Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us

FSCJ Art Galleries: Soft Spots

A digital rendition of FSCJ's art galleries.

Soft Spots: A Student Response Project

undefined As part of the 2011-12 annual FSCJ Author Series Learning Community, students created fine art prints, photographs animations, audio recordings and texts in response to the memoir Soft Spots by Clint Van Winkle.  The text conveys the author’s experiences as one of the first troops to invade Iraq in 2003. After returning home, the trauma he experiences overseas leaves him diagnosed with Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD). His memoir provides a poignant account of the human connections often overlooked when discussing large issues such as war and trauma.  

Over 2,000 Florida State College at Jacksonville students read the memoir in disciplines such as History, Psychology, English, Speech, Art, Dental Hygiene, Education, and more. The learning community provided an opportunity for students to engage in interdisciplinary conversations to gain a better understanding of what combat veterans experience both in combat as well as when they return to civilian life after living through trials most of us can only imagine. The learning community strives to provide a meaningful examination of the complex human issues embedded in these situations and engage as active agents to acknowledge the links between all of us in the human family.  

Soft Spots Projects 

Some of the student projects were exhibited in the South Gallery during the author’s visit and are documented below.  They include portraits of FSCJ veterans, photographic interpretations of the memoir, essays and a collaborative print project. 

Portraits of Our Veterans

These 24 portraits represented a part of the Colleges larger student military personnel.  Participants responded to a questionnaire about their experiences and this text was displayed with the images. 

Portraits of Our Veterans  
Installation 
Professor Naomi Shersty and photography classes 

 

 

Wall hanging of a images and text arranged as a checkerboard.  Images are black and white seated photographs of individuals, juxtaposed next to text.
Portraits of Our Veterans (detail) 
Installation 
Professor Naomi Shersty and photography classes
Close up of previous image.  Closer view of individual black and white photographic portraits, next to text.

 

Essay Installation

undefinedPhotography Response Project 
Professor Naomi Shersty and photography classes 

For this project, students interpreted passages of the text through creative photography. The students were advised to recreate the emotional weight present throughout the book rather than a literal interpretation. Some images are hazy and fragmented like a foggy memory, while others are more overt like a painful experience. Either way, the photographs strive to communicate an understanding of Sergeant Van Winkle’s pride and personal trauma.  
 


Lacey Messinger 
Title: Long Distance Death 
Photograph 
On loan from the collection of the artist
Black and white photograph of an unmade bed.  White sheets and pillows are tousled.
Lacey Messinger 
Photograph 
On loan from the collection of the artist

Black and white photograph of three mailboxes standing against a line of trees and shrubs.

Rebecca Cameron 
Title: In Their Boots (series) 
Photograph 
On loan from the collection of the artist 
A black and white photograph of military issued equipment.  Appears worn, written upon it is  "U.S." , and straps are visible.
Micaela Gugliotta 
Passage: Most of all, I needed to believe in something. 
Photograph 
On loan from the collection of the artist
A black and white photograph of an abstracted, three dimensional American flag made out of unidentifiable materials.
Summer Tumlinson 
Photograph 
On loan from the collection of the artist 

A black and white photograph of a young girl sitting in tall grasses.  Her head is covered.

Eneida Dossett 
Title: Who’d Be Next? 
Photograph 
On loan from the collection of the artist
Black and white photograph of long lines of identical white headstones in a cemetary.

 

Collaborative Block Print

Collaborative Block Print 
Professor Patrick Miko and printmaking classes 
Professor Beth Tuckwiller and psychology classes 

Students in printmaking and psychology classes collaborated on this large-scale block print project in honor of the Wounded Warriors Project. Psychology classes selected passages from the memoir that were visually and emotionally powerful and gave them to printmaking students to translate into imagery.  A sheet of fiberboard was carved into “puzzle” pieces and divided between the students who then transferred their images onto the wood blocks. The blocks were then carved, inked, reassembled and printed onto fabric with a full-size steamroller. Prints were gifted to The Wounded Warrior project and other participants. The final quilt contains twenty-four stars on the backside (representing each pair of students that chose and translated passages was  presented to Clint Van Winkle in honor of Soft Spots. 

Leslie Boroczk 
Untitled 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Katrina Cabral 

A relief print of a individual in a urban scene with buildings in the background and sky.

Christopher Broussard 
What Lies Beneath No Man’s Land 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Renee Anderson 

J shaped relief print.  The bust of a man in an hat sits in a natural abstracted environment, against a moon in the sky.

Chris Chovanec 
Bombs Over Baghdad 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

 
Selected by Kacie Devlin 

undefined

Denise Clodfelter 
Letters from Home 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist  

 
Selected by Adrianne Rust 

undefined

Michael Cottrell 
Untitled 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 
 
Selected by Kelsey Parrish

undefined

Vin Dolan 
P.S.D.S. 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Stephan Ryan O’Donoghue 

undefined


Kelsey Eldridge 
Highlighter 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Adrianne Rust 

undefined

Brittany Gorelick 
Untitled 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Ashley Gadd 

undefined

Leo Hearn 
Superman 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Adrianne Rust 

undefined

Kyle Holbrook 
No Respect 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Kyle Holbrook 

undefined

Casey Lamberth 
Untitled 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Tanzila Zaman

undefined

LeeAnn McClain 
American 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Kelsey Parrish 

undefined

Emily Novak 
She Wants 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Jessica Toukmehji

undefined

Jenn Page 
Constriction 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Stephan Ryan O’Donoghue 

undefined

Cody Rose 
Untitled 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Anna Lahaise 

undefined

Sarah Spivey 
Untitled 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Adrianne Rust

undefined

Tommy Toomey 
Forever Young 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

Selected by Ashley Gadd 

undefined

Anna Trcalek 
War 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 
 
Selected by Anna Lahaise

undefined

Adam Williams 
Untitled 
Relief print 
A gift from the artist 

selected by Aubree Leone

undefined