Critical Thinking and Professional Judgement for Social Work by
Critical thinking as a process can appear formal and academic, far removed from everyday life where decisions have to be taken quickly in less than ideal conditions. However, now more than ever, it is seen as a vital part of social work, and indeed any healthcare and leadership practice within the current agenda for integration, and in the post Francis inquiry health care context. This Fourth Edition now reflects this wider arena, but also includes new material in response to the continuing review of social work professional standards. It continues to take a pragmatic look at the range of ideas associated with critical thinking, focusing on learning and development for practice. The chapter on professional judgement has been extended to provide a wider discussion on practical reasoning and judgement in relation to developing expertise, while other chapters and reading lists have also been updated, and activities revised to enhance learning. The authors continue to emphasise the importance of sound, moral judgement based on critical thinking and practical reasoning; while also acknowledging the tensions for staff and teams facing complex, uncertain situations and sometimes oppressive workplace cultures. Their hope is that increased and informed attention to your thinking can help nurture wise deliberation and action in such challenging times.
Critical Thinking for Helping Professionals by
Critical thinking values, knowledge and skills are integral to evidence-based practice in the helping professions. Those working in this area must be able to think clearly, on a daily basis, about decisions that may have a major impact on their clients' lives. Critical Thinking for HelpingProfessionals, 3rd Edition, is designed to engage readers as active participants in honing their critical thinking skills, learning a coherent decision-making process, and comprehending its underlying principles. There are many books on evidence based practice and critical thinking, but none integrate the two as well as Eileen Gambrill and Leonard Gibbs, two renowned professors and evidence-based practice thinkers. And no others provide such a variety of hands-on exercises, with their rich opportunities tolearn how to implement vital steps in making important decisions. In addition to the exercises, the authors incorporate unique material exploring the use of propaganda in the helping professions, which is integrated with discussions of related research on judgment, problem solving, and criticalthinking. For students in social work, nursing, counseling, and similar areas, this new edition of a unique textbook is a fun and mentally stimulating way to sharpen and maximize their innate decision-making skills and their abilities to apply an evidence-based approach to their daily work, so thattheir clients will get the best care possible.
Critical Thinking in Health and Social Care by
`This book will serve well a diverse audience - in policy formulation and practice determination at all levels - who are committed to the nation's health and well-being' - Dianne Willcocks, Vice Chancellor, York St John University Critical Thinking in Health & Social Care is designed to equip practitioners with the knowledge and tools they need to critically examine practice in their own workplace. The book presents a range of different approaches, which have particular relevance in the context of health and social care. Each approach is explained and grounded in practice using case studies, problem-solving scenarios and workplace examples. The practical tools which form the core of the book are contextualised by an exploration of what constitutes knowledge and evidence and the types of assumptions which are commonly held and which have a bearing on practice. This is an essential text for advanced post-graduate health and social care students, and for those who are moving into more senior and strategic roles. Critical Thinking in Health & Social Care provides an array of tools which can be used to challenge and change existing practice and to solve problems. Stella Jones-Devitt is Head of Subject for Health Studies and Community Engagement at York St John University. Liz Smith is Programme Leader for Health Professional Studies, Faculty of Health and Social Care, University of Hull
Concept Mapping by
Looking for an easier path to care planning? Create a map! Concept mapping is a clear, visual, and systematic model for gathering and categorizing relevant assessment data, identifying patient problems, and developing patient goals, interventions, and outcomes for each nursing diagnosis. A concept map is your guide to nursing care in any clinical setting. You'll also find a wealth of care planning resources, including a concept map generator, online at Davis's Care Planning & Nursing Diagnosis Resource Center. (Click on the Preview tab to view.)
Concept Mapping by
Provides the tools needed to construct care plans for any patient, in any setting, based on accepted standards of care. Introduces critical thinking early in the curriculum. Works with or without nursing diagnoses. Saves time and improves clinical performance. Emphasizes reasoning, improvising, and individualizing patient care. Teaches how to identify patient needs, then organize, prioritize, and implement care quickly. Establishes the relationships between medical and nursing diagnoses, physical assessment data, treatments, medications, laboratory data, and history data. Makes concept mapping easy to understand and implement with... Case studies that let you practice creating a care map. Templates for creating a concept care map. A care map generator online with clear, concise instructions.
