Health Care Ethics Critical Issues for the 21st Century by
Organized around the four central themes of healthcare ethics (theoretical foundations and issues for individuals, organizations, and society), Health Care Ethics, Fourth Edition brings together the insights of a diverse panel of leading experts in the fields of bioethics, long-term care, and health administration, among others. Students will build on this critical platform to develop an extensive toolbox of analytical and problem-solving skills. The fully revised and updated Fourth Edition addresses current changes in health care, including three new chapters covering ethical issues related to Health Information Management, Patient Safety, and Epidemics. All other chapters have been updated to reflect the most recent developments in medical technology and new challenges faced by health care professionals in the era of the ACA. New to the Fourth Edition* New chapter on issues facing health information management in healthcare settings including patient privacy. * New chapter on ethics and patient safety* New chapter on ethical issues related to epidemics such as Ebola and Zika, as well as a look at the issues related to immunizations* Coverage of new legislation and additional information about the moral status of gametes and embryos as it relates to abortion* Coverage of issues related to new technologies for reproduction.* New sections on healthy aging, nursing home concerns, and patient centered care for the deceased. * Coverage of the newest technology being considered for healthcare applications. * Coverage of the application of spirituality to the work setting to improve patient centered care* Updated coverage of the ACA and health care* Coverage of ethical issues related to the impact of simulation on disaster planning. * New information and examples relating to domestic violence* New section on health literacy and patient centered care.Each chapter in the Fourth Edition includes questions for discussion, food for thought, and additional readings. Supplemental materials will include a set of PowerPoint lecture slides, an instructor's manual, and suggested test items.
Health Occupations Entrance Exams
With rising job opportunities and unequaled job security, a career in allied health is an excellent field to enter. But first, candidates must excel on the Health Occupations Aptitude Exam (HOAE), the Health Occupations Entrance Test, or a similar exam if they want to get into their dream school--and ultimately their dream job. The updated and revised Health Occupations Entrance Exams provides candidates with a study program proven to get results. A wide range of allied health candidates--including dental hygienists, medical assistants, radiographers, and more--will benefit from this guide's review and FOUR practice tests.
DHO Health Science Updated by
The highly respected DIVERSIFIED HEALTH OCCUPATIONS is now DHO HEALTH SCIENCE UPDATED. The Eighth Edition of this trusted text continues to provide an all-in-one resource for introductory coursework in the health science curriculum. Organized in two parts, the text opens with foundational information required to enter a broad range of health professions, including infection control, first aid, legal requirements, and professionalism. The second part covers fundamental entry-level skills for a range of specific careers, including medical assisting, dental assisting, and more. Carefully revised, the updated Eighth Edition includes information on the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, new nutritional guidelines from the U.S. Department of Agriculture, updates that correlate with the enhanced Enhanced National Healthcare Foundation Standards, and more to prepare you for success in today�s high-demand health science careers.
Professionalism in Medical Assisting by
PROFESSIONALISM IN MEDICAL ASSISTING will give students a competitive edge in medical assisting by helping them achieve the level of professionalism that today's medical employers demand. Clear and easy to read, it guides students in working cohesively as team members, treating all patients with respect and kindness, and behaving with a strong moral and ethical compass. Chapters are organized to flow in succession for medical assistants who are completing classroom training, progressing into externships, and then seeking to enter the field. Case studies and role-play scenarios have been carefully crafted to help readers develop critical thinking skills, anticipate challenges, and prepare professional responses.
Study Guide for Jones and Bartlett Learning's Administrative Medical Assisting by
Master your course with the practice and hands-on-activities that will help you get ready for the medical office. In this new edition of Study Guide for Jones & Bartlett Learning's Administrative Medical Assisting, the exercises and activities align with the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) curriculum standards. The Study Guide aligns to the textbook and includes exercises that reinforce the knowledge and skills required of all Medical Assistants.
Kinn's the Administrative Medical Assistant by
Administrative Medical Assisting begins with Kinn! Elsevier's Kinn's The Administrative Medical Assistant, 13th Edition provides you with the real-world administrative skills that are essential to working in the modern medical office. An applied learning approach to the MA curriculum is threaded throughout each chapter to help you further develop the tactile and critical thinking skills necessary in today's healthcare setting. Paired with our adaptive solutions, EHR documentation, ICD-10 coverage and, detailed procedural videos, you will learn the professional and interpersonal skills of modern administrative medical assisting! Professionalism in applicable procedures teaches you how to properly interact with patients and coworkers. Professional behavior boxes provide guidelines on how to interact with patients, families, and coworkers. Step-by-step procedures explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Patient education and legal and ethical issues are described in relation to the Medical Assistant's job. Critical thinking applications test your understanding of the content. Threaded case scenarios help you to apply concepts to realistic administrative situations. Portfolio builder helps you demonstrate proficiency to potential employers. NEW! Chapter on The Health Record reviews how you'll be working with a patient's medical record. NEW! Chapter on Technology in the Medical Office introduces you to the role technology plays in the medical office. NEW! Administrative procedure videos helps you visualize and review key procedures. NEW! Chapter on Competency-Based Education helps you to understand how your mastery of the material will affect your ability to get a job. Basics of Diagnostic Coding prepares you to use ICD-10 coding system.
Study Guide for Kinn's the Administrative Medical Assistant by
Get more practice with the essential medical assisting job skills! Designed to support Kinn's The Administrative Medical Assistant: An Applied Learning Approach, 13th Edition, Kinn's The Administrative Medical Assistant - Study Guide and Procedure Checklist Manual Package: An Applied Learning Approach, 13th Edition offers a wide range of exercises to reinforce your understanding of common administrative skills - including CAAHEP and ABHES competencies. A variety of exercises test your knowledge and critical thinking skills with vocabulary review, multiple choice, fill in the blank, and true/false questions. Additional exercises enhance learning with skills and concepts, word puzzles, case studies, workplace applications, and Internet activities. Procedure checklistshelp you track your performance of every procedure included in the textbook. Work products allow you to provide documentation to instructors and to accrediting organizations when a competency has been mastered. Cross-references tie together exercises in the study guide to the Connections theme in the main text. NEW! Eight procedure checklists based on CAAHEP competencies provide an assessment tool for MA procedures. NEW! Glucometer test results and Mantoux test records allow you to assess how well you're able to perform these procedures. NEW! Coverage of ICD-10 prepares you to use this new code set. NEW! SimChart for the Medical Office Connection ties EHR cases to appropriate chapters.
Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care by
Known for its clear explanations of drug prototypes and how they work, Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care, 9th Edition provides a solid understanding of key drugs and their implications for nursing care. A perennial student favorite, this book simplifies complex concepts, using large and small print to distinguish need-to-know drug content from the material that's merely nice to know. New to this edition are quick-reference summaries of prototype drugs, safety alerts, and a stronger QSEN focus. Written by noted nursing pharmacology instructors Jacqueline Burchum and Laura Rosenthal, this text helps you understand pharmacology as opposed to merely memorizing drug facts. UNIQUE! Engaging writing style with clear explanations makes difficult pharmacology concepts easy to grasp and even enjoyable to learn. Large print highlights essential, need-to-know information, and small print indicates nice-to-know information. A drug prototype approach focuses on one representative drug within each drug family that characterizes all members of its group, so that you can apply your understanding to related drugs currently on the market as well as drugs that will be released in the future. Nursing implications of drug therapy are integrated throughout the text and summarized at the end of chapters, demonstrating the vital relationship between drug therapy and nursing care. Reader-friendly features make learning easier with concise drug summary tables, chapter outlines, key points, and a visual guide to the prototype drugs in each class. Learning resources on an Evolve companion website include video clips, animations, case studies, and NCLEX® exam-style review questions. Coverage of dietary supplements and herbal remedies describes potential dangerous interactions between prescribed and over-the-counter drugs and dietary supplements. NEW! QSEN focus includes Patient-Centered Care Across the Life Span features highlighting safe and appropriate patient care during different phases of life. NEW Safety Alert features emphasize the QSEN competency relating to patient safety. NEW! Prototype Drugs features serve as a quick-reference aid to learning. NEW! Chapter outlines include page numbers to help you locate topics quickly. UPDATED Special Interest Topic boxes use engaging vignettes to focus on emerging and currently trending issues in pharmacology. NEW authors continue Dr. Lehne's clear, unique writing style, with the same accuracy and state-of-the-science updates.
