Journal Articles - Class page: Audrey Antee - Literacy and Social Activism - LibGuides at Florida State College at Jacksonville

Article Databases for Researching Social Activism and Literacy

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Incorporates CommSearch along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
Research Library This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) - From business and political science to literature and psychology, this product provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. It includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text—from 1971 forward.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)

Sample articles on topic:

(Re)Tweeting in the service of protest: Digital composition and circulation in the Occupy Wall Street movement Joel Penney, Caroline Dadas First Published March 15, 2013 Research Article Download PDFPDF download for (Re)Tweeting in the service of protest: Digital composition and circulation in the Occupy Wall Street movement Article information Article has an altmetric score of 14 Full Access Article Information Volume: 16 issue: 1, page(s): 74-90 Article first published online: March 15, 2013; Issue published: February 1, 2014 https://doi-org.db08.linccweb.org/10.1177/1461444813479593 Joel Penney, Caroline Dadas
#Ferguson: Digital protest, hashtag ethnography, and the racial politics of social media in the United States BONILLA, Y. and ROSA, J. (2015), #Ferguson: Digital protest, hashtag ethnography, and the racial politics of social media in the United States. American Ethnologist, 42: 4–17. doi:10.1111/amet.12112
Citizen-Driven International Networks and Globalization of Social Movements on Twitter Article Information Volume: 35 issue: 1, page(s): 68-83 Article first published online: November 25, 2015; Issue published: February 1, 2017 https://doi-org.db08.linccweb.org/10.1177/0894439315617263 Qinfeng Zhu1
Combating 'I Hate This Stupid Book!': Black Males and Critical Literacy. Wood, Summer and Robin Jocius. "Combating 'I Hate This Stupid Book!': Black Males and Critical Literacy." Reading Teacher, vol. 66, no. 8, May 2013, pp. 661-669. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1002/trtr.1177.
Critical Multimodal Hip Hop Production: A Social Justice Approach to African American Language and Literacy Practices. Turner, K. C. Nat, et al. "Critical Multimodal Hip Hop Production: A Social Justice Approach to African American Language and Literacy Practices." Equity & Excellence in Education, vol. 46, no. 3, July 2013, pp. 342-354. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/10665684.2013.809235.
From learning literacy to regenerating women's space: A story of women's empowerment in Nepal. Parajuli, Pramod and Elizabeth Enslin. "From Learning Literacy to Regenerating Women's Space: A Story of Women's Empowerment in Nepal." Convergence, vol. 23, no. 1, Mar. 1990, p. 44. EBSCOhost, db08.linccweb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=9609200013&site=ehost-live.
Literacies, Identities and Social Change: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Literacy and Development. Basu, Kaushik, et al. "Literacies, Identities and Social Change: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Literacy and Development." Journal of Development Studies, vol. 44, no. 6, July 2008, pp. 769-778. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/00220380802057695.
Literacies of Distinction: (Dis)Empowerment in Social Movements. Holland, Dorothy and Debra Skinner. "Literacies of Distinction: (Dis)Empowerment in Social Movements." Journal of Development Studies, vol. 44, no. 6, July 2008, pp. 849-862. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/00220380802058180.
Literacy, Social Movements, and Class Consciousness: Paths from Freire and the São Paulo Experience María del Pilar O'Cadiz and Carlos Alberto Torres Anthropology & Education Quarterly Vol. 25, No. 3, Alternative Visions of Schooling: Success Stories in Minority Settings (Sep., 1994), pp. 208-225
Meta-synthesis of Literacy for the Empowerment of Vulnerable Groups. Camilli-Trujillo, Celia and Max Römer-Pieretti. "Meta-Synthesis of Literacy for the Empowerment of Vulnerable Groups." ["Metasíntesis en alfabetización para el empoderamiento de grupos vulnerables"]. Comunicar, vol. 25, no. 53, 10/1/2017, pp. 9-18. EBSCOhost, doi:10.3916/C53-2017-01.
RICHARD RORTY'S SOCIAL HOPE AND COMMUNITY LITERACY. Deans, Thomas1. "Richard Rorty's Social Hope and Community Literacy." Community Literacy Journal, vol. 3, no. 2, Mar. 2009, pp. 3-18. EBSCOhost, db08.linccweb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eue&AN=44307170&site=ehost-live.
Social Justice Approaches to African American Language and Literacy Practices: Guest Editors' Introduction. Turner, K. C. Nat and Denise Ives. "Social Justice Approaches to African American Language and Literacy Practices: Guest Editors' Introduction." Equity & Excellence in Education, vol. 46, no. 3, July 2013, pp. 285-299. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/10665684.2013.808892.
Speaking Out for Social Justice: The Problems and Possibilities of US Women's Prison and Jail Writing Workshops. Jacobi, Tobi. "Speaking out for Social Justice: The Problems and Possibilities of US Women's Prison and Jail Writing Workshops." Critical Survey, vol. 23, no. 3, Sept. 2011, pp. 40-54. EBSCOhost, doi:10.3167/cs.2011.230304. Vancouver/ICMJE References Jacobi T. Speaking Out for Social Justice: The Problems and Possibilities of US Women's Prison and Jail Writing Workshops. Critical Survey [serial on the Internet]. (2011, Sep), [cited November 29, 2017]; 23(3): 40-54. Available from: Academic Search Complete.
Steering Legacies: Pedagogy, Literacy, and Social Justice in Schools. Jocson, Korina. "Steering Legacies: Pedagogy, Literacy, and Social Justice in Schools." Urban Review, vol. 41, no. 3, Sept. 2009, pp. 269-285. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1007/s11256-008-0103-0.
Stirring Up Justice: Adolescents Reading, Writing, and Changing the World Singer, J. and Shagoury, R. (2005), Stirring Up Justice: Adolescents Reading, Writing, and Changing the World. Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy, 49: 318–339. doi:10.1598/JAAL.49.4.5
Using the Women's March to Examine Freedom of Speech, Social Justice, and Social Action through Information Literacy. LEVITOV, DEBORAH. "Using the Women's March to Examine Freedom of Speech, Social Justice, and Social Action through Information Literacy." Teacher Librarian, vol. 44, no. 4, Apr. 2017, pp. 12-15. EBSCOhost, db08.linccweb.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=122650738&site=ehost-live.
‘Our time to act has come’: desynchronization, social media time and protest movements Volume: 39 issue: 4, page(s): 469-486 Article first published online: April 21, 2016; Issue published: May 1, 2017 https://doi-org.db08.linccweb.org/10.1177/0163443716646178 Anne Kaun Södertörn University, Sweden

Class page: Audrey Antee - Literacy and Social Activism: Journal Articles

Articles from our online databases

Article Databases for Researching Social Activism and Literacy

Sample articles on topic: