Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nutrition subjects
Diet and Nutrition Sourcebook by Keith Jones (Editor)
This print and online resource provides consumer health information about dietary guidelines and eating plans for children, adults, and seniors, weight control, and related medical concerns. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780780813830
Publication Date: 2016-08-16
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology by D. A. Bender
The study of food and nutrition covers many disciplines, ranging from agriculture, biology, physics and chemistry to food technology, nutrition and medicine. As research on the links between food and health continues to expand, it is more important than ever that specialists in such areas as food processing and nutrition be familiar with the often unfamiliar terminology that differing disciplines use. This classic book meets that need. It provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology (an increase of 20% from the previous edition). The book also includes nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781845690519
Publication Date: 2006-06-09
Food and Nutrition by P. K. Newby
From cleanses and raw veganism to the clean eating and paleo diets, it seems that every day there is news about some new super-nutrient, super diet, or super food that promises to help us to be healthier, smarter, happier, fight disease, lose weight, or live longer. Some of this informationpropels temporary food or diet fads, some of it is subsequently discredited, and some becomes staid wisdom of healthy eating. It structures the way we eat and consume, the research agendas of food scientists, and the ways in which food companies market their products, and therefore the ways in whichthe global food system is built. It also affects the environment, food and animal ethics, political and social movements, public policy, and, of course, our health.Food and Nutrition: What Everyone Needs to KnowRG looks at food systems globally and historically to explain how food production, diets, and nutrition science have changed across time. It will begin with chapters on contemporary diets and nutritional problems, food revolutions (from the birth ofagriculture to genetic food technologies), basic concepts in nutrition science, food choices and the evolution of human taste preferences, the politics of food environments, modern food production and its effects on human health, and the environmental costs of food production. The book will thendive into the nutrition and ethics of animal-based diets, beverages, plant-based diets, nutrition guidelines and food labels, and food technologies. Ultimately this book provides an overview of the contemporary relationship between humans, land, and food, and explores the sustainability ofconsumption patterns on our health.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780190846633
Publication Date: 2018-09-05
Food Security, Nutrition and Sustainability by Kristen Lyons (Editor); Tabatha Wallington (Editor); Geoffrey Lawrence (Editor)
As the threats of food insecurity loom ever larger, the world faces the sad irony of food shortages in the global South alongside a purported 'obesity epidemic' in the global North. The twin issues of food production and food access are of particular concern in the context of climate change, 'peak oil', biofuels, and land grabs by wealthy nations. Food Security, Nutrition and Sustainability offers critical insights by international scholars, with chapters on global food security, supermarket power, new technologies, and sustainability. The book also assesses the contributions of diet and nutrition research in building socially just and environmentally sustainable food systems and provides policy recommendations to improve the health and environmental status of contemporary agri-food systems. The book features contributions from a range of social science perspectives, including sociology, anthropology, public health and geography, with case study material drawn from throughout the world.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781844077755
Publication Date: 2010
From Famine to Fast Food by Ken Albala (Editor)
The foods eaten by a nation's population play a key role in shaping the health of that society. This book presents country-specific information on how diet, food security, and concepts of health critically impact the well-being of the world's population. A country's food culture and eating habits directly impact the health and well-being of its citizens. Economic factors contribute to problems such as obesity and malnourishment. This book examines how diet affects health in countries around the world, discussing how the availability of food and the types of foods eaten influence numerous health factors and are tied to the prevalence of "lifestyle" diseases. Readers will discover the importance of diet and food culture in determining human health as well as make connections and notice larger trends within multicultural, international contexts. An ideal aid for high school and college students in completing research and writing assignments, this book supplies detailed diet- and health-related information about most major countries and regions in a single source. Each country profile will also include a convenient fact box with statistical information such as life expectancy, average caloric intake, and other health indicators. * Provides concise, accessible information in a ready-reference format that covers most major countries as well as a variety of non-country populations * Includes an introductory essay that creates a conceptual framework for students * Presents dozens of recipes that provide various real-world examples of the types of traditional foods eaten in other regions of the world * Supplies further readings at the end of each entry that guide readers to additional sources of information
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781610697439
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Nutrition and Diet Therapy by Carroll A. Lutz; Erin Mazur; Nancy Litch
Emphasis on clinical applications. Nutrient recommendations and food label data, including updated DRIs. Cautions for unregulated supplements and descriptions of interactions of food, drug, and over-the-counter nutrients. Life cycle approach that includes screening tools and nutritional interventions for infants, children, adolescents, and mature adults, as well as pregnant and lactating women. Updated recommendations and food plans for weight control, clients with diabetes, HIV/AIDS, dysphasia, preventing heart disease, and other health concerns. Useful assessment tools and tables throughout, including Food Handling Guidelines, Labeling Regulations, Research Summaries, and Wellness Tips Coverage of nutria-genomics and genomics. "Teamwork" exercises focusing on nutritional documentation from different care providers, including dietitians, physical therapists, and speech therapists. "Dollars and Sense" feature highlighting which food costs or economic factors influence nutritional care.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780803637184
Publication Date: 2014-08-11
Diet and Disease by Katie Ferraro
Can food really take the place of medicine? While modern medicine certainly has its place and does more than its fair share of good, there is no denying that many of society's most perilous chronic diseases are exacerbated by poor diets. Whereas infectious diseases used to cause the most number of deaths, the impact of chronic diseases now far overshadows that of infectious diseases. Diet plays a significant role in the development of a number of types of chronic disease, such as heart disease, diabetes, and certain types of cancer. This title explores the impact of dietary choices on the prevention, management, and treatment of a number of medical conditions and disease states including cardiovascular disease, diabetes and metabolic stress, critical illness, cancer, and HIV/AIDS. Conditions of the gastrointestinal tract, musculoskeletal disorders, rheumatic disease, anemia, hepatobiliary, gallbladder, pancreatic, and kidney diseases are covered in the subsequent title Diet and Disease II.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781606507339
Publication Date: 2015-12-30
Nutritional Value and Health Benefits Frome Fruits, Vegetables Nuts and Spices by Chavan U D