Essentials of Pharmacology for Health Professions by
Best-selling ESSENTIALS OF PHARMACOLOGY FOR HEALTH PROFESSIONS, 8e is the ideal resource to help you prepare for licensed practical nursing, medical assisting, and other allied health careers. Focusing on "need to know" drug information, it gives you the confidence to master pharmacology. Extremely reader friendly, this clear, concise book simplifies material into engaging and manageable chapters. By stressing clinical application, it also ensures you understand the "why" behind what you learn. Part I provides a solid foundation in basic pharmacologic principles. Part II covers drugs, sources, legal concerns, and medical uses. Chapters organize drugs by classifications and include their purpose, side effects, interactions, and precautions or contraindications. Patient education is highlighted for each category, while numerous reference tables help pull everything together for you by listing the most commonly prescribed drugs, dosages, available forms, and special considerations.
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy by
Calculate correct dosages with safety and confidence, with the easy-to-follow nursing expertise of Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy! 5th edition . This fully illustrated guide offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes, with numerous practice exercises and seasoned guidance on interpreting drug orders accurately. Understand class materials more fully, get ready for the NCLEX or certification exam, or refresh your calculation skills with this enjoyable, colorful text. Your Incredible Easy editors know from experience that learning the basics isn't always easy so you'll find full coverage of topics including: o math basics such as fractions, decimals, and percentages o measurement systems and conversions o calculating oral, topical, liquid, and rectal drug dosages o calculating parenteral injections and IV infusions o calculating pediatric, obstetric, and critical care dosages o recording drug administration An easy-reference format with clearly worded, bulleted content demonstrated with numerous photos, illustrations, and diagrams will give you step-by-step direction on: o calculating dosages of all kinds o starting an infusion, including IV guidelines o choosing administration equipment o dealing with poor handwriting o understanding medication labels and drug Abbreviations o avoiding common drug errors Plus, you'll get all of the learning aids, tips, and tricks that nurses have come to expect from the books in the Incredibly Easy series: * Full-color inserts include: improving patient safety by using infusion devices; the anatomy of a medication label * Appendices include: multiple choice Q&A; drug therapy conversions chart; dosage calculation formulas table; glossary with key terms and definitions * Before you give that drug! - Crucial advice on avoiding medication errors * Advice from the experts - Tips on ensuring accurate dosages * For math phobics only - Hints, tips, and drawings to help you dissolve math obstacles * Dosage drill - Real-life clinical dosage situations to practice your calculation skills on * Memory jogger - Fortifies content with easy-to-remember tips and formulas * Quick quiz - Questions with answers/explanations at end of every chapter to help you remember vital points
Calculate with Confidence by
Learn the three major methods of drug calculation! Calculate with Confidence, 7th Edition focuses on the increasing responsibility of the nurse in medication administration, prioritizes client safety with QSEN, and includes updated content that reflects the current scope of practice. This popular text covers the ratio and proportion, formula, and dimensional analysis methods offering a step-by-step approach to the calculation and administration of drug dosages. With over 2,100 practice problems, this comprehensive title focuses on enhancing the learning experience of nursing students at all curricular levels by making content clinically applicable. Over 2000 practice problems include pre-test and comprehensive post-test review Pre-test Basic Math, Comprehensive Unit and Basic Math review tests allows you a three-part approach to evaluate your understanding of basic math material covered in Unit 1, directing you to review chapters if you miss any of these test questions. UPDATED Medication Administration chapter includes medication safety, expansion of discussion on client rights, the basic six rights of medication administration, and routes of medication administration. Chapter review problems and answer key tests all major topics presented in the chapter and enables you to assess understanding of chapter content. Safety Alert boxes highlight issues that may lead to mediation errors and empower you to identify actions that must be taken to avoid calculation errors. NEW! Content additions and updates includes word problems involving dosages, Critical Thinking Scenarios, a discussion of the concepts regarding safety issues with medication administration and calculation, plus significant updates in the insulin, critical care, parenteral medication, and heparin chapters. NEW! A-Z medication index references page numbers where the drug labels can be found. NEW! Medication labels recently added to the market highlights new and updated information relevant to practice.
Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference by
Put the most trusted name in nursing in your hands. Mosby's 2020 Nursing Drug Reference is a full-color portable nursing drug handbook that makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs that nurses administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled in the text and on the free app - including 20-30 new entries for drugs and drug therapies recently approved by the FDA. Plus, no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, Safety Alerts for situations requiring special attention, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects of 50 common drug classes. This 33rd edition proves once again why Mosby's is the bestselling drug reference for nurses on the market! Coverage of more than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs provides information for almost every drug a student is likely to encounter in clinicals. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. IV drug administration coverage in bold highlight dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Safety Alert icon highlights the most critical drug interactions and side effects. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Logical, alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Cross-references indicate drug information that may be found in the appendices. NEW! 20-30 added monographs provide up-to-date content on newly released, FDA-approved drugs and drug therapies. NEW! More than 20 new Evolve-only drug monographs added to the existing Evolve-only drug monographs. NEW! Numerous herbal drug monographs included on Evolve site.
Lippincott Williams and Wilkins' Comprehensive Medical Assisting by
Designed to ensure that every medical assisting graduate can quickly trade a cap and gown for a set of scrubs, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' Comprehensive Medical Assisting, Fifth Edition is more than just a textbook - it's an engaging, dynamic suite of learning resources designed to train medical assisting students in the administrative and clinical skills they'll need in today's rapidly changing health care environment. The Fifth Edition includes a full chapter on Emergency Preparedness, new in-book role playing activities, and an expanded array of online resources. We're pleased to offer case studies, skills videos, and animations as part of our ancillary suite.
Lippincott Williams and Wilkins' Clinical Medical Assisting by
Designed to ensure that every medical assisting graduate can quickly trade a cap and gown for a set of scrubs, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' Clinical Medical Assisting , Fifth Edition is more than just a textbook - it's an engaging, dynamic suite of learning resources designed to train medical assisting students in the clinical skills they'll need in today's rapidly changing health care environment.The Fifth Edition includes a full chapter on Emergency Preparedness, new in-book role playing activities, and an expanded array of online resources. We're pleased to continue to offer case studies, skills videos, and animations.
Medical Assistant Study Guide by
Introducing our updated for 2021 Medical Assistant Study Guide: Exam Prep Book with Practice Test Questions for the RMA (Registered) & CMA (Certified) Examinations Ascencia Test Prep's brand new, unofficial Medical Assistant Study Guide offers you current examples, graphics, and information relevant to your healthcare career. And, unlike other other study guides on the market, you'll benefit from a quick yet total review of everything on the exam There's more: imagine having your test prep materials on your phone or tablet Ascencia Test Prep's Medical Assistant Study Guide comes with FREE online flash cards, study "cheat" sheets, and 35 test tips, all available online. These easy to use materials will give you the edge you need to pass your exam the first time. The American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Ascencia Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Ascencia Test Prep's Medical Assistant Study Guide offers you a full review of the subjects covered on the medical assistant exam, test tips and strategies, real-world examples, and worked through practice problems. Our book covers: Psychology and CommunicationLegal and Ethical ResponsibilitiesReceptionThe Business EnvironmentFinancesAnatomy and PhysiologyInfection ControlPatient Intake and ExaminationSpecimens and Diagnostic TestingPharmacologyEmergency ManagementMedical Terminology ... and also includes a FULL practice test, so that you will be ready on test day. About Ascencia Test Prep With healthcare fields such as nursing, pharmacy, emergency care, and physical therapy becoming the fastest and largest growing industries in the United States, individuals looking to enter the healthcare industry or rise in their field need high quality, reliable resources. Ascencia Test Prep's study guides and test preparation materials are developed by credentialed, industry professionals with years of experience in their respective fields. Every Ascencia book includes a comprehensive overview of the content knowledge that will be tested, along with practice questions for each section to enhance understanding. Full practice tests at the end of every book accurately reflect the exam, helping test takers determine if they are thoroughly prepared. Additionally, all Ascencia study materials offer exclusive tips from healthcare professionals to help readers thrive in their field beyond test day. Ascencia recognizes that healthcare professionals nurture bodies and spirits, and save lives. Ascencia Test Prep's mission is to help healthcare workers grow.