Critical Thinking in Long-Term Care Nursing by
Raise the standard of professional nursing practice and teach clinical care providers how to function at a higher level by teaching and developing nurses critical thinking abilities.Critical thinking is essential to nurses success The ability to think critically is crucial to resident care, and reducing medical errors. This book provides nurse managers and educators with accessible and easy ways to teach these valuable skills to their staff.Build confidence and competence through critical thinking "Critical Thinking in Long-Term Care Nursing: Skills to Assess, Analyze and Act, "is an easy-to-read resource that explains the principles of critical thinking and how to encourage nurses to use critical thinking methods. This essential book covers how to lead classroom sessions for new graduate nurses and experienced nurses to develop critical thinking skills, including successful classroom processes and learning strategies. It includes learning strategies, and handouts to supplement the classroom. "Critical Thinking in Long-Term Care Nursing "is for orientation and beyond, and includes tools and resources for ongoing development.Benefits for both novice and seasoned professional nurses Learn how to develop a culture of critical thinking, from coaching new grads through bad resident outcomes to encouraging experienced nurses by setting expectations. You also get a CD-ROM with all the book s valuable and completely customizable resources specifically for long-term care such as assessment tools, worksheets, and sample questions.Take a look at the Table of Contents . . . Introduction: Critical thinking in the long-term care setting 1. Defining critical thinking 2. New graduate nurses and critical thinking 3: The critical thinking classroom 4: Orientation: Bringing critical thinking to the clinical environment 5: Nursing practice that promotes and motivates critical thinking 6: Novice to expert: Setting realistic expectations for critical thinking 7: Applying critical thinking to nursing documentation 8: Relating critical thinking to its higher purpose 9: Resources and tools"
Critical Thinking Tactics for Nurses by
Critical Thinking TACTICS for Nurses: Achieving IOM Competencies, Third Edition is a user-friendly and practical manual focusing on the day-to-day realities of doing, learning, and evaluating critical thinking in nursing. With clear examples of both the parts and the whole of this complex process, each chapter includes action learning activities to promote critical thinking: Tracking, Assessing, and Cultivating Thinking to Improve Competency-based Strategies or TACTICS. Issues addressed include critical thinking language and awareness enhancement, the impact of critical thinking on quality care, mentoring the critical thinking of staff and students, and designing performance criteria for critical thinking. Based on the authors' research in both defining and assessing critical thinking in nursing, this text also draws from their years of refining critical thinking teaching and learning methods. Completely updated and revised, the new edition offers critical thinking components combined with the Institute of Medicine's (IOM) five core competencies: patient-centered care, interdisciplinary team work, evidence-based practice, informatics, and quality improvement. New to this edition are updated case studies, new illustrations, new content on how to facilitate synthesis of high level critical thinking, additional content on critical thinking within the nursing process, increased TACTICS, and new appendices to assist with the assessment of critical thinking.
Fundamentals Success by
2 Books in 1! Q&A Course Review NCLEX#65533; prep Master the fundamentals of nursing while developing your critical thinking and test-taking skills. More than 1,340 classroom-tested, NCLEX-style questions--including more than 440 alternate-item-format questions--reflect the latest advances in medical technology as well as the most recent guidelines and standards of care for nursing practice. An easy-to-follow format organizes information into 24 content areas. Each question provides answers and rationales for correct and incorrect responses and strategies for how to develop your critical-thinking skills. Redeem the Plus Code inside new, printed texts to access your DavisPlus online instructor and student resources, including your Davis Digital Version, your complete text online, as well as two, 75-question course exit exams. What instructors and students are saying about the Success Series: "We have used your products for students to help increase critical thinking skills, prepare for NCLEX and course exams, and for review of nursing content. We recommend students purchase the Success Series and review the content and questions for remediation and to enhance nursing knowledge. The terminology at the beginning of each chapter provide key terms for the students to review before answering questions. The books are all encompassing in regards to what students need to review across the curriculum. We love them!!" - Louise Outlaw, Instructor at Brown Mackie College, St.Louis "The practice questions with explanations helped me understand how to answer test questions and think like a nurse." - Allyse Edwards, Bryan College of Health Sciences, NE "I honestly feel that every incoming student nurse should have a copy of the Fundamentals Success book because it familiarizes students with what their fundamental tests will be like. Who wouldn't benefit from knowing what their test is going to look like? Being prepared with Fundamentals Success meant I hit the ground running. I aced my first test when most of my classmates were facing their first ever-academic failures. Nursing school is nothing like anything I have ever done before, memorizing text books will do little to prepare you to be a critical thinker. To succeed you must be able to apply the knowledge in multi-step process...the nursing process! The FA Davis books take you there and they do it quickly, because we nursing students needed to know it yesterday!" --Corrie Cyre, Hillsborough Community College Southshore, Student Nurses Association President