Fruits, vegetables, nuts and spices have an important place in human diet and life. Therefore, one object of this book is to organize the scattered information and to deal with the recent development of nutritional value and health benefits from fruits, vegetables, nuts and spices to the human being. This will help to increase the per capita consumption of fruits, vegetables, nuts and spices in their daily diet. This book addresses factors that are involved in maintaining the quality of fruits and vegetables. This book incorporates information on nutritional values and their benefits to the consumers. In this book contain total 164 fruits, vegetables, nuts and spices crops, 4 chapters, general information, medicinal use, health benefits, culinary uses and nutritional values are given. This book has been mainly designed to serve as a text, general information to the consumers and reference book for the students in the field of Food Science and Technology, post-harvest technology, horticulture, nutrition advisors and mostly for professionals in food industries.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9789351306153
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Saturated Fats by Joseph P. Langella
This book presents current research in the study of the metabolism, disease risks and public awareness of saturated fats. Topics discussed include the epidemiological evidence and dietary intervention studies regarding the relationship of fats, carbohydrates and risk of coronary heart disease; the modulation of dietary conjugated linoleic acid (CLA) effects by saturated fats; effects of short and long-term saturated fat-enriched diet on the ceramide and neutral lipids accumulation in the insulin responsive tissues of rats and fatty acids and immune system functions.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781612095660
Publication Date: 2012
The Fats of Life by Glen D. Lawrence
Omega-3s, trans-fats, polyunsaturated fatty acids, linoleic acidùresearch facts about fatty acids and their relationship to heart disease and atherosclerosis, obesity, cancer, and neurological disorders abound. Chemical names appear on every nutrition label. But, just what do these terms mean in health and disease? The Fats of Life delineates the importance of essential fatty acids, with a focus on distinctions between omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acid variants. The chemical and biochemical characteristics of these fatty acids and their metabolism to a vast array of potent bioactive messengers are described in the context of their potential effects on general health and impact on various diseases and neurological disorders. Glen D. Lawrence addresses in detail the capacity for polyunsaturated fatty acids to influence asthma, atherosclerosis, heart disease, inflammation, cancer, and immunity. Lawrence makes clear that our understanding of the biochemical and physiological effects of dietary fats has advanced tremendously as a result of careful research, but he also stresses that this knowledge has not easily translated into sound dietary recommendations.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780813546773
Publication Date: 2010-02-04
Emerging Food Packaging Technologies by Kit L. Yam (Editor); Dong Sun Lee (Editor)
The successful employment of food packaging can greatly improve product safety and quality, making the area a key concern to the food processing industry. Emerging food packaging technologies reviews advances in packaging materials, the design and implementation of smart packaging techniques, and developments in response to growing concerns about packaging sustainability. Part one of Emerging food packaging technologies focuses on developments in active packaging, reviewing controlled release packaging, active antimicrobials and nanocomposites in packaging, and edible chitosan coatings. Part two goes on to consider intelligent packaging and how advances in the consumer/packaging interface can improve food safety and quality. Developments in packaging material are analysed in part three, with nanocomposites, emerging coating technologies, light-protective and non-thermal process packaging discussed, alongside a consideration of the safety of plastics as food packaging materials. Finally, part four explores the use of eco-design, life cycle assessment, and the utilisation of bio-based polymers in the production of smarter, environmentally-compatible packaging. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, Emerging food packaging technologies is an indispensable reference work for all those responsible for the design, production and use of food and beverage packaging, as well as a key source for researchers in this area.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781845698096
Publication Date: 2012-03-15
Innovations in Food Packaging by Jung H. Han (Editor)
This new edition of Innovations in Food Packaging ensures that readers have the most current information on food packaging options, including active packaging, intelligent packaging, edible/biodegradable packaging, nanocomposites and other options for package design. Today's packaging not only contains and protects food, but where possible and appropriate, it can assist in inventory control, consumer education, increased market availability and shelf life, and even in ensuring the safety of the food product. As nanotechnology and other technologies have developed, new and important options for maximizing the role of packaging have emerged. This book specifically examines the whole range of modern packaging options. It covers edible packaging based on carbohydrates, proteins, and lipids, antioxidative and antimicrobial packaging, and chemistry issues of food and food packaging, such as plasticization and polymer morphology. Professionals involved in food safety and shelf life, as well as researchers and students of food science, will find great value in this complete and updated overview.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780123946010
Publication Date: 2013-10-24
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging by Ronald Ross Watson
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging aims to equip anyone studying geriatric nutrition or working with aging adults with the latest scientific reviews of critical topics. The major objective of this book is to review, in detail, the health problems of the aged and how normal food, lifestyle, or nutritional and dietary supplements can help treat them. Nutrient requirements for optimum health and function of aging physiological systems are often quite distinct from those required for young people. The special nutrition problems of the aged are intensively researched and tested, especially as the elderly become a larger percentage of the population. Many chronic diseases and cancers are found with higher frequency in the aged, and it is also widely known that many elderly people use foods and nutrients well above the recommended daily allowance, which can be detrimental to optimal health. Explains the evidence supporting nutritional interventions relevant to age-related diseases Reviews the macro- and micro-nutrient requirements of aging adults and their variables Describes how alcohol, drugs, and caffeine can impact deficiencies, also exploring functional food and dietary supplements that can be used for prevention and treatment
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780128092996
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Life Cycle Nutrition by Sari Edelstein
Revised and updated with the latest epidemiologic research, the Second Edition of Life Cycle Nutrition: An Evidence-Based Approach explores nutritional foundations and the growth, development and normal functioning of individuals through each stage of life. With subjects as diverse as media influences on eating, skipping breakfast, fruit juice consumption, and clinical nutrition, this text gives students current knowledge, helps them evaluate emerging knowledge, and prepares them to uncover new knowledge for the public, their clients, and themselves. Key Features: Evidence-Based Practice sections contains research articles that provide students with an opportunity to create peer-reviewed studies and clinical trials. Cultural Diversity Sidebars, integrated throughout the text, present issues that challenge students to think critically about the nutritional and health differences among ethnic groups. Interesting Vignettes, based on nutrition and health, enhance student understanding of the material presented. Issues to Debate sections provides timely topics for debate and further consideration such as withholding and withdrawing nutrition, the ethical implications of nutrition care, and right to die case law. Students will learn the physiological, moral, ethical, and legal issues surrounding these emotionally charged issues. Case Studies and Nutritional Management help students develop knowledge and skills within a wide variety of subjects and improve critical thinking, public speaking, and group interactions.