Mosby's Textbook for Long-Term Care Nursing Assistants by
Mosby's Textbook for Long-Term Care Nursing Assistants clearly and comprehensively addresses current responsibilities of the nursing assistant working in a long-term care setting. Written at a 7th grade reading level, in an appealing visual format, this text addresses the needs of learners of all levels. More than 100 procedures provide clear instructions for completing skills in manageable segments for easier learning. The newly updated companion CD contains over 25 animated procedures with exercises and an audio glossary to assist the multi-modal learner. 7th grade reading level promotes comprehension in all levels of learners including ESL students. OBRA and CMS content highlights OBRA and CMS requirements for providing care. Quality-of-Life boxes in each chapter and content throughout reinforce the importance of promoting residents' rights and enhancing the quality of life while providing care. Over 100 procedures with detailed step-by-step instructions for completing nursing assistant skills in manageable segments for easier learning. NNAAP certification exam icons alert you to skills tested on the National Nurse Aide Assessment Program and state certification exams. Promotion Safety and Comfort boxes offer guidelines for practicing safe and effective care to enhance patient safety and comfort. Residents with Dementia boxes provide specific considerations for safe and effective care of residents with dementia that help you meet the special needs of residents with dementia. Focus on Rehabilitation boxes clarify considerations and insights about rehabilitation and restorative care. Delegation Guidelines boxes highlight nursing assistant responsibilities for delegated tasks to better prepare you to deliver safe and effective care. Caring About Culture boxes illustrate examples of cultural and ethnic beliefs and customs to help you become a more sensitive care provider. Focus on Communication boxes emphasize importance of good communication and provide practical tips to help you communicate more effectively and confidently. Teamwork and Time Management boxes supply specific guidelines to help nursing assistants provide excellent, efficient care and cooperation among members of health care team. NEW! Video clip icons in the procedures alert you to video clips on the accompanying Evolve site to enhance your learning from the brand-new edition of Mosby's Nursing Assistant Video Skills. Procedure icons next to content headings alert you to related procedures. Review questions at the end of each chapter help you evaluate learning. NEW! Time to Reflect boxes present realistic practice setting situations nursing assistants face that help you build critical thinking skills while applying chapter concepts. NEW! Updated nutrition, emergency and safety content offers new guidelines in diets, choking and cardiopulmonary resuscitation. NEW! Updated Spanish Vocabulary and Phrases audio glossary supplies Spanish pronunciation of common English phrases used in the healthcare setting. NEW! Updated companion CD with over 25 animated procedures demonstrates the most common procedures in animated form with accompanying exercises and complete audio that reinforces learning with multi-modal learners. NEW! Pocket-sized clinical reference card equips you with easy access to common abbreviations, normal values, 24-hour clock, and common positions.
See more on Medical Assisting in Reserves and eBooks
Delmar's Comprehensive Medical Assisting by
In today's dynamic health care environment, medical assistants are playing an increasingly important role. DELMAR'S COMPREHENSIVE MEDICAL ASSISTING: ADMINISTRATIVE AND CLINICAL COMPETENCIES, Fifth Edition, helps you gain the knowledge and skills needed to succeed in this rewarding, rapidly growing field. Known for its thorough coverage, extensive technical detail, and accurate, up-to-date content, this proven book covers clinical tasks such as taking patients' medical histories, recording vital signs, explaining procedures, and assisting care providers during exams, as well as administrative duties including managing patient information, electronic medical records (EMR), insurance documentation, billing, and bookkeeping. In addition, chapter material and learning objectives are clearly mapped to ABHES, CAAHEP, and MAERB competencies, with an increased focus on professionalism and personal effectiveness, to help you hone practical, real-world skills and prepare for certification. The guide also supports effective learning with a variety of online resources to help you make the most of your study time, including interactive quizzes for self-assessment and the popular Critical Thinking Challenge application.
Clinical Medical Assisting an Introduction to the Fundamentals of Practice by
Clinical Medical Assisting: An Introduction to the Fundamentals of Practice is a complete resource for clinical medical assistant training. This comprehensive, accessible text provides a thorough education to prepare medical assistant students for clinical practice.
For more on Clinical Skills see eBooks and Reserves.
Medical Office Professionals by
Welcome to medical office professional careers If you are interested in a career in the medical office professional field, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much money can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers eight main areas of the medical office professionals field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Nurse Practitioner -Physician Assistant -Medical Records and Health Information Technologist -Optometrist -Pharmacy Technician -Phlebotomist -Sonographer -Surgical Technologist
SimChart for the Medical Office: Learning the Medical Office Workflow - 2019 Edition by
Get a hands-on introduction to the medical office electronic health record! Learning the Medical Office Workflow, 2019 Edition provides clear, step-by-step instructions to all of the medical assisting simulations in SimChart® for the Medical Office (SCMO), Elsevier's fully educationally designed simulated electronic health record (EHR). You'll become acclimated to these simulations by completing more than 50 hours of practice tasks that address essential ABHES and CAAHEP competencies - that's more practice than any other electronic health record education tool on the market. This procedure manual uses screen shots and best practices to make it easier for you to work through SimChart for the Medical Office tasks and assignments in order to master documentation skills. Intuitive and realistic learning environment provides you with a safe classroom environment for you to develop key documentation skills. UNIQUE! 110 interactive assignments are aligned with 220 ABHES and CAAHEP competencies, from front office skills to clinical skills to practice management skills - providing more than 50 hours of documentation practice, more than any other solution on the market! Step-by-step instructions and accompanying SCMO screen shots help you break down common tasks and learn to work accurately and efficiently. Hands-on practice makes it easier for you to learn core competencies, with tasks simulating the real-world administrative duties of the medical assistant. Medical Assisting administrative duties simulations give you practice managing patient scheduling in a multi-doctor practice, documenting a variety of services, processing insurance claims, posting payments, and much more! Simulation Playground with instructions and screen shots supplement prebuilt assignments to give you unlimited practice with the material. UPDATED! Instructions, steps, and screen shots reflect the most current updates in SCMO. UPDATED! Mapping grids correlate SCMO assignments to current accreditation guidelines from ABHES and CAAHEP.
Law, Liability and Ethics for the Medical Office Professional by
Designed to provide learners with a foundation in medical law and ethics, this book uses case studies from actual legal procedures to illustrate key points of law, interpretation of statutes, as well as ethical dilemmas. This newly revised edition helps the medical office professional interact with the legal profession, recognize when they need legal advice, and protect their employers from medical malpractice complaints. In addition to understanding their rights as an employee, the rights of the patient are explored, as well.
Phlebotomy by
Phlebotomy: From Student to Professional has been completely revised to include the latest trends in basic blood specimen collection procedures; non-blood collection procedures; and specimen handling. Soft skills are emphasized throughout to prepare students for a career in phlebotomy.
Phlebotomy by
With a storyboard format and full-color illustrations, Phlebotomy: Worktext and Procedures Manual describes all aspects of phlebotomy, with complete coverage of equipment, safety procedures, arterial blood gases, point-of-care testing, and practical phlebotomy skills. Procedures are outlined in a detailed storyboard format, pairing steps with full-color photos to help you understand the equipment and techniques such as venipuncture, dermal puncture, arterial blood collection, and special procedures. Written by Robin Warekois and Richard Robinson, this book also includes workbook sections for review, study questions, competency checklists, and a mock certification exam providing effective preparation for the phlebotomy certification exam. A detailed, storyboard format outlines common procedures, with steps accompanied by new full-color photos. Study and certification exam preparation questions in each chapter help you review and remember the material. A mock certification exam in the appendix mirrors the format of the actual phlebotomy certification exam, allowing you to review for the exam with 150 multiple-choice questions. Competency Checklists at the end of the book summarize the most critical and important steps in phlebotomy procedures. Clinical scenarios and tips encourage you apply your knowledge to real-life challenges in the workplace. Student resources on an Evolve companion website include a pre-test, animations, a new procedural video collection, interactive exercises, a mock certification exam, and an audio glossary. An anatomy and physiology section offers illustrated, in-depth information on body systems. A perforated bookmark on the back cover serves as a quick, portable reminder of which stopper tops to use for various diagnostic tests. Flashbacks and Flashforwards provide a cross reference to related information in previous or upcoming chapters. NEW video collection on the Evolve companion website demonstrates how critical procedures are performed. NEW photos have been added, in addition to new content on professionalism and HIPAA, equipment, and technology. NEW! Avoid That Error scenarios help you develop critical thinking skills and provide helpful tips on resolving problematic situations.
