Skip to Main Content
Research
Search Library Materials
Subject Guides
Databases and Journal Articles
Research Video Tutorials
Research Skills Mini Course
Citing Sources
Request Materials from Other Libraries
Schedule a Research Appointment
Live Chat
Library Instruction Survey
Tutoring
Campus-Based Tutoring Appointment
Online Tutoring Appointment
Students
Login/Account Information
Schedule a Research Appointment
Research Skills Mini Course
Request Materials from Other Libraries
Course Reserves
Print/Copy/Scan
Dual Enrollment
Request a Purchase
Faculty/Staff
Login/Account Information
Schedule a Library/Tutoring Orientation
Request a Purchase
Reserve a Room
Interlibrary Loan
Course Reserves
Open Educational Resources
Equipment Loan
Canvas and Library Content
Copyright Information
Faculty Resources
About Us
Hours of Operation
Campus Locations and Maps
LLC Events Calendar
Policies
Library Technical Services
Archives and Special Collections
Library Newsletter
Library Assessment
Help and FAQs
Contact Us
Campus Locations and Maps
LLC Contacts
Submit a Question
Schedule a Research Appointment
Reserve a Room
Live Chat
Help and FAQs
Florida State College at Jacksonville
LibGuides
FSCJ Library and Learning Commons SACSCOC Outcomes
Question: How does the institution determine the adequacy and appropriateness of its services?
Search this Guide
Search
FSCJ Library and Learning Commons SACSCOC Outcomes : Question: How does the institution determine the adequacy and appropriateness of its services?
This guide provides a framework for FSCJ's LLC SACSCOC standards compliance reports.
Home
Standard 11.1
Toggle Dropdown
Question: How does the library determine whether collections are adequate and appropriate for the courses and programs offered, as well as for the research and/or public service activities of the institution (if relevant)?
Question: Is there a formal collection development policy? Does it work well?
Question: How are students at off-campus sites and taking distance education or correspondence courses provided adequate and appropriate collections?
Question: What library and learning/information services are offered (e.g., interlibrary loan, delivery services, bibliographic support, technical support, general help desk, off-site support)?
Question: How does the institution determine the adequacy and appropriateness of its services?
Question: What supporting services are offered through the library/learning resource offices as opposed to other academic support offices?
Question: If collections and services are offered through external contracts or consortia, how is adequacy and appropriateness determined?
Documentation: Description of library collections in terms of the programs and levels of programs offered.
Documentation: Description of library services in relation to the needs of faculty, students, and others (as needed).
Documentation: Description of related library and learning/information resources.
Documentation: Collection development policies and evidence of implementation.
Documentation: Evidence that the institution’s library-related resources support all its educational, research, and public service programs wherever located or however delivered.
Documentation: Samples of guides, flyers supporting library services, and other direct evidence of library and related resources and services offered.
Documentation: Internal and external surveys and reports establishing the adequacy and appropriateness of collections, services, and related resources (e.g., satisfaction surveys, consultant reports).
Documentation: Peer comparisons.
Documentation: Usage statistics (with information on size of the user population).
Documentation: If the institution provides access to library resources through an arrangement with another institution or provider, copies of contracts and agreements outlining access and services.
Documentation: If the institution provides access to library resources through an arrangement with another institution or provider, description and analysis of the adequacy and appropriateness of the collections, services, and other related resources prov
Documentation: Mission statement of the library, learning resource center, or other similar support services.
Standard 11.2
Toggle Dropdown
Question: How does the institution determine the qualifications of its library and/or other learning/ information resource staff?
Question: • How are library support services augmented with nonprofessional staff?
Question: How does the institution demonstrate that the staff is sufficient to accomplish the mission?
Question: What professional opportunities are available to the library and learning/information resources staff?
Documentation: Roster of library/learning resource staff with job duties, academic qualifications, and experience.
Documentation: Position descriptions
Documentation: Details related to professional growth and training activities.
Documentation: Information regarding the alignment of library/learning staff with the programs/services offered by the institution.
Standard 11.3
Toggle Dropdown
Question: What services are accessible on campus (e.g., the library, computer labs) versus at off-campus sites and through off-campus access?
Question: Do students and faculty have different user privileges?
Question: What are operating hours for the library and other learning resources?
Question: What services are available electronically when the library or other related facilities are closed?
Question: What delivery mechanisms exist for instruction and assistance to library users?
Question: How does the institution provide instruction and assistance to all users at all locations and through all modes of delivery?
Documentation: Details on user privileges by type of user.
Documentation: List of operating hours
Documentation: Services and collections available online and at off-campus sites.
Documentation: Documentation of the availability and type of instruction.
Documentation: Schedules for instruction in the use of the library and learning/information resources (e.g., at orientation, by request of instructors, on demand).
Documentation: Reports of completed library instructional activity that demonstrate broad participation in the instructional program by all segments of the institution at all locations and delivery modes.
Standard 12.1
Toggle Dropdown
Question: How does the institution’s organizational structure affect its delivery of academic and student support programs, services, and activities?
Question: What is the student body profile and do the institution’s academic and student support programs, services, and activities serve all levels of students?
Question: How do the programs, services, and activities differ between undergraduate, graduate, and professional students?
Question: How do the academic and student support programs and services effectively promote the mission of the institution?
Question: How do students taking courses at off-campus instructional sites (including high school dualenrollment sites) and branch campuses, or taking distance and correspondence education courses, access student support programs, services, and activities
Question: What academic support programs, services, and activities exist for faculty?
Question: How does the institution ensure that its academic support programs and services are adequate and appropriate to the needs of its students and faculty?
Documentation: Descriptions of the various academic and student support programs, services, and activities.
Documentation: Narrative relating the support programs, services, and activities to the mission of the institution
Documentation: Publications and websites (e.g., academic support services) explaining how support programs and services are provided and accessed.
Documentation: Data on the frequency of usage of academic and student support services, programs, and activities by students and faculty.
Documentation: Surveys indicating that student and faculty needs are being met.
Standard 12.2
Toggle Dropdown
Question: How does providing academic and student support programs and services cut across organizational lines at the institution?
Question: What are the student support programs and services and how are they staffed?
Question: What are the qualifications, both academic and experiential, for student affairs and academic support personnel?
Question: What are the training and professional growth opportunities for student affairs staff?
Question: What evidence is needed to demonstrate that the staff is sufficient to accomplish the mission?
Documentation: Roster of academic and student services staff with job duties, academic qualifications, and experience.
Documentation: Position descriptions.
Documentation: Details related to professional growth and training activities.
Documentation: Organizational charts that help demonstrate reporting structures.
LLC Handbook
2019 Fifth Year Report
2014 Ten Year Reaffirmation
LLC Assessment
<<
Previous:
Question: What library and learning/information services are offered (e.g., interlibrary loan, delivery services, bibliographic support, technical support, general help desk, off-site support)?
Next:
Question: What supporting services are offered through the library/learning resource offices as opposed to other academic support offices? >>