Call Number: eBooks
ISBN: 9781449694319
Publication Date: 2015
Early Nutrition and Long-Term Health by Jose M. Saavedra (Editor); Anne M. Dattilo (Editor)
The nutrition of an individual during gestation and the first two years of life--the first 1,000 days--sets the stage for lifelong health. Nutrition quality and quantity in this period can influence the risk of developing diseases that constitute today's epidemics. Early-life nutrition can program the body's tissues, organ structure and function, and metabolic and immunologic responses. These factors impact growth, development and cognition, and the risk of cardiovascular diseases, allergies and obesity. The first part of Early Nutrition and Long-Term Health examines the mechanisms by which early nutrition affects the risk of developing these conditions. The second part of this book reviews specific non-communicable diseases (NCDs) associated with early nutrition. The third part discusses the effects of nutritional programming from fetal life to toddlerhood. Prevention of over- or undernutrition in early life, rather than dietary, behavioral or therapeutic interventions in later life, is likely to have a greater return on society's investment in coping with the modern epidemic of NCDs. Examines the relation between early life nutrition and long-term health Covers the mechanistic aspects of nutritional programming and its impact on risk of chronic non-communicable diseases Reviews associations between infant and child diet and its effect on growth, development, cognition and later occurrence of cardiovascular diseases, allergies, metabolic conditions and obesity
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780081001868
Publication Date: 2016-11-29
Handbook for Nutritional Assessment Through Life Cycle by M. Mohamed Essa; Ghazi Daradkeh; Nejib Guizani
Nutritional assessment has been considered as a cornerstone of nutritional diagnosis, management, intervention and dietary planning. Specific criteria, methods and procedures should be used for different age groups through a person's life cycle based on the requirements of each age group. Use of precise and accurate nutritional assessment tools and procedure to detect those who are malnourished or at risk of malnutrition will help dietitians to create an accurate dietary plan and intervention, which may help in quality of life improvement. This handbook includes the details of each assessment method for different age groups, from pregnancy to old age. It will be used as a quick, practical guide and reference for clinical dietitians. It includes dietary, anthropometric, biochemical and clinical assessments.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781634827683
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Deciphering Organic Foods by Ioannis Kareklas (Editor); Darrel D. Muehling (Editor)
This book discusses a variety of topics related to organic food production, consumption, and promotion. Written by experts in each of these fields, this book will interest consumers, academicians, marketing practitioners, as well as policy makers. Myths about organic foods are dispelled, and the code is cracked regarding the plethora of existing labels that have led to so much market confusion in recent years. New research findings regarding the environmental benefits (as related to sustainability) of organic food production, as well as the many nutritional and other personal health benefits of organic food consumption are discussed. The issues that lead to the price premium of organic foods, relative to conventional foods, are presented, and suggestions are provided regarding the types of foods that are worth paying the organic price premium. Marketers and advertisers of organic foods will find the overview of successful advertising tactics comprehensive and informative. Similarly, pet owners considering the switch to organic pet food will enjoy reading about this emerging market and will receive vital information to help them in their decision making.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781536105179
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Organic Struggle by Brian K. Obach
An analysis of the successes and failures of the organic movement, focusing on coalition dynamics, movement-state relations, and market-based strategies for social change. In the early 1970s, organic farming was an obscure agricultural practice, associated with the counterculture rather than commerce. Today, organic agriculture is a multi-billion dollar industry; organic food can be found on the shelves of every supermarket in America. In Organic Struggle, Brian Obach examines the evolution of the organic movement in the United States, a movement that seeks to transform our system of agriculture and how we think about food. Obach analyzes why the organic movement developed as it did and evaluates its achievements and shortcomings. He identifies how divergent interests within the diverse organic coalition created vulnerabilities for the movement. In particular, he examines the ideological divide between those he calls the "spreaders," who welcome the wider market for organic food and want to work with both government and agribusiness, and the more purist "tillers," who see organic practices as part of a broader social transformation that will take place outside existing institutions. Obach argues that the movement's changing relationship with governmental institutions is crucial to understanding the trajectory of the organic sector. The government-run National Organic Program fostered dramatic growth and deep corporate penetration of the organic market. While many activists were disillusioned by changes in the organic industry that came with corporate and government involvement, Obach sees a failure in the essential market- based strategy adopted by the movement early in its history. He argues for a refocus on policy efforts that can reshape the agricultural system as a whole.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780262029094
Publication Date: 2015-05-08
Nutrition in Pediatrics by Christopher Duggan (Editor, Editor-In-Chief); John B. Watkins (Editor); Berthold Koletzko (Editor); W. Allan Walker (Editor)
Nutrition in Pediatrics, 5th edition, provides a comprehensive and accessible approach to pediatric nutrition. The fifth edition, in 2-volumes, continues the expansion of the previous edition's section on pediatric obesity: epidemiology, pathophysiology, assessment and treatment. It includes new chapters on celiac disease, food allergies, and iron. Nutrition in Pediatrics includes expanded and updated chapters on international nutrition, including focused chapters on nutrition in low- and middle-income countries. The text is divided into seven sections: General Concepts in Pediatric Nutrition, Physiology and Pathophysiology, Perinatal Nutrition, Obesity, Nutrition in Low- and Middle-Income Countries, Nutritional Aspects of Specific Disease States, and Approach to Nutritional Support. Key Features: The valuable and comprehensive appendices - Nutritional Assessment, Nutritional Requirements, and Enteral Products - have been retained and updated in this edition.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781607951803