Phlebotomy Study Guide for Certification by
Introducing our updated for 2021 Phlebotomy Study Guide for Certification: Exam Review Book with Practice Test Questions for the ASCP BOC Phlebotomy Technician Examination Ascencia Test Prep's brand new, unofficial Phlebotomy Study Guide for Certification offers you current examples, graphics, and information relevant to your healthcare career. And, unlike other other study guides on the market, you'll benefit from a quick yet total review of everything on the exam There's more: imagine having your test prep materials on your phone or tablet Ascencia Test Prep's Phlebotomy Study Guide for Certification comes with FREE practice questions, online flash cards, study "cheat" sheets, and 35 test tips, all available online. These easy to use materials will give you the edge you need to pass your exam the first time. The American Society for Clinical Pathology was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Ascencia Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Ascencia Test Prep's Phlebotomy Study Guide for Certification offers you a full review of the subjects covered on the phlebotomy exam, test tips and strategies, real-world examples, and worked through practice problems. Our book covers: Anatomy and PhysiologyBlood Specimen CollectionNon-Blood Specimen CollectionSpecimen, Handling and ProcessingLaboratory Operations ... and also includes 2 FULL practice tests, so that you will be ready on test day. About Ascencia Test Prep With healthcare fields such as nursing, pharmacy, emergency care, and physical therapy becoming the fastest and largest growing industries in the United States, individuals looking to enter the healthcare industry or rise in their field need high quality, reliable resources. Ascencia Test Prep's study guides and test preparation materials are developed by credentialed, industry professionals with years of experience in their respective fields. Every Ascencia book includes a comprehensive overview of the content knowledge that will be tested, along with practice questions for each section to enhance understanding. Full practice tests at the end of every book accurately reflect the exam, helping test takers determine if they are thoroughly prepared. Additionally, all Ascencia study materials offer exclusive tips from healthcare professionals to help readers thrive in their field beyond test day. Ascencia recognizes that healthcare professionals nurture bodies and spirits, and save lives. Ascencia Test Prep's mission is to help healthcare workers grow.
The Lab Draw Answer Book by
PRODUCT DETAILSAnswers to hundreds of commonly asked questions on drawing blood samples for laboratory testing. This essential desk reference for laboratory and nursing personnel is the second edition is completely updated with over 100 new entries to reflect the revised CLSI venipuncture standard and the Standards of Practice by the Infusion Nurses Society. Culled from the thousands of questions the Center for Phlebotomy Education has been asked over the years, this reference is a must-have for anyone who performs, teaches, trains, or supervises phlebotomy.
Rapid Interpretation of EKG's by
The reader's rapid assimilation of medical concepts is the key to the continuing success of this best-selling book. A caption explains the concept illustrated on each page, and a few simple sentences reinforce the concept with interactive (programmed) learning, which links to the following page. Dr Dubin's light and entertaining style, known world-wide, makes learning enjoyable. Practice twelve-lead tracings at the end establish self-confidence, and summarised reference sheets with examples (designed to be copied) provide an excellent review. Most recently updated in February 2006.
EKGs for the Nurse Practitioner and Physician Assistant by
Delivering succinct, clear explanations to help students easily grasp key concepts, this book provides a comprehensive, multifaceted approach to EKG interpretation for nurse practitioner and physician assistant students, as well as practicing clinicians who need a quick refresher. The second edition retains the book's systematic, physiologic approach that trains readers to follow the same steps in evaluating each EKG. It negates the need for rote memorization by facilitating a genuine understanding of EKG interpretation. Using the patient's presenting symptoms as a starting point, abundant clinical scenarios demonstrate real-life applications for interpreting EKG readings. With scores of figures and tables and more than 200 EKG tracings, this resource delivers everything physician assistants and nurse practitioners need to provide expert, quality care to their patients. New to the Second Edition: Nearly 50 new EKG tracings and accompanying case studies Basic review of clinical conditions related to common EKG abnormalities New end-of-chapter review questions to help students summarize their learning More complex clinical cases to further challenge the student and increase proficiency in EKG interpretation Additional diagnostic findings in atrial enlargement, bundle branch blocks, and ventricular hypertrophy Updated chapter contrasting premature ventricular contractions with premature atrial contractions PowerPoint supplement of case studies with EKGs and teaching points for instructors
EKG/ECG Interpretation: Everything You Need to Know about the 12-Lead ECG/EKG Interpretation and How to Diagnose and Treat Arrhythmias by
EKG / ECG Interpretation It's no secret, every healthcare provider should be able to read ECGs at least to some degree. Whether your goal is to become an EMT, doctor, or a nurse -- the skill of being able to read and understand ECGs is highly important in the medical field. Over 100 different medical conditions and cardiac arrhythmias explained. Multiple-choice questions after each chapter. The purpose of this EKG book is to serve as a reference manual and a comprehensive study guide that simplifies the process of learning EKGs. It's a great alternative to the thicker and more expensive EKG books if want a quick recap, or if you are just starting out and you want an overview. By focusing on the most important conditions -- common arrhythmias, the pathophysiology behind them, and the different treatment options -- this book goes to great lengths in simplifying the process of understanding EKGs. You will be able to diagnose and treat different cardiovascular conditions ranging from atrial fibrillation to myocardial infarction. We will cover the fundamental concepts and important principles for each disease -- this is especially important to know in the clinical settings of emergency medicine and cardiology. After each chapter you will find multiple-choice questions so that you can test your knowledge. This book a great tool to have for those in medical, nursing, and paramedic school or anyone who plans to become a health professional. Many students are also ordering this book as a complement to their ACLS or EMT book! With that many medical books to choose from, it can be hard to decide which one to buy. This book focuses on the readability aspect, making it a very easy read for anybody. It is divided into chapters, and since the addition of multiple choice questions, the reader now has the possibility to practice and test what they have learned from previous chapters. The answers to these questions can be found at the very end of the book. With this book you will: * ..Be able to interpret electrocardiography * ..Understand the pathophysiology of arrhythmias * ..Be able to teach ECG to your friends * ..Be able to test your knowledge with multiple choice questions Go to the top-right of the page and click "Add to Cart"
Linne and Ringsrud's Clinical Laboratory Science by
Updated and easy-to-use, Linne & Ringsrud's Clinical Laboratory Science: The Basics and Routine Techniques, 6th Edition delivers a fundamental overview of the laboratory skills and techniques essential for success in your classes and your career. Author Mary Louise Turgeon's simple, straightforward writing clarifies complex concepts, and a discipline-by-discipline approach helps you build the knowledge to confidently perform clinical laboratory tests and ensure accurate, effective results. Hands-on procedures guide you through the exact steps you'll perform in the lab. Review questions at the end of each chapter help you assess your understanding and identify areas requiring additional study. A broad scope makes this text an ideal introduction to clinical laboratory science at various levels, including CLS/MT, CLT/MLT, and Medical Assisting, and reflects the taxonomy levels of the CLS/MT and CLT/MLT exams. Detailed full-color illustrations show what you will see under the microscope. An Evolve companion website provides convenient online access to all of the procedures in the text, a glossary, audio glossary, and links to additional information. Case studies include critical thinking and multiple-choice questions, providing the opportunity to apply content to real-life scenarios. Learning objectives help you study more effectively and provide measurable outcomes to achieve by completing the material. Streamlined approach makes it easier to learn the most essential information on individual disciplines in clinical lab science. Experienced author, speaker, and educator Mary Lou Turgeon is well known for providing insight into the rapidly changing field of clinical laboratory science. Convenient glossary makes it easy to look up definitions without having to search through each chapter. NEW! Procedure worksheets have been added to most chapters; perforated pages make it easy for students to remove for use in the lab and for assignment of review questions as homework. NEW! Instrumentation updates show new technology being used in the lab. NEW! Additional key terms in each chapter cover need-to-know terminology. NEW! Additional tables and figures in each chapter clarify clinical lab science concepts.
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by
Gain quick access to today's most important diagnostic tests and procedures with Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference, 13th Edition! In this bestselling handbook, concise test entries are arranged alphabetically and reflect the latest in diagnostic testing and research. Each test includes vital information such as alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. To simplify lookup, related tests are cross-referenced. From the expert author team of Kathleen, Timothy, and Theresa Pagana, this reference offers convenient A-to-Z thumb tabs, a compact size, and a durable cover for everyday use on the job. UNIQUE! Each test entry begins on a new page, making tests easy to find. Alphabetically organized tests offer quick reference with A-to-Z thumb tabs, so you'll never have to search for a test by having to first determine its correct category or body system. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Performance provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure, so you can minimize worry about having to repeat a test due to an error. Icon for patient teaching-related care indicates information that should be shared with patients and their families. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows to show increased or decreased test results. Possible critical values are highlighted to alert you to situations requiring immediate intervention. Convenient appendix lists tests by body system and test type, making it easy to quickly locate related studies. Drug interference with test results is indicated by a mortar and pestle icon. Cross-referencing of related tests makes them easy to find. Abbreviations for tests are listed in the front and the back of the book, and symbols and units of measurement are listed in an appendix. A durable cover with rounded edges helps prevent the book from being damaged and makes it easier to handle. NEW test entries include the latest diagnostic tests and laboratory procedures. NEW! Updated coverage reflects the latest research on the diagnostic values of results, accuracy of testing, and patient care and education for each test.
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by
Get the latest research and easy access to today's most important diagnostic and lab tests! Known for its accuracy, currency, and clear, easy-to-use format, Mosby's Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference 14th Edition features concise test entries that are arranged alphabetically and reflect the latest in diagnostic and lab testing and research. This new edition adds 15 tests with vital information such as alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. Plus, all related tests are cross-referenced throughout the book to simplify lookup. A compact size, durable cover, and A-to-Z thumb tabs make this market-leading book ideal for everyday use in the classroom and on the job! Alphabetically organized tests offer quick reference with A-to-Z thumb tabs, so you will never have to search for a test by having to first determine its correct category or body system. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows to show increased or decreased test results. Convenient appendix lists tests by body system and test type, making it easy to quickly locate related studies. A durable cover with rounded edges helps prevent the book from being damaged and makes it easier to handle. Each test entry begins on a new page, making tests easy to find. Possible critical values are highlighted to show situations requiring immediate intervention. Icon for patient teaching-related care indicates information that should be shared with patients and their families. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Performance provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure, so you can minimize worry about having to repeat a test due to an error. Abbreviations for tests are listed in the back of the book, and symbols and units of measurement are listed in an appendix. Cross-referencing of related tests makes them easy to find. NEW! Test entries include the latest diagnostic tests and laboratory procedures, featuring 10 new monographs and 15 additional tests. NEW! Content reflects the latest research on the diagnostic values of results, accuracy of testing, and patient care and education for each test. NEW! Common Reference Ranges section added to the Inside Front Cover material.
Elsevier's Medical Assisting Exam Review by
There's no better way to get ready for your Medical Assisting certification exam! With some 2,500 practice questions and customized online tests, Elsevier's Medical Assisting Exam Review, 5th Edition provides complete preparation for all six certification exams - the CMA, RMA, CMAS, CCMA, CMAA, and CMAC. An illustrated, outline format makes it easy to review key medical assisting concepts and competencies, including anatomy and physiology, medical terminology, diseases and disorders, and administrative and clinical tasks. Written by medical assisting educator Deborah Holmes, this review includes answers and rationales for each question to help you strengthen any weak areas and prepare effectively for your certification exam. UNIQUE! Six certification exams are covered: the CMA (AAMA), RMA (AMT), CMAS (AMT), CCMA (NHA), CMAA (NHT), and CMAC (AMCA). Convenient, easy-to-follow outline format provides at-a-glance review of the subject areas typically found on certification exams for Medical Assisting. Complete test preparation includes three pretests - administrative, clinical, and general - as well as a comprehensive posttest, with answers and rationales for all questions. Study tips and test-taking strategies provide advice and insight into preparing effectively for your certification exam. Hundreds of additional practice questions are included on the Evolve companion website, along with flash cards and A&P animations, to boost your exam readiness and test-taking confidence. NEW! 2,500 questions - including 550 all-new questions - include answers, rationales, and mapping to six exam blueprints (CMA, RMA, CMAS, CCMA, CMAA, and CMAC). NEW content includes coverage of the Affordable Care Act, ICD-10, electronic office systems, vaccination updates, and more. NEW! Online test generator allows you to focus your practice on any topic and to create timed simulated exams. NEW! Records Management chapter tackles both paper management and Electronic Health Records, emphasizing the most up-to-date electronic ways to manage records. UPDATED! High-quality illustrations reinforce your understanding of medical assisting content and include photos of clinical equipment and supplies.
Understanding Health Insurance by
Prepare for a successful career in medical billing and insurance processing or revenue management with Green's UNDERSTANDING HEALTH INSURANCE: A GUIDE TO BILLING AND REIMBURSEMENT, 2020 Edition. This comprehensive, inviting presentation explains the latest medical code sets and coding guidelines as you learn how to complete health care claims and master revenue management concepts. This edition focuses on today�s most important topics, including managed care, legal and regulatory issues, coding systems and compliance, reimbursement methods, clinical documentation improvement, coding for medical necessity, and common health insurance plans. Updates introduce new legislation that impacts health care; ICD-10-CM, CPT, and HCPCS level II coding; revenue cycle management; and individual health plans. Helpful workbook exercises provide application-based assignments and case studies as well as CMRS, CPC-P, and CPB mock exams. In addition, MindTap digital learning tools offer hands-on practice.
Understanding Health Insurance by
Discover the essential tool to prepare for a career in medical insurance billing -- UNDERSTANDING HEALTH INSURANCE, 13E. This comprehensive, easy-to-understand, updated book presents the latest code sets and guidelines. You cover today�s most important topics, such as managed care, legal and regulatory issues, coding systems, reimbursement methods, medical necessity, and common health insurance plans. Updates introduce new legislation that impacts health care, including the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare); ICD-10-CM coding; electronic health records; Medicaid Integrity Contractors; case mix management; hospital-acquired conditions; present on admission; and value-based purchasing. Practice exercises and the workbook (available separately) provides application-based assignments and case studies to reinforce your understanding, as well as CMRS, CPC-P, and CPB Mock Exams. New editions include online access to SimClaim� CMS-1500 claims completion software and Optum�s EncoderPro.com Expert�.
Medical Billing 101 (with Cengage EncoderPro Demo Printed Access Card and Premium Web Site, 2 Terms (12 Months) Printed Access Card) by
Learn the basics of physican-based medical billing with MEDICAL BILLING 101, 2E. Clear and practical guidelines introduce you to the job responsibilities and basic processes in the medical billing world. Case studies and software tools like SimClaim' CMS-1500 software offer you practice on actual forms to build confidence and understanding of the reimbursement process. This easy-to-use guide starts you off on the right path as you begin your journey to becoming a medical billing professional.
Medical Terminology Systems by
Medical Language Lab for Medical Terminology Systems, 8th Edition A word building and body systems approach! A true blend of words, art, and technology, Medical Terminology Systems + The Medical Language Lab work together to create an immersive, multimedia experience that tracks your progress until you've mastered the language of medicine. Medical Terminology Systems, 8th Edition You'll begin by learning the parts of words roots, combining forms, suffixes, and prefixes. Then, use your understanding of word parts to learn medical terminology. Mnemonic devices and engaging, interactive activities make word-building fun and easy, ensuring you retain the information you need for success. See what students are saying about the previous edition... The Right Way to Learn Medical Terminology!"...if I had to be asked again to purchase this book I would do it all over again. Unlike most of my other textbooks that I bought throughout the school year that just sit in the back of my closet collecting dust once the class is over, this book, I still continue to use every day. It definitely helps me out in my anatomy classes and even in some of my biology classes too. Fantastic book!"--Taylor Berlinger Worth the Purchase"I love this book a lot. I am currently using [it] for my college course class on medical terminology. The illustrations are awesome and the breakdown of suffix and prefix format [are] as well."--Jonnita The Medical Language Lab Online. Interactive. Progressive. Based on proven language methodology, The MLL guides you step by step from basic through advanced levels of proficiency to become a confident medical language speaker. A special code in the front of the book unlocks The MLL for you...including an ebook of the text and lecture videos. Instructors can use it with their current learning management system or with its integrated grade book. They can also customize it to meet the needs of their course. Want to learn more? Visit www.medicallanguagelab.com now.
Medical Terminology: a Short Course by
Build a working medical vocabulary quickly with Chabner's Medical Terminology: A Short Course, 9th Edition! Omitting time-consuming, nonessential information, this text helps you master the basics of medical vocabulary - including the most frequently encountered suffixes, prefixes, and word roots. A text/workbook format lets you practice and interact with medical terminology on almost every page through exercises, labeling, and pronunciations. Case studies and real-world vignettes demonstrate how medical terms are used in practice. With all this plus medical animations, word games, and flash cards on the Evolve website, you'll be amazed at how easily medical terminology becomes part of your vocabulary. Easy-to-read and understandable language allows you to quickly grasp and retain medical terminology even if you've had little or no background in biology or medicine. Text/workbook approach reinforces learning every step of the way with exercises, diagram labeling, review sheets, and pronunciation practice throughout the book. Full-color illustrations and photographs show parts of the body, diseases, conditions, and medical procedures. Picture Show activities, medical case reports, and vignettes demonstrate real-life applications of medical terms. First Person narratives help you to understand diseases and conditions from the patient's perspective. Principal Diagnosis feature shows how medical terms are used in clinical practice by asking you to read physician notes about a case and determine the patient's principal diagnosis. Medical Terminology Check Up at the end of each chapter reinforces your understanding of key concepts and easily confused terms. Evolve website includes resources optimized for tablet use, and mobile-optimized versions of the flash cards and quick quizzes make it easier for on-the-go study and review. Body Systems Challenge self-test assesses and reinforces your understanding at your own pace. NEW! Additional case studies provide examples of medical terminology in the context of patient care and procedures. NEW! Immunity and COVID-19 Vaccines appendix features topics of current interest, including infectious disease, cancer treatments, medical technologies, and pharmacology.
Learning Radiology by
A must-have for anyone who will be required to read and interpret common radiologic images, Learning Radiology: Recognizing the Basics is an image-filled, practical, and easy-to-read introduction to key imaging modalities. Skilled radiology teacher William Herring, MD, masterfully covers exactly what you need to know to effectively interpret medical images of all modalities. Learn the latest on ultrasound, MRI, CT, patient safety, dose reduction, radiation protection, and more, in a time-friendly format with brief, bulleted text and abundant high-quality images. Then ensure your mastery of the material with additional online content, bonus images, and self-assessment exercises at Student Consult. Identify a wide range of common and uncommon conditions based upon their imaging findings. Arrive at diagnoses by following a pattern recognition approach, and logically overcome difficult diagnostic challenges with the aid of decision trees. Quickly grasp the fundamentals you need to know through more than 700 images and an easy-to-use format and pedagogy, including: bolding of key points and icons designating special content; Diagnostic Pitfalls; Really, Really Important Points; Weblinks; and Take-Home Points. Gauge your mastery of the material and build confidence with extra images, bonus content, interactive self-assessment exercises, and USMLE-style Q&A that provide effective chapter review and quick practice for your exams. Apply the latest recommendations on patient safety, dose reduction and radiation protection Benefit from the extensive knowledge and experience of esteemed author Dr. William Herring-a skilled radiology teacher and the host of his own specialty website, www.learningradiology.com. Stay current in the latest advancements and developments with meticulous updates throughout including a new chapter on Pediatric Radiology as well as more than 60 new and updated photos, many highlighting newer imaging modalities. Maximize your learning experience with interactive Student Consult extras videos/images of 3D images, functional imaging examinations, dynamic studies, and additional assessments. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Introduction to Radiologic and Imaging Sciences and Patient Care by
Learn the professional and patient care skills you need for clinical practice! Using a clear and concise format, Introduction to Radiologic Sciences and Patient Care, 6th Edition meets the standards set by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) Curriculum Guide and the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) Task List for certification examinations. Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation provide you with the important information you need for clinical success. Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and on tear sheets in the text give you easy access to on-the-go learning. Step-by-step procedures presented in boxed lists throughout the text ensure you are well prepared for clinical success. More than 300 photos and line drawings help you understand and visualize patient-care procedures. Back of book review questions provide you with an opportunity for review and greater challenge. NEW and UPDATED! Updates on current digital imaging and instrumentation give you the important information you need for clinical success. NEW! Patient care video clips illustrate how to care for patients of any age. NEW! Chapter review questions and lab activities available online and as tear sheets in the text offer easy access to on-the-go chapter review and lab activities. NEW and UPDATED! Appendices containing practice standards, professional organizations, state licensing agencies, the ARRT code of ethics and patient care partnership prepare you for what you will encounter in the practice environment.
Lippincott Williams and Wilkins' Clinical Medical Assisting by
Designed to ensure that every medical assisting graduate can quickly trade a cap and gown for a set of scrubs, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins' Clinical Medical Assisting , Fifth Edition is more than just a textbook - it's an engaging, dynamic suite of learning resources designed to train medical assisting students in the clinical skills they'll need in today's rapidly changing health care environment.The Fifth Edition includes a full chapter on Emergency Preparedness, new in-book role playing activities, and an expanded array of online resources. We're pleased to continue to offer case studies, skills videos, and animations.
Linne and Ringsrud's Clinical Laboratory Science by
Updated and easy-to-use, Linne & Ringsrud's Clinical Laboratory Science: The Basics and Routine Techniques, 6th Edition delivers a fundamental overview of the laboratory skills and techniques essential for success in your classes and your career. Author Mary Louise Turgeon's simple, straightforward writing clarifies complex concepts, and a discipline-by-discipline approach helps you build the knowledge to confidently perform clinical laboratory tests and ensure accurate, effective results. Hands-on procedures guide you through the exact steps you'll perform in the lab. Review questions at the end of each chapter help you assess your understanding and identify areas requiring additional study. A broad scope makes this text an ideal introduction to clinical laboratory science at various levels, including CLS/MT, CLT/MLT, and Medical Assisting, and reflects the taxonomy levels of the CLS/MT and CLT/MLT exams. Detailed full-color illustrations show what you will see under the microscope. An Evolve companion website provides convenient online access to all of the procedures in the text, a glossary, audio glossary, and links to additional information. Case studies include critical thinking and multiple-choice questions, providing the opportunity to apply content to real-life scenarios. Learning objectives help you study more effectively and provide measurable outcomes to achieve by completing the material. Streamlined approach makes it easier to learn the most essential information on individual disciplines in clinical lab science. Experienced author, speaker, and educator Mary Lou Turgeon is well known for providing insight into the rapidly changing field of clinical laboratory science. Convenient glossary makes it easy to look up definitions without having to search through each chapter. NEW! Procedure worksheets have been added to most chapters; perforated pages make it easy for students to remove for use in the lab and for assignment of review questions as homework. NEW! Instrumentation updates show new technology being used in the lab. NEW! Additional key terms in each chapter cover need-to-know terminology. NEW! Additional tables and figures in each chapter clarify clinical lab science concepts.
