The Florida Historical Quarterly, the academic journal of the Florida Historical Society, promotes scholarly research and appreciation for the peoples, places, themes, and diversity of Florida's past. The Society is the oldest cultural institution in the state, tracing its origins to 1856. The Quarterly has served to expand understanding of Florida's historical development and offers a broad spectrum of articles. Published four times annually, the Quarterly continues the tradition of high quality scholarly articles established and maintained by the Society. The Quarterly has been a central component of the mission of the Florida Historical Society to promote scholarly research and publication. Students, researchers, and casual readers may use the collection liberally, although reproduction of materials for use outside of classrooms must be approved by the Society.
The full collection of The Florida Historical Quarterly is available online through the University of Central Florida.
The Florida Digital Newspaper Library, hosted by the University of Florida, exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida. All of the over 2.6 million pages of historic through current Florida newspapers in the Florida Digital Newspaper Library are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text. The Florida Digital Newspaper Library includes current Florida newspapers, digitized from 2005 – present; historic Florida newspapers; and historic news accounts of Florida from non-Florida newspapers which help fill in the colonial period during which Florida had no newspapers of its own.
Click here to see Duval County newspapers in this collection.
While The Florida Digital Newspaper Library is easily the most centralized collection of publications specific to the city, stories about Jacksonville crop up in papers from across the state and around the country. You may also find it worthwhile to search:
Not all research winds up in scholarly articles. Check out these repositories for theses and dissertations related to Jacksonville.
FAU Research Repository - Florida Atlantic University Libraries’ research repository provides open access to scholarship, research, and the creative works of campus faculty, students, and staff. Content includes peer-reviewed research publications, technical reports, theses and dissertations, honors theses, honors capstone projects, student posters, and conference presentations.
FSU Research Repository - FSU Libraries' Academic Publishing Team works with members of the FSU community to curate, archive, and provide access to a diverse range of materials related to the missions of scholarship, research, and education at FSU. The repository showcases the work of individuals, departments, institutes, colleges, and other communities of researchers on campus.
UCF STARS - The purpose of University of Central Florida's Showcase of Text, Archives, Research, and Scholarship purpose is to disseminate, publicize, and share works by, for, and about UCF, including research done by faculty, staff, and students.
UNF Digital Commons - The UNF Digital Commons is an institutional repository (IR) for the University of North Florida and the northeast Florida region. It is intended to bring together all of the university’s research and scholarship under one umbrella in order to preserve and provide perpetual access to that scholarship. This IR is a service of the Thomas G. Carpenter Library and is an excellent vehicle for the stewardship of working papers, conference papers, presentations, published works including articles and books, senior theses, electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs), scores, performances, and other unpublished works.
University of Florida Theses & Dissertations Collection - This collection within UF's larger Institutional Repository will eventually include all theses and dissertations from the University of Florida. The UF Undergraduate Honors Theses are not included in the general theses indexing, and need to be searched separately.
University of Miami Scholarly Repository - A service of the University of Miami Libraries, the Repository provides free permanent online access to the scholarly work produced by faculty, researchers, students, and other scholars affiliated with the University of Miami.
USF Scholar Commons - Scholar Commons, a service of the University of South Florida Tampa Library, is a virtual showcase for USF's research and creative energies.
USFSP Digital - This repository is a service of the University of South Florida St. Petersburg libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus.