American Sign Language
Image sources: love heart form hands keep sky by pixabay user ollis_picture Used under CC0
The ASL Lab is located on South Campus on the first floor of the G Building (G105).
Random House Webster's American Sign Language Dictionary
by
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language
by
Random House American Sign Language Dictionary, Concise Edition
by
A Basic Course in American Sign Language
by
A Historical and Etymological Dictionary of American Sign Language
by
Sign Language for Kids
by
Talking with Your Hands, Listening with Your Eyes
by
Significant Gestures
by
American Sign Language Dictionary
by
American Sign Language Dictionary
by
NTC's Multilingual Dictionary of American Sign Language
by
Signing Everyday Phrases
by
The American Sign Language Phrase Book
by
Teach Your Tot to Sign
by
Baby Sign Language Basics
by
Talking with Your Hands, Listening with Your Eyes
by
The American Sign Language Handshape Starter
by
Bravo ASL! Curriculum Student Workbook
by
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language
by
NTC's Multilingual Dictionary of American Sign Language
by
Intermediate Conversational Sign Language
by
Talking with Your Hands, Listening with Your Eyes
by
Barron's American Sign Language
by
American Sign Language Made Easy for Beginners
by
Recent Perspectives on American Sign Language
by
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary
by
The Joy of Signing
by
Signing Illustrated
by
Sign Language and the Health Care Professional
by
Significant Gestures
by
Sign with Your Baby - ASL Baby Sign Language Complete Learning Kit (DVD Edition)
by
The American Sign Language
by
Pocket Dictionary of Signing
by
The Gallaudet Dictionary of American Sign Language
by
American Sign Language Dictionary
by
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary
by
What's Your Sign for Pizza?
by
American Sign Language Dictionary Unabridged
by
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary
by
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary
by
A Historical and Etymological Dictionary of American Sign Language
by
Signing for Dummies®
by
American Sign Language (ASL) is something we've all seen Deaf people use in restaurants, hospitals, airports, and throughout the marketplace. The communication is fascinating to watch; to see people sharing ideas by using handshapes and body language is remarkable in a world so defined by sound. Signing For Dummies gives you a general understanding of the properties of Sign, as well as an understanding of Deaf culture. Designed to act as an introduction or a refresher, the book focuses solely on ASL. Although certainly not the only form of Sign Language, ASL is the most popular in the Deaf community within the United States. Categorized by subject, this illustrated guide covers grammar and sentence structure, along with the tools to get you going in basic conversation by knowing how to Introduce and greet people Ask questions and make small talk Order food and chat with salespeople Handle medical emergencies Talk on the phone Get around town for fun or business Although "speaking" American Sign Language (ASL) is mostly a matter of using your fingers, hands, and arms, facial expression and body language are important and sometimes crucial for understanding Signs and their meaning. Signing For Dummies gets the whole body into the action as the fun-to-read resource explores Signs that look like what they mean Expression of emotions and feelings Signing sports and weather Compass points conversations: Getting or giving directions Descriptions of where it hurts Deaf community customs, norms, and culture Each chapter throughout the book invites you to practice specific Signs in a "Fun & Games" section. Translation guides complement the video CD-ROM, which features demonstrations by ASL Signers and actual conversations in progress - all designed to have you moving your hands, body, and face to convey meaning that reaches way beyond linguistic barriers.
This video is from the series: American Sign Language, Level 1 in the Films on Demand database. FSCJ login required.
The next video is from the series: Advanced American Sign Language in the Films on Demand database. FSCJ login required.