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Early Nutrition and Long-Term Health by Jose M. Saavedra (Editor); Anne M. Dattilo (Editor)
The nutrition of an individual during gestation and the first two years of life--the first 1,000 days--sets the stage for lifelong health. Nutrition quality and quantity in this period can influence the risk of developing diseases that constitute today's epidemics. Early-life nutrition can program the body's tissues, organ structure and function, and metabolic and immunologic responses. These factors impact growth, development and cognition, and the risk of cardiovascular diseases, allergies and obesity. The first part of Early Nutrition and Long-Term Health examines the mechanisms by which early nutrition affects the risk of developing these conditions. The second part of this book reviews specific non-communicable diseases (NCDs) associated with early nutrition. The third part discusses the effects of nutritional programming from fetal life to toddlerhood. Prevention of over- or undernutrition in early life, rather than dietary, behavioral or therapeutic interventions in later life, is likely to have a greater return on society's investment in coping with the modern epidemic of NCDs. Examines the relation between early life nutrition and long-term health Covers the mechanistic aspects of nutritional programming and its impact on risk of chronic non-communicable diseases Reviews associations between infant and child diet and its effect on growth, development, cognition and later occurrence of cardiovascular diseases, allergies, metabolic conditions and obesity
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780081001868
Publication Date: 2016-11-29
Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding by Peter Gluckman; Mark Hanson; Chong Yap Seng; Anne Bardsley
Explaining the practical implications of new discoveries in "life-course biology", Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding is an informed resource on factors that affect offspring development. The impact of parental lifestyle and behavioural choices influence not only fetaldevelopment and birth outcomes, but also postnatal development, yet guidance on appropriate diet, behaviour, and exposures during pregnancy is often confusing and contradictory. With accessible explanations of the latest scientific research, and clear summaries and recommendations, this book is avaluable and authoritative guide for all levels of health care providers.The authors provide an overview of the background evidence, highlighting the importance of lifestyle choices prior to and during pregnancy. In-depth discussions of nutritional and lifestyle factors that impact on pregnancy and offspring outcomes are based on the latest research and exploration ofkey scientific studies. Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding is a manual offering both scientific and clinical evidence to empower health care providers and ensure they have the information necessary to confidently care for prospective and new parents.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780198722700
Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Nutritional Supplements and Their Role in Promoting Successful Aging and Longevity by Steven R. Gambert; Barbara Anne Gambert
Every day, people must make choices. Perhaps nothing is as important, however, as what people choose to eat or not eat. While hunger, whether it be a desire to have a feeling of well-being or purely due to habit, motivates many of our choices, and nutrition plays an essential role in our health and how successful we will be in terms of our aging process. The term nutritional supplements is generally used to include vitamins, minerals, herbs, meal supplements, sports nutrition products, natural food supplements, and other related products. This monograph, while not an exhaustive compilation of all nutritional supplements available, is meant to guide any reader who is interested in adding quality of life to their remaining years, and perhaps even extending their life span. Whether it is a vitamin, mineral, macronutrient, super food or herb, we have attempted to present the data available (whether anecdotal, based on animal/cellular models, or well conducted scientific studies in humans), to help the reader make a wise choice as to what to include in their diet. This may include a specific food, an ingredient, or nutritional product depending on the person. Having a more successful aging process is up to each individual, and the authors hope this monograph will help to provide an individualised path to success!
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781536108835
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Manual of Nutritional Therapeutics by David H. Alpers; Dennis M. Bier; Samuel Klein; Beth E. Taylor
Optimize your patients' nutrition! Coauthored by three physicians and a dietitian, this quick-reference manual provides practical, state-of-the-art, evidence-based nutrition recommendations for healthy adults, hospitalized patients, and people with a full range of health conditions. It's an ideal source to help you meet the nutrition needs of every patient . Effectively counsel healthy patients with nutrition recommendations for both young and older adults , and provide specific guidance for patients who are pregnant or lactating . Find information on individual nutrients (e.g. vitamin D, iron), contained in a dedicated section covering nutrient components. Get detailed guidance with separate chapters on Protein and Calories, Vitamins, Minerals , and Dietary Supplements . Access advice specific for metabolic disorders (diabetes, dyslipidemia, and renal disease), for obesity, and for chronic wasting diseases (cancer, AIDS). Make informed decisions on enteral and parenteral nutritional therapy . Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781451191875
Publication Date: 2015-03-04
Gut Microbiota by Edward Ishiguro; Natasha Haskey; Kristina Campbell
Gut Microbiota: Interactive Effects on Nutrition and Health focuses on the fascinating intestinal microbiome as it relates to nutrition. The book covers the core science in the microbiome field and draws links between the microbiome and nutrition in medicine. Reflecting the most current state of evidence available in the field, the early chapters introduce key concepts about the microbiome, and the latter focus on the application of the gut microbiome and nutrition science. Both human studies and animal studies (where appropriate) are discussed throughout the work. Addressing topics such as gut microbiota throughout the lifespan, gut microbiota in health and disease, and genetic and environmental influences on gut microbiota, this book will provide scientists and clinicians who have an interest in the microbiome with an understanding of the future potential and limitations of this tool as they strive to make use of evidence-based diet information for the maintenance of good health.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780128105412.
