LibGuides: AMH 2070: The History of Florida: Library Resources

The History of Florida by Michael Gannon (Editor)
Call Number: F311.5 .N49 2018
ISBN: 9780813064017
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
A Concise History of Florida by James C. Clark
ISBN: 9781625851536
Publication Date: 2014-09-23

Suggested Search Terms

Here are some example keywords or phrases that can be used to find specific information in the library catalog and academic databases:

Florida history
Florida Civil War
Colonial Florida

Suggested Boolean Searches

Refine searches using operators like "AND," "OR," and "NOT," ensuring more precise and relevant results.

Florida AND Civil War
Florida OR Seminoles
Florida NOT Great Depression

Suggested Subject Headings

Standardized terms are used to categorize and organize content within the library catalog and academic databases to enhance search precision and efficiency.

Florida
Florida -- Biography
Florida -- History -- Chronology

Suggested Call Number Ranges

Locate materials within the library in these call number areas.

F306 -- F320

History Databases

African American Experience This link opens in a new window
(Bloomsbury) - The widest-ranging and easiest-to-use online collection on African American life ever assembled, The African American Experience is the definitive electronic research tool for African American history and culture from one of the most respected publishers in the field.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
African American History This link opens in a new window
(Infobase Publishing) - Exploring more than 500 years of the African-American experience, history, and culture.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
Civil War: Sources in U.S. History This link opens in a new window
(Gale) - Sources in U.S. History Online is a series of archival digital collections intended for public library patrons as well as high school, community college, and university students. The Civil War digital collection contains nearly 500 significant documents of the time—personal narratives, monographs, regimental histories, collected essays, sermons, songs, legal tracts, and political speeches—enabling students, faculty and patrons to study one of the key events in American history.
Funded by State Library of Florida (FEL)
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Search balanced coverage of events in U.S. history. Best for novice historians and academic researchers. Updated daily.
Funded by State Library of Florida (FEL)
American History This link opens in a new window
(Bloomsbury) - This resource-rich reference and curriculum solution helps students understand the issues, perspectives, and history that have shaped our nation.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)
History in Dispute This link opens in a new window
History in Dispute addresses heavily debated questions by offering users different critical perspectives on major historical events, drawn from all time periods and from all parts of the globe.
Funded by State Library of Florida (FEL)
Salem Press: Literature, History, Health, Science, Careers This link opens in a new window
(Salem Press) - Online access to Salem Press award-winning, historical reference.
Funded by College

Florida News Resources

Florida's News Source This link opens in a new window
(NewsBank) - Explore Florida history through local news, events and people with the Florida News Sources. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
Florida Newspaper Database This link opens in a new window
Full Text journals with a focus on the State of Florida
Funded by State Library of Florida (FEL)
Florida State Library Photo Archives This link opens in a new window
(Florida) - Florida State Library and Archives
Funded by Other
Florida Times Union Collection This link opens in a new window
(NewsBank) - Explore Jacksonville history through local news, events and people with the Florida Times Union Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Funded by Statewide Allocation

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
(JSTOR) - Access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) - Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags.
Funded by Statewide Allocation
Research Library This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) - From business and political science to literature and psychology, this product provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. It includes more than 3,820 titles—over 2,550 in full text—from 1971 forward.
Funded by College (FLVC Group License)

The People of the Great Circle : Prehistoric Mound Builders in South Florida by Ted Ehmann
ISBN: 9781683340539
Publication Date: 2019
Submerged History by Roger C. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: CC77.U5 S834 2018
ISBN: 9781561649921
Publication Date: 2018-03-01

La Florida by Kevin Kokomoor (Contribution by)
Call Number: F311 .K65 2023
ISBN: 9781683343523
Publication Date: 2023-09-01
Historical sketches of colonial Florida
ISBN: 1947372289
Publication Date: 2017

The Seminoles of Florida by James W. Covington
Call Number: E99.S28 C73 2017
ISBN: 9781947372368
Publication Date: 2017-11-29
We Come for Good by Paul N. Backhouse (Editor); Brent R. Weisman (Editor); Mary B. Rosebrough (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813052649
Publication Date: 2017-03-21

Hidden History of Florida by James C. Clark
Call Number: F311 .C523 2015
ISBN: 9781626199972
Publication Date: 2015-11-02
Beyond the Sunshine by Rick Baker; Rick Baker
Call Number: F311 .B33 2017
ISBN: 9781683340133
Publication Date: 2018-01-01

On This Day in Florida Civil War History by Nick Wynne; Joe Knetsch
ISBN: 9781625856111
Publication Date: 2022
Florida Civil War Blockades by Nick Wynne; Joe Crankshaw
ISBN: 9781614233916
Publication Date: 2022

Fort Clinch, Fernandina and the Civil War by Frank A. Ofeldt III
Call Number: F312 .O345 2020
ISBN: 9781467145961
Publication Date: 2020-08-10
The History of Florida by Michael Gannon (Editor)
Call Number: F311.5 .N49 2018
ISBN: 9780813064017
Publication Date: 2018-06-26

Bubble in the Sun by Christopher Knowlton
Call Number: HD266.F6 K67 2020
ISBN: 9781982128371
Publication Date: 2020-01-14
How the New Deal Built Florida Tourism by David J. Nelson
Call Number: G155.U6 N25 2019
ISBN: 0813057094
Publication Date: 2019-04-11

Camp Blanding in World War II (Article)

Once upon a Time in Florida by Jacki Levine (Editor)
Call Number: AZ513.F6 O53 2023
ISBN: 9798987660805
Publication Date: 2023-10-24
Central Florida's World War II Veterans by Robert Aldo Grenier
Call Number: D810.V42 U66 2016
ISBN: 9781467116794
Publication Date: 2016-07-04

The Swamp Peddlers by Jason Vuic
Call Number: HD266.F6 V85 2021
ISBN: 9781469663159
Publication Date: 2021-06-21
Making Modern Florida by Mary E. Adkins
Call Number: KFF401.5 .A35 2016
ISBN: 9780813062853
Publication Date: 2016-07-12

Jacksonville by James B. Crooks
Call Number: F319.J1 C765 2019
ISBN: 9780813064369
Publication Date: 2019-08-20
Abandoned Jacksonville by David Bulit
Call Number: F319.J1 B85 2020
ISBN: 9781634992435
Publication Date: 2020-09-28

Wicked St. Augustine by Ann Colby
ISBN: 9781439669013
Publication Date: 2020-02-17
St. Augustine in the 1930s And 1940s by Beth Rogero Bowen; the St. Augustine Historical Society
Call Number: F319.S2 B688 2019
ISBN: 9781467103954
Publication Date: 2019-10-21