Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us

MLA Style 9th Edition: Articles

Basic Rules

Basic Rules for Citing Academic Journals: 

  • References must be double spaced and have a hanging indent. 
  • If more than one author, list authors' names as they appear on the journal article.
  • Write article titles in full, exactly as they are presented and enclose in quotation marks.
  • Write journal titles in full, exactly as they are presented. 
  • Italicize journal titles, but not article titles.
  • Capitalize all words in journal titles except for prepositions.
  • Use only the day-month-year style for dates.
  • Use lowercase seasons of the year when they are part of the publication date.
  • Italicize name of database. 

Journal Articles

Single Author:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number if Given. DOI or Permalink/URL if available.

Example:

Baron, Naomi S. "Redefining Reading: The Impact of Digital Communication Media." PMLA, vol. 128, no. 1, Jan. 2013, pp. 193-200.

 

Two Authors:

Author's Last Name, First Name and Author's First Name Last Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number if Given. DOI or Permalink/URL if available. 

Example:

Armstrong, Sonya L. and Mary Newman. “Teaching Textual Conversations: Intertextuality in the College Reading Classroom.” Journal of College Reading and Learning, vol. 41, no. 2, 2011, pp. 6-21. https://doi.org/10.1080/10790195.2011.10850339

 

Three or More Authors:

Author's Last Name, First, et al. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number if Given. DOI or Permalink/URL if available. 

Example:

Nickerson, Raymond S., et.al. “Validity and Persuasiveness of Conditional Arguments.” The American Journal of Psychology, vol. 132, no. 2, summer 2019, pp. 131-47.

 

Single Author:

Citation in Prose: According to Naomi Baron, reading is “just half of literacy. The other half is writing” (194).

Parenthetical Citation: Reading is “just half of literacy. The other half is writing” (Baron 194).

Two Authors:

Citation in Prose: Armstrong and Newman introduce a model of intertextuality which involves a “scaffolded, schema-building approach to teaching college reading that aims to link core material with supplementary texts that focus on specific topics associated with that core material” (6).

Parenthetical Citation: A model of intertextuality involves a “scaffolded, schema-building approach to teaching college reading that aims to link core material with supplementary texts that focus on specific topics associated with that core material” (Armstrong and Newman 6). 

Three or More Authors:

Citation in Prose: Raymond Nickerson and colleagues argue that the truth value of statements – their premises and conclusions – is one factor that affects how people are persuaded by arguments (135).

Parenthetical Citation: The authors argue that the truth value of statements – their premises and conclusions – is one factor that affects how people are persuaded by arguments (Nickerson et al. 135).

Journal Articles from Library Databases

Note: It is important to cite databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, Virtual Reference Library) and others, as containers. Therefore, the database title has to be italicized before the DOI or URL. Access date is not necessary. 

Single Author:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink/URL.

Example:

Zacks, Michelle. “Florida Mullet: Wild Food for the People, From the Commons.” Southeastern Geographer, vol. 59, no. 1, spring 2019, pp. 14–39. Academic Search Complete, https://doi:10.1353/sgo.2019.0003.

 

Two Authors:

Author’s Last Name, First Name, and Second Author’s First Name Last Name. “Title of Article: Subtitle if Any.” Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page Numbers. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink/URL.

Example:

Woodward, Alistair J., and Jonathan M. Samet. “Climate Change, Hurricanes, and Health.” American Journal of Public Health, vol. 108, no. 1, Jan. 2018, pp. 33–35. CINAHL Complete, https://doi:10.2105/AJPH.2017.304197.

 

Three or More Authors:

Author’s Last Name, First Name, et. al. “Title of Article: Subtitle if Any.” Title of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page Numbers. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink/URL.

Example:

Senkbeil, Jason C., et al. “Tropical Cyclone Hazards in the USA.” Geography Compass, vol. 5, no. 8, Aug. 2011, Academic Search Complete, pp. 544–563. https://doi:10.1111/j.1749-8198.2011.00439.x.

 

Basic Format, No Author:

No Author

If the resource has a corporate author (government body, organization, etc.) use that entity as the author. 

NOTE: if the corporate author is also the publisher, list the corporate entity as the publisher and skip the author and begin with the resource’s title.

According to the MLA Style Center if a resource doesn’t have an author do not use “Anonymous,” instead use the title of the resource.  In in-text citations, use a shortened title of the work in place of an author's name. Place the title in quotation marks if it's a short work (such as an article) or italicize it if it's a longer work (e.g. plays, books, television shows, entire Web sites) and provide a page number.

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Journal, vol. Volume Number, no. Issue Number, Date of Publication, pp. First Page Number-Last Page Number. Name of Database, DOI or Permalink/URL.

 

 

MLA Citation Style (9th edition) for Articles

Newspaper Articles

PRINT:

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Newspaper Title, Date of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page.

Note: If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the newspaper article.

Example:

Newport-Thompson, Suzanne. “Aging with Dignity? I Learned How Our Country Fails Families with Sick and Elderly Parents.” Florida Times Union, 29 Aug. 2021, pp. 1E-3E.

Online:

Author’s Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Date of Publication, pp. First Page-Last Page. URL.

Example:

Hughlett, Mike. “Next Generation Wind Turbines in Minnesota Could be 60 Stories High.” Star Tribune, 28 Aug. 2021, https://www.startribune.com/next-generation-wind-turbines-in-minnesota-could-be-60-stories-high/600091785/.

Note: If the author's name is not listed, begin the citation with the title of the newspaper article. Online articles may not have page numbers.

 

Database

Author’s Last Name, First Name. "Article Title." Title of Newspaper, Publication Date, pp. First Page-Last Page. Database Name, DOI or Permalink/URL.

Example:

Hurdle, Jon. “Capturing the Big Cats on Camera, to Save Them: Conservationists Aim to Monitor Jaguars That Remain Critically Endangered.” New York Times (1923-Current File), 14 Aug. 2016, TR4. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times, www.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/docview/2310685781/abstract/

              1CD87AFFB31947D6PQ/3?accountid=45782.

     

 

 

PRINT:

Citation in Prose:  Newport-Thompson discusses the benefits of funding home health care which “would create almost 20,000 caregiving jobs in Florida and hundreds of thousand of jobs across the country” (3E).

Parenthetical Citation: “Of the 2.8 million home care aides across America very few receive benefits. And they are not always trained enough to meet the needs of their patients” (Newport-Thompson 3E).

ONLINE:

Citation in Prose: Wind turbines are becoming taller which poses some significant issues pertaining to “countryside aesthetics” and “shadow flicker” according to Hughlett.

Parenthetical Citation: On the plus side larger wind turbines “capture more wind energy. Bigger turbines require less overall space because fewer are needed for the same amount of energy (Hughlett).

DATABASE:

Citation in Prose: Huddle presents efforts by conservationists and eco-tourism resorts in Costa Rica to capture photographs of big cats using camera traps to learn more about the behaviors and status of the big cat populations (TR4).

Parenthetical Citation: “The last formal estimate of the jaguar population was in 2005 when about 50 of the animals were believed to be living on the peninsular, according to Inogo, a joint United States-Costa Rica conservation program facilitated by Stanford University” (Huddle TR4).