Publication Date: 2018-01-04
eBooks
Health Issues in Diverse Cultures by Cecilia Obeng; Samuel Gyasi Obeng; Joav Merrick
In this book, we present research on health issues in diverse cultures and especially research around immigrants who came to the United States from diverse backgrounds. Hispanic and Asian Americans make up the fastest growing sector of the United States population and immigrants are often unable to access, seek, or receive health care due to several barriers. Research and also clinical experience have found that recent immigrants who migrate to the United States frequently experience a lack of access, high costs, and difficulty obtaining medical insurance along with barriers such as access to information, cultural or linguistic obstacles, and an inability to understand the healthcare system. Therefore in this book, we have tried to gain a better understanding for the readers of the experiences that immigrants undergo in the healthcare system through several research projects presented herein.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781634636131
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Public Health 101 by Richard Riegelman; Brenda Kirkwood
From clean drinking water, to seat belts, to immunizations, the impact of public health on every individual is undeniable. For undergraduates, an understanding of the foundations of public health is an essential step toward becoming an educated citizen.Public Health 101: Healthy People--Healthy Populations provides a big-picture, population perspective on the determinants of health and disease and the tools available to protect and promote health. It examines the full range of options for intervention including use of the healthcare system, the public health system, and society-wide systems such as laws and taxation.Through case studies, vignettes, and extensive examples, readers will come away with a clear understanding of how public health affects them in their everyday lives. They will learn and apply frameworks for thinking about the issues of public health and gain a deeper understanding about the health news they are exposed to each day.Key Features:Public Health 101 fully implements the curriculum framework, learning objectives, and "enduring understandings" of undergraduate public health education as recommended by the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U)* and the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR). Frameworks for thinking, checklists, and step-by-step examples provide students with hands-on practice. Case studies, vignettes, and extensive illustrations reinforce the materials and provide interactive exercises for classroom discussions, homework, and examinations. A full package of instructor resources is available online at http://publichealth.jbpub.com/essential/riegelman. * To learn more about the AAC&U initiative, The Educated Citizen and Public Health, or to download the curriculum guide, log on to: www.aacu.org/public_health.Looking for more real-life evidence? Check out Essential Case Studies in Public Health, Putting Public Health into Practice.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781284045284
Publication Date: 2014-03-05
Diet and Nutrition Sourcebook by
This print and online resource provides consumer health information about dietary guidelines and eating plans for children, adults, and seniors, weight control, and related medical concerns. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology by
The study of food and nutrition covers many disciplines, ranging from agriculture, biology, physics and chemistry to food technology, nutrition and medicine. As research on the links between food and health continues to expand, it is more important than ever that specialists in such areas as food processing and nutrition be familiar with the often unfamiliar terminology that differing disciplines use. This classic book meets that need. It provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology (an increase of 20% from the previous edition). The book also includes nutrient composition data for 340 foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
Food and Nutrition by
From cleanses and raw veganism to the clean eating and paleo diets, it seems that every day there is news about some new super-nutrient, super diet, or super food that promises to help us to be healthier, smarter, happier, fight disease, lose weight, or live longer. Some of this informationpropels temporary food or diet fads, some of it is subsequently discredited, and some becomes staid wisdom of healthy eating. It structures the way we eat and consume, the research agendas of food scientists, and the ways in which food companies market their products, and therefore the ways in whichthe global food system is built. It also affects the environment, food and animal ethics, political and social movements, public policy, and, of course, our health.Food and Nutrition: What Everyone Needs to KnowRG looks at food systems globally and historically to explain how food production, diets, and nutrition science have changed across time. It will begin with chapters on contemporary diets and nutritional problems, food revolutions (from the birth ofagriculture to genetic food technologies), basic concepts in nutrition science, food choices and the evolution of human taste preferences, the politics of food environments, modern food production and its effects on human health, and the environmental costs of food production. The book will thendive into the nutrition and ethics of animal-based diets, beverages, plant-based diets, nutrition guidelines and food labels, and food technologies. Ultimately this book provides an overview of the contemporary relationship between humans, land, and food, and explores the sustainability ofconsumption patterns on our health.
Food Security, Nutrition and Sustainability by
As the threats of food insecurity loom ever larger, the world faces the sad irony of food shortages in the global South alongside a purported 'obesity epidemic' in the global North. The twin issues of food production and food access are of particular concern in the context of climate change, 'peak oil', biofuels, and land grabs by wealthy nations. Food Security, Nutrition and Sustainability offers critical insights by international scholars, with chapters on global food security, supermarket power, new technologies, and sustainability. The book also assesses the contributions of diet and nutrition research in building socially just and environmentally sustainable food systems and provides policy recommendations to improve the health and environmental status of contemporary agri-food systems. The book features contributions from a range of social science perspectives, including sociology, anthropology, public health and geography, with case study material drawn from throughout the world.
