HESI A2 - Health Sciences - General Overview - LibGuides at Florida State College at Jacksonville

Welcome!

Welcome to the HESI Admission Assessment (HESI-A2) Resource Guide. This guide shares helpful resources and study strategies to help you prepare for your upcoming exam.

What is the HESI Admission Assessment?

HESI A2 Study Guide 2022-2023: Admission Assessment Exam Prep with Practice Test Questions by Elissa Simmons
Call Number: RT55 .H472 2022
ISBN: 9781637980330
Publication Date: September 17, 2021
Trivium Test Prep's HESI A2 Study Guide 2022-2023: Admission Assessment Exam Prep with Practice Test Questions offers: a full review of what you need to know for the HESI A2 exam; practice questions for you to practice and improve; test tips to help you score higher. This book covers: Mathematics, Reading, Vocabulary, Grammar, Biology, Chemistry, Anatomy and Physiology, Physics, and includes a FULL practice test!

What Is The HESI® Admission Assessment (A2)? It is a standardized and proctored entrance exam completed by applicants of Nursing & Healthcare Education programs. The exam has been used for over 20 years to assess the academic readiness of prospective students for diverse programs.

How Does It Work? The A2 identifies students’ academic strengths and areas where improvement may be needed to fully support their academic program success. It evaluates knowledge and skills in three primary academic areas: English Language, Math, and Science. A composite percentage score is provided by averaging the results of all exams completed.

Why You Need It? Admitting students who are academically prepared could improve student retention rates and produce graduates who can fill vacancies in the current healthcare workforce.

To register for HESI-A2, visit FSCJ Assessment & Certification.

Credit:
Elsevier Education. (2022, November 15). HESI Admission Assessment Exam. https://evolve.elsevier.com/education/hesi/hesi-admission-assessment-exam/

Who Needs to Take the HESI-A2 Exam?

Any students seeking admissions into the following programs must complete all nine sections of the HESI A2 in one testing administration. The HESI A2 exam may be taken once in a 90-day period with a maximum of three times within a twelve-month period. Testing more frequently will invalidate scores. Scores expire after two years.

Program webpages may be accessed below:

Please verify all program requirements by checking with your intended program before registering for the HESI A2.

Credit: FSCJ Assessment & Certification. (2023). Health Education Systems, Inc. Admissions Test (HESI-A2). https://www.fscj.edu/assessment-and-certification/available-assessments/hesi

Image by Nick Youngson under CC BY-SA 3.0

PrepSTEP
Do you want to test your knowledge or practice the HESI-A2? Check out PrepStep for Colleges! This database has tests, tutorials, and ebooks for core math, science, and English skills; college success and computer skills; career, placement test, grad school, and ACT/SAT preparation; and high school equivalency center.

HESI-A2 Practice Test Video Playlist

Click the following to watch the full series: HESI-A2 Practice Tests Playlist

Or, click below for individual videos:

Credit: All Healthcare Careers. (2023). HESI A2 practice tests [YouTube Channel]. YouTube. June 8, 2023, www.youtube.com/@allhealthcarecareers

Exam-Related Tools and Medical Games

HESI A2 Flash Cards by Trivium Test Prep Staff (Created by)
ISBN: 9781940978161
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
The effectiveness of flash cards joined with the ease of use and small size of a book These HESI A2 flash cards are not conventional, but at Trivium Test Prep, we don't subscribe to convention. Traditional flash cards are bulky, difficult to organize, and impossible to use on the go unless of course you bind them with a ring. These are bound for you These HESI A2 flash cards can be used anywhere, anytime without worry about losing any cards or getting cards out of order...not to mention the sheer bulk of flash cards is condensed into an easy to use size. This flash card set of over 500 cards includes must-know information to save time on the exam, as well as brain-trainer math speed drills to increase mental math agility, decreasing a student's dependence on the calculator. These flash cards are essential for the student wanting to increase the test taking speed. Also of course are hundreds of the must-know vocabulary words and verbal information such as prefixes, suffixes, and roots so you can learn to decipher the meaning of a word, even if you don't know its definition. Finally, science knowledge that is essential for HESI A2 success is included with a variety of styles of questions designed to challenge your brain to recall the information quickly and accurately on test day.

Dentistry Virtual Patient Game
University of Southern California - Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry provides "interactive simulations of real-life scenarios for clinical training". Players will make decisions in four areas: Diagnostic Tests, Diagnosis, Treatment Plan, and Prescriptions. Upon completion, players will be able to review results.
HESI-A2 Anatomy Game
Can you name the body parts? This website has 14 game-like, timed quizzes to test players' knowledge of bones and muscles. Also includes a printable worksheet option.
HESI Test Review - Jeopardy Game Show Style
Jeopardy-style game to review HESI test questions. Visitors can play individually or in teams. This site also includes other activities such as flash cards, choice, quiz bowl, interactive choice, and memory.
Interactive Medical Games Online
"Students who learn faster through immersive experiences can use the knowledge gleaned from the games and apply it to the theoretical aspects of their courses" provided by U.S. Career Institute
Online HESI-A2 Flash Cards
Common terms used on the HESI-A2 exam.
VR Patients
STEAM provides VRPatients. A Virtual Reality platform where players are put in real patient management situations and required to decide and implement medical therapies believed to positively affect the patient. The outcome of the case can be either positive or negative based on the way that the player treats their patient. The player is then scored based on the way they treat the patient in the case. At the end of the case the player is given written feedback as to how they did relative to how the patient case should have been. This package is currently targeted at medical professionals."
more...less...
GameRant

Related Resource Guides

Dental Program
by Mary Dumbleton Last Updated Apr 24, 2024 109 views this year
Funeral Services
by Mary Dumbleton Last Updated Apr 26, 2024 51 views this year
Occupational Therapy Assistant
by Mary Dumbleton Last Updated Apr 19, 2024 47 views this year
Physical Therapist Assistant
by Mary Dumbleton Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 134 views this year
RN Nursing Associate Degree
by Mary Dumbleton Last Updated Apr 12, 2024 421 views this year
BSN Nursing Program
by Mary Dumbleton Last Updated Apr 23, 2024 240 views this year
Evidence Based Practice
by Mary Dumbleton Last Updated Apr 26, 2024 206 views this year

Databases - Log in to View

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - The worlds most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL®Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
Peterson's Career Prep This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Learn about careers, receive personalized recommendations, create resumes, search for jobs and schools, and get career advice.
Funded by State Library of Florida (FEL)
ICE Video Library This link opens in a new window
(International Clinical Educators) - The ICE Video Library includes 185+ short videos with a wide range of diagnoses. The videos are perfect for streaming in class, embedding in your LMS, or assigning to watch outside of class.
Funded by College
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. Search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Funded by State Library of Florida (FEL)
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) - Access articles and graphics from more than 270 nursing-related publications, including Nursing, Nursing Management, RN, American Journal of Sports Medicine, Physical Therapy, and Patient Care Management.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)

Find Books

Image by Pexels under Creative Commons CC0

Primo VE: Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
(FLVC) - Primo VE is a "discovery tool" that performs a "Google-like" search of the College's library catalog and full text databases. Use Primo VE to save research time by searching all of the library's holdings at one time and then limiting your search results to exactly the type of item you need.
Funded by Statewide Allocation