French; grammar, essential vocabulary, with review and advanced exercises
by
French: an Essential Guide to French Language Learning
by
Dictionnaire Scolaire du Francais
by
The Bantam New College French and English Dictionary
by
Collins Robert French Unabridged Dictionary, 9th Edition
by
Understanding French Verse
by
A Handbook of Diction for Singers
by
A Reference Grammar of French
by
The Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary
by
The Firefly Five Language Visual Dictionary
by
English Grammar for Students of French, 7th Edition
by
[PRINT]
Modern French Grammar Workbook
by
Modern French Grammar Workbook, second edition, is an innovative book of exercises and language tasks for all learners of French. The book is divided into two sections: * section 1 provides exercises based on essential grammatical structures * section 2 practises everyday functions (e.g. making introductions, apologizing, expressing needs). A comprehensive answer key at the back of the book enables you to check your progress. Taking into account feedback from the first edition, this second edition now features: * exercises graded on a 3-point scale according to their level of difficulty * cross-referencing to the Modern French Grammar, Second Edition, for each and every exercise * topical exercises that develop vocabulary. Modern French Grammar Workbook is ideal for all learners of French: beginners, intermediate and advanced students. It can be used both independently and alongside the Modern French Grammar (ISBN 0-415-33162-5). alongside the Modern French Grammar (ISBN 0-415-33162-5).
French Verb Tenses
by
Describing an array of fully conjugated verbs, 'French Verb Tenses' contains clear and concise explanations that pinpoint why specific tenses work in given situations, as well as providing many examples and skill-building exercises.
French Vocabulary
by
While other French vocabulary books merely provide the translations of words, this volume offers you practice exercises, so you can build on your lessons and increase your vocabulary.
A Short Course in Reading French
by
This textbook teaches the basics of French grammar, reinforcing its lessons with exercises and key practice translations. A systematic guide, the volume is a critical companion for university-level students learning to read and translate written French into English; for graduate scholars learning to do research in French or prepping for proficiency exams; and for any interested readers who want to improve their facility with the French language. In addition, A Short Course in Reading French exposes readers to a broad range of French texts from the humanities and social sciences, including writings by distinguished francophone authors from around the world. The book begins with French pronunciation and cognates and moves through nouns, articles, and prepositions; verbs, adjectives, and adverbs; a graduated presentation of all the indicative and subjunctive tenses; object, relative, and other pronouns; the passive voice; common idiomatic constructions; and other fundamental building blocks of the French language. Chapters contain translation passages from such authors as Pascal, Montesquieu, Proust, Sartre, Bourdieu, Senghor, Césaire, de Certeau, de Beauvoir, Barthes, and Kristeva. Drawn from more than two decades of experience teaching French to students from academic and nonacademic backgrounds, Celia Brickman's clear, accessible, and time-tested format enables even beginners to develop a sophisticated grasp of the language and become adept readers of French. There is an answer key for translation exercises and for non-copyrighted translation passages available to professors and teachers who have assigned this title in a class. Please provide your name, title, institution, and number of students in the course in an email to coursematerials@columbiauniversitypress.com.
French Verb Drills
by
The shortest route to mastering verb conjugations One of the greatest challenges in learning a language is mastering verb conjugations. The books in the unique Language Verb Drill series make it easier than ever for learners to meet that challenge. Drilling, whether it's for learning a musical instrument, a sport, or a language, is an essential part of a sound education because repeated, concentrated practice makes specialized skills become second nature. Unlike most verb books, which tend to concentrate on tables of conjugations, the books in the Language Verb Drills series allow students to focus exclusively on building mastery of verbs without being distracted by other elements of grammar. Combining the features of a workbook and reference manual, they clearly and systematically explain how a verb system works while providing numerous drills for practice. These revised editions of the popular study guides now include a final review section to reinforce the reader's ability to automatically select the correct verb form.
Must-Know French
by
With 100 exercises, subcategories to facilitate word searches & featuring English key words - a logical format that allows users to recognise related vocabulary at a glance - this volume will help readers test & reinforce their vocabulary.
This video is from The Ultimate French Pronunciation series in our Films on Demand database. FSCJ login required.
The next video is from the series: French in Three Minutes in the Films on Demand database. FSCJ login required.