From Famine to Fast Food by
The foods eaten by a nation's population play a key role in shaping the health of that society. This book presents country-specific information on how diet, food security, and concepts of health critically impact the well-being of the world's population. A country's food culture and eating habits directly impact the health and well-being of its citizens. Economic factors contribute to problems such as obesity and malnourishment. This book examines how diet affects health in countries around the world, discussing how the availability of food and the types of foods eaten influence numerous health factors and are tied to the prevalence of "lifestyle" diseases. Readers will discover the importance of diet and food culture in determining human health as well as make connections and notice larger trends within multicultural, international contexts. An ideal aid for high school and college students in completing research and writing assignments, this book supplies detailed diet- and health-related information about most major countries and regions in a single source. Each country profile will also include a convenient fact box with statistical information such as life expectancy, average caloric intake, and other health indicators. * Provides concise, accessible information in a ready-reference format that covers most major countries as well as a variety of non-country populations * Includes an introductory essay that creates a conceptual framework for students * Presents dozens of recipes that provide various real-world examples of the types of traditional foods eaten in other regions of the world * Supplies further readings at the end of each entry that guide readers to additional sources of information
Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
Emphasis on clinical applications. Nutrient recommendations and food label data, including updated DRIs. Cautions for unregulated supplements and descriptions of interactions of food, drug, and over-the-counter nutrients. Life cycle approach that includes screening tools and nutritional interventions for infants, children, adolescents, and mature adults, as well as pregnant and lactating women. Updated recommendations and food plans for weight control, clients with diabetes, HIV/AIDS, dysphasia, preventing heart disease, and other health concerns. Useful assessment tools and tables throughout, including Food Handling Guidelines, Labeling Regulations, Research Summaries, and Wellness Tips Coverage of nutria-genomics and genomics. "Teamwork" exercises focusing on nutritional documentation from different care providers, including dietitians, physical therapists, and speech therapists. "Dollars and Sense" feature highlighting which food costs or economic factors influence nutritional care.
Diet and Disease by
Can food really take the place of medicine? While modern medicine certainly has its place and does more than its fair share of good, there is no denying that many of society's most perilous chronic diseases are exacerbated by poor diets. Whereas infectious diseases used to cause the most number of deaths, the impact of chronic diseases now far overshadows that of infectious diseases. Diet plays a significant role in the development of a number of types of chronic disease, such as heart disease, diabetes, and certain types of cancer. This title explores the impact of dietary choices on the prevention, management, and treatment of a number of medical conditions and disease states including cardiovascular disease, diabetes and metabolic stress, critical illness, cancer, and HIV/AIDS. Conditions of the gastrointestinal tract, musculoskeletal disorders, rheumatic disease, anemia, hepatobiliary, gallbladder, pancreatic, and kidney diseases are covered in the subsequent title Diet and Disease II.
Nutritional Value and Health Benefits Frome Fruits, Vegetables Nuts and Spices by
Fruits, vegetables, nuts and spices have an important place in human diet and life. Therefore, one object of this book is to organize the scattered information and to deal with the recent development of nutritional value and health benefits from fruits, vegetables, nuts and spices to the human being. This will help to increase the per capita consumption of fruits, vegetables, nuts and spices in their daily diet. This book addresses factors that are involved in maintaining the quality of fruits and vegetables. This book incorporates information on nutritional values and their benefits to the consumers. In this book contain total 164 fruits, vegetables, nuts and spices crops, 4 chapters, general information, medicinal use, health benefits, culinary uses and nutritional values are given. This book has been mainly designed to serve as a text, general information to the consumers and reference book for the students in the field of Food Science and Technology, post-harvest technology, horticulture, nutrition advisors and mostly for professionals in food industries.
Saturated Fats by
This book presents current research in the study of the metabolism, disease risks and public awareness of saturated fats. Topics discussed include the epidemiological evidence and dietary intervention studies regarding the relationship of fats, carbohydrates and risk of coronary heart disease; the modulation of dietary conjugated linoleic acid (CLA) effects by saturated fats; effects of short and long-term saturated fat-enriched diet on the ceramide and neutral lipids accumulation in the insulin responsive tissues of rats and fatty acids and immune system functions.
The Fats of Life by
Omega-3s, trans-fats, polyunsaturated fatty acids, linoleic acidùresearch facts about fatty acids and their relationship to heart disease and atherosclerosis, obesity, cancer, and neurological disorders abound. Chemical names appear on every nutrition label. But, just what do these terms mean in health and disease? The Fats of Life delineates the importance of essential fatty acids, with a focus on distinctions between omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acid variants. The chemical and biochemical characteristics of these fatty acids and their metabolism to a vast array of potent bioactive messengers are described in the context of their potential effects on general health and impact on various diseases and neurological disorders. Glen D. Lawrence addresses in detail the capacity for polyunsaturated fatty acids to influence asthma, atherosclerosis, heart disease, inflammation, cancer, and immunity. Lawrence makes clear that our understanding of the biochemical and physiological effects of dietary fats has advanced tremendously as a result of careful research, but he also stresses that this knowledge has not easily translated into sound dietary recommendations.
Emerging Food Packaging Technologies by
The successful employment of food packaging can greatly improve product safety and quality, making the area a key concern to the food processing industry. Emerging food packaging technologies reviews advances in packaging materials, the design and implementation of smart packaging techniques, and developments in response to growing concerns about packaging sustainability. Part one of Emerging food packaging technologies focuses on developments in active packaging, reviewing controlled release packaging, active antimicrobials and nanocomposites in packaging, and edible chitosan coatings. Part two goes on to consider intelligent packaging and how advances in the consumer/packaging interface can improve food safety and quality. Developments in packaging material are analysed in part three, with nanocomposites, emerging coating technologies, light-protective and non-thermal process packaging discussed, alongside a consideration of the safety of plastics as food packaging materials. Finally, part four explores the use of eco-design, life cycle assessment, and the utilisation of bio-based polymers in the production of smarter, environmentally-compatible packaging. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, Emerging food packaging technologies is an indispensable reference work for all those responsible for the design, production and use of food and beverage packaging, as well as a key source for researchers in this area.
