Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us

FSCJ Art Galleries: Floyd/Thurston

A digital rendition of FSCJ's art galleries.

Collected Thoughts: Crystal Floyd and Shaun Thurston

 Like her subject matter, Crystal Floyd’s creative output thwarts classification, utilizing a variety of mediums, most prominently found objects, preserved flora and fauna, textiles and living plants. Her work touches on concepts of nature and fantasy, drawing from her almost obsessive desire to collect and catalog objects of inspiration. She frequently blends concepts of old and new, organic and artificial, whimsical and mundane. One detects a strong sense of history and magic at play in Crystal's visual vocabulary. This sense is undoubtedly connected to her lifelong ties to the South, an area that is as weird as it is beautiful. 


Shaun Thurston restlessly explores the boundaries of scale, medium and technique from graphic paintings to small mixed media pieces, focusing on real and imagined visions of flora and fauna.  Best known for his public murals that grace the urban core of Jacksonville, Thurston was also one of the few artists chosen to exhibit in MOCA Jacksonville’s atrium, which he transformed into a four-story painting of crystal formations in glorious color.  This exhibit includes figurative works, graphic paintings as well as other layered and textured pieces that both carefully witness and create mythologies of the world around him. 

More about Crystal Floyd:  

crystalfloyd.com 
Instagram: crzzl 

More about Shaun Thurston: 

shaunthurston.blogspot.com 
shaunthurston.com 
Instagram: 
shaunthurston 

Images - Right click to see full size image

Crystal Floyd and Shaun Thurston           
Collected Thoughts Exhibit at FSCJ Kent Gallery 


 
Photograph of gallery interior with paintings and a sculpture.4r
Crystal Floyd and Shaun Thurston 
Collected Thoughts Exhibit at FSCJ Kent Gallery 
 

 
Photograph of gallery interior with paintings and column in center of room.
Crystal Floyd and Shaun Thurston 
Collected Thoughts Exhibit at FSCJ Kent Gallery 

 
Photograph of gallery interior with paintings and column in center of room.
Crystal Floyd and Dustin Harewood 
Adaptation 
Mixed media 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 
A glass dome with an assemblage of coral, and seahorse butterflies.
Crystal Floyd 
Know Your Escape 
Mixed media 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 
A green case open to reveal various objects including a model of a hand, specimens of flora and fauna.
Crystal Floyd 
Some Get Left Behind 
Mixed media 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 
An assemblage in a glass dome with a wren skeleton a moth and gemstones.

Crystal Floyd 
Ceremony 
Mixed media 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 

An assemblage of insects and a skull in a glass house.

Crystal Floyd 
Phronemophilia 
Mixed media 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 

A letterpress drawer with various flora and fauna specimens.

Crystal Floyd 
Raccoon Skull Reliquary 
Mixed media 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 

An assemblage in a brass and glass case with a raccoon skull.

Crystal Floyd  
Ritual 
Mixed media 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 

Assemblage in a shadowbox with coyote skull, petrified wood, cicada and mirror.
Crystal Floyd 
Sudden Awareness (close up) 
Mixed media 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 
A letterpress drawer with various flora and fauna specimens.
Shaun Thurston 
Four Paintings 
Oil on panel 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 
Four figurative paintings with orange backgrounds on a white wall.

Shaun Thurston 
Cave Painting 
Acrylic on panel 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 

A painting in blue of a cave with stalactites.
Shaun Thurston 
The Nest 
Mixed media on panel 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 
A vertical painting in brown hues with abstract textural elements.  A small white bird is visible in the upper left and purple flower buds are in the bottom right.
Shaun Thurston 
Overstreet Vision 
Oil on panel 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 
A painting of a black man in a yellow shirt and jacket holding two sticks.  A beam of light connects the sticks to form a triangle.  Two circle of fire overlap and frame the subject's figure.

Shaun Thurston 
The Rental 
Mixed media on panel 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 

A painting of a close up of a cockroach set against green wallpaper.
Shaun Thurston 
Reunion 
Acrylic on panel 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 
Painting in blue of turtle in right corner and hazy landscape in left corner.

Shaun Thurston 
Self Reflection 
Oil on panel 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 

A painting of two hooded male figures mirrored against an orange background.

Shaun Thurston 
Skull Thoughts #1 
Oil on canvas 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 

A painting of a cat skull on a dark brown background with a firefly.

Shaun Thurston 
Swamp Dragon 
Screen print on panel 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

 

A print in brown tones of an alligator twisting its body.