LibGuides: AMH 2093: African American History and Culture: Library Resources

Library Resources

Blk Art by Zaria Ware
Call Number: N8356.B55 W37 2023
ISBN: 9780063272415
Publication Date: 2023-01-31
A fun and fact-filled introduction to the dismissed Black art masters and models who shook up the world. Elegant. Refined. Exclusionary. Interrupted. The foundations of the fine art world are shaking. Beyoncé and Jay-Z break the internet by blending modern Black culture with fine art in their iconic music video filmed in the Louvre. Kehinde Wiley powerfully subverts European masterworks. Calls resonate for diversity in museums and the resignations of leaders of the old guard.
Antagonistic Cooperation by Robert O'Meally
ISBN: 9780231189187
Publication Date: 2022-03-15
Winner, 2023 Columbia University Press Distinguished Book Award Finalist, 2023 Pauli Murray Book Prize in Black Intellectual History, African American Intellectual History Society Shortlisted, Historical Nonfiction Legacy Award, Hurston / Wright Foundation Ralph Ellison famously characterized ensemble jazz improvisation as "antagonistic cooperation." Both collaborative and competitive, musicians play with and against one another to create art and community. In Antagonistic Cooperation, Robert G. O'Meally shows how this idea runs throughout twentieth-century African American culture to provide a new history of Black creativity and aesthetics.

Here are some example keywords or phrases that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and academic databases.

"African American history"
"Civil Rights Movement"
"Influence of African American artists"

Suggested Boolean Searches

Refine searches using operators like "AND," "OR," and "NOT," ensuring more precise and relevant results.

"African American creativity" OR "Innovation in African American culture"
"Racial violence" NOT "Civil rights movement"
"Black power" AND "Equality"

Suggested Subject Headings

Standardized terms are used to categorize and organize content within the library catalog and academic databases to enhance search precision and efficiency.

Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)
African Americans -- Social conditions -- 20th century
African American musicians -- History -- 20th century

Suggested Call Number Ranges

Locate materials within the library in these call number areas.

E 184.5-185.98

The following links will give you access to possible search terms that can be used when exploring the FSCJ online databases for your coursework.

African American History- this link will guide you to our searchable catalogue where you will find resources related to many topics to support the AMH 2093 course, such as: segregation, disfranchisement, racial violence, and civil rights.

African American Culture, also known as Black American culture, in American English refers to the cultural expressions of African Americans, either as part of or distinct from mainstream American culture. African-American culture has been influential on American and global worldwide culture as a whole.

The following are links to FSCJ databases which provide users access to a wide range of scholarly resources, including academic journals, books, ebooks, videos, and other relevant course materials. ***BE SURE TO FIRST LOGIN TO YOUR MYFSCJ ACCOUNT TO GET THE FULL RESULTS LIST.

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
(Bloomsbury) - The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
African American History This link opens in a new window
(Infobase Publishing) - Exploring more than 500 years of the African-American experience, history, and culture.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
Civil War: Sources in U.S. History This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Sources in U.S. History Online is a series of archival digital collections intended for public library patrons as well as high school, community college, and university students. The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time—personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches—enabling students, faculty and patrons to study one of the key events in American history.
Funded by State Library of Florida (FEL)
Black Studies This link opens in a new window
(Proquest) - Developed in collaboration with faculty, scholars, and librarians, ProQuest Black Studies brings together ProQuest's award-winning Black Studies content into one destination for research, teaching, and learning purposes. This database combines primary and secondary sources, including leading historical Black newspapers, archival documents and collections, key government materials, videos, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, scholarly journals, and essays by top scholars in Black Studies. Alongside the outstanding content in the database, ProQuest Black Studies includes easy to use functionality such as timelines, topic pages, and collection pages that allow students and researchers at all levels to easily navigate the database to find the sources they need.
Trial

Topic Resources

Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new window
(Credo Reference) - Students looking up current events and controversial topics benefit from the Real-time Reference featured search category, which provides frequently-updated, credible background information on issues unfolding in the headlines. With more than 700 searchable, full-text titles from 100+ publishers, Credo covers every major subject.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
(Oxford University Press) - A comprehensive collection of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Funded by Statewide Allocation

Research Writing

Students can develop stronger arguments for their college essays by using multiple sources for research. Use reliable Internet databases; utilize library resources; and include diverse points of view.

ProQuest Research Writing
ProQuest is known for its applications and information services for libraries, providing access to dissertations, theses, e-books, newspapers, periodicals, historical collections, governmental archives, cultural archives, and other aggregated databases. This content was estimated to be around 125 billion digital pages.

Films on Demand
Streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects to enhance college courses. These videos include public performance rights that allow them to be used in the educational setting.

This program addresses the widespread ethical and legal problem of plagiarism, examining reasons used to justify content theft and the wide variety of forms it can take. Students and teachers talk frankly on-screen about their experiences with the problem and what leads some people to copy text or images from books, articles, Internet sites, and other students’ papers and projects.

The following links provide information on accessing special collections or archives related to African American history and culture from various institutions and experts within the field of study.

The National Archives
The National Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the African American experience and highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.
The National Museum of African American History & Culture
The Smithsonian has launched its Open Access Initiative. Images of objects from the NMAAHC collection are now available to view, download, and share through a CC0 license.