Innovations in Food Packaging by
This new edition of Innovations in Food Packaging ensures that readers have the most current information on food packaging options, including active packaging, intelligent packaging, edible/biodegradable packaging, nanocomposites and other options for package design. Today's packaging not only contains and protects food, but where possible and appropriate, it can assist in inventory control, consumer education, increased market availability and shelf life, and even in ensuring the safety of the food product. As nanotechnology and other technologies have developed, new and important options for maximizing the role of packaging have emerged. This book specifically examines the whole range of modern packaging options. It covers edible packaging based on carbohydrates, proteins, and lipids, antioxidative and antimicrobial packaging, and chemistry issues of food and food packaging, such as plasticization and polymer morphology. Professionals involved in food safety and shelf life, as well as researchers and students of food science, will find great value in this complete and updated overview.
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging by
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging aims to equip anyone studying geriatric nutrition or working with aging adults with the latest scientific reviews of critical topics. The major objective of this book is to review, in detail, the health problems of the aged and how normal food, lifestyle, or nutritional and dietary supplements can help treat them. Nutrient requirements for optimum health and function of aging physiological systems are often quite distinct from those required for young people. The special nutrition problems of the aged are intensively researched and tested, especially as the elderly become a larger percentage of the population. Many chronic diseases and cancers are found with higher frequency in the aged, and it is also widely known that many elderly people use foods and nutrients well above the recommended daily allowance, which can be detrimental to optimal health. Explains the evidence supporting nutritional interventions relevant to age-related diseases Reviews the macro- and micro-nutrient requirements of aging adults and their variables Describes how alcohol, drugs, and caffeine can impact deficiencies, also exploring functional food and dietary supplements that can be used for prevention and treatment
Early Nutrition and Long-Term Health by
The nutrition of an individual during gestation and the first two years of life--the first 1,000 days--sets the stage for lifelong health. Nutrition quality and quantity in this period can influence the risk of developing diseases that constitute today's epidemics. Early-life nutrition can program the body's tissues, organ structure and function, and metabolic and immunologic responses. These factors impact growth, development and cognition, and the risk of cardiovascular diseases, allergies and obesity. The first part of Early Nutrition and Long-Term Health examines the mechanisms by which early nutrition affects the risk of developing these conditions. The second part of this book reviews specific non-communicable diseases (NCDs) associated with early nutrition. The third part discusses the effects of nutritional programming from fetal life to toddlerhood. Prevention of over- or undernutrition in early life, rather than dietary, behavioral or therapeutic interventions in later life, is likely to have a greater return on society's investment in coping with the modern epidemic of NCDs. Examines the relation between early life nutrition and long-term health Covers the mechanistic aspects of nutritional programming and its impact on risk of chronic non-communicable diseases Reviews associations between infant and child diet and its effect on growth, development, cognition and later occurrence of cardiovascular diseases, allergies, metabolic conditions and obesity
Handbook for Nutritional Assessment Through Life Cycle by
Nutritional assessment has been considered as a cornerstone of nutritional diagnosis, management, intervention and dietary planning. Specific criteria, methods and procedures should be used for different age groups through a person's life cycle based on the requirements of each age group. Use of precise and accurate nutritional assessment tools and procedure to detect those who are malnourished or at risk of malnutrition will help dietitians to create an accurate dietary plan and intervention, which may help in quality of life improvement. This handbook includes the details of each assessment method for different age groups, from pregnancy to old age. It will be used as a quick, practical guide and reference for clinical dietitians. It includes dietary, anthropometric, biochemical and clinical assessments.
Deciphering Organic Foods by
This book discusses a variety of topics related to organic food production, consumption, and promotion. Written by experts in each of these fields, this book will interest consumers, academicians, marketing practitioners, as well as policy makers. Myths about organic foods are dispelled, and the code is cracked regarding the plethora of existing labels that have led to so much market confusion in recent years. New research findings regarding the environmental benefits (as related to sustainability) of organic food production, as well as the many nutritional and other personal health benefits of organic food consumption are discussed. The issues that lead to the price premium of organic foods, relative to conventional foods, are presented, and suggestions are provided regarding the types of foods that are worth paying the organic price premium. Marketers and advertisers of organic foods will find the overview of successful advertising tactics comprehensive and informative. Similarly, pet owners considering the switch to organic pet food will enjoy reading about this emerging market and will receive vital information to help them in their decision making.
Issues in Society, volume 405 :Organic and Genetically Modified Food by 
Organic Struggle by
An analysis of the successes and failures of the organic movement, focusing on coalition dynamics, movement-state relations, and market-based strategies for social change. In the early 1970s, organic farming was an obscure agricultural practice, associated with the counterculture rather than commerce. Today, organic agriculture is a multi-billion dollar industry; organic food can be found on the shelves of every supermarket in America. In Organic Struggle, Brian Obach examines the evolution of the organic movement in the United States, a movement that seeks to transform our system of agriculture and how we think about food. Obach analyzes why the organic movement developed as it did and evaluates its achievements and shortcomings. He identifies how divergent interests within the diverse organic coalition created vulnerabilities for the movement. In particular, he examines the ideological divide between those he calls the "spreaders," who welcome the wider market for organic food and want to work with both government and agribusiness, and the more purist "tillers," who see organic practices as part of a broader social transformation that will take place outside existing institutions. Obach argues that the movement's changing relationship with governmental institutions is crucial to understanding the trajectory of the organic sector. The government-run National Organic Program fostered dramatic growth and deep corporate penetration of the organic market. While many activists were disillusioned by changes in the organic industry that came with corporate and government involvement, Obach sees a failure in the essential market- based strategy adopted by the movement early in its history. He argues for a refocus on policy efforts that can reshape the agricultural system as a whole.