Medical Office Professionals by
Welcome to medical office professional careers If you are interested in a career in the medical office professional field, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much money can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers eight main areas of the medical office professionals field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Nurse Practitioner -Physician Assistant -Medical Records and Health Information Technologist -Optometrist -Pharmacy Technician -Phlebotomist -Sonographer -Surgical Technologist
SimChart for the Medical Office: Learning the Medical Office Workflow - 2019 Edition by
Get a hands-on introduction to the medical office electronic health record! Learning the Medical Office Workflow, 2019 Edition provides clear, step-by-step instructions to all of the medical assisting simulations in SimChart® for the Medical Office (SCMO), Elsevier's fully educationally designed simulated electronic health record (EHR). You'll become acclimated to these simulations by completing more than 50 hours of practice tasks that address essential ABHES and CAAHEP competencies - that's more practice than any other electronic health record education tool on the market. This procedure manual uses screen shots and best practices to make it easier for you to work through SimChart for the Medical Office tasks and assignments in order to master documentation skills. Intuitive and realistic learning environment provides you with a safe classroom environment for you to develop key documentation skills. UNIQUE! 110 interactive assignments are aligned with 220 ABHES and CAAHEP competencies, from front office skills to clinical skills to practice management skills - providing more than 50 hours of documentation practice, more than any other solution on the market! Step-by-step instructions and accompanying SCMO screen shots help you break down common tasks and learn to work accurately and efficiently. Hands-on practice makes it easier for you to learn core competencies, with tasks simulating the real-world administrative duties of the medical assistant. Medical Assisting administrative duties simulations give you practice managing patient scheduling in a multi-doctor practice, documenting a variety of services, processing insurance claims, posting payments, and much more! Simulation Playground with instructions and screen shots supplement prebuilt assignments to give you unlimited practice with the material. UPDATED! Instructions, steps, and screen shots reflect the most current updates in SCMO. UPDATED! Mapping grids correlate SCMO assignments to current accreditation guidelines from ABHES and CAAHEP.
Kinn's the Administrative Medical Assistant by
Administrative Medical Assisting begins with Kinn! Elsevier's Kinn's The Administrative Medical Assistant, 13th Edition provides you with the real-world administrative skills that are essential to working in the modern medical office. An applied learning approach to the MA curriculum is threaded throughout each chapter to help you further develop the tactile and critical thinking skills necessary in today's healthcare setting. Paired with our adaptive solutions, EHR documentation, ICD-10 coverage and, detailed procedural videos, you will learn the professional and interpersonal skills of modern administrative medical assisting! Professionalism in applicable procedures teaches you how to properly interact with patients and coworkers. Professional behavior boxes provide guidelines on how to interact with patients, families, and coworkers. Step-by-step procedures explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Patient education and legal and ethical issues are described in relation to the Medical Assistant's job. Critical thinking applications test your understanding of the content. Threaded case scenarios help you to apply concepts to realistic administrative situations. Portfolio builder helps you demonstrate proficiency to potential employers. NEW! Chapter on The Health Record reviews how you'll be working with a patient's medical record. NEW! Chapter on Technology in the Medical Office introduces you to the role technology plays in the medical office. NEW! Administrative procedure videos helps you visualize and review key procedures. NEW! Chapter on Competency-Based Education helps you to understand how your mastery of the material will affect your ability to get a job. Basics of Diagnostic Coding prepares you to use ICD-10 coding system.
Essentials of Human Diseases and Conditions by
Get a firm grasp of disease and disease process as it relates to your job with Essentials of Human Diseases and Conditions, 6th Edition. Perfectly tailored to the needs to today's medical assistants, this unique text uses simple language and an abundance of learning features as it walks readers through the disease pathology of over 500 common patient conditions. This new sixth edition includes new diseases and conditions, new illustrations, ICD-10-CM codes for every condition, and new critical thinking questions to keep readers up-to-date on the latest pathology topics while helping them apply concepts from the text to clinical practice. Tenth grade reading level utilizes very approachable language to make the text content easy to digest. Enrichment boxes relate disease information to everyday practice. ICD-10-CM codes for each disease give readers ample practice looking up codes in ICD-10-CM. Current information on the most commonly encountered clinical disorders is presented in small segments for easier understanding. Full-color illustrations clarify difficult concepts. Consistent format for all diseases entries walks readers through each step of patient care and treatment, including: Description Symptoms and Signs Patient Screening Etiology Diagnosis Treatment Prognosis Prevention Patient Teaching Pharmacology appendix details drug names, therapeutic objectives, side effects, and general comments for commonly prescribed drugs. Alerts highlight safety precautions for physician-based practice. Review Challenges reinforce content and reveal areas requiring additional study. Real-life Challenges test readers' ability to apply chapter content to real-world cases. NEW! Additional diseases and conditions have been added throughout the text to keep readers up to date on the types of diseases and conditions they will encounter on the job. NEW! Critical thinking questions provide additional opportunities for readers to critically apply the concepts covered in the text.
Human Diseases and Conditions by
Designed primarily for use by high school students and young adults in the general population seeking authoritative health information, Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd ed. is the revised and updated edition of Charles Scribnerâ??s Sonsâ?? well received Human Diseases and Conditions (2009). Offering in-depth coverage of all areas of health and disease, Human Diseases and Conditions, 3rd ed. offers current and accurate information on approximately 450 diseases and conditions. This edition includes nearly 75 new and 360 completely reviewed and revised articles. The topics covered include infectious diseases, many cancers, chronic and acute physical and psychological conditions, newly emerging and reemerging diseases, public health issues, and issues of interest to the young adult audience (eating disorders, sports injuries, growth, and puberty). Behavioral health is covered as thoroughly as physical health. In addition, the comprehensiveness of 425 photos, informative illustrations, and charts thoroughly enhances the already-rich textual information. A glossary of key terms, bibliography, list of organizations, and a comprehensive two-level subject index is also included.
Human Diseases by
Designed specifically for future allied health professionals, HUMAN DISEASES, 5e delivers everything you need to know about the diseases and disorders health care providers see and treat the most. Making pathology fully accessible, this best seller is packed with the most current research available and reflects the latest practices from the field. Following a basic review of anatomy and physiology, chapters present each disease's description, etiology, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention as well as detailed, full-color photos to ensure your thorough understanding. The fifth edition covers emerging disorders, ICD-10 progress, pharmacology concerns, herbal and nontraditional remedies, current statistics, and much more. In addition, real-life cases and interactive learning tools give you hands-on experience putting what you learn into practice.
Introductory Clinical Pharmacology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Known for its impeccably accurate drug content and proven nursing process approach, Introductory Clinical Pharmacology, 12th Edition, is developed by nurses for nurses, delivering the pharmacologic foundation and clinical judgment skills essential for success on the NCLEX-PN® and in today's nursing practice. Written with client outcomes in mind, this bestselling text not only helps students learn about drugs and their effects on real people, but also teaches students how to effectively relay this information to clients. Straightforward, simplified language makes complex concepts accessible, and a focus on practical application ultimately strengthens adherence to treatment strategies for optimal client outcomes. The extensively updated 12th Edition reflects the latest approaches to basic principles and the nurse's role in medication management, including in-depth coverage of the drug approval process, drug administration, the use of drugs in pain management, and more. Accompanied by powerful online resources -- such as videos, NCLEX-PN-style review questions, and drug monographs -- it's the perfect resource to hone students' critical thinking and problem-solving skills and prepare them for clinical success.
Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care by
With a clear explanation of drug prototypes and how they work, Lehne's Pharmacology for Nursing Care, 10th Edition gives you the background you need to understand drugs currently on the market, and those not yet released. This perennial favorite of students and teachers simplifies complex concepts while distinguishing need-to-know content from the material that's merely nice to know. The 10th edition includes updated drug content to reflect the very latest FDA approvals, withdrawals, and therapeutic uses, as well as corresponding updated nursing content. It also includes an updated prototype drugs section, summarizing their major uses, and an updated table detailing care throughout the lifespan of the patient. Additionally, each chapter ends with a nursing implications summary to help you fully understand the material and apply it to clinical nursing practice. Prototype Drugs features serve as a quick-reference learning aid so you can apply your understanding to related drugs currently on the market as well as drugs that will be released in the future. UNIQUE! Engaging writing style with clear explanations makes difficult pharmacology concepts easy to grasp and even enjoyable to learn. Nursing implications of drug therapy are integrated throughout the text to reinforce the integral relationship between drug therapy and nursing care. UPDATED Special Interest Topic boxes focus on currently trending issues in pharmacology, eliminating out-of-date content. Large print highlights essential, need-to-know information, and small print indicates nice-to-know information. QSEN focus includes Patient-Centered Care Across the Life Span features highlighting safe and appropriate patient care during different phases of life. Safety Alert features emphasize the QSEN competency relating to patient safety. Student-friendly features make learning easier with concise drug summary tables, chapter outlines, key points, and a visual guide to the prototype drugs in each class. Concise drug summary tables present detailed information for individual drugs, including drug class, generic and trade names, dosages, routes, and indications. Selected Canadian drug names are indicated with a maple-leaf icon throughout the text. Separate Bioterrorism chapter discusses the clinical manifestations and treatment of biological weapon attacks. NEW! Thoroughly updated drug content reflects the very latest FDA drug approvals, withdrawals, and therapeutic uses, as well as corresponding updated nursing content NEW! Additional images included to accompany difficult concepts. NEW! Inclusion of more student practice questions provide additional help for learning the material.
Pathophysiology by
Learn the what, how, and why of pathophysiology! With easy-to-read, in-depth descriptions of disease, disease etiology, and disease processes, Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children, 8th Edition helps you understand the most important and most complex pathophysiology concepts. This updated text includes more than 1,300 full-color illustrations and photographs to make it easier to identify normal anatomy and physiology, as well as alterations of function. This edition includes a NEW chapter on obesity and nutritional disorders, along with expanded coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics. It's the most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text available! The most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text on the market provides unparalleled coverage of Pathophysiology content. Over 1,300 full-color illustrations and photographs depict the clinical manifestations of disease and disease processes - more than in any other pathophysiology text. Consistent presentation of diseases includes pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment. Lifespan content includes ten separate pediatric chapters and special sections with aging and pediatrics content. Outstanding authors Kathryn McCance and Sue Huether have extensive backgrounds as researchers and instructors, and utilize expert contributors, consultants, and reviewers in developing this edition. Algorithms and flowcharts of diseases and disorders make it easy for you to follow the sequential progression of disease processes. Additional What's New boxes highlight the most current research and clinical development. Nutrition and Disease boxes explain the link between concepts of health promotion and disease. Chapter summary reviews provide concise synopses of the main points of each chapter. NEW! Chapter on obesity and nutritional disorders thoroughly covers these growing global concerns. NEW! Added coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics further explore genetic disease traits. NEW! Over 50 new or heavily revised illustrations visually highlight pathophysiology concepts. NEW! More than 30 new 3D animations on Evolve bring difficult concepts to life for a new perspective on disease processes.
Pathophysiology and Pharmacology in Nursing by
Pathophysiology and Pharmacology in Nursing has been carefully designed to provide an integrated introduction to both the biology of disease and the therapeutic agents that are used to manage them. It covers the basics of pharmacology, the core pathological concepts of inflammation, infection and cancer, as well as a systems based consideration of the pathophysiology and relevant pharmacology of common disorders. New to the second edition: All content updated and mapped to the 2018 NMC standards Two new chapters on 'Mental health conditions' and 'Renal conditions. The ideal starting point for student nurses to develop a robust, integrated knowledge of human disease and pharmacology, enabling them to provide care that is based on up-to-date knowledge of this important subject.
Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy by
Stressed about the ins and outs of pathophysiology? Gain confidence, with the newly updated Pathophysiology Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 6th Edition . Offering helpful learning aids that boost your understanding and retention, this colorfully illustrated, enjoyable text offers all the vitals: cell development, the infection process, cancer warning signs, abnormal cell growth, and more. Packed with easy-to-remember definitions and plentiful illustrations, this supportive guide is the ideal study partner and on-the-job reference for new nurses, students, and all healthcare practitioners. Be expertly guided into a solid foundation in pathophysiology, with: NEW and updated content in a quick-read, bulleted format End-of-book learning support that includes a "Practice Makes Perfect" practice test Dozens of colorful diagrams and illustrations that outline core terms and concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions for: Pathophysiology basics - cellular structure; how cells reproduce, age, and die; adaptive cell changes; the concept of homeostasis and how it affects the body; the causes of disease; and the disease development process Infection, cancer, and genetics - the body's defense mechanisms against infection, types of infective microorganisms and how they invade the body, common infectious disease pathophysiology, classifications of cancer, warning signs of cancer, the cancer metastasis process, the role of genes and chromosomes, how cells divide, and genetic abnormalities Cancer as it affects individual body systems - cardiovascular, respiratory, neurologic, gastrointestinal, endocrine, renal system, hematologic, immune, integumentary, sensory, and reproductive system Special chapter features include: Just the facts - a quick summary of content at the start of each chapter "Nurse Joy and Jake" - expert insights that explain key concepts, provide important care reminders, and offer reassurance Now I get it! - illustrations and flowcharts that explain difficult concepts Battling illness - the latest treatments for diseases and disorders The genetic link - connections between genetics and many common disorders Memory joggers - memory tricks and other aids that help you understand and remember difficult concepts That's a wrap ! - a quick review of chapter content Quick quiz - multiple-choice questions after each chapter that help you retain knowledge About the Clinical Editors Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, COI, is Vice President for Communication and Marketing at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio and Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio. Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, RN, COI, is Vice President for Business and Finance at Connect: RN2ED in Beavercreek, Ohio, and is Adjunct Faculty at Mercy College School of Nursing in Toledo, Ohio. Carolyn Gersch, PhD, RN, CNE, is Vice President for Operations and Procedures at Connect: RN2ED, in Beavercreek, Ohio, and Director of Nursing Education at Ohio Institute of Allied Health in Dayton, Ohio.
See list under Medical Assistant Specialist
Certified Medical Assistant Exam Prep by 
CMA Exam Preparation Study Guide 2018-2019 by Medical Assistant Study Guide by
Introducing our updated for 2021 Medical Assistant Study Guide: Exam Prep Book with Practice Test Questions for the RMA (Registered) & CMA (Certified) Examinations Ascencia Test Prep's brand new, unofficial Medical Assistant Study Guide offers you current examples, graphics, and information relevant to your healthcare career. And, unlike other other study guides on the market, you'll benefit from a quick yet total review of everything on the exam There's more: imagine having your test prep materials on your phone or tablet Ascencia Test Prep's Medical Assistant Study Guide comes with FREE online flash cards, study "cheat" sheets, and 35 test tips, all available online. These easy to use materials will give you the edge you need to pass your exam the first time. The American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Ascencia Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product. Ascencia Test Prep's Medical Assistant Study Guide offers you a full review of the subjects covered on the medical assistant exam, test tips and strategies, real-world examples, and worked through practice problems. Our book covers: Psychology and CommunicationLegal and Ethical ResponsibilitiesReceptionThe Business EnvironmentFinancesAnatomy and PhysiologyInfection ControlPatient Intake and ExaminationSpecimens and Diagnostic TestingPharmacologyEmergency ManagementMedical Terminology ... and also includes a FULL practice test, so that you will be ready on test day. About Ascencia Test Prep With healthcare fields such as nursing, pharmacy, emergency care, and physical therapy becoming the fastest and largest growing industries in the United States, individuals looking to enter the healthcare industry or rise in their field need high quality, reliable resources. Ascencia Test Prep's study guides and test preparation materials are developed by credentialed, industry professionals with years of experience in their respective fields. Every Ascencia book includes a comprehensive overview of the content knowledge that will be tested, along with practice questions for each section to enhance understanding. Full practice tests at the end of every book accurately reflect the exam, helping test takers determine if they are thoroughly prepared. Additionally, all Ascencia study materials offer exclusive tips from healthcare professionals to help readers thrive in their field beyond test day. Ascencia recognizes that healthcare professionals nurture bodies and spirits, and save lives. Ascencia Test Prep's mission is to help healthcare workers grow.