Winningham's Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing by
Highly regarded for its clinically relevant and thought-provoking content, Winningham's Critical Thinking Cases in Nursing, 6th Edition features 150 case studies that cover all four clinical practice areas: medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric nursing. Each case covers a common patient problem, drawn from actual clinical experiences and written by nurses who are clinical experts. This edition reflects the most current standards of clinical practice, including content on pharmacology, nutrition, and diagnostic/laboratory tests to prepare you for all aspects of patient care. From nursing educators Mariann Harding and Julie Snyder, this workbook helps you develop your clinical nursing judgment and bridge the gap from nursing knowledge to nursing practice. Comprehensive case study approach uses cases drawn from actual clinical experiences to help you identify changes, anticipate possible complications, and initiate therapeutic interventions. Progressive case complexity builds on previous learning and helps you develop more and more expertise. 150 case studies cover all major clinical areas, including medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric cases, providing you with many diverse clinical situations and opportunities to apply knowledge and develop critical thinking skills. Body system organization makes the book easier to use with medical-surgical nursing textbooks and courses. NEW! QSEN icons highlight essential safety content. NEW! Increased emphasis on NCLEX#65533; Exam-style alternate-format questions includes multiple-response, prioritization, and illustration-based questions, offering better NCLEX Examination preparation. NEW! Additional documentation questions and a NEW Chart View design provide more experience in documenting patient care based on real-world electronic chart formats. NEW! Reorganized format presents cases in three parts: 1) medical-surgical cases; 2) pediatric, maternity, and women's health cases; and 3) psychiatric and alternative therapies cases. NEW! Increased difficulty level includes more questions about care of older adults and multi-system situations. UPDATED content includes the latest clinical treatment guidelines, issues, and practice standards.
Critical Thinking by
Donald Maxwell Brunette is a professor in the Department of Oral Biological and Medical Sciences and a former associate dean of Research and Graduate Studies in the Faculty of Dentistry, University of British Columbia.
Critical Thinking to Achieve Positive Health Outcomes by
This book uses the latest research findings to apply critical thinking processes for the development of diagnostic reasoning and the selection of patient outcomes and nursing interventions.Four chapters describe the meaning of intelligence, critical thinking, and application of critical thinking processes within nursing. The case studies and their ultimate resolution to intervention and outcome illustrate these processes by enabling repeated practice. Case studies are organized into four sections; problem diagnoses, risk diagnoses, health promotion diagnoses, and strength diagnoses. A companion website provides on-line resources.
Critical Thinking in Home Health by
Critical Thinking in Home Health Nursing: Skills to Assess, Analyze and Act, is an easy-to-read resource that explains the principles of critical thinking and how to encourage nurses to use critical thinking methods.
Cognitive Errors and Diagnostic Mistakes by
This case-based book illustrates and explores common cognitive biases and their consequences in the practice of medicine. The book begins with an introduction that explains the concept of cognitive errors and their importance in clinical medicine and current controversies within healthcare. The core of the book features chapters dedicated to particular cognitive biases; cases are presented and followed by a discussion of the clinician's rationale and an overview of the particular cognitive bias. Engaging and easy to read, this text provides strategies on minimizing cognitive errors in various medical and professional settings.
Critical Thinking and Professional Judgement for Social Work by
Critical thinking as a process can appear formal and academic, far removed from everyday life where decisions have to be taken quickly in less than ideal conditions. However, now more than ever, it is seen as a vital part of social work, and indeed any healthcare and leadership practice within the current agenda for integration, and in the post Francis inquiry health care context.This Fourth Edition now reflects this wider arena, but also includes new material in response to the continuing review of social work professional standards. It continues to take a pragmatic look at the range of ideas associated with critical thinking, focusing on learning and development for practice. The chapter on professional judgement has been extended to provide a wider discussion on practical reasoning and judgement in relation to developing expertise, while other chapters and reading lists have also been updated, and activities revised to enhance learning.The authors continue to emphasise the importance of sound, moral judgement based on critical thinking and practical reasoning; while also acknowledging the tensions for staff and teams facing complex, uncertain situations and sometimes oppressive workplace cultures. Their hope is that increased and informed attention to your thinking can help nurture wise deliberation and action in such challenging times.