Nutrition in Pediatrics by
Nutrition in Pediatrics, 5th edition, provides a comprehensive and accessible approach to pediatric nutrition. The fifth edition, in 2-volumes, continues the expansion of the previous edition's section on pediatric obesity: epidemiology, pathophysiology, assessment and treatment. It includes new chapters on celiac disease, food allergies, and iron. Nutrition in Pediatrics includes expanded and updated chapters on international nutrition, including focused chapters on nutrition in low- and middle-income countries. The text is divided into seven sections: General Concepts in Pediatric Nutrition, Physiology and Pathophysiology, Perinatal Nutrition, Obesity, Nutrition in Low- and Middle-Income Countries, Nutritional Aspects of Specific Disease States, and Approach to Nutritional Support. Key Features: The valuable and comprehensive appendices - Nutritional Assessment, Nutritional Requirements, and Enteral Products - have been retained and updated in this edition.
Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding by
Explaining the practical implications of new discoveries in "life-course biology", Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding is an informed resource on factors that affect offspring development. The impact of parental lifestyle and behavioural choices influence not only fetaldevelopment and birth outcomes, but also postnatal development, yet guidance on appropriate diet, behaviour, and exposures during pregnancy is often confusing and contradictory. With accessible explanations of the latest scientific research, and clear summaries and recommendations, this book is avaluable and authoritative guide for all levels of health care providers.The authors provide an overview of the background evidence, highlighting the importance of lifestyle choices prior to and during pregnancy. In-depth discussions of nutritional and lifestyle factors that impact on pregnancy and offspring outcomes are based on the latest research and exploration ofkey scientific studies. Nutrition and Lifestyle for Pregnancy and Breastfeeding is a manual offering both scientific and clinical evidence to empower health care providers and ensure they have the information necessary to confidently care for prospective and new parents.
Nutritional Supplements and Their Role in Promoting Successful Aging and Longevity by
Every day, people must make choices. Perhaps nothing is as important, however, as what people choose to eat or not eat. While hunger, whether it be a desire to have a feeling of well-being or purely due to habit, motivates many of our choices, and nutrition plays an essential role in our health and how successful we will be in terms of our aging process. The term nutritional supplements is generally used to include vitamins, minerals, herbs, meal supplements, sports nutrition products, natural food supplements, and other related products. This monograph, while not an exhaustive compilation of all nutritional supplements available, is meant to guide any reader who is interested in adding quality of life to their remaining years, and perhaps even extending their life span. Whether it is a vitamin, mineral, macronutrient, super food or herb, we have attempted to present the data available (whether anecdotal, based on animal/cellular models, or well conducted scientific studies in humans), to help the reader make a wise choice as to what to include in their diet. This may include a specific food, an ingredient, or nutritional product depending on the person. Having a more successful aging process is up to each individual, and the authors hope this monograph will help to provide an individualised path to success!
The ASPEN Adult Nutrition Support Core Curriculum, Third Edition by 
Manual of Nutritional Therapeutics by
Optimize your patients' nutrition! Coauthored by three physicians and a dietitian, this quick-reference manual provides practical, state-of-the-art, evidence-based nutrition recommendations for healthy adults, hospitalized patients, and people with a full range of health conditions. It's an ideal source to help you meet the nutrition needs of every patient . Effectively counsel healthy patients with nutrition recommendations for both young and older adults , and provide specific guidance for patients who are pregnant or lactating . Find information on individual nutrients (e.g. vitamin D, iron), contained in a dedicated section covering nutrient components. Get detailed guidance with separate chapters on Protein and Calories, Vitamins, Minerals , and Dietary Supplements . Access advice specific for metabolic disorders (diabetes, dyslipidemia, and renal disease), for obesity, and for chronic wasting diseases (cancer, AIDS). Make informed decisions on enteral and parenteral nutritional therapy . Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition , offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search that pulls results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages , references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
Health Issues in Diverse Cultures by
In this book, we present research on health issues in diverse cultures and especially research around immigrants who came to the United States from diverse backgrounds. Hispanic and Asian Americans make up the fastest growing sector of the United States population and immigrants are often unable to access, seek, or receive health care due to several barriers. Research and also clinical experience have found that recent immigrants who migrate to the United States frequently experience a lack of access, high costs, and difficulty obtaining medical insurance along with barriers such as access to information, cultural or linguistic obstacles, and an inability to understand the healthcare system. Therefore in this book, we have tried to gain a better understanding for the readers of the experiences that immigrants undergo in the healthcare system through several research projects presented herein.
Public Health 101 by
From clean drinking water, to seat belts, to immunizations, the impact of public health on every individual is undeniable. For undergraduates, an understanding of the foundations of public health is an essential step toward becoming an educated citizen.Public Health 101: Healthy People--Healthy Populations provides a big-picture, population perspective on the determinants of health and disease and the tools available to protect and promote health. It examines the full range of options for intervention including use of the healthcare system, the public health system, and society-wide systems such as laws and taxation.Through case studies, vignettes, and extensive examples, readers will come away with a clear understanding of how public health affects them in their everyday lives. They will learn and apply frameworks for thinking about the issues of public health and gain a deeper understanding about the health news they are exposed to each day.Key Features:Public Health 101 fully implements the curriculum framework, learning objectives, and "enduring understandings" of undergraduate public health education as recommended by the Association of American Colleges and Universities (AAC&U)* and the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR). Frameworks for thinking, checklists, and step-by-step examples provide students with hands-on practice. Case studies, vignettes, and extensive illustrations reinforce the materials and provide interactive exercises for classroom discussions, homework, and examinations. A full package of instructor resources is available online at http://publichealth.jbpub.com/essential/riegelman. * To learn more about the AAC&U initiative, The Educated Citizen and Public Health, or to download the curriculum guide, log on to: www.aacu.org/public_health.Looking for more real-life evidence? Check out Essential Case Studies in Public Health, Putting Public Health into Practice.
